We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries

Gunwharf Road, Portsmouth PO1 2LA, England
+44 333 999 7333
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great well managed service

We got our hotel to book the ferry crossings for us - made life easy. The service was very good... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
anthonyfj
,
Telford, United Kingdom
Day trip

We arrived to board the 5.30pm ferry at Fishbourne to be advised by the signage by the ferry that... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Carol F
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,442 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Wightlink's vehicle and passenger ferry service operating between Portsmouth and Fishbourne on the Isle of Wight. Wightlink is the leading cross-Solent ferry operator carrying almost five million holidaymakers and Islanders to the Isle of Wight every year. Whether travelling by foot in just over 20 minutes or by car in under 45 minutes, Wightlink’s modern, comfortable fleet of eight ferries sailing on three routes (Portsmouth-Ryde, Portsmouth-Fishbourne and Lymington-Yarmouth) provide Island-wide coverage.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“earlier ferry” (75 reviews)
“isle of wight” (318 reviews)
“car ferry” (58 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 5:00 am - 12:00 am
LOCATION
Gunwharf Road, Portsmouth PO1 2LA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 333 999 7333
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portsmouth
from USD 41.40
More Info
from USD 12.80
More Info
from USD 43.90
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"earlier ferry"
in 75 reviews
"isle of wight"
in 318 reviews
"car ferry"
in 58 reviews
"return journey"
in 85 reviews
"short crossing"
in 21 reviews
"ferry service"
in 36 reviews
"sun deck"
in 15 reviews
"efficient service"
in 20 reviews
"pleasant crossing"
in 17 reviews
"loading and unloading"
in 20 reviews
"costa coffee"
in 28 reviews
"day trip"
in 54 reviews
"on line"
in 19 reviews
"portsmouth harbour"
in 20 reviews
"fishbourne"
in 228 reviews
"greggs"
in 46 reviews
"board"
in 267 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We got our hotel to book the ferry crossings for us - made life easy. The service was very good and friendly too - it had a really nice feel to it. They help you park your car in a staggered manner so that others...More

Thank anthonyfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Anthony Thanks for leaving your review. I'll be happy to pass on your feedback about vegetarian sandwiches to our retail team as they're currently reviewing the options we have available. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and I hope it won't...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We arrived to board the 5.30pm ferry at Fishbourne to be advised by the signage by the ferry that there was a 30 minute delay An hour and a half later with the sign still promoting the same delay we were loaded Breakdowns occur but...More

Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Carol I'm sorry you were delayed and to learn that the information was lacking. It sounds like you could be entitled to compensation. For more details please check out the compensation form on the 'contact us' page of our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Booked a three day return (for £160 😮) and were delayed on both crossings. Our outward crossing was delayed by half an hour. Noone told us they were running late and the sign that was there to inform people of this was round a corner...More

3  Thank MoleyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi MoleyLong I'm sorry you were affected by disruption and for the impact this had on your travel plans. We've have been investing heavily to improve our service though I can only apologise this wasn't your experience when travelling with us. I do hope you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

So over priced and over sold, booked months in advance advised the day before our 3pm ferry was cancelled as it was not working!? Travel every year to the Isle of Wight and the same rubbish, really affecting the islands businesses, just badly run. I...More

5  Thank jollykat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Jollykat1981 I'm very sorry your sailing was cancelled and to hear that you received a less than polite and courteous service. I know it won't be of much solace but our service performance has been improving significantly compared to previous years with our new...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I travelled with my dad who is disabled and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The team is so efficient at what they do we were really impressed. Thanks Wightlink!

Thank Samar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Samar Just a quick message to thank you for writing your review. It is such a pleasure to see the efforts of our teams are appreciated. I hope it isn't too long before we can welcome you both back on board again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

I travel on Wightlink out of convenience only, because of the way Isle of Wight residents are being ripped off without knowing it. I refer to the constant (hidden) price rises for travelling in a vehicle, that are well in excess of inflation and they...More

1  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Paul I'm sorry you found your fares to be high. Generally speaking, prices for a particular crossing may increase in line with demand for that crossing. The sooner you book, the more likely you are to pay a lower fare and fares will generally...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Delayed for over an hour, disorganised waiting, put in the wrong lane and missed the ferry I should have been on, no help at the enquiries desk, waiting on the phone for over 20 minutes - the service is absolutely abysmal and the get out...More

1  Thank YachtSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi YachtSkipper I'm sorry your opinion of us is so poor. Since the introduction of our new port facilities our punctuality and performance has improved significantly compared with previous years though I realise this will be of little consolation to you as you’ve been affected...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

While they appear to advertise a five star rating, only just over 90% of their ferries run on time. This is poor in my opinion. And whilst there are always going to be issues with the weather which will understandably cause delays - it's not...More

1  Thank Red E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Red E Thank you for sharing your experiences of travelling with us. Our performance and punctuality have improved significantly compared with previous years since we've invested in improvements to our port facilities but we're not quite finished yet. We are currently reviewing the information...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

Frequent traveller with my motobility car I always book a space near lift as have Ehler Danos syndrome causing hypermobile joints and severe pain. I was booked with disabled space to return from Fishbourne on July 6th 15:30 sailing where I was told by a...More

1  Thank rubytuesday13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi rubytuesday13 I'm very sorry to read of the difficulties you experienced when travelling with us. I will chase up your compensation request so that you should have a reply very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Returning home to the UK after a long trip around an efficient Europe, we yet again find ourselves faced with a delayed, disorganised and unfriendly ferry service. Happened to be earlier than expected, we unsurprisingly were told they were unable to board us early. This...More

1  Thank gitteraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Gitteraa It is very disappointing to read of your experience of returning home with us. Customers should always be communicated with in a polite and courteous manner and I'm sorry you found the information about our service to be lacking. I'll make sure the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1,410 reviews
.34 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
1,177 reviews
.58 km away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
953 reviews
.70 km away
Pembroke Park Hotel
47 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Spinnaker Cafe
260 reviews
.29 km away
Abarbistro
725 reviews
.07 km away
Las Iguanas
883 reviews
.31 km away
Cafe Rouge Portsmouth
1,016 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Spinnaker Tower
4,559 reviews
.43 km away
Old Portsmouth
449 reviews
.33 km away
Gunwharf Quays
2,458 reviews
.38 km away
Portsmouth Museum
223 reviews
.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Juliaruthhw
22 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hello Julia There's a £5 booking fee for making advance reservations through our contact centre or at our ticket offices, which reflects the increased administration and overheads of running these services. However... More
0
Votes
kASHISH660
22 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hi kASHISH660 Thank you for your question. I'm going to make the assumption you're travelling to the Isle of Wight without a vehicle, as you mention the distance between Portsmouth Harbour Railway station and our... More
2
Votes
moley123
17 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from bsandrs | Reviewed this property |
We have not travelled on that specific class of Ferry from Portsmouth, but on observation Wight Sun seems to be similar to all the other ferries on that route as regards Facilities. The other two vessels you mention operate... More
0
Votes