We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum

Clarence Street, Cheltenham GL50 3JT, England
+44 1242 237431
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Well stocked and presented local museum

This museum has been extended and has some very well presented displays. The Arts and Crafts... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
PDSK13
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Wonderful arts and craft displays

We were very much more impressed by this museum than we expected to be. The paintings on the ground... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JVR77
,
St Albans, United Kingdom
Read all 366 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Four new floors house extensive galleries for temporary exhibitions - for international / national touring shows, special highlights from our collections and fun shows for families - space to discover local heroes and archive collections, including the great Edward Wilson (one of Scott's key men on his 1912 expedition to Antarctica), and a new gallery space in which the internationally renowned Arts & Crafts collection will be shown.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Clarence Street, Cheltenham GL50 3JT, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1242 237431
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local history"
in 14 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 8 reviews
"antarctic explorer"
in 4 reviews
"wide range of exhibits"
in 4 reviews
"craft shop"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 13 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 18 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"free entry"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 5 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"cake"
in 7 reviews
"high street"
in 4 reviews
"town centre"
in 4 reviews
"furniture"
in 81 reviews
"guild"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This museum has been extended and has some very well presented displays. The Arts and Crafts furniture collection was a particular highlight for me. There is a good display about Edward Wilson, after whom the museum is named.

1  Thank PDSK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very much more impressed by this museum than we expected to be. The paintings on the ground floor are mainly unexceptional and the installation on the third floor didn't detain us for more than a minute but we were enthralled by the fantastic...More

Thank JVR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visited Cheltenham for the first time recently and had a Friday night stay. On the Saturday morning we went to The Wilson and not having been before didn't know what to expect, but we do like to check out local galleries...More

1  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If arts and crafts furniture is your thing, you will love it here. There is also an eclectic mix of modern art and artefacts from different eras and from around the world. Lots to explore. Great access to all levels (lift /ramps) and something for...More

Thank smeehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for something to do in Cheltenham we went for a visit here. A splendid mixture of different items but the real highlight was a tour around the Arts and Crafts exhibit with the fabulous Dave who really passed on his enthusiasm for the subject...More

Thank RobAndAileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We made a special journey for The Wilson. On our first day in Cheltenham, we were too tired to face going round and would not have valued the visit as highly, so we went back to town a second time later in our week. It...More

Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Having been reading about the Arts & Crafts movement for some time, I managed to persuade my family to make a trip to The Wilson. It’s an unusual set-up, we walked past the entrance as thought was to something else, we only visited the Arts...More

Thank KateEpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The Wilson is a great free gallery to visit for a couple of hours if in Cheltenham. Their collection of paintings were quite poor in quality, but their room of historical antiquities and furniture was fascinating and extensive. The cafe is lovely too, with a...More

Thank zoelondon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We went to do the Easter trail recently at the Museum, it cost £2 per child and was not only hard to follow and badly written, the children only got one measly poor quality sticker at the end of it. Their disappointed faces said it...More

Thank hlflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy the easter trail. The trail is an additional offering we provide in half-term and is a free activity, but has a suggested donation of £2. We also have a range of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

The Wilson is a complete refurbishment of the previous local museum and is well worth a visit if you are visiting the area of are local and need enlightening about the history of Cheltenham, its alumni and the local area. Be sure to visit the...More

Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

We really appreciate your visit and feedback. We are currently undergoing a change of display in the Open Archive and it will be reopening on 9th July about the end of World War 1 and is called ‘At Last fighting is over’. It will also...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Cheltenham
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
380 reviews
.06 km away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
272 reviews
.18 km away
The George Hotel
590 reviews
.34 km away
Central Hotel Cheltenham
322 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lumiere
751 reviews
.10 km away
L'Artisan
778 reviews
.07 km away
Well Walk Tea Room
482 reviews
.04 km away
The White Spoon
451 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Everyman Theatre
371 reviews
.25 km away
Neptune Fountain
133 reviews
.19 km away
The Minotaur and the Hare
34 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
trevordavies1
27 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CotswoldTina | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for delay in replying. I don't know anything about Graham Gardiner. Hope you get some information. Best wishes, Tina
0
Votes
;