We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good facilities

Great cafe and shop. Can park vet close to the beach. Didn’t realise it was shingle before we... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
poppy57
,
west yorkshire
via mobile
Lovely spot but beware!!

Lovely place, lovely beach, weather was good but I just wish that the young lad who relieved me... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Marvin H
,
Claverley, United Kingdom
Read all 889 reviews
183
All photos (183)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lovely beach”(87 reviews)
“shingle beach”(86 reviews)
“venus cafe”(66 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
17°
Sep
13°
Oct
10°
Nov
Contact
A379, Dartmouth, England
Website
+44 1803 771800
Call
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
413
283
94
46
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
413
283
94
46
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely beachshingle beachvenus cafebeach shopcar parkfine shingleclean beachno dogs allowedsmall pebblesparking chargeblue flag beachlarge beachclear waterclassical musicclean toiletson dutystoke fleming
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Fabulous views. Very clean. Lovely cafe on the beach. Plenty of car parking. Dogs allowed out of season.

Thank chill0ut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ideal family beach with sand pits for the little ones, beach shop and café. No dogs are allowed on the beach in the summer season so no worries about any mess on the beach

Thank Granddesigns65
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great cafe and shop. Can park vet close to the beach. Didn’t realise it was shingle before we arrived! Look at their website for details.

Thank poppy57
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place, lovely beach, weather was good but I just wish that the young lad who relieved me very quickly of my £5 to park had given me the option of parking for free in the cafe car park as this is where we were...More

1  Thank Marvin H
BlackpoolSands, Manager at Blackpool Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marvin So glad you loved the beach and just for everybody's information, the cafe don't have any parking of their own, all the car parks are for the use of Blackpool Sands visitors. And of course as we are not council funded, the price...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a shame, it has the usual “English” problem of too many people, hence rip off car parking £8, then expensive food in the captive audience cafe and restaurant, boring junk food options. Expensive hire prices, Litter on the beach etc etc. such a shame...More

2  Thank Paullongy
BlackpoolSands, Manager at Blackpool Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paul If you paid nothing to come to Blackpool Sands - there would be no Blackpool Sands! As we are not council funded, none of your taxes come our way, in fact we lose 20% of all income in VAT plus much more in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a few bottles of wine down to the beach, to watch the sunset, and enjoy the holiday mode. We all loved it.

1  Thank gillian p
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

not even guide dogs are allowed on the establishment poor service when off season you are allowed confusing how do they get away with not even guide dogs cannot go on the establishment this concerns locals are baffaledMore

Thank princre
BlackpoolSands, Office Manager at Blackpool Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Princre Who says no guide dogs are allowed - of course they are! Any 'working' dog with the correct ID on is allowed onto the beach or car park and that has always been the case, we would never stop that! The beach is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bit of a confusing drive, but well worth it! Lovely shingle beach....can be a steep walk to the sea...be aware of that when swimming/ paddling. Beautiful views and peaceful despite the crowds. Take plenty of drinks as prices are expensive after the £8 parking fee!

1  Thank Tarn D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The car park costs £8 to park for the day for a car with 4 passengers. In the cafe, a can of diet coke will set you back, £2.20, normal coke is £2.90 a can. Sainsbury's sell cold cans at 75p, so buy some and...More

Thank cazmatthews46
BlackpoolSands, Office Manager at Blackpool Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Cazmatthews Thank you for your visit, but just to say, Blackpool Sands has never been owned by National Trust!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been down on the Coast for work and it was the afternoon and I fancied a cup of tea and a walk on the beach before the long drive home. This place was beautiful and really recharged the batteries. On a sunny day...More

1  Thank MidlandAssessEnergy
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Dartmouth
Stoke Lodge Hotel
226 reviews
1.10 km away
Townstal Farmhouse
137 reviews
4.09 km away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
350 reviews
4.20 km away
Royal Castle Hotel
1,178 reviews
4.31 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 102 restaurants in Dartmouth
Radius 7
295 reviews
1.04 km away
The Laughing Monk Restaurant
546 reviews
1.62 km away
Beth's Bistro
240 reviews
4.09 km away
Venus Cafe
305 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 59 attractions in Dartmouth
Dart Harbour
318 reviews
4.16 km away
Dartmouth Museum
139 reviews
4.29 km away
Dartmouth Castle
695 reviews
4.01 km away
Fast Rabbit Farm Gardens
118 reviews
3.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fussy797
14 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Doug M | Reviewed this property |
Hi, i never said extortionate, I said expensive. If you properly read what I wrote you will find I thought it was good value if you were to spend the day there.
1
Vote
Amanda T
6 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Chris D | Reviewed this property |
Only during the winter not in the holiday season, which I believe is from Easter until end of October. This is a blue flag beach.
1
Vote