We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackpool Sands

A379, Dartmouth, England
+44 1803 771800
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Immaculately clean pebble beach. Cafe and toilets on site. Parking available. On a bus... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Joan A
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Shame

I normally only write reviews when something impresses me but on this occasion it's completely the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
MarkHolly
,
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Read all 781 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“shingle beach” (80 reviews)
“lovely beach” (76 reviews)
“venus cafe” (57 reviews)
LOCATION
A379, Dartmouth, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1803 771800
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Immaculately clean pebble beach. Cafe and toilets on site. Parking available. On a bus route. Pebbles quite difficult to walk on so possibly not the most disabled friendly beach.

Thank Joan A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I normally only write reviews when something impresses me but on this occasion it's completely the opposite. Blackpool sands is a beautiful beach with a nice looking cafe on it. We visited in November when the extortionate car parking fees are not payable. The cafe...More

Thank MarkHolly
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice to see the high standards of Devon beaches are being maintained, even in winter, fantastic for kids, very safe, nice addition of a beach cafe too.

Thank TONYDIVER1
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Drove some distance to visit this beach on a dull day. Was expecting to see a long sandy beach . Others had recommended and as name says sands that was what we were expecting. Naturally very disappointed to find shingle beach . Visited in October...More

Thank Wyatfox
BlackpoolSands, Office Manager at Blackpool Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Wyatfox, Thank you for visiting and we were sorry to hear you were disappointed but let me respond to your points if I may. The name Blackpool Sands is the historical name of this beach, and as such we are not able to change...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely beach and very quiet this time of year had the whole beach to our selves as in the summer gets very busy gave us free parking as we used the restaurant only had drinks though

Thank fisherstreet
Reviewed 8 November 2017

An early morning visit to Blackpool Beach is definitely something you should put in the diary, if visiting the area. In fact, the beach is great, any time of day, but I love seeing the sun rise and shimmer on the water. The well stocked...More

1  Thank Betternowthannever
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Oh how lucky can you be with glorious sunshine in November and the superb beach at Blackpool sands. Twiggy, my dog gives it a 6/5 ✅😇🐾

Thank Ruth R
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The Cafe and Beach are fantastic and there is plenty of car parking but sadly no dogs allowed, which ruins it for many a tourist!

Thank Chris L
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

The while coastline is jaw dropping. Fiordic Steep cliffs plunge into blue green water and then there’s the beach and its little Venus cafe, so welcoming.... but the beach is the star, an unspoilt haven for all sorts of sports and leisure, kite flying swimming,...More

Thank Marianne C
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Stopped in Blackpool Sands with the sky threatening another rain shower which provided an interesting light over the lovely beach and cove. Had a cream tea in the cafe which was also nice if a little over run by children whose parents seemed to think...More

Thank Andrew P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Radius 7
227 reviews
.94 km away
The Laughing Monk Restaurant
524 reviews
1.72 km away
Beth's Bistro
131 reviews
4.00 km away
Venus Cafe
275 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dartmouth Castle
622 reviews
4.01 km away
Royal Avenue Gardens
86 reviews
4.22 km away
Dartmouth Museum
124 reviews
4.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jannerbloke
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from dijw | Reviewed this property |
No. It is a family beach.
1
Vote
carolburrows452
17 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from crystalamason | Reviewed this property |
When I visited here the start of July it said that dogs were not permitted. I think this will be the same for when you plan the visit. Although the website states 'Dogs – to comply with Blue Flag regulations, dogs are not... More
0
Votes