We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canadian Museum of History

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 100 Laurier St, Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0M8, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 819-776-7000
Website
Today
09:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu 09:30 - 20:00
Fri - Wed 09:30 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization

At Canada's most visited...

Formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization

At Canada's most visited museum, discover the events, experiences, people and objects that have shaped the nation's history. Take in the beauty of this architectural gem and its spectacular setting on the banks of the Ottawa River. Marvel at the world's largest indoor collection of totem poles, explore the traditions and achievements of Canada's First Peoples and this summer, step aboard the Empress of Ireland and relive the experience of the worst maritime disaster in Canada's history - with its stories of tragic loss, courage and human kindness - through artifacts and eyewitness accounts. Be a kid again at the Children's Museum and live the ultimate cinema experience at the IMAX(R) Theatre.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 29.45*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
USD 35.14*
and up
Montreal to Ottawa Day Trip
More Info
USD 19.52*
and up
Ottawa River Historic Sightseeing Cruise

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,416 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 561
    Excellent
  • 248
    Very good
  • 102
    Average
  • 54
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Civilization is not = history

The museum is beautiful and we liked to exhibit really a lot. We were just a bit disappointed by the fact that, the museum being called "Musée de l'histoire", we were expecting... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
Mizzi F
,
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 984: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Unless you have small children who will enjoy the children's portion of the museum, give this a miss. Considering the size of the building, the exhibits are few and disappointing, and not worth the price of admission. Add to that the astonishingly poorly-designed underground parking (we spent 30 minutes snaking through the apparently already full lot, only to resurface and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madame B
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The museum is beautiful and we liked to exhibit really a lot. We were just a bit disappointed by the fact that, the museum being called "Musée de l'histoire", we were expecting something more related to Canada's history . Having said that, we extremely enjoyed the wide variety of views on the aboriginal culture displays throughout the museum. The last... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mizzi F
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm from England and I'm use to museums rammed with lots of exhibits and lots to look at. I felt this museum was a bit bare and didn't have much on show. I felt it was actually quite boring and I came away not learning a thing. However, the walk from Ottawa to here is great.

Helpful?
Thank Lottie R
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a nice place to spend some time. The exhibits were extensive. Free on Thursday evenings so if you're on a budget or simply want a free entry (who doesn't) then this is a good choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary85
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well. What can I say. The business meeting cut short and I have a couple of hours. The museum is right across from the hotel. But only level 1 & 2 are open. As if the museum knows I don't have sufficient time should I be crawling through the whole place. So disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great walk from Ottawa (less than 15 minutes) across the Ottawa River, this was the best museum we visited in the Ottawa area. The origins of Canada, the pre-Canada history, and the many great accomplishments of this great country are all highlighted here. Friendly for kids, and amazing for anyone who appreciates the feeling of awe when your in... More 

Helpful?
Thank AngelaHehn
Stephanie F, Manager at Canadian Museum of History, responded to this review

Dear AngelaHehn, Thank you for sharing your great comments about the Canadian Museum of History. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our exhibitions. We hope to see you again soon! Stephanie Fortin Canadian Museum of History More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had out of town guests stay with us over the holidays and I thought it might be fun to take them to a few tourist sites. I hadn't been to the museum in years - in fact, the last time I visited, it was still the Museum of Civilization. The big draw was the Napoleon a Paris temporary exhibit,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

The building is beautiful and when you walk in it is so welcoming and respectful of Indigenous Canadians to have the hall full of totem poles and long houses. Plan to be here a while as there is lots to see and do.

Helpful?
Thank Kyle I
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

I've been to this museum many times over the years, but with every visit there is always a new experience. The main room with the native exhibit is breathtaking. Not only are the displays great, but the views overlooking the water and parliament are some of the nicest in Ottawa. The focus this trip was more around the kids activities... More 

Helpful?
Thank our2cents
Ontario
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

I love this museum's collection of West coast totems. The aboriginal history is just great, so well done. Make sure and get a ticket that includes a 3D movie.

Helpful?
Thank MDO44

Travellers who viewed Canadian Museum of History also viewed

 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Canadian Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Canadian Museum of History and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Arnprior, Canada
6 months ago
Hamilton, Ontario
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Canadian Museum of History staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?