We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GearUp

Open Now: 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open today: 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Review Highlights
Rented skis/poles/boots, and ice skates

Outstanding rental company. Friendly, very capable team there. Everything was fitted quickly and... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Traveler56981379452
,
Columbia, Maryland
Excellent quick service

We had been recommended these guys and had pre booked our ski packages. Turned up and everything... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Patrick D
,
Warfield, United Kingdom
Read all 107 reviews
33
All photos (33)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“legacy trail”(14 reviews)
“ski equipment”(5 reviews)
“these guys”(8 reviews)
About
GearUp Sports was first established in 1996 specialising in sports rental equipment, including Downhill, Backcountry and Nordic skis, ice skates, snow shoes and climbing equipment. In summer months we rent full suspension mountain bikes and 'Legacy...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
1302 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada
Website
+1 403-678-1636
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
88
13
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
88
13
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews legacy trail ski equipment these guys rent a bike high performance latest equipment rental company downhill ski online reservation great equipment very friendly and helpful staff easy process lake louise great advice ski trip banff area in great shape
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding rental company. Friendly, very capable team there. Everything was fitted quickly and well for the 3 of usl: ski boots kept us warm in -20 to -31 degree C temps. As old folk, who hadn't skied in over a decade, we were fine on...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Traveler56981379452
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Traveler56981379452, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you returning again to GearUp!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been recommended these guys and had pre booked our ski packages. Turned up and everything was in place with skis pre allocated and just needed to fit boots then have bindings adjusted to right settings based on questions answered. We lost some poles...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Patrick D
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Patrick D for taking the time to share your experience with GearUp! What a great 5 star review and we look forward to seeing you again next year at the shop!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

friendly staff. reserved high perf. skis. Picked up and return with no issue. They are very flexible and accomodating.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2019
Thank KRISTIN H
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello KRISTIN H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we try to make the renting process as quick and easy as possible for customers.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great! We loved the marked skis and getting the right sized ski boots for our different levels of comfort. Although we were not familar with hockey skates, they worked on the Canmore pond and Lake Louise.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Meander35014769118
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Meander35014769118, Thank you for the great review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very professional friendly staff. Made our trip seamless. Would recommend them to anyone skiing in the banff area. Great equipment and great prices!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank rachnd
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you rachnd for the great review!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent gear and service, avoided the long line and paid less than renting from ski hill, also had skis tuned up, they look new again!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Ash S
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star review, Ash S! We keep current with all of our gear whilst trying to have competitive pricing! Glad you also liked the ski tune on our brand new Montana tuning machine. Hope to see you again at GearUp!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed to get fitted up to Ski Sunshine and did not want to chance a rental zoo at the hill. The crew at GearUp had it all. We were asked about our skill level then fitted and had the ski release bindings adjusted to...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank docgardener
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi docgardener, Thank you for the great 5 star review, all our staff are highly trained to adjust bindings to boot size and skill level/weight. Glad you had a great experience at GearUp and better yet at the ski hill!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best rental experience I’ve had anywhere. We were a group of 7 that had variable skiing needs and the staff took care of everything. We will be back! Thanks to the staff!!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank betapi1769
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi betapi1769, Thank you for the great review! See you next time!

Reviewed 7 December 2018

The quality of the gear here is amasing, we rented touring skis, boots, poles for a 3 day backcountry trip. The boots were new and really comfortable and the skis were waxed and had sharp edges. Really happy with all of the gear, it did...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Zoe h
neilo700, Owner at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Hi Zoe h, Thank you for the great review! We make sure all our equipment is in the best possible shape before renting. We are glad you liked all the gear and our customer service. Hope to see you again at Gear Up!

Reviewed 15 July 2018

The folks are GearUp were super helpful for our family of three during our vacation in Canmore. We were fitted with some really nice fat tire mountain bikes, helmets, and locks. They are one of the few shops that does multi-day rentals. They even hooked...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Marianne B
neil o, Manager at GearUp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Marianne B, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Though we do not rent fat bikes our Giant Trance 3 full suspension mountain bikes have great tires for getting around the mountain trails! All our rentals include helmet, bike lock and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 31 nearby hotels
Georgetown Inn
739 reviews
.20 km away
Canmore Inn & Suites
1,097 reviews
.21 km away
Basecamp Lodge
42 reviews
.24 km away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
524 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 139 nearby restaurants
Le fournil Bakery
237 reviews
.09 km away
Where The Buffalo Roam Saloon
265 reviews
.45 km away
Tapas Restaurant
894 reviews
.44 km away
Rocky Mountain Bagel Co Ltd
500 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 129 nearby attractions
Avens Gallery
33 reviews
.53 km away
Canmore Brewing Company
25 reviews
.44 km away
Canmore Farmers Market
21 reviews
.47 km away
Carter-Ryan Gallery And Live Theatre
27 reviews
.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from GearUp staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines