We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Channel Islands Military Museum

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Five Mile Road, St. Ouen JE3 2FN
Phone Number: +44 7797 732072
Website
Description:

The Channel Islands Military Museum in St.Ouen, Jersey is housed in a...

The Channel Islands Military Museum in St.Ouen, Jersey is housed in a former German bunker sitting right on Hitler's Atlantic Wall. The bunker housed a 10.5cm gun which in the event of a landing would have opened fire on the beach. Today all the rooms in the bunker are full of items from the time, ranging from German military equipment to Civilian items of the time. There are lots of period photographs and stories from local inhabitants as well as a 40 minute commentary.This is the most comprehensive coolection of Occupation artefacts to be seen on the Island. Visitors to the museum are always amazed how much there is to see, read and hear in the museum, no one leaves dissapointed and the entry price is not to be beaten. You will find the Museum at the northern end of the 5 Mile Road in St.Ouen, just opposite Jersey Pearl. Look for the round Nepoleonic Tower (Lewis Tower) and the Museum is just alongside, look for the flag. PLEASE NOTE: If you intend on visiting us by bus, you will need to take the number 22 and not the 12A as on our advertising. Our local bus company has after many years changed the route numbers after all advertising and leaflets had been produced for the 2016 season.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 168
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
"The best value museum in Jersey"

Those were the words of the curator, and doubtless he's right! He's a friendly chap, full of knowledge & enthusiasm, who would pop out of the ticket booth to point out facts about... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Steve_Zodiac_XL5
,
Belfast
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Belfast
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Those were the words of the curator, and doubtless he's right! He's a friendly chap, full of knowledge & enthusiasm, who would pop out of the ticket booth to point out facts about some of the exhibits. My advice is to have a little foreknowledge of Jersey & the Nazis before visiting. The bunker is not that big (I can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve_Zodiac_XL5
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the museum, we are now closed for the winter but had a really good year with loads of positive comments. We will open in early April for the 2017 season and hope to continue where we left off this year. Thank you for your review, its much appreciated. Damien. More 

Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
591 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very small in size but absolutely packed full of WWII artefacts. There is a small selction of items to purchase as well. Good value entrance fee compared to a lot of the larger attractions. Car park nearby and knowledgable staff/volunteers. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1981
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review, its always nice to get positive feedback, it lets us know we are doing a good job. All the best, Damien. More 

Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

At £4 per adult, this has to be the best value exhibit on the island. The attendant in the kiosk was more than helpful and answers the various questions that we had regarding some of the unusual artefacts that were on display. As with 'The Tunnels', there is a grounding with the true accounts of bravery, humour and camaraderie that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank knotnow
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, its much appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the museum and found it of interest. All the best, Damien. More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Second visit and a new exhibits. Jam packed with history of the occupation and cleverly displayed within each bunker room and you get a real feel of what was happening at the time and there's even contributions from a German soldier who served in this bunker and revisited it many years later. Something for everyone ladies, suitable for children as... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarianWilliams74
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Great that you have come back for another visit and that you have seen the new items added to the displays.... always something being added to the displays weekly. We try and cater for all the family and offer value for money. All the best, Damien. More 

Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

What value for money this was jammed packed with memorabilia housed in a real ww2 bunker no mock up here which in fact added to the atmosphere of the place. We learnt not only about the german ocupation but also how the Jersey people survided their ordeal. The gentleman that sold us our tickets was a friendly and very informative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julesaid
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for you great review on the museum. We always try to add to peoples visit by having a chat about the different aspects of the occupation and are happy to answer questions. Hope you come back for another visit when you return to Jersey. All the best, Damien. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Decided to visit this place rather than the more famous Jersey War Tunnels as I was with children and felt that a shorter visit might be best. Housed in a restored WW2 bunker it's a fascinating place, fulll of memorabilia, artefacts and accounts from this defining period in the history of the Channel Islands. We took about 45 mins to... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigalmckenzie
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Your review is much appreciated as is your visit. Its always good to hear that a visit to the museum has been appreciated. Always difficult with kids, but you certainly read a lot of what there was and your children were as good as gold. Hope to see you again one day. All the best, Damien. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

We found this place by chance and what a great find the lady on the entrance was very helpful .Small but well packed with a good variety of memorabilia of life in Jersey under the Germans We found this better the Jersey War Tunnels needs to have a bigger sigh as we almost missed it and that would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan t
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We totally agree with regards to signage. Unfortunatly we are non permitted to place a decent permanent sign on the road side as the land belongs to the State/Island and not ours to place a sign on. I have tried to get permission but the powers that be are not interested.... More 

Shropshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Went here with my husband who can not walk far - the car park is a good 100yds from the attraction and across scrub land but he managed it! Only £4 to get in for adults and we were amazed with the variety of the collection - truly fascinating. It is not very big but the location in a bunker... More 

Helpful?
Thank janeyShropshire
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review on the museum. You are correct when you say the scrub land, unfortunately you have to cross State owned land to get to the museum which I have no say over. I have tried a number of times through our Tourist Office and direct with the Environment Department to have a proper path... More 

Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

This is a really interesting place that deserves to be better known. It is such an insight into life under occupation and what the islanders and eventually the occupying forces went through.

Helpful?
Thank ikebrighton
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do this review on the museum, we keep on adding to our advertising budget to make more people aware of us and it seems to be working. We are pleased the museum prooved of interest to you. All the best, Damien More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

We were on a coach trip around the Island and it stopped at the Jersey Pearl. As we didn't want to have lunch there we decided to go across the road and have a look in the museum. It was only £4.00 to go in and there was lots of memorabilia there including letters that had been written during the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
3945, Owner at The Channel Islands Military Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Its always nice to know that we are getting it right for the visitors. We are always adding and changing displays so next time your over come for another look and spend some more time. Thanks once again, Damien. More 

Travellers who viewed The Channel Islands Military Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Channel Islands Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Channel Islands Military Museum and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Channel Islands Military Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?