Maitland Gaol

Maitland Gaol, East Maitland: Hours, Address, Maitland Gaol Reviews: 4.5/5

Maitland Gaol
4.5
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Unlock the gates of Maitland Gaol today, where visitors are invited to 'serve time' learning about the facility, past prisoners and daring escapes. A key anchor attraction of the Hunter, Maitland Gaol housed some of Australia's most hardened and notorious criminals and has a vibrant history spanning more than 150 years. Open 7 days, Maitland Gaol offers visitors the opportunity to indulge in a world class self guided audio tour. Additionally, themed guided day tours and torchlight tours by night are regularly available and are a great way to interpret this unique attraction. If you have any questions about Maitland Gaol, please contact our Customer Service team. We look forward to welcoming you to Maitland Gaol soon.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Popular mentions

4.5
243 reviews
Excellent
138
Very good
88
Average
9
Poor
2
Terrible
6

Al S
Australia10 contributions
Psychic experience.
Jul. 2021
Do not bother with this tour. The tour guide was extremely unprofessional. The following points can be said. Tour guide was late and clearly indicated she did not want to be there. She had no control or direction over the group including COVID safety. Used profanity during the tour and was more absorbed and frequently promoted her private business.

Did not seem interested in any historical questions and told rather elaborate and unbelieving stories. Also told stories about other tour guides rather than actual events at the goal.

Had no control to the point that one participant had an SLR camera that she continued for two hours to take photos to the point we were continuously blinded and when a complaint was made she dismissed it as she wanted any good photos to be put on her Facebook page. It totally ruined the night.

At the end of the evening we spent at least 45 minutes watching her give readings to people we did not know. It was boring and unnecessary and obviously a plug for her business.

After this, she did not bother to do a count of people there, she wandered off with two other group participants and got some random to open the gates for us. No goodbye, nothing.

To say the least it was by far the most unprofessional, boring and worse tour we have ever been on. I would like our money back.
BTW at the beginning she had two extra people there that were not booked on the tour and said she couldn’t be bothered to check peoples tickets.
Written 22 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We're sorry to hear you have had such a negative experience on this tour AI S and we'd love to turn this around for you. You have also raised some serious issues we would like to further investigate internally. Can you please email simon.farrow@maitland.nsw.gov.au as so we can collect some more information and talk about getting you back on site for a positive experience.
Written 11 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

stevenbenson87
Edgeworth, Australia23 contributions
Amazing
Jun. 2021 • Friends
Excellent customer service highly recommended will definitely be back a must visit lots of historic places and information
Written 7 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Written 11 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PamAlbury
Albury, Australia758 contributions
Excellent
May 2021 • Couples
We did the self-guided tour and found it incredibly interesting. We listened and followed using a downloaded app. We could have spent hours here but cut it short eventually. We enjoyed ludtenjMF to some of the stories later when we were travelling in the car. Very worthwhile.
Written 10 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Written 17 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Angie Stern-Lynch 👫
Newcastle, Australia2,924 contributions
Great tour 😀
Mar. 2021 • Friends
Fantastic tour with a great insight of the goal...
Hearing about the history and seeing the cells was a major eye opener ...
Our tour guide was fantastic had an answer for all questions group was small and totally COVID safe.
Definitely going back for the ghost tour 😀
Written 16 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Written 17 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bugger49
Umina Beach, Australia121 contributions
Great Experience
Mar. 2021
Very interesting to wander through and see exactly what gaols use to look like, not like todays holiday camps. Some of the ares were locked (Hospital) because of Covid. I can only imagine what it would have been like 100 years ago, not a nice place to be.
Written 4 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

roger t
Coffs Harbour, Australia8 contributions
An eye opener
Jan. 2021
Really interesting place, and so glad I can see it and be allowed to walk out at the end of the day. A tip for you... when you download the tour app it stays on your phone even after you have left the gaol, this is especially handy of you have impatient members in your group who don't want to listen to all of the narrative, ie it means you can listen to it later on your own.
Only thing I would ask to change is to be allowed up to the guards walk on the perimeter wall and to see the towers, otherwise really good. Roger
Written 17 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. We are working on including a Tower Experience over the next few years as part of our masterplan. Thank you for the review.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lisa C
Maitland, Australia134 contributions
Must see in Maitland
Dec. 2020 • Couples
My partner and I experienced a themed night tour as part of a group of 28 adult guests. On the night, we were greeted outside the prison gates by our knowledgable and charismatic tour guide, Robyn. Once everyone had arrived, we embarked on our tour of the facility. We found the ‘Crimes of Passion’ tour and the half a dozen (or so) stories told to be very interesting. I’d recommend bringing a light jacket, wearing flats and bringing a spray jacket or poncho if it looks like rain. I’d also recommend eating prior to the 8pm tour and saving your drinks until after as the tour doesn’t bypass the facilities (located at the entry/ exit). For one reason on another, due to COVID, it’s not a torchlight tour as such as the prison floodlights are on. We’d recommend this tour to adult singles, couples and groups, and will be sure to return with friends and family in future :)
Written 9 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol and thank you for the helpful tips for future guided tour participants.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carol W
Sydney, Australia149 contributions
Wonderful Visit to Maitland Gaol
Dec. 2020 • Family
My Mum & I enjoyed our Guided Day Tour 150 years Under Lock and key. The guide was very informative & it was very interesting. This is our first time here & we love history. We had some Children in the group & they were included, the tour guide asked them special questions, just for the Children to answer , to keep them interested. It was great.
We would love to come back some time & do a night tour. Thank you very much. This is a must if you are in this area. Great for all ages.
PS. Family with no Teenagers.
Written 27 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol and hopefully can welcome you back shortly on one of the guided night tours. Thank you for the review.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Diana G
3 contributions
Night tour at Maitland Gaol
Nov. 2020
Really enjoyed the tour, it was interesting. Due to Covid there were some restrictions but I am sure when these are lifted it will be an excellent experience.
Written 25 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol. Thank you for the review.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

explorerbelle
Sydney, Australia109 contributions
Creepy history
Nov. 2020 • Couples
We did the torchlight history tour at 8pm. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly and we loved hearing all the stories about the old and new parts of the gaol. It would have been good to have more cells open in the various wings, which would have made it easier to adhere to social distancing protocols. But otherwise we enjoyed the evening. An interesting piece of Australian history.
Written 15 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the review and tips on how we can improve pour tours - we are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maitland Gaol.
Written 18 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 242
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Maitland Gaol

Maitland Gaol is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm