Maitland Gaol
Maitland Gaol
4.5
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Unlock the gates of Maitland Gaol today, where visitors are invited to 'serve time' learning about the facility, past prisoners and daring escapes. A key anchor attraction of the Hunter, Maitland Gaol housed some of Australia's most hardened and notorious criminals and has a vibrant history spanning more than 150 years. Open 7 days, Maitland Gaol offers visitors the opportunity to indulge in a world class self guided audio tour. Additionally, themed guided day tours and torchlight tours by night are regularly available and are a great way to interpret this unique attraction. If you have any questions about Maitland Gaol, please contact our Customer Service team. We look forward to welcoming you to Maitland Gaol soon.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
251 reviews
Excellent
145
Very good
88
Average
10
Poor
2
Terrible
6

AJ H
1 contribution
Nov. 2023 • Business
We took a school group to Maitland Gaol recently and found it an excellent educational experience. Our guide, Col, was extremely knowledge, articulate and patient with the students. As a former warder, he shared some very interesting insights into daily life within the gaol. I would highly recommend a guided tour with Col.
Written 16 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

newtravelSydney
Sydney, Australia196 contributions
Jun. 2023 • Solo
Decided to start with self guided tour it was great easy at my own leisure
Very informative very well labelled to follow route.
Many other tours
Some new ones coming soo too
Highly recommended
You will be surprised how big it is and who has been jailed there.
Written 2 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Steven L
2 contributions
Apr. 2023 • Couples
Fascinating experience. We did the self guided audio tour via the app on own phone and headphones. The tour took us about two hours and it is really well done.
Written 15 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AJ G
5 contributions
Oct. 2022
Highly recommend the daytime tours. Such a rich and dark history. Great information is provided by tour guides and some good reading as you wander the site.
Written 11 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rockintheworld
Brisbane, Australia34 contributions
Dec. 2022 • Family
Jarrod was an excellent guide giving lots of information and taking the time to answer any questions.
Would highly recommend this tour to locals or tourists.
Written 29 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gayle M
Port Macquarie, Australia90 contributions
Dec. 2022 • Couples
Absolutely loved it. The history and preservation is fantastic. Great app to guide you round which you can then listen to in more detail again later.
Written 14 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elicia
Wollongong, Australia177 contributions
Jun. 2022 • Family
We opted for the self guided tour, which I'm sure would have been enhanced by the audio app if I could have got it to work. It was an interesting enough way to spend an hour anyway, and the staff at reception were very helpful and absolutely lovely.
Written 12 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nick M
Frenchs Forest, Australia875 contributions
Apr. 2022 • Friends
We took the self guided tour, using the gaols app, and it was very informative. There are 25 recordings to listen to as you meander through the various blocks.
The place has been kept really well, and looks like maintenance is ongoing.
The recommended time to look around is between 0.5-1.5 hours; we took nearly 2.5 hours. (We wanted to take it all in. )
Definitely worth a visit.
Written 9 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Denise N
Blue Mountains, Australia51 contributions
Nov. 2021
We only had an hour to do the self guided audio tour, but once downloaded can listen to it in more detail later. It was a most interesting experience and could easily have spent more time here. Especially of interest for me as my great-grandfather spent time in the gaol in the 1870's. Very sobering to see the small dingy cells. Very friendly entry and staff.
Written 24 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Al S
Australia10 contributions
Jul. 2021
Do not bother with this tour. The tour guide was extremely unprofessional. The following points can be said. Tour guide was late and clearly indicated she did not want to be there. She had no control or direction over the group including COVID safety. Used profanity during the tour and was more absorbed and frequently promoted her private business.

Did not seem interested in any historical questions and told rather elaborate and unbelieving stories. Also told stories about other tour guides rather than actual events at the goal.

Had no control to the point that one participant had an SLR camera that she continued for two hours to take photos to the point we were continuously blinded and when a complaint was made she dismissed it as she wanted any good photos to be put on her Facebook page. It totally ruined the night.

At the end of the evening we spent at least 45 minutes watching her give readings to people we did not know. It was boring and unnecessary and obviously a plug for her business.

After this, she did not bother to do a count of people there, she wandered off with two other group participants and got some random to open the gates for us. No goodbye, nothing.

To say the least it was by far the most unprofessional, boring and worse tour we have ever been on. I would like our money back.
BTW at the beginning she had two extra people there that were not booked on the tour and said she couldn’t be bothered to check peoples tickets.
Written 22 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry to hear you have had such a negative experience on this tour AI S and we'd love to turn this around for you. You have also raised some serious issues we would like to further investigate internally. Can you please email simon.farrow@maitland.nsw.gov.au as so we can collect some more information and talk about getting you back on site for a positive experience.
Written 11 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 249
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Maitland Gaol: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Maitland Gaol

Maitland Gaol is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm