We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Kingsclere

Newbury Road, Kingsclere RG20 5QU, England
+44 1635 299500
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great food, great pub.

I was the organiser of a golf weekend for myself and 10 friends and always scan the area for a good... read more

Reviewed 9 April 2018
Tim M
,
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Cold Winter Dinner

Freezing cold night so we fancied a treat and had supper at The Crown. The log fire was greatfuly... read more

Reviewed 2 March 2018
Yossaman
,
Wiltshire UK
Read all 43 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Crown is nestled at the bottom of Watership Down in the lovely village of Kingsclere. We offer a wide range of real ales and unusual larger's as well as an extensive wine list. Our Dining Room serves traditional English pub food as well as some exciting specials. Thursday Night is Steak Night and on Friday we have our famous fish night. Sundays are a favourite with our traditional Sunday roast and all the trimmings. September sees the launch of our dinner cabaret nights with a three course dinner and show from £24.95. Great food and entertainment from our resident vocalists. Our Barn and Parlour suites are available for private hire from £50. We look forward to seeing you
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good25%
  • Average0%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“great pub” (3 reviews)
“local pub” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Newbury Road, Kingsclere RG20 5QU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1635 299500
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"large portions"
in 2 reviews
"great pub"
in 3 reviews
"local pub"
in 2 reviews
"staff were lovely"
in 2 reviews
"pudding"
in 2 reviews
"log burner"
in 2 reviews
"landlord"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

I was the organiser of a golf weekend for myself and 10 friends and always scan the area for a good local pub for us to escape the hotel. This place was perfect, we met for lunch on the Friday and everyone was really pleased...More

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at The Crown Kingsclere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Tim, thank you for the review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and really glad that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. Looking forward to seeing you all again when you're next in the area. Kind regards, Suzanne, Nigel and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Freezing cold night so we fancied a treat and had supper at The Crown. The log fire was greatfuly received! Great food, the gammon and eggs was delicious and obviously cooked to order. To stuffed for pudding, maybe next time 👍☃️ We will be back...More

Thank Yossaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at The Crown Kingsclere, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Yossaman, many thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed the food and the warmth of our cosy log fire. We look forward to seeing you again at The Crown and hope you'll have room for one of our great homemade desserts. Suzanne &...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

My partner and I were in and around the area and were starving at around 14:30 on Sunday. Saw the pub and it looked nice from the outside so thought get we’d give it a try. What a lovely discovery. It was very obviously a...More

Thank T20Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at The Crown Kingsclere, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi T20Driver, just wanted to thank you for the lovely review. Very glad you stumbled across us and hope to see you back again. Suzanne & Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Went to The Crown for a birthday celebration, had a great night. Food was brilliant with some of the best ham, egg & chips I've had, finished off with a fantastic apple crumble and custard. It's great to find somewhere which serves good quality food...More

Thank Nicky1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We booled a large table of 16 on what was a busy day for the owners and staff. Food, service and atmosphere was second to none. Thank you.

Thank Yossaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Very unfortunate to hear other people did not have the same experience we did. Took my family of 4 with 2 young children here and we all loved it. The staff were lovely, Nigel and Suzanne were lovely, and the food was incredible. Lovely afternoon,...More

1  Thank daviesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at The Crown Kingsclere, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review. Really glad to hear that you and your family all enjoyed your visit to The Crown. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best wishes, Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

What a terrible experience we had in here, food is terrible, microwave/pukka pies being served with about 4 chips and soggy veg. Waitresses have no idea about the menu/drinks they're serving or hospitality, didn't even ask if our food was OK. And on top of...More

Thank katie3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at The Crown Kingsclere, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hi Katie, many thanks for the review. I'm sure I remember speaking to you and your party, it was on Friday, 4th November following the fireworks in Kingsclere, (our 5th week at The Crown): An extremely busy night for us, one we had not anticipated...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

The beer and bar here is pretty good, and there is a nice welcoming feel to the pub. However we went for Sunday lunch and it was awful. The meat portion was tiny, looked pre sliced or even from a sandwich meat packet, and it...More

Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at The Crown Kingsclere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Steve, thank you for your review. If I remember rightly you were part of a table of twenty: A first for us in the five weeks we've been here and we've taken on board some development from the experience. It's a shame you didn't...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great pub, made very welcome by staff and locals, food excellent, would recommend a visit. Open and serves food all day.

Thank daphn-adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We thought we would try this pub for dinner midweek. It wasn't busy with only a couple of the other tables occupied. Whilst the menu is quite simplistic with just mains there is also a specials menu offering more dishes and puddings. Our meals were...More

1  Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kingsclere Hotels
Sandford Springs Hotel
296 reviews
1.45 km away
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
346 reviews
7.17 km away
Premier Inn Newbury Town Centre South (A339)
193 reviews
8.09 km away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
295 reviews
8.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sasso
204 reviews
.09 km away
Bel & The Dragon Restaurant
194 reviews
.13 km away
The Crown Inn Kingsclere
50 reviews
.19 km away
Iz Indian Takeaway
25 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Hart Inn
7 reviews
6.93 km away
The Fieldgate Centre
5 reviews
.50 km away
Bowdown Woods
13 reviews
6.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
daphn-adams
17 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from shazza8 | Reviewed this property |
It was open every evening for food, but whenever we drove past in the day it was closed.
1
Vote
jadey306
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul C | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don't know when I was in there it was busy and well staffed.
0
Votes
paulanewbury
19 April 2017|
Answer
Response from caroline s | Reviewed this property |
Yes round the back to the left of the pub 👍
0
Votes
;