We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Morrin Centre
Discover the secrets of our National Historic Site. Step back in time while walking through the sinister jail cells and decipher the graffiti carved into the floor by former inmates. Visit the intriguing chemistry Lab hidden upstairs, as well as the other classrooms of the Morrin College open from 1868 - 1902. Then, let yourself be spellbound by the haunting stories surrounding the Victorian Library, home to a collection of literary gems, some of which date back to the 16th century. The Morrin Centre offers: Experiences and tours for groups and individuals, various cultural activities, or consider renting one of our spaces as the perfect place to hold your event!
Read more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Morrin Centre
Overview
Let’s Roam is the #1 app-led scavenger hunt company. Walk to all the best landmarks and hidden gems, answering trivia questions and solving challenges. Work with your team or compete against them, as you learn new facts and create memorable experiences. Let’s Roam Scavenger Hunts are great as an everyday activity, or for bachelorette parties, birthday parties, corporate team building events and more! Each player chooses an interactive role, with challenges varying by person.
718Reviews5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 473
  • 203
  • 34
  • 5
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KQ wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Awesome! Booking the tour over the phone was easy and efficient. They told us before we confirmed booking what the limitations were because of COVID. The tour was about 45 minutes. Very informative with history but not too much as to keep the kids attention. The best part was ANTHONY, great communicator, very knowledgeable and great sense of humour to make it even more enjoyable.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefanie J, Guided Tours Coordinator at Morrin Centre
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Jo L, We are so glad you and your group enjoyed the tour! Anthony is, indeed, an awesome guide and collegue! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Hope you enjoyed your trip to Quebec City and please come back and visit us again.
Read more
Karen G wrote a review Sep 2020
Vancouver, Canada436 contributions66 helpful votes
I walked in today, there was a sign saying “come in and make a reservation for your visit”. So we did, they asked my name and phone number and that’s it. They didn’t say anything else, so I thought we were making reservations to limit the quantity of people because of COVID. But when we arrived for our reservation we had to actually pay for a tour. I only wanted to see the library, I asked if we could just walk around and they said no. Ok, I paid and after around 10 minutes listening to the tour guide outside, he showed us a picture of the library and said we couldn’t go there because it’s closed. I got extremely disappointed and interrupted the tour, so he offered me a refund. I only gave 2 stars because the the staff were really friendly, because I think this is a huge fault. The tour was actually being interesting, cool information, but if you are not getting the entire tour, they should tell you from the beginning, especially when you’ll miss the most interesting part.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefanie J, Guided Tours Coordinator at Morrin Centre
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Karen. Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to hear that you were not given enough information. As the health and safety of our visitors, members and staff is our top priority, the library had been closed since Mid-March (2020) due to Covid-19. Part of our mission is to interpret the Centre and as such we do not offer self-guided tours, however visitors are invited to experience living history by taking our Go To Jail and The Hanging of William Pouden tours which do cost 8$ per adult, per tour. Since July 2021, members may reserve a time and check out books in the library. For more information on what can and cannot be visited, as well as our health & safety protocols, please visit our website as updates are posted regularly. You are also more than welcome to email or phone us and it would be our pleasure to answer any questions you may have. Thank you!
Read more
RandomActsOfArt wrote a review Jul 2020
Vancouver, Canada10 contributions2 helpful votes
This library/ former penitentiary is historic and contemporary at the same time. The architecture is beautiful and it is situated in the heart of everything.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefanie J, Guided Tours Coordinator at Morrin Centre
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello RandomActsOfArt, We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Read more
Susan wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Since we aren't traveling because of Covid19 this summer, decided to grab my daughter and see what the modified Morrin Centre Visit was like--it was really great!!! Having a private visit for just the two of us, with Anthony dispensing information and answering questions with just the right mix of knowledge and humour, was just perfect. We could go at our own speed and focus on the stuff that really interested us, didn't get to see the chem lab or the library but pictures and stories filled in, and most importantly spending time in the prison (with films after). We will definitely be back with the rest of the family. Should also say, we felt completely safe--distancing, hand sanitizer, and masks; the guides were well prepared and ready.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefanie J, Guided Tours Coordinator at Morrin Centre
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello traveltogethers, Thank you for your wonderful comment! We're so glad that both you and your daughter enjoyed the tour with Anthony and hope that the next time you visit us, both the library and chem lab will be open! Thanks again!
Read more
Deborah S wrote a review Feb 2020
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada38 contributions11 helpful votes
I actually organized an event here - it was such a fun place, the guided tours shows you all, from turn of the century Science classes to a superb old library and a prison in the basement with dingy cells ... great visit ..
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456