We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau

Old Port of Montreal | Corner McGill and de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec QC H2Y 3H8, Canada
+1 514-284-0333
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Massage & spa

Terrible.. front desk are hard to understand english is poor. Bad organization! Then fill out... read more

Reviewed 5 February 2018
DanHannah_111222
,
Corbeil, Canada
via mobile
Unique Spa Experience.

Old Montreal is beautiful. The views of Old Montreal from Bota Bota are amazing. I went during... read more

Reviewed 31 January 2018
Cassandra095
,
San Diego, California
Read all 667 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Step onboard into a universe awash with astounding contrasts. In an invented space, between two water worlds... float away.Anchored at the Old Port of Montreal, Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau offers passengers the healing benefits of a spa coupled with the natural lulling movements of the St Lawrence River. Surrounded by enchanting decor, with Old Montreal as a magical backdrop, this mysterious and innovative floating spa offers privileged proximity to the river while enjoying the relaxing and energizing merits of the water circuit.Bota Bota is comprised of five decks on which you will find the various spa installations: two saunas with incredible views of the river and the Old Port, a eucalyptus steam bath, outdoor whirlpool baths, cold showers and baths, relaxation areas, restaurant, terraces and garden.Over and above its breathtaking Montreal location, this unique spa offers prolonged well-being to its passengers through massage therapy, body treatments, facial treatments, manicures and pedicures, as well as yoga and meditation.You can also delight your taste buds at the restaurant operated by Auberge sur la Route, with Michelin-starred chef Eric Gonzalez at its helm. Affiliated with the reputed Auberge St-Gabriel, Auberge sur la Route allows passengers to complement their experience with a fresh and simple menu, both original and comforting, for a serene healing of body and mind.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“water circuit” (133 reviews)
“cold bath” (12 reviews)
“spa experience” (24 reviews)
LOCATION
Old Port of Montreal | Corner McGill and de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec QC H2Y 3H8, Canada
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
CONTACT
Website
+1 514-284-0333
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Montreal
from USD 43.80
More Info
from USD 44.60
More Info
from USD 87.60
More Info
from USD 54.20
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water circuit"
in 133 reviews
"cold bath"
in 12 reviews
"spa experience"
in 24 reviews
"steam room"
in 27 reviews
"bring flip flops"
in 10 reviews
"old port"
in 66 reviews
"hanging chairs"
in 7 reviews
"hot pools"
in 6 reviews
"unique experience"
in 20 reviews
"great massage"
in 14 reviews
"swedish massage"
in 12 reviews
"couples massage"
in 13 reviews
"mani pedi"
in 6 reviews
"bean bag chairs"
in 5 reviews
"minute massage"
in 7 reviews
"montreal skyline"
in 7 reviews
"deep tissue massage"
in 5 reviews
Filter

11 - 20 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Terrible.. front desk are hard to understand english is poor. Bad organization! Then fill out paper for massage then fill out papers after massage.... i don't like paper work.... then go for steamroom....oh you can't go in we need to clean it... ok I'll go...More

Thank DanHannah_111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear "DanHannah_111222", Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not offer you the experience you were hoping for on the day of your visit. I am surprised with your comment regarding the bilingualism of our staff. Even though most of them...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Old Montreal is beautiful. The views of Old Montreal from Bota Bota are amazing. I went during winter (January). I think there is nothing better than being in a hot tub while looking at the frozen city and river. It is a very unique experience....More

1  Thank Cassandra095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Cassandra, Thank you for taking the time to share your Bota Bota experience with the Trip Advisor Community ! Our clients' feedback is really important to us as it helps us to always improve our services. I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We did the water circuit on a Saturday about noon. It was not crowded - but got so when we were leaving later about 2:30. It was nice but I with they had given more guidance re how long to stay in the sauna as...More

Thank glr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear "glr30", Thank you very much for your kind words! Definitely, on weekends, coming early can assure you a much more relaxing experience than if you come in the afternoon. Regarding the guidance in the water circuit, thank you very much for pointing this out....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I've been to a lot of spas but have never one this unique. The "water circuit" is laid out across four stories of a tall, narrow building, and feels more Scandinavian than French. Pools and Jacuzzis are outside and usable year-round (the water is heated)....More

Thank shell202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear "shell202020", Thank you very much for your extensive review! The "building" you mention is actually an old ferry ship, that was transformed into a floating spa. Bota Bota consists of five decks which house the various spa installations: three saunas with incredible views onto...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

great place i had a massage and the water circuit very relaxing , friendly and very helpful staff , can get busy but its part of the fun, dont forget to bring shower flip flops

Thank asimaman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear "asimaman82", Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed you time spent aboard ang hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Visited Bota Bota with my husband for our tenth anniversary. We booked a couples massage and did the water circuit first. I recommend going early in the day as it seemed to be getting quite busy around noon. The massages were very good. And the...More

Thank AriaBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Aria, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Bota Bota experience. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time spent aboard! Regarding the steam room situation, I definitely will look into it, as it's not supposed to have this odor. I...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Great place for a relaxing (package of 3 hrs, 4 hrs or whole day). From dry sauna to wet ones, outside hot pools and cold ones to massage and retreat spaces - with beds or hanging chairs. The staff if really helpful and paying attention...More

Thank 136smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear "136smith", Thank you for your kind words, they are really appreciated! I will make sure to share you comments with our dedicated team, who work very hard, every day, to make sure our clients enjoy a memorable experience. We hope you will visit Bota...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I doubt the state of utter bliss and relaxation will last long into 2018, but what a remarkable way to usher in the new year. The series of aromatic steam baths, saunas, and hot pots was comparable to similar experiences in Nordic countries, and the...More

Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Evan, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Bota Bota experience with the TripAdvisor community! I'm very glad to read that you had a good time aboard. There is indeed something unreal, almost mystic about sitting in a hot jucuzzi...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Do yourself a favour this 2018 and take a HARD PASS on this overpriced, deeply inferior "spa." This is hands down the worst experience I have ever had at a spa. I don't even know where to begin. Let's start with the check-in. We arrived...More

5  Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Jesse, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Bota Bota experience. It's definitely with our clients's feedback that we can offer them the best possible experience. I am sorry you had to wait for check-in and check-out. During the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to this spa twice because of it’s convenient location accessible by metro. The location and baths are beautiful. The view on the city is breath taking. The lockers are spacious and clean. However, the whole experience is highly overpriced. I understand the silence...More

Thank Francine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Francine, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's with our passengers' feedback that we can improve our services. I am happy that you enjoyed the facilities of Bota Bota. The views from our different baths are indeed really beautiful! Regarding...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the
Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and
commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship
stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate
headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by
nightfall transforms from a business district into a
youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and
restaurants heavily peopled by students and young
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 165 hotels in Montreal
Hotel St Paul
1,330 reviews
.44 km away
Le Cafe St. Paul
1 review
.45 km away
Le Petit Hotel
1,144 reviews
.47 km away
Hotel Bonaparte
1,070 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Le Cartet
524 reviews
.33 km away
Gibbys
1,847 reviews
.36 km away
Ikanos
291 reviews
.35 km away
Jellyfish Crudo+Charbon
125 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
1,498 reviews
.39 km away
Rue St-Paul
1,563 reviews
.45 km away
Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine
599 reviews
.31 km away
Old Port of Montreal
2,082 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TravelingSolo88
21 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MasterGeorge8 | Reviewed this property |
Well, you can show up and go no reservation needed, but this is a popular amenity I suggest you reserve in advance, you won't be disappointed. But if you want to go and see the place first that will be fine. Enjoy and relax.
1
Vote
TexasLuv2travl
19 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rita S | Reviewed this property |
Hello, 3 days before are enough for reservations , if you go you cannot exchange the day ! Because anyways you pay once you are there and most of the ameneties and food before leaving not at the entrance , you wear a... More
1
Vote
Stephanie O
12 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Francine F | Reviewed this property |
From my personal experience m, I’ve been really relaxed afterwards and a dinner and a stroll follow perfectly so I recommend an afternoon trip. I’ve stayed around 3-4 hours max. Hope this helps and you have a great trip!
0
Votes
;