We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm

Kayak Halifax
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
74
All photos (74)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good3%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
About
Conveniently located on Sands at Salter on the vibrant Halifax Waterfront, @ 1521 Lower Water Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia. Your next adventure awaits a stone’s throw from downtown Halifax attractions, restaurants, hotels & the cruise ship terminal...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
1521 Lower Water Street | Sands at Salter, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Website
+1 902-210-7728
Call
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
54
2
0
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
54
2
0
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george's island an unforgettable experience skill level unique perspective great hour hour tour harbour tour great trip interesting tour small group great guide nova scotia ed beginners uss starfish paddling
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a family vacation to Halifax in August 2018. Part of that trip was going to be the McNabs Island Culinary Adventure. On July 1st, we pre-booked and paid for the tour for four of us ($595 + tax) to take place on August...More

5  Thank geek_girl_cdn
Outdoor E, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience and the poor communication on our part. We have had problems with refunds being successfully issued in a handful of instances that tours did not run this season. We are glad that this was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked in advance for a kayak trip to Mcnabs island along with the picnic in late September of this year. Much like reviews before, I tried to get in contact with them numerous times via phone with nothing but a voice mail answering me....More

1  Thank Aaron L
Outdoor E, Owner at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Aaron Thank you for sharing your experience related to our full day McNabs Island Adventure for two (2) students scheduled for Saturday, September 29th. After looking into the matter, in addition to re-issuing a full refund, we also sent you a complimentary gift certificate...More

Reviewed 20 October 2018

I booked a full day tour called the McNabs Island Culinary Adventure in July for August 18, 2018. It was difficult to communicate with these folks but THEY did eventually cancel the tour the night before due to expected rain the next day. I was...More

1  Thank deb s
Outdoor E, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience and the poor communication on our part. We have had problems with refunds being successfully issued in a handful of instances that tours did not run this season. We are updating our policies and...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were lucky to book at a time where we were the only two people on the tour and was it ever an amazing day! Ed had fascinating stories to tell us of his time in the area and the history. It...More

Thank Melsta2014
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We visited Halifax for the day as part of our cruise itinerary. Our guide was patient, informative and created a wonderful experience. We received a unique perspective to view the city and surrounding area, while our guide provided interesting insight into local folklore, history, and...More

Thank joeloucks
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Great guide, had us all paddling round McNabs Island, despite being a novice. Good group and lots of local information tailored to our interests.

Thank littleltl
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

It was absolutely unplanned first kayaking expirience for me but very-very nice! Thank you, Ed, for interesting tour! I really enjoy it and recommend to everybody!

Thank Mariya I
Outdoor E, Owner at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you Mariya It was wonderfull to meet you & to share this bucket list experience. Your enthusiasm was contagious. Come visit us next time you are in Halifax. Ed & The Kayak Halifax Team

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Awesome time with Halifax Kayak. Ed was our guide and very welcoming. Extremely happy with my experience on the water with this company and looking forward to doing another trip.

Thank tashaholowaty
Outdoor E, Owner at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Tasha Awesome to meet you on our beautiful sunset paddle. Thanks for sharing your infectious live in the moment carpe diem philosophy & your spontaneous London/Greece adventure. Stop by & say hi anytime you are on the waterfront. Ed & The Kayak Halifax Team

Reviewed 17 September 2018

5 Stars across the board! We planned a group outing for a friend's bachelorette which led me to contact Ed a few months in advance and from day one he guaranteed us a good time - and he did not disappoint! We did the full...More

Thank Natalie Y
Outdoor E, Owner at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you Natalie for the kind words, as well as the great marriage advice you had for Jess 😉 We had such a great time with your group. Please share some of the wedding photos with us in October. Stop by & say hi anytime...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Fun way to spend an afternoon and see the Halifax harbour. Guide was on time, knowledgeable, and customized the tour to our skill level and preferences. We did the 2 hour tour and really enjoyed it, but it was over so quickly. Considering doing the...More

Thank Trystyn
Outdoor E, Owner at Kayak Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Trystyn Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We'd love to take you on the McNabs Island Adventure next season. Ed & The Kayak Halifax Team

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 nearby hotels
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
706 reviews
.16 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
1,061 reviews
.22 km away
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
1,691 reviews
.29 km away
The Halliburton
788 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 821 nearby restaurants
The Bicycle Thief
3,045 reviews
.20 km away
Da Maurizio Dining Room
457 reviews
.14 km away
Cabin Coffee
323 reviews
.22 km away
Ristorante a Mano
642 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 267 nearby attractions
Halifax Waterfront Boardwalk
2,836 reviews
.17 km away
Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
2,878 reviews
.28 km away
HMCS Sackville - Canada's Naval Memorial
342 reviews
.25 km away
Alexander Keith's Brewery
905 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karen C
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Guest R | Property representative |
The tour duration is 2 hours. We are off the water at 3 pm & it is a short walk to the cruise terminal along the Harbourfront boardwalk.
0
Votes
Karen C
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Guest R | Property representative |
Kayak Halifax on the Halifax Waterfront
0
Votes
Karen C
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Guest R | Property representative |
We are a short walk to the cruise terminal along the Harbourfront boardwalk :-)
0
Votes