We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Gondola

Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
+1 403-762-2523
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 94.87*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
USD 49.42*
and up
Banff Gondola Ride Admission
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:30
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 403-762-2523
Write a Review
Reviews (5,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,180 of 5,386 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Finding out the history of why there is a tea room on top which is now very enlarged but hit this has played a big role in our environment and capturing the weather. The original weather station is still on top but is not functioning...More

Thank Kathleen M
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Hi Kathleen, Thank you for your review of the Banff Gondola. I'm glad you enjoyed the spectacular views from the top of the mountain, as well as the history behind the weather station on Sanson's Peak. I hope the remainder of your visit to Banff...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016

The gondola and the mountaintop provide outstanding views of Banff and the surrounding area, We were with a tour group that got there at 8:00, so there was no waiting. At 10:00 - 10:30 there was still only a short line. Maybe its worse in...More

Thank golferbogie
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Banff Gondola. It's great that you enjoyed the outstanding views over Banff & the surrounding Bow Valley area. Coming earlier in the day is the best way to avoid the crowds. I trust that you enjoyed the remainder...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Not sure how this has happened but what should be leisurely visit turns into a 90 minute wait to board then another wait for another queue. Seems nonsensical to everyone except unusually officious staff. They seem to like it. The view obviously was amazing. Well...More

Thank Liam M
Oz B, Front Office Manager at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Hi Liam, Thank you for your feedback on the Banff Gondola. I am glad you enjoyed the amazing views. I am sorry that our boarding process was not more clearly explained to you. The Banff Gondola is very popular and unfortunately, during the peak times,...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016

We booked ahead of time and was very happy we did! Booked for 8:30 in the morning. Got on the gondola right away but saw four tour buses pull up right after us. They were still doing renovations up on top, but workers were friendly...More

Thank Love2travelUS16
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Banff Gondola. Booking tickets ahead of time online or at one of our locations in downtown Banff is a great way to skip some of the waiting times. I'm pleased you were able to warm up with a...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Our boarding time was 5:30pm, no wait in lines when going up. Perhaps because if you go later the price drops, so not much people went around 5:30pm. The ride took about 6-8 min and was not special. There is a long walkway on the...More

Thank Ashley R
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Hi Ashley, Thank you for your review of the Banff Gondola. I'm pleased you were able to come at a quieter time of day, and enjoyed the boardwalk up to Sanson's Peak for the spectacular views offered. I hope you can make it back to...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We have rode this gondola many times before and have always had an excellent experience. Today was the worst experience I have had here. There were so many people, no parking, waited in line an hour for tickets (that were regular price despite everything up...More

1  Thank DusBre
Oz B, Front Office Manager at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the Banff Gondola. I am sorry that gondola was too busy when you visited, which affected your experience. You are correct: as the most popular attraction in Banff, it can get quite busy here and walk up customers can...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Gondola ride to Top of sulphur mountain is a wonderful experience, panoramic views of Banff, lake luise, and snow capped mountains all around. Lovely board walk to reach observatory, one can see all around from the peak. Don't feed animals, it is prohibited and interferes...More

Thank ellen507
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Hi Ellen, Thank you for visiting and sharing your review of the Banff Gondola. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy the panoramic views over Banff & the surrounding Bow Valley region. Taking the boardwalk up to Sanson's Peak is worth the effort for the...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We attended at an arranged time of 5pm. We had a 20 minute wait to board the gondola ride. Too many people were using 2 person rides which caused delays in getting to the top of the ride. Should ensure that each car is full...More

Thank X3960LGchristopherc
Johnson G, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Banff Gondola and for spending some time to leave us a review. We appreciate the comment of us being Highly Recommended, it means a lot. We do recommend customers purchase tickets and times ahead of time in order to avoid...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

A definite must but book in advance and go early so that you are able to part. The views are spectacular and it is worth the wait.More

Thank Sue K
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and sharing your review of the Banff Gondola. I'm pleased you enjoyed the spectacular views from the top of Sulphur Mountain. Booking tickets as well as the time of your visit online is strongly recommended, as is visiting earlier in the...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The gondola is so much better than I expected. Do note that the temperature drops up at sulphur mountain so wear rainproof, warm clothing even if it's warm down below. Well worth the price!More

Thank Jill K
Chris T, Front Office Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this review

Hi Jill, Thank you for sharing your feedback from the Banff Gondola. It's great to hear that the gondola exceeded your expectations. The weather in the mountains can change very quickly without warning, so taking warm waterproof clothing is strongly recommended. Kind Regards, Chris Thompson...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Eden
432 reviews
.50 km away
Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar
365 reviews
2.68 km away
Rundle Lounge
492 reviews
1.90 km away
Grapes Wine Bar
178 reviews
1.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bow Falls
2,570 reviews
2.00 km away
Surprise Corner
465 reviews
2.24 km away
Tunnel Mountain Drive
474 reviews
2.21 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
LauVa03
What is best time of day to go on the gondola during the last week of December? Both in terms of the views/light and the lines?
28 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from ER2013family | Reviewed this property |
I think 9am-1pm would be best in terms of daylight. In December, it starts getting dark after 4pm. The weather is always very changeable but this would be your best bet. Also, there are enough displays in the visitor centre... More
0
Votes
LauVa03
What is the best time of day to visit during the last week of December? Both in terms of the best views/light and the lines?
28 May 2017|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
AprilMaureen
Are strollers allowed on the gondola?
21 May 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from GezginLD | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure. I haven't seen one myself, cable cars are small, seats only 4 people. Pls check Banff Gondola web site for Frequently Asked Questions. It says: "Due to the limited space in the gondola and in the mountaintop... More
1
Vote