We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Poverty Sucks Fishing
Poverty Sucks is a fully equipped classic 53 foot Hatteras fishing vessel in the upscale port of Puerto Aventuras, only an hour drive from Cancun. Unlike many competing charter fishing vessels, Poverty Sucks has a comfortable, air conditioned salon. Fish On! The crew of Poverty Sucks has more than 35 years experience fishing the Yucatan Peninsula.
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Certificate of Excellence
Contact
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Travellers talk about

Poverty Sucks Fishing
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
78
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
78
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain and crew mahi fish great boat his lovely wife white marlin caught dorado father son great trip deck hand amazing experience hour trip these guys dolphin discovery mundo debbie sucked
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a great fishing trip with them the boat is well maintained and the crew was great they worked hard all day to put us on fish. They where very nice and took care of us. A good family oriented operation. After fishing was...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank brentm1982
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went out with Capt. Dietmar, his wife Debby, and their crew while we were in Riviera Maya for our honeymoon. The Captain and Debby are excellent to communicate with. I spoke to Debby several times through email, and I spoke to...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank tgs303
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband booked this for the family. He is more of the fisher and really enjoyed the owner and the stories that he told. We did catch a few fish, one big enough to eat. It's not really "fishing" season but they still took us...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank EmKay823
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Remember it’s called fishing, not catching! We had a great time on our half day fishing trip. It was completely last minute and Debby was great getting it all together for us. Dietmar was a great captain and kept me entertained while Fernando, Mundo and...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank caraD0822
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We had a great day on the water with Capitan Dietmar and Debby. We caught a big sailfish, had a nice lunch and enjoyed the sun. Very nice couple and boat.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Msterrifit
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent, knowledgeable, fishing team. Thank you for the amazing memory. The Poverty Sucks Fishing charter will be my choice any time I’m in Puerto Aventuras. Never thought is was possible getting tired of catching Dorado.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Chris R
Reviewed 26 July 2018

This has been my 3rd trip fishing with Dietmar and Debbie over the years and I have nothing but positive experiences with them and thats after 5 ful days of fishing. First trip was a 3 day fishing trip back in April of 2014 with...More

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank cr92max
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We spent the morning with this crew and were landing fish within minutes of leaving the marina. After a Barracuda and 5 good size Dorado we hooked a Blue Marlin. After an hour long fight we landed the 552 pound monster. The crew could not...More

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank danv218
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

After researching a ton of reviews, we chose Poverty Sucks because of the exceptional ratings and we were not disappointed! It’s a family run business with Capt. Dietmar and Debby along with 2 of the hardest working deckhands in the business. There are no guarantees...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank msteindler2018
Reviewed 29 June 2018

My husband and I took our 3 grandkids (12-17) for their first deep sea fishing trip. We were able to reel in 1 dorado which made the trip for us. Demar and Debbie were very accommodating in taking a break from fishing and letting the...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Beth R
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lee D
21 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Poverty Sucks k | Property representative |
That is the price of the boat..as of this year..not per person.. We can take up to 12 people per trip..all trips are private..no one else is added to your trip..Hope to get you out fishing!!
1
Vote
Angel J
2 May 2018|
Answer
Response from povertysucksfishing | Property representative |
As of right now our prices are:$700.4 hours..$950..6 hours..$1200..8 hours..waters/sodas/ice on all trips..sandwiches/snacks on the 6/8 hour trips..Hope to get you out fishing! May is a great month!
0
Votes
harv2468
19 March 2018|
Answer
Response from povertysucksfishing | Property representative |
Yes we do..We are avaiable all of those dates as of now.. We'd love to get you out fishing!!
0
Votes