We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquanauts Dive Shop

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Share

Aquanauts Dive Shop
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
104
All photos (104)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent97%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cattle boat”(2 reviews)
“the reefs”(7 reviews)
About
Aquanauts Dive Shop is a family run PADI 5 Star Center located on the marina in Puerto Aventuras, about 15 minutes south of Playa del Carmen. We are a small shop providing personal service to our divers, providing long bottom times, allowing you to...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Contact
On the Marina | Across the street from the Omni Hotel, Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Website
+52 984 873 5041
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 29 December 2014

This is now the six year we have been coming here, and one of the main reasons we come to Puerto Aventuras is this wonderful gem of a dive shop. The focus is on great service and total experience. My air consumption is very low,...More

5  Thank D B
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

By far one of the worst dive shop experiences I have ever had. I have over 3000 dives all over the world and dealing with Aquanauts was by far one of the most unpleasant experiences I have ever had! The owner was rude and went...More

3  Thank Bob T
Jim Y, Owner at Aquanauts Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thanks for your review of Aquanauts Dive Shop. I am sorry that you left disappointed in our service. In looking through our records for December, I do not see your name on any of our dive records, so I have to guess that you are...More

Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
106
2
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
106
2
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air consumption cattle boat the reefs nurse sharks boat captain marine life top notch making sure lobster nick safety gear instructor resort marina puerto crew
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Martín was terrific divemaster for our 2 tank dive in July. We are still relatively new divers and he was extremely patient with me, in particular. Their scuba equipment looked to be well-maintained and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

Thank Whitney D
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

This trip was our first to Puerto Moreles. Crescent in the shop coordinated several days of diving & snorkeling for us as well as a refresher class. The instructor was a very experienced diver with lots of great tips & we worked through the required...More

Thank aztraveler02
Reviewed 4 January 2018

My son turned 20 while on a family trip to Mexico for Christmas. He and I wandered in Aquanauts after lunch one day. The owner was tremendously helpful and informative. My son took a day certification training with two 20 somethings from the UK and...More

1  Thank LoyceWT2
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The main business here is obviously diving but don’t miss a chance for a snorkel trip! Raul is amazing! He took us to a reef where there were plenty of other groups snorkeling but Raul went above and beyond! He brought along bait to attract...More

Thank travelingfamily122
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Came to Porto adventurous for a family Christmas did 11 amazing dives including 1 night dive. Had my daughter and daughter in law do their first dives as well . Couldn’t have asked for a more amazing place to do this. Have done more than...More

Thank Shane R
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We have been coming to this dive shop for years, and that should tell you something about the degree of service this dive shop offers. It is close to Dreams and the Catalonia, about 10 minute walk. Load up your gear in the cart, 2...More

1  Thank Susan B
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I've dived all over the world and love the health and vitality of the waters around Cozumel and Akumal. However, on my recent trip to the "Riviera Maya" I found the dive operations trying to gouge and upsell me before discovering Aquanauts. It's a family...More

Thank DaneL46
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We went with Pro Dive to Akumal and Cenote dos Ojos with our kids (5,7 and 16). We snorkeled at Akumal and saw tons of turtles. We then went to Cenote dos Ojos, where there is a cave system you can scuba and snorkel in....More

Thank Manene1976
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Don't want to be timed while diving? With aquanauts you can dive as long as you are good with your air consumption. No rush, no hassles, no worries. Great diving area with nurse sharks, eagle rays, moray eels and turtles, aside from all the wonderful...More

Thank rvidalesmoris
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Travelled from the UK as four experienced divers. Have been using Aquanauts since 2002 on six trips to the area. The current owners have run the place for the last 8 years. Why do we keep using them. For one the dive boat is in...More

Thank ClarkeP
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
Porto Bello Private Residence Club
53 reviews
.23 km away
Porto Bello Hotel and Residences
9 reviews
.28 km away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
633 reviews
.52 km away
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
2,275 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 73 nearby restaurants
Jessie Gelato
411 reviews
.46 km away
The Divot
94 reviews
.38 km away
1329 Barcelona tapas
19 reviews
.44 km away
Cafe Ole
592 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 64 nearby attractions
Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras
2,989 reviews
.47 km away
Fatima Bay
37 reviews
.29 km away
Akumaltour - Day Tours
33 reviews
.16 km away
TAO Wellness Center
204 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
family171
7 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Jim Y | Property representative |
I'm sorry, but something is not right here. We are a small shop that does not handle more than 10 divers at a time. I am the person who takes care of the phone and email. We have not received any emails inquiring about... More
0
Votes