We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience

Features Animals
Bairds Bay, Australia
More
About Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience
Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience is a marine experience, once done, you will never forget. None of the marine mammals of Baird Bay have ever been fed, nor have they been enticed in any other way. The interaction is entirely of their choosing and will remain so. Not everyday is perfect, the conditions are wild and free. We give it our best shot for an incredible interaction to happen for you with either the sea lions or dolphins, or at its very best both these beautiful marine mammals on the one tour. No guarantees are promised, but in saying that, we can guarantee the least that will happen, is, you will see the sea lions up close and personal.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
135Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michelle B wrote a review Nov. 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This tour was just amazing . Nature delivered in terms of an abundance of seals and dolphins and we experienced intimate and lengthy encounters with both . However, what was particularly impressive was the deep respect the tour operators have for the ocean environment and its
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul C wrote a review Nov. 2020
Adelaide South Australia58 contributions13 helpful votes
This was one of our main reasons for going to the Eyre Peninsula and we had so many expectations but unfortunately for us the weather had other ideas. We knew the water would be cold but given the day I suspect the trip was very close to being cancelled by the operators but
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan P, Owner at Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience
Responded 4 Dec. 2020
Thank you for the review, and I am sorry that we had a bad day out there with the weather. I think this trip was in late October, and if I remember correctly I told everyone that it was going to be a bit dodgy. And from memory it was even worse than I thought it was going to be. I remember at that time that I warned everybody before we went out that it wasn't going to be easy, but if you were desperate to go I would take you. The comment about not wanting to relinquish the income is silly, we have been here doing this for nearly 30 years, and one days income will make no difference to us, I would have only gone out on a rough day to try to keep everyone happy. And we would not have taken pre-payment, so it would have been your choice on the day to take the tour. Unfortunately, sometimes that can be the wrong thing to do. I would think that on the return I would have offered everyone a free trip whenever they had the time to come back, I always do if we have a shocker. I'm sorry that you had a bad tour, and I blame myself for taking the tour out on a marginal day, but sometimes that happens when it is just much worse than you expect. We have had a few over the years. All you need to do is call in when you are passing by and I will get you on a tour FOC when we have seats available.
Read more
Lindsay A wrote a review Nov. 2020
Adelaide, Australia29 contributions4 helpful votes
The Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience was just an amazing adventure!! Alan and Mick took us out to the the most awesome sea lions to swim and interact with!! We had just a memorable experience with these animals and they are so inquisitive and friendly and were not afraid to come
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
EdiBa683 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Switzerland1,223 contributions108 helpful votes
+1
What an amazing experience to swim with dolphins and sea lions. It was the first time of my life that I had the chance to swim with sea lions and common dolphins. At first I was a bit worried because it was a bit cold that day and I don't have much experience with snorkeling,
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Kristyn V wrote a review Sep. 2020
Greater Adelaide, Australia18 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Hosts were great and knowledgable. Water was cold but it was well worth it. Plenty of time in the water. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share