We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get the full experience and book a tour
Three Historic Castle's and a Pub Day Tour
USD 582.57 per adult
410Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 278
  • 118
  • 12
  • 2
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vikinglongboat wrote a review Oct. 2020
Derby, United Kingdom33 contributions46 helpful votes
Bit tricky to find. No sign for small car park which is a small public one next to a kids play area. Man on the gate really friendly and chatty. A credit to SH. The place itself was a bit disappointing. A quick wander around and back out again. Nothing special or magical about the place really. Just a bog standard castle with little in the way of endearing features. Ok if you are in the area and want to pass an hour.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ByHistoricScotland, Marketing Team at Dirleton Castle
Responded 9 Nov. 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review regarding your recent visit to Dirleton Castle. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience when visiting us. We have been working incredibly hard to ensure that we can re-open safely, but as a result of Scottish Government guidelines we are currently unable to re-open all areas of the castle. However, as it is only the De-Vaux tower and Prison closed off due to the one way system in place, we feel that there is still lots for visitors to see and explore. Again we'd like to thank you for taking time to send us your feedback.
Read more
Jacqui M wrote a review Oct. 2020
650 contributions294 helpful votes
Despite the pandemic, Historic Scotland has managed to open another of its sites with very well managed Covid-secure routes around the gardens and castle. You enter through the gardens, and it is easy (as we did) to miss the 'gazebo museum' where you see a small display of finds through the centuries. Also in the gardens is a very well-preserved dovecot. The castle itself is in ruins, but you can still wander into some of the chambers and read about life in bygone days. As you exit the castle, you are taken through the Victorian gardens with some amazing specimens of trees. If you have little ones, there is a small playpark between the castle and car park where more energy can be expended.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jay Sss wrote a review Jul. 2020
Borders, United Kingdom60 contributions53 helpful votes
The grandkids adore exploring the ruins...playing soldiers or whatever else the imaginations bring to mind. Lovely gardens, easy access...make sure you go to yellowcraigs beach afterwards.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Richard T wrote a review Mar. 2020
Dunbar, United Kingdom80 contributions35 helpful votes
This place is a great place to enjoy a good day out and it has a lovely walled garden the only thing that lets this place down is the outside toilets they were stinking and dirty when we were there with the kids but do not let that put you off as we all had a great time
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
CLW wrote a review Jan. 2020
Carlisle, Pennsylvania15 contributions32 helpful votes
We were staying at Greywalls to celebrate Hogmanay and walked to the Dirleton castle ruins on New Year's eve. Both the walk and the castle visit were very enjoyable. We've seen lots of castle ruins through the years. This is one of the best. It's a small family castle that served as the home and fortification for the local lord. In its day, it would have been quite comfortable and was well laid out to meet the security needs of the area.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Dirleton Castle