We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Experience Cuba Tours

#29 of 249 Tours in Havana
Havana, Cuba
More
About Experience Cuba Tours
Cuba is an Experience! We are a multiple awards winning tour operator based in Australia and Cuba. Founded by a Cuban that now resides in Australia, we are the specialist on bespoke & private Cuba tours.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Experience Cuba Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
187Reviews7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 16
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kathy_Gregory wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
What a country! What people! Cuba is an amazing country to visit and has some of the warmest people who just want to see tourists enjoy their time there. The tour was arranged between myself and Nick at Experience Cuba and was pretty much exactly what we wanted to do. It was very easy dealing with them and they were very helpful with our wishlist and trying to get the best out of our limited time in Cuba.  As keen walkers we wish we had some extra time available to spend in the mountains around Trinidad and in Vinales. There were a few things that we needed to change on the go while in Cuba because of some places being closed at times they should have been open and because we wanted to spend a bit more time doing some things. These were all excellently dealt with and arranged by the company and our fabulous guide, Brian. It does help if you are the kind of traveller who is ready to be a bit flexible with your plans. We can not speak highly enough of Brian. The care and attention, the good humour and way he dealt with us and our 'constant demands' was exemplary. The casas were clean and comfortable and it was lovely to get to meet so many of the real locals. We hope that everyone there is safe and well during this awful time and the Coronavirus pandemic. A country and a company we highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit Cuba when it is possible to do so again.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ben W wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had booked a 10 Day custom private tour for April 2020 . The experience up until it was cancelled by the operator was fine . The trip sounded great and they were easy to deal with . We fully paid for the trip , 5500 aus dollars per couple . Then the pandemic struck and the tour was cancelled by the tour operator . We expected some sort of fee due to the cancellation but were dumbstruck when we were informed it was $1900 fee per couple !!! We asked for a breakdown on why it was so expensive but were told they don’t do that . So it was take a credit ( and another fee ) which we couldn’t say we would be able to use or pay the fee to get the remaining funds . Disappointed greatly to be stung with such an extreme cancellation fee with no explanation
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayna D, Manager at Experience Cuba Tours
Responded 4 May 2020
Hi Ben, We wish you, your family and your friends, are keeping well, healthy and safe during these unforeseen and difficult times we are currently living. Regarding your review, we would like to provide a few clarifications. We, Experience Cuba Tours (ECT), did not cancel the tour reservation. We offered to your group the option to postpone the trip to a later date (travel within 12 months, which was also communicated to you that could be renegotiated if required) or the option to cancel the tour reservation. It was communicated to us from yourselves by email on March 27th, that you were opting to cancel your Cuban tour and not postpone it to a later date. This notice was given with less than 30 days prior to the commencement of your tour in Cuba (April 20 to April 29) and in line with the Terms and Conditions, ECT would be entitled to retain 100% of the monies paid. We of course had no intention of doing this during this difficult period and all efforts were made to recoup as much of the monies that had been outlaid in Cuba in regards to your tour bookings/reservations. To clarify, the money charges referred to in your review are not ECT cancellation fees, they are unrecoverable/non-refunded costs associated with your trip to Cuba. We did not hold that money on our accounts as a profit. ECT deals directly with many providers/suppliers/agents for services comprising the different aspects of each tour. Subsequent cancellation of a tour results in many different parties being directly affected and the possibility of many individual cancellation costs being imparted by each. The unrecoverable/non-refunded costs include: International money transfer fees and conversions, international charges associated with hotel reservations, costs/fees charged by Cuban based personnel/agencies for arranging services/suppliers, portion of Cuban casa accommodation costs, portion of Cuban transport costs, portion of Cuban guide costs... We believed that all the above was explained in our emails to yourselves, apologies if this information is not clear enough. We are very sorry that we have not been able to recoup on your behalf 100% of the money. We recouped as much of the monies as we could and refunded you accordingly. We wish you the best, keep safe and well during these challenging times. Regards Ayna Davies
Read more
TrickyPerth wrote a review May 2020
Perth, Australia329 contributions97 helpful votes
I signed up for a 17 day tour of Cuba which very unfortunately was cut short due to the Covid 19 situation. At least I was able to see Havana before returning to Australia. From my first contact with Nick I was most impressed with his knowledge of Cuba and his organisation of the tour. All my questions were answered promptly. My guide in Havana was Beberli. He spoke perfect English and his knowledge of Cuba and its history was excellent. My Casa was clean with plenty of room. The breakfasts were good as well. If i was to do this tour again I would choose the highest accommodation level and ask for a Casa away from the tourist areas. Cuban's like to party hard and noisily ! Nick was able to organise my early departure without a problem. I would certainly use Experience Cuba Adventures if I am able to visit Cuba again.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayna D, Manager at Experience Cuba Tours
Responded 4 May 2020
Hi, Thank you so much, for choosing to travel with us and for the fantastic review. We are happy that you had a good (very short) time while in Cuba, although disappointing to hear that our trip was cut short due to the currently unforeseen circumstances we are living in. We will ensure to share your feedback with our team in Cuba, it will lift spirits to know all our efforts in keeping our customers informed, safe, and helping them in getting out of Cuba and back home have been recognized. We hope to see you again soon and show you this absolutely unique and fantastic country! Hasta pronto! The ECT team
Read more
Jill & John James wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
We signed up for a 16 day tour of Cuba after we decided that independent travel would be just too difficult. From our first enquiry Nick impressed us with his rapid response to our questions and provided us with comprehensive information . All arrangements fell into place very well from being met at the airport by our charming guide Milena to the choice of casa particulieres. Milena was an excellent and knowledgeable guide with a great sense of humour for whom nothing was too much trouble. Her cafe and restaurant recommendations were always excellent. Our driver , Guerra, ( hope we' ve got the spelling right) was excellent . We came ways with a vastly improved knowledge of Cuban culture and history. We would also like to thank Nick and the Cuban team for keeping us informed on the rapidly changing Covid 19 situation, enabling us to arrive back in Australia without hitches.We would highly recommend Experience Cuba Tours.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayna D, Manager at Experience Cuba Tours
Responded 4 May 2020
Hi James, Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to provide you with our services and for the great review. We will ensure to share your review with all our team, specially with Nick, Milena, Guerra, and all the hosts from the casas utilized in your trip. It will lift their spirit to know that during this challenging time we are living in their efforts to provide an outstanding service has been noted. We hope you, your family and friends are keeping well and safe during this times. And if you ever want to go back please let us know, we would love to share more of Cuba! Hasta pronto! The ECT Team
Read more
Susan S wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Arrived back in Australia 22/3/2020, cut short due to Covid19. Our first guide,Will, was a wonderful young man, very caring and knowledgeable,unfortunately he had to return to his home town,for family reasons. Carlos was assigned to these two old ladies from Australia. He became our guardian angel. Without his care and support we would never have returned home. Our driver,Joandi was a very careful and experienced driver, and the taxi was clean and in good condition. The casa we stayed in, both vinnales, and Trinidad, were lovely. Our hosts, very welcoming. A wonderful experience, sadly cut short. Wouldn’t hesitate to travel again with “Experience Cub” . Thanks Nick, Laynett, Will and Carlos We ❤️❤️You.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayna D, Manager at Experience Cuba Tours
Responded 4 May 2020
Hi, Thank you so much, for choosing to travel to Cuba with us, and for the fantastic review. We are so happy you had a good experience while travelling with us. And yes, we agree, Carlos went above and beyond during your tour circumstances. We truly believe ECT has the best assets in Cuba to provide not only a great service, but ensure our clients are kept safe and informed at all times. We could not provide such a great service if it wouldn't be because all of our collective team. We will ensure to share your review with all of them, so they know the great job that once again they have done. Hasta pronto! The ECT Team
Read more
Previous
123456