We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 3:30 pm
Save
Share
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
70
All photos (70)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good58%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
28 May 2018
“Excellent ”
5 Apr 2018
“Great fun and value”
About
Looking for excitement and adrenalin? Look no further than Port Stephens 4WD Tours offering you stunning scenery, sandboarding thrills and adventure for the whole family and an experience you won’t forget. All vehicles come with a fully qualified...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 am - 3:30 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
James Paterson Street | Lower Car Park, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Website
+61 2 4984 4760
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
50
30
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
50
30
4
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Really friendly staff from the initial interaction. Informative and laid back atmosphere. Fun activities. Would highly recommended

Thank Krish D
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Krish Thanks for the 5 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun and learnt about the Stockton Sand Dunes. Hope to see you again in beautiful Port Stephens :) Kind regards Sean

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Good couple of hours out. They offer to take you to the dunes whenever you arrive. Views there are incredible. Great activity to keep yourself busy, with a lovely beach to dip into. Good experience!

Thank lpurser13
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi lpurser13 Thanks for the 4 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun and we have to agree, the views from the top are unbelievable. Hope to see you again in beautiful Port Stephens :) Kind regards Sean

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We accidentally booked this operator, and while the bottle of water was appreciated, the dunes were really lame, to the point you had to push your way down. The other 2 operators had better dunes. If I did not walk over to the next operator,...More

Thank TomZili
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi TomZili Thank you for your feedback of our sand dune and taking the time to review us. Due to being a National Park, we are limited to where we can and can't go for our dune selection. Unfortunately our dune at this particular time...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a definite must if you visit Port Stephens! We wanted to try sand boarding and read the reviews on 4WD Tours so we decided to go with them. And they did not disappoint! On arrival the staff were so friendly, making sure we...More

Thank PatriciaFl2
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi PatriciaFl2 Thanks for the 5 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun and I shall pass on your feedback to our staff. Hope to see you again in beautiful Port Stephens :) Kind regards Sean

Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We planned to just visit the 15km beach but with so many 4wd operators it seemed a shame not to give it a try. The guys at Port Stephens 4WD and dune surfing offered a good deal so we headed off for a short drive...More

Thank Jeff W
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Jeff W Thanks for the 5 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun and I shall pass on your feedback to Jono. The sand does indeed get everywhere however it's great to hear you still had a memorable...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

So much fun 😎 Easy going but pretty well organised bunch who came across as more than happy to get us onto the dunes. Fun shuttle across the sand out to the slide site then a quick, concise briefing on the do’s, don’ts & how...More

1  Thank Tracey D
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Tracey D Thanks for the 4 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun and great to hear you had fun in the 4WD. Amazing to hear that a Sandboarding Champion certificate was awarded, hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Must visit place if you are in Newcastle. Beach is awesome with bful sand dunes and camel ride. Don’t forget to carry suncream. Big no to Nelson bay. Go one which is near Anna bay.

1  Thank Pankaj S
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Pankaj S Thanks for the 4 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun on the Stockton Sand Dunes. Hope to see you again in beautiful Port Stephens :) Kind regards Sean

Reviewed 1 February 2018

An absolute must for anyone visiting the Nelson Bay/ Port Stephens area. Friendly staff who give their job 100%.More

Thank brendan860
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Brendan860 Thanks for the 5 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun on the largest moving coastal sand mass in the Southern Hemisphere. I shall pass on your feedback to our staff, hope to see you again in...More

Reviewed 25 January 2018

This activity is good value for money but if you are planning on doing it in summer, be prepared that it is very hot and there is limited shade. A suggestion to management, you need more than one sun shack for people to have shade...More

1  Thank Destinationexplore
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Destinationexplore Thanks for the 4 star review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Glad to hear you had fun on the Stockton Sand Dunes. Hope to see you again in beautiful Port Stephens :) Also in regards to your suggestion for extra shade, this has...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We did sand boarding on 5 Jan 2018 with Port Stephens 4 WD and it was the worst experience. The sand dunes they take you too hardly have any depth and slope. We struggled to push ourselves down the slope. Their service and hospitality is...More

2  Thank Vishal M
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Vishal M Thank you for your feedback of our sand dune and we appreciate the feedback on our service and hospitality, I shall pass this onto our staff. Due to being a National Park, we are limited to where we can and can't go...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ankita J
26 October 2015|
Answer
Response from 94ruthf | Reviewed this property |
25 aid incl an hour of sandboarding
1
Vote
Joy V
21 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Sean A | Property representative |
Hi Joy Sorry for the late reply, we have had no power due to the storms. Yes your toddlers can ride with you, and the 3 year old could go by him/herself on the shorter slope. (There are usually various length slopes to... More
0
Votes