We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: James Paterson Street | Lower Car Park, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 2 4984 4760
Website
Today
09:30 - 15:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 15:30
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Looking for excitement and adrenalin? Look no further than Port Stephens...

Looking for excitement and adrenalin? Look no further than Port Stephens 4WD Tours offering you stunning scenery, sandboarding thrills and adventure for the whole family and an experience you won’t forget. All vehicles come with a fully qualified driver, with exceptional knowledge of the Stockton Beach Sand Dunes.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 66 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Fun for the whole family

On arrival at departure point, we found the check in easy and staff exceptional friendly and professional. I had already pre-booked this tour which made the transition quick and... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Clive1065
,
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the dunes with a large tour group company. The only forewarning was that at the last minute on the bus, we were required to sign injury waiver releases. I suspect that many on the bus did not read or understand the document, especially since many were non-English speaking. While quick safety instructions were given at the dunes,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VW49
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi VW49 We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience with us at Port Stephens 4WD Tours. Very rarely do we have injuries/accidents on the sand dune as during our safety briefing we go over all aspects of the operation to ensure all customers are having fun in a safe environment with other participants During... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival at departure point, we found the check in easy and staff exceptional friendly and professional. I had already pre-booked this tour which made the transition quick and effortless. Signed the waver, grab our complimentary water and onto the red 4WD drive bus. Although we ventured to the sand dunes on a sweltering day, we choose an afternoon session... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive1065
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi Clive1065 Thank you for your review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours, glad to hear yourself and everyone had fun on our Sandboarding Adventure. Hope to see you again soon in Port Stephens Kind regards Sean More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying nearby and my wife was insistent we went - never say no in that situation! The week we were up there it had been extremely hot, but on the day we chose it was cooler and there had been rain overnight. We rang to check if that had a detrimental effect and were advised that, on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi David P Thank you for your review of our Sandboarding Adventure on the amazing Stockton Sand Dunes. Glad to hear that the family had fun and I will be sure to pass on your feedback our staff. Credit to you for lasting nearly 2 hours, on average 1.5hrs is the max :)........look forward to seeing you again soon to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

It was really really fun but tiring. The sand is very soft but the weather is so so so hot. Pls prepare sunblock, Cap, sunglasses and even protective sleeves. The organisers did provide mineral water before we board the vehicle before sending us tho the sand boarding area. We must carry a sand board up the slope... the climbing up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 92tane
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi 92tane Thank you for your review of our Sandboarding Adventure and thank you for uploading the picture. Glad to hear you and the kids had fun, look forward to seeing you again soon for another Port Stephens 4WD Adventure :) Thanks Sean More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

This company was so professional, very friendly and provided an excellent service. So many trucks to take u up and back to the sand dunes u didn't have to wait and the sand boarding was so much fun and so easy. The kids and us had a ball!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi Mandy C Thank you so much for your review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours, we are glad to hear that you had fun on the Stockton Sand Dunes :) Look forward to seeing you again soon for another Port Stephens 4WD Adventure. Kind regards The team at Port Stephens 4WD Tours More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

It's actually a fun but the weather was too hot for me. There are several independent providers which you can book with next to Birubi Beach. They take you to the spot and you can stay there as long as you like, just hop back on their shuttle truck when you are done. At the spot, they provide you with... More 

Helpful?
Thank akuswara
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi akuswara Thank you for your review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours, we are glad to hear that you had a great time on our Sandboarding Adventure. Indeed this week has been very hot and hopefully it cools down soon :) I hope to see you again soon for another Port Stephens 4WD Adventure. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

We took this tour as a Combo when we bought our dolphin watch tour with Imagine Cruises. This is excellent value for money! The 4WD was great! Air conditioned (hooray!) we headed to look for Pipis which are fascinating and entertaining creatures. Then over the sand dunes to Tin City, including where a scene from a Mad Max film was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank _ES1_1
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi _ES1_1 Thank you for your honest and amazing review of our Beach & Dune + Dolphin Watch with Imagine Cruises. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour and look forward to seeing you in the near future for another Port Stephens 4WD Adventure :) Kind regards Sean More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

Me and my friend we planned to go sandboarding just after Christmas: we tried to call several times in the past days to have more information about the place but we haven't been very lucky (no one picked up the phone) so we decided to book on line (28$ each) when we arrived at our destination, first disappointment was to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bbthequeen
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi Bbthequeen Thank you for your review of Port Stephens 4WD Tours, it is sad to hear that you did not enjoy your experience but you did enjoy our amazing landscape :) Firstly we would like to apologise for inconvenience with our phone line, we had a power surge early Boxing Day morning and was out of phone service until... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

Went to the sandboarding experience on the Stockton dynes provided by 4WD tours expecting a thrilling time. Having seen pictures of similar happenings around the internet before I was semi-excited for the whole thing. My expectations gained a dark shadow when I got to the tours starting/gathering point and I saw the tour provider next to my chosen, and already... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jere B
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi Jere B Thank you for your honest review of the Sandboarding Adventure, we take all feedback into consideration and I will be letting our staff know about your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find the 4WD into the sand dunes exciting, most of our customers speak highly of the 4WD and even comment it being... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Worth doing had a great time sand boarding on Dunes then we did the Tin City tour and Pippi dig. Staff were very friendly and great with ages.

Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
Sean A, Marketing Manager at Port Stephens 4WD Tours, responded to this review

Hi Vicki R Thank you for your review of our 1.5hr Beach & Dune tour and the Sandboarding Adventure. Also thank you for sharing your photos of your tour, I shall pass your feedback onto our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another Port Stephens 4WD Adventure :) Thank you and have a Merry Christmas.... More 

Travellers who viewed Port Stephens 4WD Tours also viewed

Anna Bay, Port Stephens
 
Anna Bay, Port Stephens
Anna Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Port Stephens 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Port Stephens 4WD Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Port Stephens 4WD Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?