We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claremont House

Closed Now: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Missed opportunities

Claremont house is a grand and beautiful old home. We loved reading through all the information... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
via mobile
A beautiful old house

We had two quite enjoyable nights here in one of the old front bedrooms. The room was spacious... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
Read all 81 reviews
All photos (74)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“afternoon tea”(20 reviews)
“high tea”(22 reviews)
“guided tour”(7 reviews)
For the first century of its life, Claremont House was owned by wealthy and powerful merchants, businessmen, politicians, a Captain in the British Army and an Australian Test Cricket Captain. Claremont House was a grand mansion, located on top of a...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
12 Lady Clark Ave, Claremont, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
+61 3 6249 8818
Improve This Listing
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea high tea guided tour bath products claw foot bath old house cooked breakfast sunday night comfortable bed colonial mansion a wonderful job trifle spa sauna visiting hobart derwent river joel history
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Claremont house is a grand and beautiful old home. We loved reading through all the information laid out in billiard room. Chris, who greeted us was lovely and we felt very welcomed. Our room was fabulous with plenty of space and a large bathroom with...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Voyage36766005131
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We had two quite enjoyable nights here in one of the old front bedrooms. The room was spacious, the bed new and very comfortable, and linens spotless. There was only one bedside lamp and this did not go unnoticed by the staff - hopefully this...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CGTM2008
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived and left straight away. We booked a queen deluxe through booking.com not expecting a shared bathroom - It was our wedding anniversary so that wasn't appealing. That was not the only surprise; our room was also overlooked by the hotel entrance 5m away...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank handyp
Joel V, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

You booked a “queen room with shared bathroom” (as written in the room description Booking.com). Our hotel rooms vary in price between $79 - $399 per night. You booked the cheapest room in the hotel for your anniversary, demanded to get a free upgrade to...More

Reviewed 17 September 2018

My husband and I stayed in the Convict Room for one night. The room was cosy and just the right size. A large, clean shared bathroom was just across the hallway. Quality, vegan bath products, which we certainly appreciated. My husband did comment that it...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank GreyWolf182
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We stayed one night at Claremont house after flying into Hobart to begin a 2 week road trip. Our flight was delayed and staff were very accommodating to help us out with a later checkin than planned. Our room was a Deluxe Queen room with...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Tracey B
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We checked in for the night and unexpectedly got a tour of the building with interesting history facts from the owner. The building is simply amazing. Our room was excellent. The bathroom was huge. Everything was spotless. We will definitely go back next time we...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jacquelined184
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We chose to stay at this grand heritage mansion and what a beauty she is ! Host Joel and Jo could not be more accommodating On arrival we had beautiful tea and home cooked shortbreads on the upstairs verandas Our room was authentic but with...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Gaile1958
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The bedroom was beautiful and clean, the bed was large and had heated blankets which was very comfortable to sleep in. The room had a large t.v. which we could access netflix on and the wifi worked perfectly. The bathroom was outstanding with a huge...More

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank catnev00
Reviewed 14 May 2018

My partner booked the Mothers day evening Buffet [actually for my special birthday].. the experience was very disappointing to say the least.. First impression finding butchers paper table coverings for such a historical venue? [no table cloths?] I wouldn't say the head waiter was what...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Brianeeg
Joel V, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in the restaurant. Please understand that the restaurant at Claremont House is independently leased. They can be contacted via their facebook page under Biltons Restaurant.

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I had dinner with friends on a Sunday night in April. Joel served us and was interesting and attentive. The meals were very nice and good value. We were keen to return with other friends but the evening meals seem to be in limbo with...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank LizV681
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Claremont Hotel Motel
34 reviews
.40 km away
Mona Pavilions
256 reviews
2.12 km away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
307 reviews
2.68 km away
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn
208 reviews
5.08 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 9 nearby restaurants
Dino Pizza
15 reviews
.62 km away
Peking Restaurant
19 reviews
.31 km away
Local Pizza
83 reviews
.73 km away
Ocean Chinese Restaurant
8 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Museum of Old and New Art
5,866 reviews
2.18 km away
Crocs Playcentre Derwent Park
10 reviews
5.79 km away
Valhalla Ice Cream
25 reviews
7.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
21 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Joel V | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. The tour and afternoon tea is $30 per person and includes the tour of the 164sq main house, 5 acre gardens and four storey widows walk and a buffet afternoon tea. The buffet includes a selection... More