We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mad Max Museum

Is this your business?
Stirling Street, Silverton, New South Wales 2880, Australia
+61 8 8088 6128
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Maxx

The owners of this exhibit are very passionate about their exhibit. They love talking to people... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pandcross1
,
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Holiday

While staying in broken hill we ventured out to Silverton takes 35 mins to drive out. It was a hot... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Helen R
via mobile
Read all 213 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mad max” (130 reviews)
“the owner” (22 reviews)
LOCATION
Stirling Street, Silverton, New South Wales 2880, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 8 8088 6128
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mad max"
in 130 reviews
"the owner"
in 22 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 8 reviews
"bits and pieces"
in 8 reviews
"broken hill"
in 28 reviews
"photos and memorabilia"
in 5 reviews
"private collection"
in 4 reviews
"entry fee"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 12 reviews
"great info"
in 3 reviews
"interesting place"
in 5 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 5 reviews
"his wife"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"no doubt"
in 3 reviews
"packed full"
in 3 reviews
"take photos"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The owners of this exhibit are very passionate about their exhibit. They love talking to people about their product.

Thank pandcross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

While staying in broken hill we ventured out to Silverton takes 35 mins to drive out. It was a hot day but went out and had an amazing day. Went through the museum which takes around 30 mins if you are a buff of mad...More

Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well done to the museum owners Adrian and Linda. The Two Pauls from Penrith visited the Museum on 1 April 2018. We were impressed by Adrian's passion for the movie and the region itself. The museum contains a lifetime collection of rare photos and movie...More

Thank billsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey, thanks so much for your great review. Myself and Linda had a great time with you guys and look forward to catching up with Paul (No2) and his partner in June. Thanks again guys for brightening up our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

What a great little museum, really close to the location of the actual filming. We popped in on our way home from working in South Australia. As we were arriving quite late, Adrian kept it open till we arrived. The museum is loaded with relics,...More

1  Thank john_mcmonagle1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey guys, was our pleasure, and thanks for your great review and kind words. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Loved visiting the Mad Max Museum. We re-watched Mad Max 2 the night before to make the visit more meaningful, which it did. The museum is jam packed with memorabilia and original artefacts from the movie as well as hundreds of photographs of the making...More

Thank Pavlova56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you so much for your great review. It means so much to myself and Linda to read such kind words, and only helps us to continue to improve the museum where we can to give the best experience. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

I had 3 spare hours whilst working in Broken Hill so I drove to Silverton just for the museum and glad I did! The photos, props and replicas of the vehicles were all great. Plenty to take in. I could have spent half a day...More

Thank markgrovenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thanks for your great review, really appreaciate it. I'm working on a bigger screen to show the footage in the vehicle display with more seating. Unfortunately because we're limited for space inside it might be a bit tight. Unfortunately the land in Silverton belongs...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Museum, the owners are really friendly they even took the time to talk to us about certain photos and memorabilia in the museum, I’m not a fan of mad max but I still enjoyed it. My husband is a big fan...More

Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Nice little spot with a hell of a lot of memorabilia throughout. Highly recommended if you are a fan of the Mad Max movies

Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, really appreaciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Museum consists of two sections - an indoor area that looks at the making of the film, consisting of photo's, film clips and a couple of bits and pieces; and an outdoor area with various vehicles / props that were used in filming. If I...More

Thank AussieRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

I only have a go at people who have a go at us! People who write incorrect information or insult us, this is uncalled for, and it is my entitlement to defend something I am passionate about. I also think your "bring it on" invitation...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Well my wife daughter & I drove back to Brisbane from Murray Bridge had make the detour to Broken hill then to Silverton to see this and was well worth the visit the went to where the truck roll over was thanks to the owners...More

1  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmaxmuseum, Owner at Mad Max Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words, was a pleasure to meet you. Hope you get back here one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Silverton Hotels
Sturt Motel
49 reviews
21.99 km away
Gateway Motor Inn
109 reviews
22.41 km away
Hilltop Motel
89 reviews
23.01 km away
Tarrawingee Holiday Units
5 reviews
23.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Silverton Hotel
249 reviews
.37 km away
S-Que Restaurant
114 reviews
23.98 km away
The Palace Hotel Restaurant
433 reviews
24.18 km away
Gloria Jeans Broken Hill
64 reviews
23.97 km away
Nearby Attractions
Silverton Gaol Museum
132 reviews
.44 km away
Silverton Pub
120 reviews
.37 km away
Beyond 39 Dips
31 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DebraB B
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Stuart R | Reviewed this property |
I would advise looking at their website.
0
Votes
naemz
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from madmaxmuseum | Property representative |
No IT Emperor, it was $7.50 pp but is now $10pp. First increase in 7 years.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor