We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Yarra Valley

673 - 675 Maroondah Hwy, Coldstream, Victoria 3770, Australia
+61 3 9739 0173
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Delicious brunch in historic setting

Coombe cafe is based in the former historic home of the famous opera singer, Dame Nellie Melba. The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Great day trip--Delicious wine and food and interesting museum

Our recent day trip here was immensely enjoyable and relaxing. We began with some wine tasting... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
truthoracle
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 196 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“dame nellie” (37 reviews)
“garden tour” (39 reviews)
“scones” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
673 - 675 Maroondah Hwy, Coldstream, Victoria 3770, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 9739 0173

Similar Things to Do in Coldstream

Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
3417
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Coombe cafe is based in the former historic home of the famous opera singer, Dame Nellie Melba. The brunch menu was amazing and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and our waiter was happy to explain how the original motor house had been converted into a...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our recent day trip here was immensely enjoyable and relaxing. We began with some wine tasting (great value at $5 pp) before indulging in a delicious 3 course lunch (also great value at$70 pp--cheaper alternatives available) The food was fresh and vibrantly tasty and delicious...More

3  Thank truthoracle
Reviewed 13 August 2017

They had a good selection of wines for tasting and we enjoyed quite a few of them however the staff who was serving us was almost rude which spoilt the experience a bit. Recommend the sparkling rose from 2016.More

Thank dselvan
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our wine-specifically the sparkling rose. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with our staff was not up to Coombe standard and we would like to make this...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I came here on a Saturday for lunch and also to propose to my girlfriend (now fiancée). The staff were so helpful and friendly before my visit when organising how I would propose, and then during our visit they made our day even more special...More

Thank mjcorc
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Michael, My name is Danielle, I am the restaurant host and was there to help assist and organise your function with you alongside Scotty who is our wedding organiser. To hear that you had such a beautiful day for you and your fiancé is...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

My friend and I were visiting Melbourne for a week, staying in Yarra Valley with family for 3 days. We booked tour of house, followed by high tea. I suppose we were very lucky as we were the only booking and had tour guide to...More

Thank maureen t t
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review Maureen and we have to agree- Dianne is an amazing asset to Coombe, a passionate and informed tour guide is a perfect description. Please do come back for a tour of our gardens with Dianne in spring time,...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We have been to Coombe a few times for breakfast, I thought that the breakfast Menu choices are less than previous visits . Service very attentive and a lovely and serene atmosphere. We have also been for lunch during the week and also on a...More

1  Thank 57patricia2014
CoombeYV, Front Office Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you appreciate our food and service. Our brunch menu will be changing and advancing shortly, so please stay tuned and come back to see a new variety of brunch options.

Reviewed 5 June 2017

This was stop one on our Yarra Valley wine tour, as part of a group of friends that included some reasonably serious wine buffs, and some with a little less interest. The folk behind the counter for our tasting were very friendly, and we enjoyed...More

Thank KiwiCriticDunedin
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

We are so grateful to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Coombe, we pride ourselves in offering amazing wine tasting's and are glad that you can agree. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Coombe is one of the first wineries in the Yarra Valley if coming from Melbourne and it is also open earlier than the others on a Sunday. We stopped in at about 9.30 for a coffee (good), a look through the small Melba museum (OK)...More

Thank ActRegular_traveller
CoombeYV, Front Office Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you very much for stopping by and experiencing our wonderful Estate, perhaps next time you can pop in for our Peach Melba.

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop to this wonderful, historic place. The restaurant serves outstanding food with a good variety to support a two or three course option with or without paired wines. The staff are very friendly and courteous. Do recommend booking ahead as...More

Thank jvandam2017
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very proud to be able to share Melba's history. We are so glad that you had a such a great time with us here at Coombe. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 20 May 2017

My wife and I went on a tour of Nellie Melba's house as part of a tour and high tea package. I will discuss the high tea in a different review. To my surprise the house is still owned by the family and used as...More

1  Thank creaturecomforts2015
CoombeYV, Front Office Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

It is always wonderful to hear such informative feedback and such a positive, shining review. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know and we hope that we have you join us again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hutch & Co
133 reviews
4.96 km away
OAKS ON MELBA
12 reviews
2.03 km away
Meletos
374 reviews
3.95 km away
The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley
170 reviews
3.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Helen & Joey Estate
19 reviews
5.00 km away
Yering Station
237 reviews
5.21 km away
Skydive Yarra Valley
96 reviews
2.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lesleyking66
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Carmel S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Lesley We were at Coombe Estate yesterday and I re-mentioned your request. They received my email with your request. At first they thought it was someone just having some fun. When Petra noticed that the email was from... More
0
Votes
raelenephilpott
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from josanpu | Reviewed this property |
lunch only
0
Votes
Emma D
15 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from CoombeYV | Property representative |
Good afternoon, Thank you for your question, ideally we would like the table back by midday, which should give you sufficient time to enjoy your brunch without being rushed. Regards, Coombe the Melba Estate
1
Vote