We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Yarra Valley

673 - 675 Maroondah Hwy, Coldstream, Victoria 3770, Australia
+61 3 9739 0173
Website
Save
Review Highlights
EXCELLENT DESTINATION FOR A DRIVE IN THE YARRA VALLEY

We were taken to the Coombe restaurant by our friends for Sunday lunch. The Restaurant is in the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kenaohp
,
Main Beach, Australia
Sunday lunch $60 two courses.

We had the Sunday lunch for $60 per person for 2 courses ordering from the alacarte menu. We didn’t... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
nat084
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 201 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“dame nellie” (38 reviews)
“garden tour” (40 reviews)
“scones” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
673 - 675 Maroondah Hwy, Coldstream, Victoria 3770, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 9739 0173

Similar Things to Do in Coldstream

Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were taken to the Coombe restaurant by our friends for Sunday lunch. The Restaurant is in the Yarra Valley and was once the home of Dame Nellie Melba. The location offers guided garden walks and has wine tasting at the cellar door and local...More

Thank Kenaohp
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the Sunday lunch for $60 per person for 2 courses ordering from the alacarte menu. We didn’t like the options for the entrees, there were only 4, so had main and desert. The main, we had the beef which was good as would...More

Thank nat084
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for the highest standard and apologise if we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious lunch in a spectacular, historic setting. “The Melba” Cocktail definitely worth trying as a starter! The Menu exceptional. Well provisioned store, stocking Dame Nellie Melba and Lord Vestey themed high quality produce.

Thank leith_doody
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your feedback, Coombe has a great atmosphere and we are so glad that you agree. We hope to have you join us soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three "older" ladies enjoyed catching up with lunch today. the service and staff were so lovely...and helpful. Nothing was too much. Having checked the website prior to going, I knew the prices would be high, and considering there wasn't a lot of choice, decided that...More

Thank EmailQueen
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself so thoroughly and that you sincerely enjoyed our food and wine. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to having you join us again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous girls day out at Coombe. A few of us had commented that we'd always wondered what lay behind the big hedge, as you haven't always been able to visit. We did the garden tour, followed by some food platters & wine...More

Thank pammy88
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad that you enjoyed our service and food at Coombe and hope you continue to dine with us.

A TripAdvisor Member
3417
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Coombe cafe is based in the former historic home of the famous opera singer, Dame Nellie Melba. The brunch menu was amazing and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and our waiter was happy to explain how the original motor house had been converted into a...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is always wonderful to hear such informative feedback and such a positive, shining review. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know and we hope that we have you join us again.

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Our recent day trip here was immensely enjoyable and relaxing. We began with some wine tasting (great value at $5 pp) before indulging in a delicious 3 course lunch (also great value at$70 pp--cheaper alternatives available) The food was fresh and vibrantly tasty and delicious...More

3  Thank truthoracle
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to having you join us again in the near future.

Reviewed 13 August 2017

They had a good selection of wines for tasting and we enjoyed quite a few of them however the staff who was serving us was almost rude which spoilt the experience a bit. Recommend the sparkling rose from 2016.More

Thank dselvan
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our wine-specifically the sparkling rose. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with our staff was not up to Coombe standard and we would like to make this...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I came here on a Saturday for lunch and also to propose to my girlfriend (now fiancée). The staff were so helpful and friendly before my visit when organising how I would propose, and then during our visit they made our day even more special...More

Thank mjcorc
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Michael, My name is Danielle, I am the restaurant host and was there to help assist and organise your function with you alongside Scotty who is our wedding organiser. To hear that you had such a beautiful day for you and your fiancé is...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

My friend and I were visiting Melbourne for a week, staying in Yarra Valley with family for 3 days. We booked tour of house, followed by high tea. I suppose we were very lucky as we were the only booking and had tour guide to...More

Thank maureen t t
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review Maureen and we have to agree- Dianne is an amazing asset to Coombe, a passionate and informed tour guide is a perfect description. Please do come back for a tour of our gardens with Dianne in spring time,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
OAKS ON MELBA
13 reviews
2.04 km away
Meletos
390 reviews
3.95 km away
The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley
179 reviews
3.87 km away
The Lilydale General
132 reviews
4.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Helen & Joey Estate
25 reviews
4.99 km away
Yering Station
246 reviews
5.23 km away
Skydive Yarra Valley
97 reviews
2.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lesleyking66
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Carmel S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Lesley We were at Coombe Estate yesterday and I re-mentioned your request. They received my email with your request. At first they thought it was someone just having some fun. When Petra noticed that the email was from... More
0
Votes
raelenephilpott
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from josanpu | Reviewed this property |
lunch only
0
Votes
Emma D
15 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from CoombeYV | Property representative |
Good afternoon, Thank you for your question, ideally we would like the table back by midday, which should give you sufficient time to enjoy your brunch without being rushed. Regards, Coombe the Melba Estate
1
Vote