We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Framlingham Castle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Church Street, Framlingham IP13 9BP, England
Phone Number:
+44 1728 724189
Website
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 16:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 592 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 267
    Excellent
  • 246
    Very good
  • 56
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Super castle

Have visited several times. Good to be able to walk around the battlements...and slide down! This is Ef Sheeren's Castle on the Hill. All the internal buildings are closed for... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
magie2
,
mevagissey, cornwall
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 586: English reviews
mevagissey, cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have visited several times. Good to be able to walk around the battlements...and slide down! This is Ef Sheeren's Castle on the Hill. All the internal buildings are closed for refurbishment at the moment. Ideal for children..very happy school there at the same time as us.

Helpful?
Thank magie2
Management response:

Hello Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the castle. Our project is nearing completion and we expect to be opening in a few weeks time, we hope you will come back and see our new and improved facilities. Kind regards Kirstie Horne, Property Manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If I wasn't a member I would feel ripped off at this castle. Only the ramparts and bailey open to visitors while the house and museum was closed for refurbishment. Fee paying visitors still had to pay full price. You can walk around 90% of the battlements and there are good views. Estate walks and around the lake do not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
Management response:

Dear Stephen I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to Framlingham Castle. As I am sure you are aware as a member, we currently have a £1.2m visitor improvement and conservation project taking place at the castle which is why the inside areas are closed at the moment. As a charity it’s important that we remain... More 

Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived to find it closed except for the outer ramparts. Charging full price for half experience. Could not go inside. Nothing anywhere online to state the castle was being worked on.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
Management response:

Hi Nikki I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed after visiting Framlingham Castle. The inside areas at the castle are currently closed as we’ve got a £1.2 million visitor improvement and conservation project taking place – we’re adding in a brand new café and exhibition space with new interpretation about the history of the castle. We do have notices on... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived to find house and museum closed. Told had to pay full admission price, even though only a walk around ramparts available. We didn't consider this to be good value for money and decided not to purchase tickets (we might have done if offered a discount). Our group of 8 adults will not be coming back. 😖

Helpful?
Thank Jane C
Management response:

Hi Jane I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to Framlingham Castle. We currently have a £1.2m visitor improvement and conservation project taking place at the castle which is why the inside areas are closed at the moment. As charity it’s important that we remained open during the project, as we wanted to engage visitors with... More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We knew part of the museum inside would be closed in advance but when we arrived at the castle we were told nothing was open except for the battlements. Good views from top which took about 15 minutes to walk around. You can walk around the castle in what was back in the day the moat. Whole visit lasted an... More 

Helpful?
Thank telcazellie
Management response:

Hello Sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to Framlingham Castle. We’re just coming to the end of a £1.2m visitor improvement and conservation project which is why the inside areas of the castle are currently closed. While the works have been taking place we have installed a temporary slide as an additional feature of the castle... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a beautiful place to visit, I can't wait to take the whole family in the summer to have a brilliant time again.

Helpful?
Thank DanielGinge W
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had intended to go for a long time...a bit unfortunate as the indoor part was closed for refurbishment and main gift shop in a temporary marquee but it was reasonable weather so wasnt too much of an issue. We walked round the top of the walls listening to the commentary on the headset which was really interesting and added... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliH8691
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely brilliant loved it takeing the kids back Saturday with a pick nick so much history to explore

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good parking, efficient staff in the kiosk, clean grounds etc. Audio tour is a must so you learn all there is about the castle because there aren't many information boards around. There's a lot of work going on inside the castle at the moment but it doesn't get in the way of seeing the castle, just you can't access the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Klarence P
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful views from the top of Castle walls...wonderful architecture from century ago...unfortunately we can't go inside because of the massive renovation going on....you still need to pay full price to enter.

Helpful?
Thank ajeakins2016

Travellers who viewed Framlingham Castle also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Felixstowe, Suffolk
 

Been to Framlingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Framlingham Castle and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Crawley, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Framlingham Castle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?