We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prestongrange Museum

Morison's Haven, Prestonpans, Scotland
+44 1620 820620
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Run down

We turned up on a wet day not a very good place for a wet day. Cafe good although only offers tea... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
rebecca w
,
Burnley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice walk

To be honest the museum in my opinion is ok for free. Although I certainly wouldn't pay to get in... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
b1ccg
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Prestongrange is a site of major importance in the story of Scotland's Industrial Revolution. We are a family friendly site, with a dedicated play area located in the Visitor Centre, entertaining trail sheets and outdoor games with an open play area.Our cafe is located in the Visitor Centre which once served as the miners' canteen. Open 1 April to 30 September, 7 days a week, please see our website for more details.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Morison's Haven, Prestonpans, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1620 820620
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We turned up on a wet day not a very good place for a wet day. Cafe good although only offers tea and instant coffee. Play area for the kids was great. Outdoor toys and picnic area available if you get the weather. Can't go...More

Thank rebecca w
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We do have a selection of teas in our café and only use ground coffee not instant coffee apart from event days when we do takeaway cups of instant coffee due to the museum being very busy. Hopefully you will...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest the museum in my opinion is ok for free. Although I certainly wouldn't pay to get in. However the museum is set over a fairy large area and is quiet a nice walk.

Thank b1ccg
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Great slice of local history with a small exhibition which gives loads of info. You can get a guide to take you round and open up the buying for you to go inside and explore providing loads of information about it. Definitely worth a look...More

Thank JessStockford
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thanks for your review and we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Grounds are perfect for children to run around; the cafe has lots of activities (and must be the cheapest anywhere around) - for the adults, the museum is really interesting, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Always worth a visit.

Thank magiciansassistant
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. We are excited to be open again for the season and look forward to welcoming visitors again old and new.

Reviewed 31 March 2017

fab place, I enjoyed the fact the space is about the history of the local area. well done to those involved

Thank Andrew S
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I live locally but had never visited this museum till I had a project for college, I loved my visit and learned a lot about the area I live in, a lot of things I didn't know about the place I've lived in for more...More

Thank Moira M
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your positive review of our Museum. We hope that you will return when we open for the Season on April 1st. We offer guided and audio tours which would give you a more in depth history of the site or alternatively chat...More

Reviewed 10 February 2017

I used to come here a lot - it's quiet and peaceful and the old architecture and trains are lovely to look at. It only loses a star because the dog poo situation is getting bad. I've actually stopped going because the kids shoes never...More

Thank johnsaundersjames
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We are taking measures to try to control the dog fouling situation but it is very difficult to manage during our closed Winter season. Community Wardens are very aware of the problem and we are working closely with them to...More

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Easy to reach by bus (or car) this open air museum is great to visit for a half day in good weather. Lots to see and learn about. Very helpful staff. Good ice cream! Across the main road there is a 20 min coastal walk...More

Thank Mark C
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Many thanks for visiting our Museum and taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you at Prestongrange again in the near future.

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Great place to visit and free entry, but to get the most from your visit be sure to pay the small fee for a guided tour by Dave Craig - his knowledge and enthusiasm are simply brilliant. Ps the cafe is amazing good value.

Thank mimsdad
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your guided tour with David Cree. We look forward to welcoming you back to our museum in the future.

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We decided to take a day out from watching things at the Fringe. This is within walking distance of the Drummohr Campsite but only at £3.20 return bus trip from the centre of Edinburgh. The staff in the visitors centre were extremely welcoming and the...More

Thank Tracy S
ELMuseumService, Manager at Prestongrange Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the near future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Filling Station
34 reviews
1.47 km away
Prestoungrange Gothenburg
100 reviews
1.17 km away
Alandas Fish And Chip Shop
40 reviews
1.23 km away
Pitstop Cafe
9 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Preston Tower
70 reviews
1.86 km away
Newhailes
90 reviews
4.81 km away
Musselburgh Racecourse
143 reviews
1.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ann s
29 September 2015|
Answer
Response from cream01 |
I,m sorry I have no idea, but people with dogs think they are special and flout all te laws, there were two on a bus the other day and sat them on seats because they said they had tickets for them.
0
Votes