We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great room... disappointing restaurant

The room/suite we stayed in was lovely... generally clean and well presented but could do with a... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2018
dc6932015
,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great view

This is a perfect spot to sit and enjoy the music at the New Quay festival but have been here many... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2018
Lianne M
,
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Read all 171 reviews
45
All photos (45)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“pub grub”(6 reviews)
“sea view”(5 reviews)
“evening meal”(5 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
12°
Oct
Nov
Dec
Contact
Penwig Hotel South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NN, Wales
Website
+44 1545 560910
Call
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
71
47
21
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
71
47
21
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub grub sea view evening meal excellent food lovely room nice decor bank holiday at reasonable prices meal deal children's menu lovely hotel small car park included in the room rate busy restaurant comfortable bed views are amazing out of season
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location opposite bay with some parking. Rooms OK. Ground floor pub with good real ales. Reasonably priced food. Ten percent off food for residents leaflet in room not accepted on checking out.More

Thank Nigel M
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Nigel, Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our selection of real ales. I do take pride in the conditioning of our ales to ensure a quality pint every time! I'm also sorry about the conversation surrounding the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The chicken skewers were raw and there was a hair in our salmon salad. The kitchen staff were not wearing hair nets and we saw the waiter wipe his nose and continue cooking without gloves on. I must mention however that the table service was...More

1  Thank Ali L
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ben, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review via TripAdvisor. Please ensure we take these matters very seriously and will take the relevant actions. I have already highlighted these issues with my kitchen team that were on duty last night...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I visited The Penwig on a Sunday when I really fancied a roast dinner. We were staying on the Quay West Haven site nearby. I just found the bar service to be really poor plus I know it's a pub but it...More

1  Thank pikachu_nitwit
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor. I'm so sorry the service was not up to the standard required on this occasion. I will feed back your comments to the team on duty Sunday evening as it is definitely not what I expect from...More

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent food just a bit slow when very busy. Very busy pub in very nice scenic area. Overlooking the harbour.

Thank Colin R
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Colin, Thank you for your kind review via TripAdvisor! I will be sure to pass on your comments to my team. We hope to welcome you back to the Penwig Hotel soon. Kind regards, Steff&TeamPenwig

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

The room/suite we stayed in was lovely... generally clean and well presented but could do with a freshen up. The views were amazing....you could see the dolphins from the window! The dinner let it down in the pub downstairs... we had a little trouble getting...More

1  Thank dc6932015
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the room. With regards to the restaurant we have recently made some changes in personnel and ways of working to ensure these types of issues...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We only went for a quick drink on 2 occasions. Didn't seem to be many staff on and one person was too busy rolling cigarettes behind the bar to help the one lad behind the bar. We were given some drinks at the bar and...More

1  Thank WrexhamPaul
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review via TripAdvisor. I will pass your comments regarding the service you received on to my team. With regards to our shortage of wine glasses I have today accepted a delivery of extra glasses...More

Reviewed 18 August 2018

£4.45 for a pint of diet coke - I complained to Brains Brewery and didn't receive a satisfactory reply. I will never go into the Penwig again and I live in New Quay!

1  Thank jackie b
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Jackie, I'm very sorry to hear you weren't happy with the response provided by us. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact myself directly at the Penwig. Kind regards, Steff

Reviewed 7 August 2018

This is a perfect spot to sit and enjoy the music at the New Quay festival but have been here many times to just enjoy the view and sometimes watch the dolphins. The meals, unfortunately, are hit or miss. I've had more good than bad...More

Thank Lianne M
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Lianne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review via TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoy the spectacular view the Penwig boasts! Regarding your comments on the meals here, I have just taken over at the Penwig and I am in the...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018

We visit New Quay regularly. I can't believe how the Penwig has gone downhill so quickly. Probably the best spot in New Quay. What a waste. Brains you should hang your heads in shame. We visited a month ago and was very disappointed, didn't even...More

2  Thank Amanda J
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very sorry that on this visit we did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to pop in next time you visit New Quay and see me personally Kind rergards

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for a drink after our dolphin trip. Sat on the terrace overlooking the harbour - simply stunning. Reasonably priced drinks and whilst we didn’t eat ourselves, we observed that the food being served to others look absolutely delicious and the waiting staff were...More

Thank 900amanda
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Penwig Hotel. Thank you for the lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Penny and the team

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Black Lion Hotel
265 reviews
.28 km away
Castle Hotel
196 reviews
7.41 km away
Plas Morfa Hotel
71 reviews
13.68 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
801 reviews
20.65 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 29 nearby restaurants
Bosun's Locker
407 reviews
.28 km away
Creme Pen Cei
427 reviews
.02 km away
The Blue Bell Deli&Bistro
396 reviews
.04 km away
The Lime Crab
1,065 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 14 nearby attractions
SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips
662 reviews
.02 km away
Epic Fishing Trips
189 reviews
.20 km away
Dolphin Survey Boat Trips
111 reviews
.16 km away
Dolphin Spotting Boat Trips
560 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Penwig Hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines