We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Review Highlights
Birthday

We have just enjoyed a lovely meal for my granddaughters 11th birthday food very good and we had... read more

Reviewed 14 September 2018
Anne B
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good evening

Met up with friends for a meal, food was very nice (better than when it was 2-4-1 in my opinion... read more

Reviewed 21 June 2018
Caroline W
,
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 149 reviews
23
All photos (23)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak”(23 reviews)
“pudding”(7 reviews)
“menu choices”(2 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Nov
Dec
Jan
Contact
Broad Lane, Yate BS37 7LD, England
Website
+44 1454 227431
Call
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
52
50
16
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
52
50
16
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pudding menu choices nice meal my mum fantastic value gets busy mixed grill buy one get one free excellent service mash last night last visit sunday lunch food coming brought to the table ribs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a lovely meal for my granddaughters 11th birthday food very good and we had excellent service from Emma xx

Thank Anne B
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hello Anne, thank you very much for taking the time to post a great review for us, Emma will be so pleased to see that you mentioned her by name. Please come back and visit us again soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We've eaten here a few times. Today we had the Sunday lunch 2 for £12. Large Yorkshire pudding,carrots peas and red cabbage. We had turkey. Small blob of mash and half of a roast potato Cut into 4 .We ordered a cauliflower cheese as a...More

Thank flintellie
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us we appreciate all feedback. I’m glad to read you enjoyed your meals, you can order extra vegetables or potatoes if you like next time you visit. The 2 Sunday roasts for just...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

I have been to the Fox and been very disappointed previously about 18 months ago but its now had a facelift and a new menu which is fantastic value and the quality of the food and service is excellent. I particularly would like to thank...More

Thank Andrew P
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hello Andrew, thank you so much for the excellent review it really brought a smile to our faces when we read it. Abbe was also over the moon to see you took the time to mention her particularly, she is an asset to the team....More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

Such a shame to see what was a popular place loose so much trade. We used to go their frequently when it was 2-4-1 meals on offer and never had a bad word to say about the service, choice or quality of food. After it...More

Thank Jonniecrooner
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to post a review for us, all feedback is very important. It was only ever a Saturday lunchtime that we served our big brunch, we have never served an all day breakfast, also the menu says that we either...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018

Friday August 3rd "Steak Night" Not to be missed. Wife and I ugraded our Steaks and were not disappointed. Very well cooked and prepared and left the Fox fully satisfied will certainly be back for same menuMore

Thank 11FOOTBALL
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello, thank you so much for the 5 star review, it really means a lot. I’m so glad you agree that the new steak offer on a Friday is amazing value, 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for just £20 and like you wisely...More

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

There were six in our party and we all chose different meals and we were all in agreement that the meals were excellent. They were of great quality and size. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. All six meals were presented within seconds of...More

Thank richardpI9844MQ
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello Richard, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us, it really means a lot. We are so glad to read that everyone enjoyed their food so much, we hope you visit us again soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Met up with friends for a meal, food was very nice (better than when it was 2-4-1 in my opinion) staff friendly and prices reasonable.

1  Thank Caroline W
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi Caroline, thank you very much for the great review, we really appreciate it. I do hope you visit us again soon, Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Haven’t visited here for a quiet a while and I remember why, the food is tasteless and bland and just poor quality. Chicken rubbery, burger cheap and nasty and the pizza totally tasteless and it was a curried pizza! Service was friendly though and the...More

Thank wattage80
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, I’m sorry to read our food is not to your taste. Hopefully you’ll give us another try in the future. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Awful! Food took a long time and was microwaved and tasteless! Not one meal was fresh! Overpriced for the food!!! Awful awful awful! We will not be back!

Thank sarahmK1491RS
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello, thank you for the review, I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy our food. If you would like to discuss your visit further please send us an email or give us a call. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Popped into the Fox on the way home form shopping. Was shown to a table straight away. Drinks and meal were ordered from the table which is nice. Service was quick but not too fast with the food coming hot. Servers were attentive but not...More

1  Thank Loonuk
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Loonuk, thanks so much for taking the time to post such a positive review for us, everyone is so quick to criticise but not so much to praise. We really hope you pop in and see us again soon, Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
31 reviews
3.25 km away
The Sodbury House Hotel
56 reviews
4.89 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
813 reviews
6.29 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
713 reviews
6.51 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 39 nearby restaurants
The Swan at Nibley
572 reviews
1.33 km away
The Fox
273 reviews
.01 km away
Codrington Arms
171 reviews
.43 km away
Pisces fish and chips
93 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Yate Shopping Centre
74 reviews
1.94 km away
The Rising Sun
36 reviews
3.39 km away
Chipping Sodbury Golf Club
20 reviews
3.77 km away
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
15 reviews
4.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
samentwistle
24 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Deb666888 | Property representative |
Yes we do. X
1
Vote
MarciaG232
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from susrug1957 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Marcia, they normally only take bookings for special days i.e. Valentines or xmas, but I think as there will be 9 of you they probably will make an exception. It's worth a phone call! Just to add , we have been many times... More
0
Votes
<