We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soljans Estate Winery

Closed Now: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
47
All photos (47)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good49%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wine tasting”(15 reviews)
“nice wine”(3 reviews)
“fish n chips”(2 reviews)
About
Soljans Estate Winery and Cafe sits at the gateway to Kumeu Wine Country, Auckland's heritage wine region. An easy 20 minute drive from Auckland CBD with plenty of free parking. A fabulous place to learn about this heritage wine region and sample a...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Contact
366 State Highway 16, Kumeu, Auckland 0892, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-412 5858
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
37
41
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
37
41
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting nice wine fish n chips lamb salad tawny port family lunch excellent lunch pinot gris tasting room cellar door different wineries new zealand platter gifts founded nz
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018

A good choice for a relaxing venue, with a nice atmosphere and good food. Came for a weekend lunch with a group. Very busy place and was probably fully booked but seemed like there were plenty of staff on the day keeping up excellent service...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank deye2018
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear deye2018, As I have mentioned previous, I always enjoy reading reviews and get a customers view of Soljans. You touched on some points that I think are very important, "a relaxing venue with a nice atmosphere and good food " . These I believe...More

Reviewed 10 November 2018

We came as part of a Princess Cruises packaged tour of the winery including wine tastings of several wines. Tony Soljans, the owner & descendent of the founders did not disappoint. He was very friendly & welcoming, answered all our questions, gave a very delightful...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank cmb2
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear cmb2, I am very pleased you enjoyed the tour of our winery, we get lots of cruise ship groups through and I really enjoy being able to take the tours,tell people our story and explain the wine making process. Of course we always follow...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

On a repeat visit with friends we called in to sample the range of wines on tasting. As usual they didn’t disappoint. The cafe was a welcome spot to sit down and enjoy a coffee and a snack. Great range of items in the entrance...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mikw483
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Daer Mik w, I am always pleased to read reviews from people who have been to Soljans previous as it indicates that we have the right formula that people enjoy. Great that we could be of service to you. Yes we are now charging for...More

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Great food, great customer service,great atmosphere and good quality wines at a reasonable price. A very impressive set up. Will visit again on my next trip to NZ.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Garry725
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Garry725, Thank you very much for posting your review. I always read reviews and yours is one of the best, it covers everything in a short couple of sentences but says a lot. We have a great team at Soljans and everyone works hard...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018

We had an amazing time at lunch when we popped in to the Restaurant. The food was fantastic and the service really goodMore

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ktschmidt57
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear ktschmidt57, What a pleasure it was to read your review, you hit on two of the maybe most important points one should look for when visiting a restaurant, fantastic food and really good service. We pride ourselves on providing both these as standard practise...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018

We went for Lunch during the week and weren't that impressed. The prices are over the top. The meal was served too quickly, really didn't have time to sit and unwind for a few minutes. We both had fish n chips - portion of fish...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank crawshaw-tatpen
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear crawshaw-tatpen, I always read reviews be they good or not so good, because they are generally important and we can learn from them. I find it difficult to know how to answer yours however, as it would seem that nothing was up to standard...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018

I was looking forward to visiting Soljan's after hearing good things. The service was good and friendly but the food was all delivered on mashed potato (lots of it). My husbands chicken looked the same as my lamb shank. I wasn't very impressed with the...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank huttoft
Amber S, Social Media Manager at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Sorry for the delayed response, Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meals here at Soljans, I will pass your comments along to our chefs. We do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve, thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Sat outside in the sun, lovely and warm. Food was really good and the service was quick and staff very pleasant. Loved looking through the souvenir shop afterwards.More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank JackyA264
Amber S, Social Media Manager at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hi Jacky! Sorry for the delayed response, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. I will make sure to pass your comments along to our kitchen and café staff. Thank you for the feedback! We really do appreciate it...More

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

A somewhat disappointing family lunch. Staff needs to be trained much better to justify the prices they charge. When we asked the waitress what seafood there was on the platter, she replied she could not answer due to the complicated Croatian names. When the platter...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Tabatha1998
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Tabatha1998, Not very often I am lost for words but I must admit to be scratching for answers on how to reply to your review. I think first up I thank you,it seems quite clear some one has slipped through the cracks in the...More

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Had lamp shank n fish n chips. Well, lamp shank taste gd (hubby commented ) while I chose the latter fish n chips. Portions are reasonable while price still acceptable. Wines are gd I think , wide range of varieties. Staff services r definitely a...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jess L
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Jess L, It is good to see you had two different dishes, we are finding them both very popular over this colder spell of weather. I was pleased to see you highlight the range of wines we have as well, we make a wide...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Vineyard Cottages
61 reviews
8.31 km away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
195 reviews
9.51 km away
A K WEST Motel
30 reviews
10.08 km away
Sunset Lodge Motel
18 reviews
10.32 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 19 nearby restaurants
Soljans Cafe
198 reviews
.01 km away
Huapai Tavern
12 reviews
.50 km away
Blossoms Espresso Cafe
80 reviews
.43 km away
Phil Greig Strawberry Gardens
27 reviews
.88 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
Huapai Golf Club
8 reviews
1.75 km away
KiwiCreated
41 reviews
4.33 km away
Senses Massage
6 reviews
6.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ninav892
11 December 2018|
Answer
Response from Tony S | Property representative |
Dear Ninav892, Very sorry but we are not open Christmas day, that is a day for all the Soljans team to have off and enjoy with their families. We are also closed Boxing day and New Years day, apart from that we are open... More
0
Votes