We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Helicopter Line West Coast: Tours & Tickets

Open Now: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
All photos (335)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good13%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“heli hike”(104 reviews)
“fox glacier”(46 reviews)
“snow landing”(24 reviews)
About
Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced helicopter pilots share their knowledge whilst overflying the dramatic expanse of the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snowfields, exposing extraordinary colours of ice flow, ice caves...more
Certificate of Excellence
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Contact
Main South Road | SH6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-752 0767
Call
Improve This Listing
The Helicopter Line West Coast Tours and Tickets
from USD 317.48
More Info
from USD 235.66
More Info
from USD 183.29
More Info
from USD 235.66
More Info
from USD 235.66
More Info
from USD 320.76
More Info
from USD 183.29
More Info
See all tours & tickets
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
312
51
17
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
312
51
17
9
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heli hike fox glacier snow landing scenic flight twin glacier min flight cut short cancelled due new zealand ground crew bad weather mt cook fresh snow next morning perfect weather great flight once in a lifetime
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

It was fantastic n must be in to do list if visiting NZ Flight was very well organised n staffs were very helpful.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Amit S
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you had a fantastic experience.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Completed this hike with a friend. A brisk helicopter ride takes you to the near top of a giant glacier up in the mountains! Breathtaking view, amazing hike, funny tour guide, and traversing ice, in between ice walls, and through mini caves. Such a great...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank gnr1134
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your Heli Hike with us and that your tour guide gave you a wonderful experience. The Heli Hike is such a fantasic way to see the glacier and see up close...More

Reviewed 16 September 2019

This was an experience we are glad we did not miss - the company were informative and kept us updated with the weather issues that were possibly coming in. Despite the shaky weather start we got up - views from the helicopter were amazing coupled...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Catjane2610
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so thrilled to be able to fly you with us here on the Coast despite the weather. We do our best to keep our guests updated with regards to the weather as this does play...More

Reviewed 6 September 2019 via mobile

Our trip was initially cancelled due to bad weather but luckily we already catered another extra day just in case this happens. We managed to do it on the next day and it is one of the best experience! The helicopter ride was really fun...More

Thank Tohmatohs
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Hi there, Thank you for your wonderful review. We agree that it is a pity the glacier is melting as we are not sure how much longer we will be able to Hike on the Glacier, but we are thrilled you were able to enjoy...More

Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! Awesome staff and pilot and an extraordinary experience on the glacier. Don’t think about it, do it!More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank L1434MKshaz
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Hi there, Thank you for your amazing review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your excursion with us. We strive to offer excellent customer service and are pleased to see this was reflected in your experience with us. Thank you for sharing your photos with...More

Reviewed 9 July 2019

Stay far away! These guys are scam artists and totally unethical. Ruined the entire New Zealand experience.More

Date of experience: July 2019
4  Thank Jack F
TotallyTourism, General Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Hi JackF, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you found our activity and it’s terms and conditions to be misleading. As the guests were late for their trip we were unable to accommodate them on their scheduled Heli Hike. There is a...More

Reviewed 9 July 2019

We wanted to do the helihike for several days, but couldnt do it because of bad weather conditions. Despite of the bad weather, then the front desk personal tried everything they could to get us in the air, and in the end we finally managed...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Passport819621
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2019

Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review. Unfortunately, as you experience the weather does play a major role in our operations, however, your patience was rewarded and we are thrilled that were able to experience a scenic flight with us. We do our best...More

Reviewed 12 June 2019

So our first flight of the morning was canceled due to bad weather for anyone that is visiting New Zealand and booking any kind of scenic flight tours the one thing I must warn you is be ready to either have your flight canceled or...More

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank originaljsoz
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased the weather turned it on for you and you were able to fly with is. The weather is a huge factor in our operations and we do unfortunately cancel roughly 50% of our trips. We...More

Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

We were at Franz Josef in early June and as the weather was clear we decided to treat ourselves to a helicopter trip to the glacier. Due to the strong winds on the tops we couldn't go that afternoon but they were able to book...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Trek17204887002
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your flight with us and Andy gave you a fantastic tour of our beautiful national park. Here at The Helicopter Line, we strive to offer excellent customer service and this seems to be...More

Reviewed 22 May 2019

There were a lot of waiting(more than 30min) before we could start hiking. Actually it couldn't be called as hiking, I mean, we just walked around 500 meters in total...After 50 minutes' 'walking', our tour was put to an end due to bad weather condition....More

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Bryanisall
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Hi Bryan, We are very sorry that you have been unhappy with your experience with our company. Thank you for understanding that the constantly changing weather in the West Coast does play a major part in how both our flights and heli-hikes operate. We are...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
647 reviews
.07 km away
The Terrace Motel
395 reviews
.22 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
876 reviews
.26 km away
10 Cottages
313 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 25 nearby restaurants
Alice May
1,751 reviews
.19 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
817 reviews
.09 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
1,248 reviews
.10 km away
Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
590 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 43 nearby attractions
Ecorafting - Day Tours
36 reviews
.05 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
94 reviews
.19 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
856 reviews
.15 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
82 reviews
.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anteater222222
4 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from vladok212 | Reviewed this property |
Book for early morning. That way if you can’t go due to weather, you may be able to get on a flight later in the day. They will do their best to try to get you up!
1
Vote
andywA6511RW
19 May 2018|
Answer
Response from TravelMum84 |
If you haven’t been just do the two glaciers. The information from our pilot is that it is always windy and most times you don’t get too close to Mount Cook anyways! Otherwise it is a spectacular trip and well worth it.
1
Vote
patfraut
13 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Damion M | Reviewed this property |
we signed up on the morning we went up the glacier. A Chinese man who had booked some monrths in advance was in the office and quite angry that they could not get the full tour at the time because of poor visibility... More
0
Votes