We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths: Tours & Tickets

Closed Now: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open today: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
All photos (651)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rye bread”(136 reviews)
“blue lagoon”(340 reviews)
“lunch buffet”(43 reviews)
About
Laugarvatn Fontana is composed of a series of interconnected baths and steam rooms that complement each other to create a healthy, natural and unique spa experience.Three steam rooms, collectively called GUFAN, have been built over a natural hot...more
Certificate of Excellence
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Contact
Hverabraut 1, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Website
+354 486 1400
Call
Improve This Listing
Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths Tours and Tickets
from USD 103.47
More Info
from USD 100.00
More Info
from USD 100.06
More Info
from USD 106.00
More Info
from USD 1,562.36
More Info
from USD 296.91
More Info
from USD 893.75
More Info
from USD 249.02
More Info
from USD 249.02
More Info
See all tours & tickets
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
783
336
93
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
783
336
93
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rye bread blue lagoon lunch buffet golden circle varying temperatures hot pools steam room geothermal bath soup view of the lake after a long day changing rooms hot springs northern lights pool area shampoo and conditioner warm water
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed yesterday
Review of: Geothermal Baths

Great place to visit. Lovely changing rooms. The end shower has a curtain of you are shh about showering in front of others. The pools are great and the lake invigorating!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank helenS6240PL
Reviewed yesterday

Not overly busy at all, and the pools were wonderful. The "natural" pool was our favorite. Affordable, less people, and it was relaxing. I would argue it's much better than Blue Lagoon.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Wellville
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went to try the famous rye bread- it was MAGNIFICENT!!! Our tour guide was Barbara! She was even better! Her tour was full of historical information together with a lot of fun! Made us laugh and feel special! She was also super great with kids!...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank eva_jenots
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Beautiful location next to the lake with a cold water swim after the hot sauna, then dip into the geothermal hot baths again. Buffet lunch 2900 ISK included 2 soups, traditional Icelandic bread, super yummy and healthy range of salads even with balsamic vinegar. Fish...More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Richard-Uren
Reviewed 1 week ago
Review of: Geothermal Baths

Visited here twice and really rated the experience. It was less busy in the week. Good range of differing temperature pools and plenty of toys to keep young ones occupied. The view if the lake from the pools is lovely. There is a lunch buffet...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank NiaNat
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had so much fun here & actually came back again because it was so cool!! The Sauna and geothermal baths are so comfortable and have such beautiful views!! There’s also a nice pond to cool off in. The rye bread they make in the...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank L2529QYjenniferb
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Review of: Geothermal Baths

My husband and I visited on a Tuesday afternoon and had the most relaxing and quite time. The water pools were clean and warm! The lockers were spotless. There were approximately 10 other tourists in the baths, no big crowds or noise. The views are...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jennifer B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice location, several pools with lava rock. Restaurant with soup and rye bread, scheduled tour to see how they make bread in hot black sand

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Karen R
Petur V, Public Relations Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Karen R. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you were happy with your visit and hopefully, we'll see you again one day. Warm regards, Petur. PR & Marketing Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Review of: Geothermal Baths

We booked here, secret lagoon, and blue lagoon. We spent hours at the others but not very long here. Only a few small pools and the natural one by the water was not working and unavailable. The reason we added it was because they had...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BrockL613
Petur V, Public Relations Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BrockL613. Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you booked with us, and it looks like you were on the hunt for the best lagoon in Iceland. Unfortunately, we had a problem with two things on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Review of: Geothermal Baths

My granddaughter and I loved this place. Not overcrowded and very relaxing. I preferred it to the Blue Lagoon. The staff was very friendly. Being lakeside is a bonus for the view and also if you'd like to take a cold water plunge. It's one...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank pwirkamn
Petur V, Public Relations Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pwirkamn. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive and nice review here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you and your granddaughter liked the visit and hope you'll visit us again in the future. Warm regards, Petur. Marketing & PR at...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Hotel Edda - IKI Laugarvatn
52 reviews
.25 km away
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
120 reviews
.36 km away
Hotel Borealis
333 reviews
18.00 km away
Hotel Grimsborgir
790 reviews
21.57 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
Restaurant Lindin Bistro Cafe
755 reviews
.13 km away
Heradsskolinn Restaurant
118 reviews
.20 km away
Cozy Cafe in Galleri Laugarvatni
49 reviews
.70 km away
Goodburger
56 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
The Cave People
147 reviews
7.25 km away
Bruarfoss Waterfall
349 reviews
11.84 km away
Fridheimar
529 reviews
14.51 km away
Faxi (Vatnsleysufoss) Waterfall
203 reviews
19.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Missmellll
21 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from mallard52 | Reviewed this property |
The lobby/eating are is just like a small cafe. I wouldn’t plan on bringing a camera in to the bathing area...everyone is clothed, but it’s a relaxing experience like a spa. I think camera equipment would have been very out... More
1
Vote
Beata C
6 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MTVillianous | Reviewed this property |
Time lines are pretty relaxed there. People just want to enjoy their vacation and the staff is well aware. They were excellent. I’m just not sure I would want to eat then have a massage on a full stomach.
0
Votes
Amber692
14 March 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from NomeMan | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there are very nice changing rooms with free lockers. The men's shower area has a single stall at the end with a curtain, but most of showers are communal. They are rainfall heads though and the shampoo, conditioner... More
2
Votes