We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stray: Tours & Tickets

Closed Now: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Save
All photos (96)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good17%
  • Average0%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
Stray is an award-winning, guided bus tour company for adventurous travellers who want to see more, do more, and get further off the beaten track. Stray offers guided, small group tours, and flexible travel passes which allow travellers to hop-on...more
Certificate of Excellence
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-917 4090
Call
Improve This Listing
Stray Tours and Tickets
from USD 827.82
More Info
from USD 1,174.65
More Info
from USD 912.89
More Info
from USD 428.63
More Info
from USD 294.48
More Info
from USD 2,084.27
More Info
See all tours & tickets
140Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 17
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I cannot recommend booking with Stray. From the beginning, I had problems. Stray tries to force you to use their application. It took 3 emails just to get my account set up. The application itself is often wrong or lists days and events in the incorrect order. I had a problem
Read more
Response from Climber07077681985, Guest Relations Manager at Stray
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Jerry, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that based on your experience you feel you can’t recommend Stray. We aim to make everyone's trip amazing and we're sorry we let you down. We'd like to respond to some of concerns. Our Stray App allows travellers to manage their trip. Freestyle travellers use it to book in their buses, and we have reserved beds and allocations at accommodation and activity providers along the way. Stray Journeys passengers (like yourself) can use it book in extra activities you want to participate in. We are sorry that you had initial problems with the set up and that one of the times in the app was incorrect. When it comes to selling optional activities, Stray acts as an Agent and so we need to obtain permission from the Supplier before processing a refund. Once we received confirmation that the supplier was happy for us to process it, we got this done. We consider a small group to be under 24 people, but have now updated our need-to-know section to be more clear for future travellers, thank you for this. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t a fan of our wilderness lodge and cabin stays, these generally rate very well among our passengers as they align to our ambition to get "off the beaten track". We hope you were able to speak with your driver if you found the customer service at any of our accommodations to be subpar. Feedback collected in our feedback surveys is also sent on to accommodation and activity suppliers to assist them to make improvements. We're glad you had a great time with your Driver Guide and the travellers on the Stray bus, and we'll pass on your appreciation to Lego.'
Read more
We travelled with Stray for about 6 weeks between Feb and March this year, both islands (Maximus pass). If you're travelling in high season it is important to be booking ahead. The buses are so busy that you can't really book on the fly, you'll likely get stuck somewhere. As
Read more
Response from JodineL6, Manager at Stray
Responded 23 Jun. 2019
Thank you so much for the review and the lovely feedback about Lightning, one of our awesome Stray Guides! We appreciate you taking the time to leave advice for other travellers, give honest feedback and we're really glad you enjoyed your Stray experience. The Stray Mate App launched in October last year and is the first of its kind, revolutionising the way travellers tailor their Stray experience. It has been an ongoing work in progress, with regular improvement releases to make it as intuitive as possible! Our buses run 3+ times a week in Winter and 5+ times a week in Summer, so hopping off does mean you have to stay in a destination for a few days. We also recommend booking about a week in advance in Summer as the circuit gets pretty popular that time of year. Good advice :) Thanks for choosing to travel with Stray!
Read more
+13
It was such a beautiful time with stray! I had the following bus drivers: Soxx, Whaea, Kakapo and Rolex. All of them where very friendly, funny and especially helpful👍🏽 I drove with stray in the winter time and it was so good! I‘ll never forget the wonderful moments and
Read more
Response from JodineL6, Manager at Stray
Responded 18 Jun. 2019
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and for choosing to travel with Stray!
Read more
As a first timer with Stray i thought from start to finish the trip was amazing. I was lucky enough to travel the North island with Stray and they made it such a memorable trip. We went from Auckland, Haihei, Rotorua, Lake Aniwhenua, Blue duck station and back to Auckland and
Read more
Response from JodineL6, Manager at Stray
Responded 20 May 2019
Thanks so much for leaving us such positive feedback Sarah! We make it our mission to take our customers off the beaten track so they can see and do more in New Zealand so we're stoked you loved this about our trip. We hope you do come and travel with us again soon!
Read more
I have also done the Stray SE Asia tour. I am on a RTW tour and my great experience with Stray SEAsia influenced my decision to do StrayNZ. Overall it was a very good tour, we went a lot of places, did a lot of things that ranged from free to outrageously expensive. If you
Read more
Previous
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 nearby hotels
Auckland Harbour Suites
937 reviews
.05 km away
SO/ Auckland
154 reviews
.07 km away
Jucy Snooze
647 reviews
.19 km away
Hotel DeBrett
1,513 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,564 nearby restaurants
Giapo
2,845 reviews
.04 km away
Miann
181 reviews
.01 km away
Vivace Restaurant & Bar
366 reviews
.09 km away
Ima Cuisine
353 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 719 nearby attractions
Takutai Square
19 reviews
.16 km away
Emily Place Reserve
14 reviews
.18 km away
HI-SO Bar
21 reviews
.07 km away