Tours and Tickets

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage provided by Planet Earth Adventures

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage
4
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
About
Glacier hiking is a fun activity for virtually anyone with the proper equipment and an experienced guide. Explore the hidden treasures of the Matanuska glacier on this 7-hour day trip from Anchorage. Use mountaineering crampons to actually "walk on water" as you hike the glacier with a professional guide. See close-up views of the best accessible features of the glacier including crevasses, seracs, unique ice formations as well as the high point with views of a beautiful ice fall. With round trip transportation, proper instructions, and the equipment necessary you will have a fantastic experience on an actual glacier.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 33156P1
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (airport drop-off also available at the conclusion of the tour)
  • Professional guide
  • Crampons (for walking on ice)
  • Helmet
  • Trekking pole (optional)
  • Light snacks and bottled water
  • Entry/Admission - Matanuska Glacier
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks (this tour does not stop for lunch)
  • Pickup from private homes, apartments, or B&Bs; if this is your case, please contact the tour operator for the nearest pickup location
Duration
7h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • IMPORTANT We pick up and drop off at Anchorage area hotels only. TOUR PROVIDED BY Planet Earth Adventures in collaboration with MICA Guides. IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. • We limit our hotel pick-us to (3) locations. All pick ups are first come-first serve. Pick up location may change after you book this tour. If we change the location of pick up, you will be notified. • We pick up at Anchorage area hotels only. We DO NOT pick up at B&B's; private homes, apartments or businesses. If this is your case, you must contact us to make other pick up arrangements. • You are responsible for keeping up with all VIATOR correspondence regarding this tour. It is important for you to review the information provided to you about your tour on emails received through VIATOR. We use the VIATOR system to contact you with any changes or cancellations of your tour. • You MUST provide a good contact telephone (preferably a cell number) while you are in Alaska. A landline or home number does not help us in the event that we need to call you. We are not responsible for missed tours because we are unable to reach you. • If you change hotel, you MUST notify us of this change by calling us at the number provided. We are not responsible for missed tours because we cannot find you. • Lunch is NOT included on your tour. Your guide may offer lunch stop provided that the entire group is wanting to make a lunch stop. We provide light snacks and water. CANCELLATIONS You must contact VIATOR directly to cancel this tour. We cannot take cancellation requests over the phone, text or email. Leaving a phone message or sending a text or email to us does not constitute a cancellation. Please do not call us to cancel your tour as we cannot cancel on your behalf through VIATOR. DAY BEFORE THE TOUR CONFIRMATION You will receive a text and/or a call from us the day before your tour to re-confirm pick up time and location.
  • Anchorage, AK, USA We pick up at any Anchorage area hotel. We do not pick up in private homes, businesses, apartments or B&B's. If if this is your case, please call about alternate pick up location.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Minimum age is 8 years old; children may not be carried in arms, backpacks, strollers, or anything else.
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately; if canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
  • No Refunds under 72 hours. This activity is operated in partnership with MICA guides.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travellers
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (airport drop-off also available at the conclusion of the tour)
  • Professional guide
  • Crampons (for walking on ice)
  • Helmet
  • Trekking pole (optional)
  • Light snacks and bottled water
  • Entry/Admission - Matanuska Glacier
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks (this tour does not stop for lunch)
  • Pickup from private homes, apartments, or B&Bs; if this is your case, please contact the tour operator for the nearest pickup location
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • IMPORTANT We pick up and drop off at Anchorage area hotels only. TOUR PROVIDED BY Planet Earth Adventures in collaboration with MICA Guides. IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. • We limit our hotel pick-us to (3) locations. All pick ups are first come-first serve. Pick up location may change after you book this tour. If we change the location of pick up, you will be notified. • We pick up at Anchorage area hotels only. We DO NOT pick up at B&B's; private homes, apartments or businesses. If this is your case, you must contact us to make other pick up arrangements. • You are responsible for keeping up with all VIATOR correspondence regarding this tour. It is important for you to review the information provided to you about your tour on emails received through VIATOR. We use the VIATOR system to contact you with any changes or cancellations of your tour. • You MUST provide a good contact telephone (preferably a cell number) while you are in Alaska. A landline or home number does not help us in the event that we need to call you. We are not responsible for missed tours because we are unable to reach you. • If you change hotel, you MUST notify us of this change by calling us at the number provided. We are not responsible for missed tours because we cannot find you. • Lunch is NOT included on your tour. Your guide may offer lunch stop provided that the entire group is wanting to make a lunch stop. We provide light snacks and water. CANCELLATIONS You must contact VIATOR directly to cancel this tour. We cannot take cancellation requests over the phone, text or email. Leaving a phone message or sending a text or email to us does not constitute a cancellation. Please do not call us to cancel your tour as we cannot cancel on your behalf through VIATOR. DAY BEFORE THE TOUR CONFIRMATION You will receive a text and/or a call from us the day before your tour to re-confirm pick up time and location.
  • Anchorage, AK, USA We pick up at any Anchorage area hotel. We do not pick up in private homes, businesses, apartments or B&B's. If if this is your case, please call about alternate pick up location.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
7h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Minimum age is 8 years old; children may not be carried in arms, backpacks, strollers, or anything else.
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately; if canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
  • No Refunds under 72 hours. This activity is operated in partnership with MICA guides.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks provided for travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Anchorage
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Matanuska Glacier
    Stop: 3 hours - Admission included
    You’ll have plenty of time to explore the wonders of the glacier in this three-hour trek. Strap on your crampons and get ready to discover incredible features of the glacier, including beautiful crevasses and startingly blue ice. The glacier is constantly changing, so your route will depend on conditions of the day, as well as the abilities of your group. You’ll come away with stunning photos and a deeper knowledge of glaciers and how they form.
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.0
5 reviews
Excellent
4
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Pioneer02535856496
1 contribution
The go-to expert for Alaska
We chose this tour from several options that Albert recommended. The outfitter was absolutely first class compared to others we saw on the glacier.
Albert was very very helpful with our planning offerings activity suggestions, restaurant recommendations and general information that we found helpful.
Written 4 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M
Thank you for your review. Your comments make me happy and glad that I was able to help and complement your visit. I know that you were touring with another company but I appreciate that you chose us for the Glacier Hike. It was great to personally meet you both. Thanks for traveling with us and visiting Alaska!
Written 10 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Deanna S
Florence, Italy4 contributions
Deceived by the company, know what you are getting into
Jul. 2019 • Couples
I booked this tour through viator for "Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage". I was completely deceived by this company. All they do is provide a transfer from your hotel in anchorage to an actual tour company who does the glacier walk.

In their actual services, providing transportation, they do just that. There is no tour or learning from a tour guide, the person is just a driver. So basically if you have a car available, you could have driven along the highway to the tour company yourself. There is no added benefit of this company.

I wish there had been more reviews so that I could have known better. It is a complete waste of money. If you are interested in this tour, please know that you can book it directly for a significantly lower price directly with MICA guides who provides the real tour.

Furthermore, if you are booking a tour with this company, you should look into whether or not they provide the tour themselves (something I did not even think to ask) or if they just take you to another tour.
Written 14 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna, The first question I would like to ask you is what part of the following statement was not clear to you . . . "This activity is guided by our partner MICA Guides." The above statement is right off the website! To make a statement like you have saying that we "deceived" you is completely un-true. First, you DID NOT book this activity through our company, so therefore you did not actually talk to us. Second, if you would have taken the time to read the tour description you would have immediately known that this activity was NOT guided by us, again I refer back to the fist statement of our response to your review. Activity description is very clearly stated on the website. Sure, you could have booked this tour on your own and drive yourself to the glacier; book directly with MICA guides and go hiking on the glacier. Most people do not want to drive the 2 hours required each way from Anchorage to the Matanuska Glacier and this is where our services come into play. We offer the link between Anchorage and MICA Guides. The interesting part is that you had a car in Anchorage but you chose not to drive yourself to the glacier and booked this activity on-line, on your own, through a third party vendor. You did not speak directly with us so therefore we did not "deceive you" You did enjoy the hike as it was apparent that you were happy with your experience on the glacier after your hike. I suggest that you take time to "read" before making comments/statements such as you have made here. Why did you not drive yourself to the glacier? We are very proud of our 25 years providing great tours and customer service through communications to thousands of happy guests which show through or 450+ Excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We take great pride in providing accurate and detailed information about all of our tours and provide several means of communication about our tours but unfortunately there are people that "don't read" and like to blame others for their shortcomings.
Written 14 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Suresh
Chicago, IL10 contributions
Glacier trekking for novices
This is my first trip to Alaska and I love Glaciers ever since I learned about them at school.

Planet Earth arranged a pick up from my Hotel to the trekking spot. Albert the person who helped me book the trip is so customer centric that he followed up once the trekking time has been changed and then the day before the trekking.

They would provide all the gears like helmet, crampons etc. Seeing the Glacier for the first time and then trekking on it was an awesome experience. If you love nature, don't miss this trip

Overall very satisfied with the trip and Planet Earth.

Written 11 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh, Thank you for reviewing here on Trip Advisor. Much appreciated. I enjoyed talking with you and taking you on this activity. Thanks for visiting Alaska!
Written 14 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cjmorris2009
Austin, TX3 contributions
Planet Earth Adventures Tours Were All Amazing!
Aug. 2018 • Family
We booked the Turnagain Arm Tour, Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek, Dog Sledding, and Prince William Sound Kayaking Tour through Planet Earth Adventures and they were amazing! We had never been to Alaska before and had no idea what we were getting into. They made sure every detail on every tour was taken care of. I will book all our future tours through Planet Earth Adventures. They made our trip everything we wanted it to be.
Written 8 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Salem27RKSS
Tulsa, OK40 contributions
Spectacular
Our tour and hike today with Plant Earth was awesome. Scott did a superb job. They set this up with Mica guides. Scott provided a lot of history about the area on our journey to the Glacier. We will use them again if we find ourselves in Alaska again.
Written 18 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Planet Earth Adventures
Resort643844
Resort643844
00
This was well organized and multiple stops all very interesting. Our guide Tanner was excellent
This was well organized and multiple stops all very interesting. Our guide Tanner was excellent. He is a local and
LoveTravel425
LoveTravel425
00
Great glacier tour!
Our tour guide Matt was fantastic! He was very friendly and shared a wealth of information about the sites. The
SJonesTraveler315
SJonesTraveler315
00
MUST-DO TOUR!
You might think that a 6-hour tour in a Mercedes-Benz transport would be an extremely long day. Well, ditch that as
a3potter
a3potter
00
Fun Adventure Packed Day!
This was an awesome tour. Zac our tour guide was very informative and made this a really fun, adventure packed day
Escape604326
Escape604326
00
Nice tour
We have a wonderful time with Scott. Portage glacier is beautiful. We watched salmon migration and wild animals suc
RandSand
RandSand
00
Fun day
Well, it seems you can't go wrong with whoever you get for a guide, but we had Zac. He was terrific, although as i
X42WZdebbiec
X42WZdebbiec
00
Great guide
The tour was beautiful of course. Matt made the trip great because of his knowledge of the area. Go prepared to e
doctorpop
doctorpop
00
Excellent tour.
Our day was fun and interesting from beginning to the end . Matt was friendly and flexible. He was very informative
Companion47936841718
Companion47936841718
00
Fantastic tour
Scott was our tour guide and did a fantastic job of engaging the entire group. From older adults to my young childr
Kimberly G
Kimberly G
00
Amazing Glacier Tour
This tour was so informative and a great way to see the glaciers and Turnagin peninsula. 10 people max on the tour
TurtleTr
TurtleTr
00
Go on this tour!
What an awesome excursion! We booked this tour based on the description and reviews we read from other travelers. W
kgkrivin
kgkrivin
00
Awesome!
Absolutely amazing! LeLinda was a wonderful guide sharing huge amounts of information! Had a great time!
G2290DCerict
G2290DCerict
00
Planet Earth Adventures Anchorage Tour
Really awesome tour. Our guide LeLinda was super down to earth and knew all kinds of cool things about Alaska. She
mauli_9
mauli_9
00
Left a part of me in Alaska!
Our first time in AK & the experience has left me in awe & seeking more. Thanks to Albert & Scott Slone, our family
Imelda V
Imelda V
00
1st Alaska visit Velayo family from Orlando can’t get enough colossal breathtaking views of glaciers mountains wild life
Amazing breathtaking views Portage glacier Seward parkway water falls beautiful animals Julie tour so informative 5
Frequently Asked Questions about Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage will start at 7:00 AM. Discover and book Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage on Tripadvisor

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage price starts from AU$339.29. Discover and book Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage on Tripadvisor

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage on Tripadvisor

Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage is hosted by Planet Earth Adventures. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Planet Earth Adventures on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Matanuska Glacier Ice Fall Trek from Anchorage on Tripadvisor