Boston Tours
Martha's Vineyard Daytrip from Boston with Round-Trip Ferry & Island Tour Option
4.5
BEST SELLER
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Martha's Vineyard Daytrip from Boston with Round-Trip Ferry & Island Tour Option

By New England Trips
About
Explore one of New England's popular destinations, Martha's Vineyard, with this full day guided tour from Boston. Complimentary hotel pick-up is provided from select downtown Boston hotels then travel hassle-free down to Cape Cod via air-conditioned minibus. Next, take a short cruise to Martha's Vineyard and enjoy free time to explore or upgrade to add an island tour. Complimentary snacks, bottled water, island guidebooks and a discount card are provided during the drive.
from
AU$178.46
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 24 per group
Duration: 12h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Head to the Martha's Vineyard for a beach day, with easy travel from Boston
  • Enjoy panoramic views on your ferry ride from Cape Cod to Martha's Vineyard
  • Spend the day exploring independently, or upgrade for a guided island tour
  • Hassle-free travel by mini-coach and ferry—from Boston hotels—is included

  • Boston to Martha's Vineyard Day-Trip Excursion
  • Round-Trip Transportation on our Air-Conditioned 24 passenger Mini-Coach Bus
  • Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off included at select Boston hotels
  • 3-Hour Narrated Martha's Vineyard 44 passenger Island Bus Tour (option available at checkout)
  • 50-minute stop to explore downtown Edgartown at your leisure (Island Tour upgrade)
  • 15-minute stop to view the Gay Head Cliffs in Aquinnah (Island Tour option)
  • See all 6 Martha's Vineyard Towns during your island tour including Vineyard Haven & Aquinnah
  • Drive through charming downtown Falmouth and along the Cape Cod Canal on the way to the ferry
  • Scenic 35-45 min ferry cruise from Cape Cod to Oak Bluffs or Vineyard Haven (based on travel date)
  • Complimentary Bottled Water, Snacks and Island Guidebooks
  • Narration during Mini Coach Bus Ride
  • 5.5 to 6 hours total time on the island (depending upon time of year)
  • Entry/Admission - Falmouth
  • Entry/Admission - Gay Head Light (Aquinnah Light)
  • Entry/Admission - Woods Hole
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch (dining options available on Martha's Vineyard)


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Boston Marriott Long Wharf, 296 State St, Boston, MA 02109, USA
    *For those who do not require hotel pick-up, please meet at the  Marriott Long Wharf Hotel main entrance (must be confirmed as your pickup location). Boston Marriott Long Wharf, 296 State St, Boston, MA 02109, USA
Pickup details
  • Departure Point: Provided Boston Hotel Pick-Up Locations: AKA Back Bay Hotel, Boston Harbor Hotel, Colonnade, Dagny Hotel, DoubleTree by Hilton Boston (Washington Street), Fairmont Copley Plaza, Hilton Back Bay, Hyatt Regency Boston, Intercontinental Hotel, Marriott Copley, Marriott Long Wharf, Millennium Bostonian Hotel, Omni Parker House, Park Plaza Hotel, Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, Revere Hotel, Seaport Hotel, Sheraton Boston Hotel, W Hotel, Westin Boston Waterfront *For those who do not require hotel pick-up, please meet at the  Marriott Long Wharf Hotel main entrance (must be confirmed as your pickup location)
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Pushchair accessible
      • Service animals allowed
      • Near public transportation
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5491MARTHA

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Most travellers can participate
      • Provided Boston Hotel Pick-Up Locations: AKA Back Bay Hotel, Boston Harbor Hotel (MUST BE A HOTEL GUEST), Colonnade, Dagny Hotel, DoubleTree by Hilton Boston (Washington Street), Fairmont Copley Plaza, Hilton Back Bay, Hyatt Regency Avenue de Lafayette, Intercontinental Boston, Marriott Copley, Marriott Long Wharf, Millennium Bostonian Hotel, Omni Parker House, Park Plaza Hotel, Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, Revere Hotel, Seaport Hotel, Sheraton Boston Hotel, W Hotel, Westin Boston Waterfront
      • Please note: PICKUPS ARE ONLY PROVIDED AT HOTELS THAT ARE ON THE LIST.
      • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5491MARTHA

      Reserve your spot
      Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • 1
        Pass by
        Cape Cod Canal
        Falmouth
      • 2
      • 3
      • 4
      • 5
      • 6
      • 7
      • 8
      • 9
      • 10
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • New England Trips
        825
        Boston, United States
        Joined in September 2011
      • Barbara R
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fantastic time
        Had a lovely day visiting Newport with Lucia as our knowledgeable and friendly guide. It took less time than I expected to get to Newport (I think because we had quite a small group and only two hotel pickups) - so Lucia made the time to also show us some extra interesting places along the way, including at Fall River. Breakers Mansion was a great experience but I particularly loved just experiencing the town itself - we had a good amount of time to have lunch and walk around - what a gorgeous cool place. Highly recommend it! (Although beware Lucia’s bad Dad-jokes 😂) All in all a wonderful memorable day out.
        Written 12 July 2024
      • 342olivar
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great trip
        This is way better than the Martha's Vineyard trip. I think the guides name was David. He was really good. If you enjoy history, this is a very good trip
        Written 12 July 2024
      • F9764RLannies
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Day Trip to Coastal Maine
        Wonderful trip, highly recommend! Nice and very knowledgeable driver Lucia, great tour stops, everything was so well organised.
        Written 12 July 2024
      • SharonB231
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Tour
        Leaving from Boston with a few surprises on the way. I won’t tell you the surpises but have your camera ready. We were dropped off at the cliff walk and walked to the Breakers for our tour. You can go through at your own pace and get about an hour here which was plenty to go through the house and go out to the yard. Next stop was downtown Newport for shopping and lunch. There are many restaurants to choose from. We went to the wharf area. After lunch we visited the Marble house for about an hour. Both mansions were owned by the vanderbilts. Mansions were stunning and we felt we had enough time to see them. Our guide, Coach was great and drove us past the other mansions and gave us some interesting history and stories from the area. This trip is definitely worth taking.
        Written 16 June 2024
      • Marti B
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Day trip to Plymouth
        David was absolutely excellent. He was friendly and knowledgeable and made the whole experience worth every penny. I would highly recommend!
        Written 8 June 2024
      • 343ayeshai
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Incredible first trip to Maine
        Lucia was a wonderful tour guide. She provided such entertaining and helpful commentary. New Hampton, York and Kennebunkport are such gorgeous places. In Kennebunkport, we took a trolley tour around town, driven by our brilliant guide, Ken. He compellingly explained the history of the town and cracked hilarious jokes. It was informative and entertaining. As a first trip to Maine from Boston, I highly recommend this.
        Written 4 June 2024
      • 943darreld
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great tour.
        We had an excellant tour with Caravan Tours to New England, Boston. Our tour Director and bus driver was very good!!! THEY HELPED US AT EVERY STOP!
        Written 15 January 2024
      • 299miche
        0 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Disappointed tour
        The bus driver just drove us around without giving too much info about the history or background of the stops. We spent 3 hours in old Sturbridge village ourselves which is quite long and boring.
        Written 6 November 2023
      • LynnHC01
        0 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Was ok, could have been a better experience
        First, thank you for providing a tour to view fall foliage. Our bus had 23 passengers and Lucia was our driver. I've taken many small grp tours all around the US and in Italy and France. I have to point out that this tour, History and Fall Foliage, was not as good a tour as others I've been on. Pickup was late but it was not Lucia's fault - there was discrepancy with a pickup somewhere else. Perhaps do not provide so many pickup locations. Everyone should be able to get to one or two central locations, which would make being on schedule more possible, and a better experience for everyone on the tour. Because of the late pickup, we were stuck in heavier traffic. Because one of passengers was consistently late coming back to the bus on time, we were further behind schedule. Our time at various stops, other than Old Sturbridge Village, was reduced, I feel. The stop at Old Sturbridge Village of 3 hrs was too long. We were told to eat at the Tavern in the back of OSV, and they were out of food often and had limited selections. At the end of the stop, several of us went in the eating place at the front of the museum/park and wished we had eaten there instead (quiche, sandwiches, etc.). Perhaps the tour guide should tell the grp what the food options are and let them decide where to eat. The tavern I ate at had chicken pot pie, shepherd's pie, chicken fingers, mac and cheese, etc. that would appeal to many people. Because we were already running behind schedule, and a party on our bus had to make their flight that evening, we did not get the "special surprise" that Lucia told us about. Again, not Lucia's fault, but I wish we could have gone to the farm (as I understand from other reviews). The bus was very noisy and bumpy, especially towards the back. The seats aren't very comfortable and after 8 hrs, getting bumped around is not fun. A positive is that the windows are big and provide good views. Again, thanks for providing the service, the bottled waters and breakfast bars.
        Written 28 October 2023
      • Q2132QHjonw
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        New England Fall Tour
        One of the best tours ever. Highly recommended. Lucia was a our guide for the day. Very knowledgeable about the history of each location we visited. She is very outgoing and funny. Really made the day
        Written 28 October 2023
      • hayleym919
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Gorgeous scenery, fascinating history
        Thank you to David for a really interesting commentary on the incredible history on the drive from Boston via Quincy to Plymouth. The living museums are so engaging!
        Written 23 October 2023
      • JoanT_11
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Caravan New England Fall Foliage Tour
        Caravan Tour Review My husband and I just finished a Caravan New England Fall Foliage tour. We traveled through Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine. The fall foliage colors on our trip were spectacular! The tour route was well thought out and packed with an amazing amount of scenery, historical sites, regional attractions, good hotels, and great food. Our tour guide was Tom Schoenewald. He was very knowledgeable, informative, enthusiastic, and entertaining. He has a gift for relating interesting tidbits of information about the New England area in a way that makes it come alive. We could tell he spent a lot of time researching the history of the area we traveled through. This is the third Caravan tour we have taken. Caravan is a very professional tour company and we highly recommend them. Caravan used Lamoille Valley Transportation for our motorcoach. The motorcoach was top of the line. Our driver, Arthur, was amazing in how he handled the tight turns, narrow streets, and heavy traffic in the small towns and on the curvy mountain roads. The motorcoach was impeccably clean each morning when we got on. Authur was always at the door helping the passengers enter and exit the coach. Even when it was raining, he stood in the rain holding an umbrella to protect us. Mr. and Mrs. J. Tucker Moulton, AL
        Written 23 October 2023
      • O9288RXjudithc
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Excellent choice
        All in our group were very pleased with the choices of stops and timing of stops . Lucia was an excellent guide.
        Written 22 October 2023
      • prillzilla
        0 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Tour guide was great!
        We were told to be at the hotel for pick-up at 7:15am! That meant we had to get up at 5:30am! The bus didn’t get to us until 7:45! It’s a 25 seat bus so it’s smaller than I thought which meant less window views while riding. And no bathroom on the bus. Our driver David was super knowledgeable on history and took us to Lexington & Concord, the North Bridge, Sudbury, Walden Pond & Old Sturbridge Village. Unfortunately we got to the last farm for apple cider & donuts too late. They were closed. And I know you can’t control the weather. But I wish there’d been more fall color. Thanks for the tour!
        Written 14 October 2023
      • oltravelingranny
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fantastic tour with David, one of the best tour guides ever!
        David's incredible knowledge regarding the area and subject matter made for a fantastic tour. This was one of my favorite tours in the Boston area. I love traveling, both in and out of the country, and have been on many tours...David is by far one of the best tour guides ever. He went the extra mile. Thanks for a great tour David!
        Written 13 October 2023
      See all 825 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      We perform checks on reviews.
      Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
      Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
      When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
      Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
      Learn more about our review moderation.
      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles512 reviews
      Excellent
      365
      Very good
      83
      Average
      44
      Poor
      12
      Terrible
      8

      Roving401649
      Austin, TX17 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      This is actually 2 tours & we did only the first part. New England Tours picked us up in Boston & drove us to Falmouth to the Island Queen Ferry to Martha’s Vinyard. The drive was about 90 min & the ferry was about 45 min. When we booked the tour, there was the option of either entertaining yourself in MV or taking the 2nd tour for an extra charge. We did not sign up for the second tour because we wanted to spend the day at the beach, & we really regretted it. We thought we would be able to easily just spend the day at the beach in Oak Bluff where the ferry landed, but when we got to Oak Bluff, there were no beach amenities for day visitors! Not even a place to change clothes or wash the sand off! I’ve never been to a public beach that was so lacking in the basics! The only thing we liked about Oak Bluff were the adorable gingerbread cottages in the Summer Camp area of town. We really regretted not doing the MV tour that New England Tours offered, especially since the part of the group that did it loved it. Also it was a brutally hot day & none of the restaurants or ice cream parlors we went to had AC. There was no way to escape the heat. By the time we caught the ferry back to Falmouth to meet our bus back to Boston, we were miserable. The bus ride back to Boston was longer because it was rush hour, but the driver/guide did his best to avoid the worst of the traffic. If you do this trip, you should book both tours.
      Written 18 July 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I feel terrible that you did not enjoy your day. Unfortunately, I also feel terrible that you chose to review us based upon your decision on how to spend the day, rather than the service that we provided. What you do with your free time is certainly out of our control. Martha's Vineyard is an amazing place and judging by the overwhelming majority of our guests is not overrated. I am sure that if you had made a different decision and decided to take our narrated tour your review and your view of the island would have been much different. Sincerely, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 20 July 2021
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      LV
      3 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Oct 2021 • Friends
      This daytrip was an expensive ride from Boston to Martha's Vineyard and back. The expected narration of the Boston area was nonexistent until the final minutes of our return to Boston. There were four in our group, and our decision on this company was partly based on the description that we would receive light narration of information about the Boston area in transit to destination. Our driver also exceeded the maximum speed limit on the highway by as much as 15mph much of the time and by as much as 27mph while crossing a bridge. I feel this jeopardizes safety of passengers. Overall, this was simply transportation from Boston to Martha's Vineyard, unless you purchased the optional Martha's Vineyard tour, which could have been provided at a lower cost.
      Written 17 October 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for the review. I'm not sure how much research you did before calling the 80 mile $45.50 ride expensive. This ride also included snacks, water and an island guide book. (Let me know if you find a less expensive option with all of these inclusions) I'm also not sure how much research you did on the cost of 3 hour narrated Island tours. I find it very hard to believe that our driver was driving at the speeds that you claim he/she was. Just for the record, we have not had a single negative occurrence on the road in 11 years. Sincerely, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 17 October 2021
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Sonja
      Minneapolis, MN6 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2021
      The shuttle bus arrived on time and Lucia told us highlight as we went to the ferry. The bus AC did not cool the bus. The ferry ride was enjoyable. We had scheduled the island the tour. I was extremely disappointed when I saw we were going on an old yellow school bus. There was no air conditioning, the windows only opened 4 inches so limited cross ventilation. The shocks were shot and the vinyl seats uncomfortable. Tom was very informative but I will not pay for another tour on an old school bus and it was misleading that that was not disclosed when booking.
      Written 25 August 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for taking the time to review us. I apologize if you were uncomfortable on the buses. The bus traveling from Boston to the ferry is only 2 years old and has a very good AC system. Problem being, yesterday was an extremely uncomfortable day with the heat index near 100 degrees. Not even on the island (where it is usually cooler with a wonderful breeze) could you escape yesterday's heat and humidity. You will find there is not another option for vehicles on the island to handle the capacity of guests that we bring there on a daily basis. I'm sorry if it did not meet your standards. I am sure if it was a day in the mid 70's you would have enjoyed the tour considerably more. My sincerest apologies. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 26 August 2021
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Ramon C.
      1 contribution
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      July 2021 • Couples
      The trip was very enjoyable. From pickup to drop-off, the guides were on time and very knowledgeable. Tim had a great sense of humor and our guide on the island was enagaging. This is the best way to tour the entire island in a day and highly recommend this day trip.
      Written 26 July 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review of Boston's ORIGINAL Martha's Vineyard day trip. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with both Timmy and Tom. Your HIGH RECOMMENDATION is sincerely appreciated! Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 27 July 2021
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Andrew M
      Raleigh, NC19 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Overall a good experience and a great way to see Martha’s Vineyard. Had we not added the ‘optional’ island bus tour, I don’t think we would have rated this as highly. (Perhaps if you’ve been to the island before and are simply looking to go shop the shops…but even then you’d do better taking your own car to have the freedom and flexibility to get yourself back to your accommodations when you’ve had your fill). Anyway, the bus from Boston picked us up right in front of our hotel, which was very convenient. The bus driver was very engaging and a local, so she was able to provide some fun commentary to and from the ferry.
      The island bus tour was driven by a native of the island, who also provided commentary throughout. We could not have gotten a better driver or a better person to tell us all about the history and evolution of the island. Hands down - the best part of this trips bf the best way to see all of the island. Definitely should add this to your tour, otherwise, you’ll not get to see all the other little towns that are away from where the ferry drops you off.
      The only downside to this tour that keeps it from being 5 out of 5 is the amount of time allotted for hanging out in town before taking the return ferry from the island and getting the bus back to Boston. It’s too much time. I believe we had 2.5 hours after the island bus tour. An hour would have been enough, as we basically wanted to grab a bite to eat (it was around 2pm at that point) and then we were ready to head back home. We could have caught the next ferry after getting lunch and been back to Boston well before traffic, but we still had another hour and half to wait before our bus would be back at the ferry terminal on the Cape. In taking an informal survey of the other folks on our bus, they also would have been fine coming back on the earlier ferry. As it was, it made for a much longer day than advertised - don’t plan on trying to do anything else after this tour as you will be gone all day. Overall, a good experience. Next time though, we would opt to handle our own transportation to and from the ferry terminal.
      Written 12 September 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for the 4 star review. You are certainly entitled to your opinion, though I would beg to stronly differ with your informal survey. You would not believe the number of guests that I've spoken to that have wished that they could have stayed on the island longer. I've been doing this for a long time and I know that you can't please everyone, but I think that we come pretty close. Most of our guests thoroughly enjoy their free time on the island. About the trip being longer than advertised, again I strongly disagree as it is exactly as advertised.. We stick to a precise schedule, and the only thing that throws it off is traffic and we always explain that possibly to anyone that asks. Boston is a major city and unfortunately there is traffic. Also keep in mind the vast majority of our guests don't have vehicles with them. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with our guides. Sincerely, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 13 September 2021
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Steven C
      Coleraine, UK73 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Weather affected the choice of ferry crossing and revealed the islanders zealous focus on tourism; they shut, leaving tourists with little to see and do. Those left open (some shops, restaurants & taverns) exploit the tourists who are still booked to come on expensive trips. We were lucky to have a great bus operator on the island (Tom) who shared all his knowledge & life experience to compensate for the closure of many businesses. Black Dog Tavern served very overpriced food and staff provided service to an adequate level given the lack of staff numbers for customers. Lobster roll (small brioche) at $42 extravagant. Journey to & from ferry lengthy and tiring. Not much to see on highways! Given cost of tour, would expect gratuities to be included.
      Written 3 October 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your review. It is getting into the offseason over on the island. Remember, Martha's Vineyard is a New England summer vacation destination. The transportation part of our trip is very inexpensive. I am not sure if you looked at any other options. Our 3 tour is priced similarly to every other 3 hour tour on the island (not including gratuities) I am happy that you enjoyed Tom's Tour. I appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England trips Inc.
      Written 4 October 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      April M
      20 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      I did this trip on 7/3 so it’s possible the island was busier because of the holiday week. That being said, it’s reportedly fairly crowded all season. I’d try to go on a week day if possible. To see the whole island, the optional bus tour is your best bet. I opted to get an $8 day pass from the local transit authority and use the island bus which takes a long time to get around on due to the volume of people and traffic on the island. Without the bus tour, plan on only seeing two or three of the island towns. The island is beautiful and the service provided by New England Trips was excellent but this wasn’t my favorite day trip. Ideally, it would be better to stay on the island for several days to see it all. I highly recommend the Kennebunkport, Maine and Newport, Rhode Island trips for something less crowded. That being said, if you’re looking to go to MV, this is the way to go. Hotel pickup was prompt. Our driver was Elaine who is an excellent entertaining host. She is from the area and is very knowledgeable about the history of it. She also sings pretty good. Complimentary bottled water and snacks were provided on the van.
      Written 5 July 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for this EXCELLENT 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. First off, thank you so much for taking 3 of our trips. I'm happy that you enjoyed both Newport RI and Kennebunkport ME along with Martha's Vineyard. I'm also glad that you enjoyed your time with Elaine and got to hear her fabulous singing voice. I really appreciate you sharing your experience. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 6 July 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Ejc37604
      Johnson City, TN94 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      This was our only negative experience taking tours while in Boston. The day was to long for what we got to see. Starting at 6:15 is insane when you have to arrange transportation to another hotel to get picked up. The van was hot and stuffy the whole time there. The Ferry ride was great over to Martha's Vineyard. Then we took a 3 hour bus drive around the island with 2 stops. Most everything we saw was just trees and foliage. Also, a lot of farm land. This bus was also very hot and stuffy and I am normally very cold natured. I really thought we would see more homes and New England architecture , maybe some celebrity homes, but it was the most boring 3 hours on a school bus type of bus ever. You couldn't see anything for overgrown trees and weeds. The few times we got to see the beach, it was pretty.
      After we finally got off the bus, we had 2 1/2 hours to kill before the Island Queen ferry took us back to the tour company bus. Then the long drive back to Boston. The whole trip took 13 hours and was 75 miles away (or close to that).
      My husband and I both thought it was just to much for what we got to see. Physically and financially. We would not recommend this to anyone. Other than the harbor and lighthouse, it was mostly souvenir shops and land with nothing on it.
      Written 13 July 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for the review. I feel that your review is rather mean-spirited. If you think that a 615 start time is insane and that the day would be too physically taxing, then why did you book the trip? It is a long day and certainly not for everybody. There is no short way to Martha's Vineyard and we make it as comfortable, convenient and less expensive than any other way I know of. As far as the island tour goes, the vast majority of our guests love it. Our reviews speak for themselves. The free time that you alluded to as "time to kill" is usually when our guests go have a nice waterfront lunch and spend some time shopping. Information about our trip is in writing and not a secret. I would not recommend your review to anyone looking to travel to Martha's Vineyard on a day trip from Boston. Consider the 5 star reviews that far outweigh the poor ones. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 14 July 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Bertha
      1 contribution
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2020 • Couples
      So Martha’s Vineyard day trip was an amazing experience. I would’ve given 5 stars but ran into something that was a little upsetting. When booking the trip I was under the impression that even if I didn’t book the private island tour there would still be a tour available. When I got there I had to book another tour but it was done very nicely. Just keep it mind if you pay just for the tour then you have 6 hours to do whatever you want but would have to pay for whatever activity you want to do. So essentially for 2 people your paying 210$ just to get to Martha’s Vineyard. But never the less it was a beautiful experience. People there are very nice. They have vegan friendly restaurants which is a plus. We will definitely be coming back here but next time we will stay for a few days on the vineyard. Be prepared to spend money because prices add up lol. But truthfully worth every single penny.
      Written 23 August 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for the 4 star review. I do apologize for the confusion though I believe it is fairly clear that the 3 hour tour is an option at an additional fee. I am happy that you took our recommendation and booked an island tour with another service due to our private tour being sold out. Due to Covid we do have limited seating on our island tour and we can"t guarantee an island tour seat if it isn't purchased at the time of booking. $105 pp for roundtrip bus and ferry is a very fair price, keep in mind that a shared ride service or private transportation would be $150 -200 one way not including the ferry tickets. I am very happy to hear that you had a beautiful experience on the island as that is what we hope for all of our guests. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 23 August 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Lauren B.
      Austin, TX3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      July 2020 • Couples
      We did the day trip, but not the tour. We wanted the ability to be able to explore on our own but then we ended up taking a tour with a different company. Booking it as a package would’ve been roughly the same price and a lot more seamless. We had a great time on our day trip to Martha’s Vineyard, and this company was very professional, on time, the coach was very clean and social distancing was maintained through the whole trip. We had a wonderful time on this tour and would definitely do it again. The coach had large windows so we could see the beautiful scenery go by as we drove from Boston to Falmouth. Definitely a highlight of our trip.
      Written 15 July 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for taking the time to write this GREAT 5 Star Review! I am very happy to hear that you and your husband had such a wonderful day. Here at New England Trips we take great pride in being Boston's #1 day trip service to Martha's Vineyard since 2011. As always, our guests and team members safety is our top priority and we will continue to follow safety guidelines recommended for our industry. I think that alot of guests don't quite realize the size of the island when booking their trip and just how much there is to see. I wish that you had taken our 3 hour tour as our guides and comfortable mini-coach bus are both top notch. Hope to see you again on another New England Trip! Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
      Written 16 July 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Showing results 1-10 of 503
      *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

      Martha's Vineyard Daytrip from Boston with Round-Trip Ferry & Island Tour Option provided by New England Trips

      All Boston HotelsBoston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Boston
      All things to do in Boston
      Day Trips in Boston
      RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars