Tours and Tickets

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour provided by Big Bus Tours

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour
4
Book in advance
from
AU$57.72
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Get a standard hop-on hop-off experience with upgrades for more tours as far as Sausalito.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Highlights
  • Explore San Francisco at your own pace, and plan your own itinerary
  • See numerous attractions in one day at more than 16 main stops
  • Cover more ground by taking advantage of our bike rental
  • Night Tour included in the Premium and Deluxe Passes
  • 24 hours extra hop-on-hop-off included in the Deluxe Pass
What to expect
  • The bus tour route starts at Fisherman’s Wharf, but you can board at any of the stops. Just exchange your voucher for a ticket, and get ready to explore the City by the Bay. Highlights include Pier 39, Union Square, the Palace of Fine Arts, the Golden Gate Bridge and Lombard Street. Plan your day’s itinerary based on your own interests. You won’t be stuck in one area—unless you want to. A walking tour of Chinatown is included with your pass. If you’ve upgraded, take a Sausalito tour, and enjoy a bike rental. Your experience ends on the day your pass expires. If you have the time, two-day passes are also available.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Chinese, Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Explore San Francisco at your own pace, and plan your own itinerary
  • See numerous attractions in one day at more than 16 main stops
  • Cover more ground by taking advantage of our bike rental
  • Night Tour included in the Premium and Deluxe Passes
  • 24 hours extra hop-on-hop-off included in the Deluxe Pass
What to expect
  • The bus tour route starts at Fisherman’s Wharf, but you can board at any of the stops. Just exchange your voucher for a ticket, and get ready to explore the City by the Bay. Highlights include Pier 39, Union Square, the Palace of Fine Arts, the Golden Gate Bridge and Lombard Street. Plan your day’s itinerary based on your own interests. You won’t be stuck in one area—unless you want to. A walking tour of Chinatown is included with your pass. If you’ve upgraded, take a Sausalito tour, and enjoy a bike rental. Your experience ends on the day your pass expires. If you have the time, two-day passes are also available.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5096SFOHOHO
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hop-on Hop-off bus tour
  • Night Tour (Premium & Deluxe Tickets)
  • Buy 1 hour bike rental get 1 hour free from any Blazing Saddles shop
  • Free headphones for audio-guide
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Location Name: • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.  • Panoramic Night Tour:Tour departs at Stop 1 daily at 6:30pm, 7:00pm and (7:30pm April – October) No tours on Dec 24th and Dec 31st. Location Address: Classic, Premium or Deluxe Daytime Hop-on Hop Off Ticket • Board the bus at any stop along your route. Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Panoramic Night Tour:  • Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Directions: Big Bus Visitor Center in Located in Fisherman's Wharf at the corner of Jefferson and Mason Streets.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Classic 1-day tickets will be valid for same day use. Tickets claimed after 3pm will be valid for 24 hours from time of redemption.
  • Night tour operates on a first-come, first-served basis, so try to arrive early to secure your seat
  • Night Tour is not a hop-on hop-off tour
  • Wheelchair accessible, please call ahead for arrangements
  • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.
  • Night Tour: Redeem vouchers at the start of the tour, Pier 41 Fisherman's Wharf (RH5P+GX North Beach, San Francisco, CA, USA), No tours on July 4th, Thanksgiving, Dec 24th and Dec 31st.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
Inclusions
  • Hop-on Hop-off bus tour
  • Night Tour (Premium & Deluxe Tickets)
  • Buy 1 hour bike rental get 1 hour free from any Blazing Saddles shop
  • Free headphones for audio-guide
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Location Name: • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.  • Panoramic Night Tour:Tour departs at Stop 1 daily at 6:30pm, 7:00pm and (7:30pm April – October) No tours on Dec 24th and Dec 31st. Location Address: Classic, Premium or Deluxe Daytime Hop-on Hop Off Ticket • Board the bus at any stop along your route. Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Panoramic Night Tour:  • Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Directions: Big Bus Visitor Center in Located in Fisherman's Wharf at the corner of Jefferson and Mason Streets.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Classic 1-day tickets will be valid for same day use. Tickets claimed after 3pm will be valid for 24 hours from time of redemption.
  • Night tour operates on a first-come, first-served basis, so try to arrive early to secure your seat
  • Night Tour is not a hop-on hop-off tour
  • Wheelchair accessible, please call ahead for arrangements
  • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.
  • Night Tour: Redeem vouchers at the start of the tour, Pier 41 Fisherman's Wharf (RH5P+GX North Beach, San Francisco, CA, USA), No tours on July 4th, Thanksgiving, Dec 24th and Dec 31st.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 15 Jun. 2021
A note from Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour
Customers are advised to download the Big Bus app to find out more about our new health and safety measures and for real-time bus tracking information. Alternatively please visit the Big Bus website.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Popular mentions

4.0
1,765 reviews
Excellent
928
Very good
347
Average
160
Poor
125
Terrible
205

MsThang01
Los Angeles, CA548 contributions
Best Way To See The City
Nov. 2021 • Family
I would recommend this tour for anyone visiting SF for the first time. This was my 2nd time visiting the city, but my first time doing this tour. We got to the location where the tour starts 15 minutes early, and the line was already long. We had to wait almost 40 minutes before a bus arrived to start the tour. The best part of the tour was riding across the Golden Gate Bridge. Other parts of the tour was not really exciting, and my daughter was starting to get bored and antsy towards the end of the tour. The tour itself I would rate 3 1/2 stars, but bumped it to 4 due to the value and being able to hop on and off all day.
Written 28 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We apologize that you had to wait almost 40 mins for the first bus we do try and send them out on time. Our buses are the best way to get to know the city if you never been.
Written 30 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dave G
Swedesboro, NJ11 contributions
Choose YourTour Wisely
Nov. 2021
The three of us (myself, my wife, and my 17-year-old daughter), booked the "Classic Ticket and Muir Woods Tour". Overall, the whole experience felt rushed and cramped given the price.

When we booked this tour, we selected the 1:00 PM Muir woods tour (the 9:00 am option was sold out) which meant we had to be at Pier 41 (stop 1) by 12:30. The hotel we stayed at was close to the Union Square stop (stop 5). The website and bug bus application had estimated times for each stop. We would need to get the first bus of the day in order to make it from stop 5 to stop 1 by 12:30.

The first bus of the day was ~10 minutes early and we missed it. The company representative attending the Union Square stop indicated the next bus would be here in about 15-20 minutes, so no worries. After about 10 minutes, he said the next bus arriving would be full and, to their credit, they were sending an empty bus to our stop since there were about 20+ people in line.

We were one of the first onboard the empty bus and had about 90 minutes to arrive on time. The attendant said if it's getting close, be sure to tell your driver to hold the Muir woods bus so we wouldn't miss it. The tour itself was good and we were able to see highlights of the area, going over the golden gate bridge twice. We were warned it would be windy and it was. We didn't have enough time to get off at any stop and walk around if we wanted to make our Muir woods tour.

We made it to stop 1 just in time. We hopped off the big bus and onto the smaller Muir woods tour bus taking the last available seats. What I didn't enjoy about the smaller bus was how close the seats were together. You're on that bus for a little over 2.5 hours so I think they could have space the seats out a little more.

When we arrived at Muir woods, we had about an hour and 15 (or so) to see it. That wasn't enough time to do a full loop and we had to turn around about 3/4 of the way through the park, after a quick stop at the shop for some hot chocolate. If you're going to see Muir woods, I would suggest making sure you have enough time to see it all and a leisurely pace. It is a beautiful place and I don't think we got the full experience.

After returning to Pier 41, we hopped on the last bus of the day to go back to Union Square.

So, for $375 for the 3 of us, it definitely wasn't worth it. If I were King for a day, I would remove this ticket option from Big Bus. I feel like we had 2 half experiences. a rushed Muir woods tour and a hop-on, hop-off where we could only hop off once.

IF you are considering this tour, I would recommend ensuring you have enough time to see things in more detail and do Muir woods separately. Ensure you have at least 90 minutes to get there with at least 2 full hours at Muir woods.
Written 26 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nopalmgirl
North Palm Beach, FL12 contributions
Great historical tour.
5 of 5
Narration was excellent. Learned a lot about history. Highly recommend. Loved being on top even though it was a tad chilly over Golden Gate Bridge!!! We were warned to go downstairs though because of winds off Pacific.
Written 24 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! The top seats are the best way to do the tour glad you stayed on top even with the cold wind across the Golden Gate Bridge.
Written 30 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tht_Queen_B
Atlanta, GA714 contributions
Windy but Fun
I recently did this tour while in the San Fran area. Wear hat, glasses, and hoodie if planning on riding on top.This is perfect if you want to see all that the city has to offer and are short on time. To truly take full advantage of this tour, I would depart on the first bus out. This allows time to get off at prime location spots and get back on without getting caught in the cold and dark. The next bus always came within 15/30 minutes of each other. The app is only good for tracking which is a great bonus. There is no second guessing where the next bus is. I recommend this tour for everyone.
Written 16 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience with Big Bus Tours SF. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Yes, the top of the bus can get chilly and we always reccommend dressing in layers in SF, great advice! We do hope to see you in San Francisco again.
Written 16 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

terese
1 contribution
SFO HOHO
Nov. 2021 • Solo
Hop on, Hop off saved my knees!
Wish the pick up locations were better marked. Great value for what you get
Written 12 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for choosing Big Bus Tours! We look forward to seeing you again in your back in San Francisco or at of our other cities.
Written 15 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

martin s
Boca Raton, FL3 contributions
Cancelled on us, refused refund
Oct. 2021
Paid for 2 San Francisco tours 10/24/21. Boarded bus at Union Square same day, and told tours were cancelled due to weather. Driver said go to website for refund. Website chat said policy is no refunds, give it to someone else to use. Of course weather is out of anyone's control, but no refund when tour cancels? On the same day they took money earlier? Pretty sketchy, out $99.
Written 4 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to heart that your exploring was cut short due to weather conditions. On October 24th San Francisco experienced heavy rain and high winds forcing us to close our operation at 3pm and for the remainder of that day. Even our National Parks in the Bay Area such as Muir Woods and Alcatraz Island had to close. I apologize that more was not offered to you as far as options on what you could do with your tickets when you reached out to our team members on the App. If you would like to discuss this in further detail please email us at SFReservations@BigBusTours.com.
Written 5 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Allan G
1 contribution
San Francisco big bus tour
Nov. 2021 • Couples
Had a wonderful time on big bus tours in San Francisco. Joseph did a wonderful job as tour guide through China town.
Written 4 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us around San Francisco. Joseph is a great Customer Service Representative and is very knowledgeable. We hope to see you again in San Francisco or one of our other Big Bus cities!
Written 4 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tour143633
7 contributions
San Francisco bus tour and walking tour of Chinatown
Oct. 2021 • Couples
Had some mechanical difficulties with the first bus we were on but the next bus came along minutes later and we didn't miss a beat. Went on the walking tour of Chinatown with Joseph as our guide. Learned a ton about the entire city from him as well as the fascinating Chinatown. Had great suggestions for restaurants, hoping the cable cars and many other places to go to. He was great guide and I would highly recommend.
Written 27 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good time.
Written 28 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michael K
3 contributions
Great trip!
As described! A great way to get a good overview of the city and the sights! The first bus driver could have been more friendly and helpful; luckily the other passengers made up fir him.
Written 18 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glad to hear you had a great trip with Big Bus Tours in San Francisco, and met some amazing people along the way. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. If there is anything further you would like to discuss we can be reached at SFReservations@bigbustours.com
Written 20 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah S
Denver, CO1 contribution
See the sites
Great way to see the city, neighborhoods, and sites. Would have liked to have done 2 days to see more. We did the day pass..
Written 18 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time traveling San Francisco with us! We do hope to see you again in San Francisco or one of our other Big Bus cities!
Written 20 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,591
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Big Bus Tours
L4942AHkennethm
L4942AHkennethm
00
Awesome experience
Just riding in the open top bus was cool. Seeing all the sites and having it explained to you was a plus. Golden G
Global50576013361
Global50576013361
00
James barry was very helpful
James barry was very helpful, it was a very nice trip all of us really enjoyed the trip and hope to go on again som
100trishc
100trishc
00
San Francisco
Coming from Canada we have an amazing trip to San Francisco well there we did the big bus tour and went to Alcatraz
Synthia O
Synthia O
00
San Francisco night tour
The customer representatives were very nice and the loading people were very nice it was overall a good and a very
diabeticp2021
diabeticp2021
00
Awesome
Awesome experience. Wish I would of done it on day one. Lots of amazing attractions. Fun all day and night
claugarte15
claugarte15
00
🎉🎉
Súper tour, cold though! Very friendly service!! Night views are fantastic. I will definitely would do it again
billpD444SC
billpD444SC
00
Unique Evening Tour
Great views of the city! Easy way to see parts of SF. Be prepared for cold weather & wind while on the tour! Well w
natalie202109
natalie202109
00
Another experience
Awesome tour! Great experience here on San Francisco! Beatiful day and night views!! Kindly people!!
carlos163163
carlos163163
00
Great tour guide and tour
Lester was a great driver and tour guide! The woods were very peaceful and beautiful. It was a relaxing and not dif
488mariela
488mariela
00
Not safe, no sanitation, Covid precautions not followed!
We purchased Deluxe tickets paying approximately $150 for 2 for San Francisco CA. Upon arrival noticed that every s
miami3053733333
miami3053733333
00
Very convenient
It is very convenient to take the bus. You can watch different places all day and you don't need a car.
A3916YVjohns
A3916YVjohns
00
Great
The bus had a problem with low tire pressure and John Slater Jr did a great job of getting everyone off the bad bus
Kristen M
Kristen M
00
It’s a Hassle.
Recordings were non-existent, out of synch, and not very enlightening. A lot of it was shilling for businesses.Bus
031329
031329
00
Not worth it
I second guessed booking this the moment we walked to the pier. Staff was very pushy. They Pretty much empty one b
590lindseye
590lindseye
00
Customer Service Scam-Be very careful if you book with Big Bus Tours San Fransisco!
The bus was great. The tour was interesting and informative. The pick up and drop off spots were convenient. Howeve
Frequently Asked Questions about Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour will start at 6:30 PM. Discover and book Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor


Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour price starts from AU$56.87. Discover and book Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor