Tours and Tickets

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May provided by Cape May Whale Watcher

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May
4.5
Book in advance
from
AU$64.23
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Take a sightseeing cruise off the coast of Cape May to the best locations for spotting whales, dolphins, and porpoises. Your certified naturalist guide offers live commentary about the area’s ocean life and the animals’ natural habitat. The boat is fully equipped with wheelchair access, bathrooms, and a snack bar for your convenience.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • Take a break from the beach on a sightseeing cruise off the coast of Cape May. As your captain navigates to the best locations for spotting whales, dolphins, and porpoises, your certified naturalist guide offers live commentary about the area’s ocean life and the animals’ natural habitat. The boat is fully equipped with wheelchair access, bathrooms, and a snack bar for your convenience.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Take a break from the beach on a sightseeing cruise off the coast of Cape May. As your captain navigates to the best locations for spotting whales, dolphins, and porpoises, your certified naturalist guide offers live commentary about the area’s ocean life and the animals’ natural habitat. The boat is fully equipped with wheelchair access, bathrooms, and a snack bar for your convenience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 14138P1
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Certified naturalist
  • Parking Fees
  • Best locations for spotting whales, dolphins, and porpoises
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
3h
Departure details
  • 1218 Wilson Dr, Cape May, NJ 08204, USA Miss Chris Marina
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Please arrive an hour before departure time; boarding starts a half-hour prior to departure
  • Minimum drinking age is 21 years
  • Stroller accessible
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travellers
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Certified naturalist
  • Parking Fees
  • Best locations for spotting whales, dolphins, and porpoises
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • 1218 Wilson Dr, Cape May, NJ 08204, USA Miss Chris Marina
Duration
3h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Please arrive an hour before departure time; boarding starts a half-hour prior to departure
  • Minimum drinking age is 21 years
  • Stroller accessible
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Face masks provided for travellers
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
Popular mentions

4.5
409 reviews
Excellent
258
Very good
81
Average
30
Poor
17
Terrible
23

Jim M
5 contributions
GREAT TIME
Nov. 2021 • Couples
My wife and I were celebrating our 30th wedding Anniversary with different day trips all week. We ended with a great whale and dolphin cruise. This was our first time looking for dolphins but had been out to sea half dozen times before so we knew what to expect. Our experience on the Whale watcher was great. The boat was not at capacity so we were able to move around more freely. The personnel was great. The tutorials were informative. **one suggestion would be to update the loud speakers system, it is hard to hear when out in the open***. The weather was great and the seas were relativity calm (for the ocean). We spent most of the time right at the head of the ship. The COVID face masks came in very handy today and kept our face warm. I am sorry to say we did not see any whales, but we did see quite a few dolphin pods. I would recommend this trip to anyone. But please remember too, you will be on a big boat that goes out into the ocean and can hit some pretty good size waves.
Written 21 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karen W
Middletown DE3 contributions
Wonderful afternoon on the ocean
Oct. 2021
While we didn't find whales this trip, as its faily late in migration season. there were a great number of dolphins, both in the Cape May Canal as well as in the ocean and Bay. The migration season also brought in the sea birds, rarely seen on land. The Captain was friendly, giving a lot of knowledge and guidance during the trip. The staff was very friendly. It had been cloudy all morning, but we got on the boat and the sun came through and it was a wonderful afternoon on the water.
Written 23 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Yvonne G
Hillsborough, NJ1 contribution
RUN IF YOU HAVE KIDS
Sep. 2021 • Family
I WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK !! My sisters and I decided to go on their last sunset tour of the season last weekend and had a terrible experience with one of the crew members. My nephew and niece who are 2 and 9 were so excited to see the dolphins so this experience SEEMED perfect for them but was not at all. As the boat took off and we actually started to see dolphins my nephew started to go to the side of the boat to see but could not. He started fussing a little but my sister was making sure he was fine and tried to get him together but before she could, he was aggressively approached by a crew member named Eddie who crouched in front of him and started to shout at him saying “Sir, you need to calm down”. This was shocking to both my sisters and I because we would never expect an adult to come up to someones child and try to reprimand them so rudely. Especially a two year old. My sister said something to him but he responded by saying “He obviously wasn’t listening to you so I said something”. We understood that the crew was there to keep everyone safe but the way he went about it was horrible. The way he spoke to my nephew and his mother was so shocking. IF YOU HAVE KIDS I SUGGEST THINKING TWICE BEFORE BOOKING.
Written 8 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your trip. We spoke on the phone and I had thought the matter of your trip was closed and apparently it is not. As I had stated on the phone I will be discussing this with Eddie and reprimanding the way he spoke to you. However, since you would like to further pursue the matter, let us talk about exactly what I have reviewed on our cameras aboard the ship. Your niece and nephew were informed upon boarding what the rules were for the boat as all children and parents are informed while boarding. All rules are also explained by the captain three times throughout the trip. The only children who are directly addressed by the crew are children endangering themselves. Review of the cameras shows your nephew not following the rules. The job of the crew is to keep individuals safe from harm. You may not agree with the crews tone, but your nephew was in danger of serious bodily injury. The captain and other crew aboard ship- not Eddie- agree with my assessment. The job of the crew is safety first and our record reflects that. As this is a duplicate review I will be responding the same way. Captain Jeff
Written 13 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Veronica M
1 contribution
Excellent!!
Oct. 2021 • Family
Everything about the tour was first rate, from booking online, to check in-parking was well organized, staff was helpful and courteous.
The adventure itself was a wonderful experience both for myself and my 12 year old granddaughter. We saw whales & dolphins, we enjoyed the refreshments, and really couldn’t have been happier!
Written 7 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review! We are happy you got the experience you were looking for and that you got to see both whales and dolphins. Captain Jeff
Written 13 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amit R
1 contribution
Avoid, unhelpful staff
Sep. 2021 • Family
My family and I attended a 3 hour 1pm Dolphin and Whale watching show. The captain was knowledgeable and informative. While on the cruise my wife and I were racially discriminated against by another guest. When I stood for myself one of the crew came asked what happened, after I explained the situation and said there were witnesses could also speak about the situation. The Crew man’s response was I needed to be quiet. The person who was racially attacked and decided to stand up for himself and his family needed to be quiet. Sorry, that is not ok, and it is very unfortunate to see racial discrimination in a whale watching cruise out of all things. Sorry if my family and I are sitting on a bench where we were told we are allowed to sit and it was a green light for someone to use racial comments against us and call us names. Also, sorry the crew member who came to help by telling me to quite as if I am supposed to take the racial discrimination quietly. I would strongly suggest not to attend any of their services, unless you are ok with being told to stay quite when you are attacked for your race and skin color
Written 27 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit, We are incredibly concerned by your review. We strive to be helpful on all our Cruises. The crew is there aboard the ship to keep passengers safe and happy. Racial discrimination and any discrimination is acceptable aboard our vessel. Your review, as I mentioned in your other review on Google, brought on a full investigation of your trip the day after it occurred. No crew member will be allowed to choose favorites or discriminate. We interviewed the crew and also reviewed all of the security cameras for the trip. These are our findings. The crew reports that a group of individuals boarded the boat and immediately ordered two margaritas and two Long Island iced Teas which after verifying these individuals were of age, the bartender served the group. In a short period of time the group ordered the same two margaritas and two Long Island iced teas. The bartender made other recommendations but ultimately served the group and then observed the group more closely. It turns out in a group of 8 people only two were consuming these beverages. The bartender alerted the crew. The crew closely observed the group of individuals who decided to go to the bow of the boat. The job of the crew is to keep customers safe first and happy second. In most cases we serve beverages aboard the boat so that folks relax and enjoy their vacation. Occasionally, folks see the bar aboard the boat and think it’s party time. The group of individuals were in the bow of the boat and the crew asked them to hold on and they refused. They were asked four times to hold on and then told to sit down and they refused. At this point the crew alerted the captain of the drink orders and the captain flagged the two individuals. Then others from the group ordered some beers and then gave them to these two flagged individuals who were displaying inappropriate behavior. The group these two individuals were with was then flagged as they were continuing to provide alcoholic beverages to individuals who were intoxicated and deemed a threat to themselves. The group then proceeded to taunt and make fun of the crew which is not surprising given the circumstances. The group of individuals then decided to sit down at a table which was already occupied by others. Seating is general admission aboard the boat. Reports of obscenities being shouted between this group and an elderly woman and her grandson in the cabin we’re the next thing that happened. At this time our crew came into the picture again, requesting that the individuals lower their voices and stop shouting obscenities around children. The crew member then asked both this group and the elderly woman for their versions of the story. They both told their story and then the crew member asked that the elderly woman not talk to the group and the group not talk to the elderly woman for the remainder of the trip in order to keep the peace aboard a ship at sea. The group of individuals then requested to talk to the captain in reference to why they were flagged. The group continued to try and order everything from white claws to Johnny walker black label. The captain at the dock verified that the group in question had a designated driver and explained exactly why they were flagged. Our trips are very much public and can have up to 400 people all in one boat. Our crew has zero tolerance for public drunkenness and cursing around minors. We did the best we could given the circumstances. Again, a bar on a boat can be an enjoyable experience for most folks and it is a shame when this luxury is abused. It is far worse when the crew which is trying to save a person from injuring themselves is accused of discrimination. We are happy to report that no one was injured and our crew performed exactly as trained. Captain Jeff
Written 5 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TravelingCatNDog
USA6 contributions
Nice weather and boat.
Nice weather helped a lot but it’s misleading when they say whales when whales sightings are relatively rare in this area. You will for sure see dolphins as they are common sightings.
Written 20 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Atalya D
Ramat Gan, Israel17 contributions
Great whale watching experience
We really enjoyed our experience. Obviously, seeing dolphins and/or whales is not guaranteed, we were lucky enough to see both.

We felt that the crew put in a big effort in order to get us to see both, in fact, we didn't get to see the whale until almost the end of the allotted time, so the crew extended the trip in order to make sure that everyone got to see the whale and feel like they got their money's worth.

Our one issue was that we felt that there weren't enough seats on the outside of the boat. We stood for the entire trip, since we wanted to be outside (for the best visuals) and there weren't any seats left on the outside when we boarded.
Written 19 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nancy
Harrisburg, PA100 contributions
Wonderful experience on the water
The captain and crew did a great job taking us out into the Atlantic Ocean in search of whales and dolphins. We saw many schools of hundreds of dolphins and we did see humpback whales. What a wonderful sight!
Passengers had a choice of sitting on the main, upper deck or inside air conditioned cabin where there was a snack bar with pizza, hot dogs, chips, soft drinks and a full bar. Large rest rooms located aft on both sides.
Written 14 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Diane H
1 contribution
Dolphins Only Tour
Aug. 2021
Besides being overcrowded, we spent most of the tour circling a pod of dolphins ( the boat's gas fumes got to us, so I know the fumes were effecting the dolphins).
When we finally headed out to "the shoals", we watched for whales for about 20 minutes.
Of course, there were none.
This is a dolphin tour. Not a whale watching tour.
Also. Do not waste your money renting the binoculars. They were unclean, beaten up, with a very low range of view.
Written 11 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark H
Richland, PA425 contributions
FUN,RELAXING,GREAT VIEWS & RIDE
Aug. 2021
on the day that we went out, we saw plenty of dolphins.this was my grand daughter's first time & she loved it.we did not see any whales that day but it's all up to mother nature.the captain & crew were great. the boat had plenty of room & was clean.there were restrooms on both lower & upper level. the lower level also had food & drinks along with a bar. it was a fun & relaxing ride.
Written 5 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 406
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Cape May Whale Watcher
J2642SDlr
J2642SDlr
00
NEVER BEEN MORE DISRESPECTED!
RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS EXPERIENCE! Unless you want to be disrespected, harassed, and bullied and then have
N102XMmichaelk
N102XMmichaelk
00
More Tahn We'd Hoped For...!
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our Dolphin Watching Cruise around Cape May on October 8. What I found most impr
Curious546498
Curious546498
00
Whale watching
What an amazing day! We saw dolphins, whales, stingrays, sharks and more! Our guide/speaker was knowledgeable and c
Kevin K
Kevin K
00
Dolphins!, Dolphins, Dolphins, Everywhere!!!
The captain and his crew were very informative and guided the boat, so we were able to see about 100 dolphins! Our
ralphiec
ralphiec
00
Great cruise trip
We really enjoyed this cruise. Everyone was very friendly and the captain was very knowledgeable about the dolphins
896dianal
896dianal
00
lovely cruise
this was the third time i was on one of these whale watching cruises and the first time we did not see any dolphins
Bob M
Bob M
00
Dinner cruise
Do not waste the money on this dinner cruise. It is edible but not good. Waiter was not friendly or attentive. The
431eladr
431eladr
00
Wonderful Dolphin watch
Truly fun outing. We did the 10am dolphin 2 hr trip. We saw plenty of dolphins. Captains voice was like listening
mariebY1720ZZ
mariebY1720ZZ
00
Grand Lighthouse Tour
This was a delightful voyage with a knowledgeable captain who narrated the cruise. Helpful and polite crew. Abundan
Reese2444
Reese2444
00
Enjoyable morning
We saw lots of dolphins. Boat was clean and the tour guide was knowledgeable about Cape May and dolphins. We would
klaudiakN6977VC
klaudiakN6977VC
00
Highly recommend
My mom and I enjoyed it so much! The crew very knowledgeable and very nice! Highly recommend it, 2 hrs best spend!
steviereigh
steviereigh
00
Very worth the time and money, especially if you use the discount codes!
The tour was wonderful traveling around all sides of cape may! Dolphins were very close to the boat, so i did not r
Relax64735081942
Relax64735081942
00
Dolphins, so many dolphins!
Parking was free, on site. Ticketing was online, no problems on site. We went right on board the ship which was cle
Sandman2012
Sandman2012
00
Lots of dolphins, learned a great deal
This is a 2 hours trip that is slower than the other boat in the area and that is ok. The presentation was very
294richardk
294richardk
00
The Stewart's nail it!
The information and history provided throughout the cruise was fascinating! The Stewart family obviously cares abou
Frequently Asked Questions about Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May will start at 1:00 PM. Discover and book Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May on Tripadvisor

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May price starts from AU$61.63. Discover and book Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May on Tripadvisor

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May on Tripadvisor

Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May is hosted by Cape May Whale Watcher. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Cape May Whale Watcher on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May on Tripadvisor