Tours and Tickets

Wildlife Tour of Dunedin and Otago Peninsula provided by Iconic Tours

Wildlife Tour of Dunedin and Otago Peninsula

Save
Share
Recommended by 86% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
AU$190.03
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Itinerary
  • You’ll have 2 starting options
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Penguin Place
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    The Royal Albatross Centre
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Otago Peninsula
    Stop: 4 hours
    See details
  • 4
    Baldwin Street: The Steepest Street in the World
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Dunedin Railway Station
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    See Important Information for details
+
Important Information
Departure Point
Beach Street, Port Chalmers 9023, New Zealand Toitū Café, 31 Queens Gardens, Dunedin Central, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Duration
7h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Light refreshments
  • Entry/Admission - Penguin Place
Exclusions
  • Lunch
Show More
Additional Info
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • This tour involves short walks on unsealed tracks and there are a number of easy steps to negotiate in the reserve. Please bring suitable footwear.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Not recommended for people with mobility aids
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
20Reviews
5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Anne M wrote a review Mar. 2020
3 contributions
We loved our Iconic Wildlife Tour! Kim was a terrific guide who spoke from the heart, not from a script. He shared his love for his city and his knowledge about its amazing wildlife and countryside. Everything Kim promised us we would see, we saw -- often up close but with
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Iconic Tours L, Owner at Wildlife Tour of Dunedin and Otago Peninsula
Responded 7 Apr. 2020
Hi there T34Hda. Thank you for writing such and awesome review! Its clear you really enjoyed your day with me which I am totally thrilled to hear. But I just noticed you have selected a 1 out of 5 rating... was this a mistake? If you did enjoy the tour, it would mean a lot to us if you could change your rating to higher number? This really makes a difference to our ranking and therefore visibility on Tripadvisor. Once again though, I really do appreciate your lovely message and positive feedback. Cheers, Kim
Read more
Robert C wrote a review Nov. 2019
Bohemia, New York285 contributions88 helpful votes
Kim picked us up right outside the port terminal. We then proceeded on a great tour of the city with a bonus of his son playing the bagpipes for us! We also saw the railroad station, some great scenic overviews before heading out to see the yellow eyed penguins and then to the
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Caron R wrote a review Feb. 2019
Dunedin, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Kim was our guide for the day, he was fun and informative. We had a quick City tour. Then on to the nature side of things. Awesome time at the Royal Albatross Centre. Finishing off with the penguin place. Highly recommend this tour.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Iconic Tours L, Manager at Wildlife Tour of Dunedin and Otago Peninsula
Responded 5 Nov. 2019
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Dunedin is a beautiful city with so much to offer, culturally, historically and of course full of the wonders of nature and great scenery. Glad you got to experience it all on your day.
Read more
diane_notes wrote a review Apr. 2018
Ontario, Canada117 contributions78 helpful votes
We booked a day tour with Iconic Tours to visit the town of Dunedin and view wildlife on the Otago Peninsula. This was a first rate tour that we arranged independently from our cruise ship. Kim is a fabulous tour guide – friendly, organized, and shared entertaining stories
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
OBwan49 wrote a review Mar. 2018
Coppell, Texas79 contributions53 helpful votes
Our small group from the cruise ship Solstice had a wonderful day with Kim in the Dunedin area. He was a pleasure to work with. Planning the trip could not be easier; Kim always responded to emails quickly and put together a great day for our group. Meeting us at the port, we
Read more
Date of experience: October 2017
Helpful
Share
12
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Iconic Tours
donnahO6692IL
00
Excellent Service
Fantastic personalised service. Kim took our family from Tekapo to Mt Cook and back to Dunedin. Great local knowled
Read more
315megk
00
Dunedin is an amazing place to visit with Kim
I liked every icon we visited and it was amazing to go up and climb down the Baldwin St. Kim’s knowledge of the pla
Read more
YOU_tourwithSarah
00
excellent guide, awesome trip
We hired Kim - Iconic tours for a private tour of Dunedin, Catlins and Stewart Island. Everything was meticulously
Read more
Anoushka61
00
Exceptional
Reliable, Clean efficient and smooth ride - Recommend Iconic Tours - personable drivers and wealth of knowledge abo
Read more
Nzparkie
00
Dunedin City Tour & Port Chambers
We had a fabulous 1/2 day with Kim as our host. Kim is knowledgeable, friendly and I would recommend him as a grea
Read more
sherrisms
00
A wonderful day in Dunedin!
Eight of us booked the Citysights, Orokonui and Moeraki Boulders tour with Iconic. The booking was easy and Kim wa
Read more
NorthStar593144
00
Great tour of Dunedin
Kim was our tour guide for this Dunedin tour. He did an excellent job getting us to all the high points we had on
Read more
davidckme
00
Perfect balance of city and castle tour
The itinerary was perfect for us. Opportunity to see and hear about many/most of the key Dunedin highlights. The
Read more
barbarasimon1
00
We recommend this tour
We had a fabulous time on this half-day tour. Excellent sightseeing and stops. Informative and fun. We highly recom
Read more
Davashpat
00
Private Wedding. Waiora Scout Camp to Wingatui and back to Dunedin. 29/02/2020
This was a private function and Iconic did as was requested for the day. Punctuality was awesome, Thanks to Kim th
Read more
109carissac
00
Perfect for Cruisers!
My family and I booked this as our shore excursion during our port day in Port Chalmers/Dunedin and had a wonderful
Read more
davidsG2332PP
00
Excellent tour.
Really excellent tour. Guide was great and almost ended up as a full day tour as we visited so many places and were
Read more
B65KXdavidw
00
Enjoyable Look At Dunedin
We were picked at the wharf from the Norwegian Jewel in a small bus & driven round the Port Chalmers area before be
Read more
drewbquist
00
Excellent Tour & Guide!
Robert was an outstanding guide, showing his love, knowledge, and experience with both his wonderful country and hi
Read more
43hueyl
00
Small Group Larnach Castle Tour
Lovely tour with SuperAnne. We visited many sites, felt like more than our expectation. The time at each site was r
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255
Frequently Asked Questions about Wildlife Tour of Dunedin and Otago Peninsula