We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
    EuropeIcelandSouth RegionKirkjubaejarklausturThings to do in KirkjubaejarklausturTours and Tickets

Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier provided by Arctic Adventures

Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 115.86
Date
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Overview
Experience this exciting hiking and ice caving adventure of the Vatnajökull Glacier in Skaftafell National Park! As you arrive at the park, you will meet your professional glacier guide who will lead the way to some of Vatnajökull Glacier‘s spectacular ice caves and tell you all there is to know about the area. This tour includes hiking for approximately 3 hours up on the glacier visiting multiple, relatively small ice caves along the way. You will be provided with crampons for walking on the ice as well as helmets and ice axes. Waterproof clothing and hiking boots are available for rent but it is highly recommend that you bring these items with you on the tour, also food and drinks are not included.
What to Expect
Itinerary
This is a typical itinerary for this product

Stop At: Skaftafell National Park, Vatnajokull National Park 785 Iceland

Stop At: Vatnajokull Glacier, Vatnajokull National Park Iceland

Stop At: Arctic Adventures, Reykjavik Iceland
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Skaftafell, Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park, East Region
Duration
NaN minutes
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Small group experience
  • Ice caving adventure
  • Professional driver/guide
  • Glacier equipment
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in cold weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum age: 10 years old
  • This is a small group tour ensuring a more personalized experience
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
14Reviews
0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Marty wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
Me and my girlfriend booked the "into the glacier" tour. This was the biggest dissapointment of our Iceland trip. Based on the website description and pictures, we expected the following: a small group experience, a 1.5 hours hike on the glacier to reach a spectacular and
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Response from Kamile K, Customer Care at Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier
Responded 31 Oct. 2019
Dear MartyHasBeenTaken, Thank you so much for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the terms that we have on our website. The appearance of the Ice Cave can be sometimes misleading due to bad weather forecasts or lack of sunlight. It might be the case on the tour day. Adding to that, we do believe our guides are knowledgeable and passionate about their job always providing service up to standard. Again we are sorry that this happened. Please if you feel that the case needs further investigation do not hesitate to do contact our Customer Care team at info@adventures.is. Kind regards, Arctic Adventures Kamile
Read more
Kika M wrote a review Oct. 2019
4 contributions
We did the "Into the Glacier" Ice cave and glacier walking tour organized by Arctic Adventures-Glacier Guides and unfortunately, it did not at all meet the expectations we had based on the website. We were hesitant to book it at first, because it is quite a significant amount of
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Response from Laura S, Customer Care at Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier
Responded 14 Oct. 2019
Dear Kika M, Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, we have not been able to add new pictures yet since we were just recently able to access the ice cave and we are still waiting for photos from a photographer. Ice caves are an ever-changing phenomenon. Every year they change: the old ones melt and new ones are formed. Therefore, we cannot guarantee that the ice caves look exactly like the photos - this is why we have a disclaimer about the ice caves. It can even change from day to day. Please allow us to point out that next to the safety the overall enjoyment of our customers is one of the core values of our company. We are saddened to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. I can see that a 15% compensation has been issued to you a week ago. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. Have a nice day, Laura S.
Read more
Jordan wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were pretty thrilled with the knowledge of our guide Vjeran and how well he interacted with the group. We ended up getting a nice sunny day capped with a rainbow at the end from the mist off of the glacier. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier
Responded 5 Oct. 2019
Hello Jaytee_three, We are so happy to hear that you had a good time. We hope you will come back soon for more adventures! Best regards, Erika
Read more
Supreme H wrote a review Oct. 2019
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+4
We did the ice cave tour today, the guides were nice, helpful and entertaining no complains there. But the caves we saw were not impressive. I was expecting to see ice caves like they advertised in their pictures, but the ones we were saw were tiny , narrow and you couldn't even
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Response from Laura S, Customer Care at Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier
Responded 4 Oct. 2019
Dear Supreme H, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback. Please note ice caves are natural phenomena that are heavily dependent on weather conditions. That is unfortunately outside of our control and nothing that we can control in any way. We are very happy to hear that you saw some positive sides in this tour as well – like great guides, nice views from the glacier, amazing pictures that you could take. We hope only the best memories will stay with you and wish you all the best :) Best regards, Laura S.
Read more
Tigerfan0_0_12 wrote a review Apr. 2019
222 contributions67 helpful votes
Great adventure. We did the Glacier Ice Cave Tour and Glacier walk. Booked in advance and team was ready for us when we arrived. We drove from Vik as we had rented a car and stayed a couple days in that city. Really pay attention to the weather. Bad storm on morning we were
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier
Responded 6 Oct. 2019
Hello Tigerfan0_0_12, We are happy to know you left satisfied with the tour. Thanks for leaving us this awesome review. We are looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Erika
Read more
12
Key Details
  • Skaftafell National Park, Vatnajokull Glacier, and 1 more
  • Duration: NaN minutes
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support