Tours and Tickets

Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure provided by Above & Beyond Alaska

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure

Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure
4.5
Book in advance
from
AU$662.40
per adult
Tour snapshot
Duration:
6h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
6
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5043P19
Important information
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • Professional guide
  • All paddling and rain gear
  • Forest Service Permits
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Duration
6h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • The “C” Sign, located near the cruise ship docks directly between Mt. Roberts Tramway and the green Taku Smokeries building, is our centralized downtown meeting location for all clients in the downtown area, including the majority of cruise ship passengers. Clients staying at major hotels in the Mendenhall Valley may be picked up directly from their hotel. Clients with their own transportation need to contact our office to arrange a meeting location.
  • 490 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801, USA The “C” Sign, located near the cruise ship docks directly between Mt. Roberts Tramway and the green Taku Smokeries building, is our centralized downtown meeting location for all clients in the downtown area, including the majority of cruise ship passengers.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A maximum of 6 people per booking
  • All passenger shoe sizes advised at time of booking
  • All passenger rain gear sizes advised at time of booking
  • Our kayaks can accommodate a maximum torso (waist-chest) diameter of 55 inches (140cm). Maximum weight limit is 600lbs (272kg) for double kayaks. People taller than 6’2″ (188cm) find operating the rudder challenging, as the pedals only adjust to a certain maximum distance; however, people as tall as 6’8″ have been able to paddle our kayaks.
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • PLEASE NOTE, we cannot guarantee whale or wildlife sightings. This is Wild Alaska!
  • All Clients will be outfitted in double and must know how to swim. Clients should be able to confidently paddle for up to 2 hours.
  • Participants must inform ABAK of all dietary issues or restrictions. ABAK can accommodate some dietary restrictions, but do not advise this tour for anyone with severe food allergies. Menu includes dairy, fish, shellfish, gluten, and nuts.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Due to the inherent risks involved in this type of tour, pregnant guests are not permitted to participate.
  • This trip operates in all weather conditions (barring unsafe conditions, to be determined by ABAK) – please stress to your clients the importance of dressing appropriately.
  • RELEASE OF LIABILITY/ASSUMPTION OF RISK FORM: Every participant on the trip must sign a Release of Liability/Assumption of Risk form at the start of the trip.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travellers
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • Professional guide
  • All paddling and rain gear
  • Forest Service Permits
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • The “C” Sign, located near the cruise ship docks directly between Mt. Roberts Tramway and the green Taku Smokeries building, is our centralized downtown meeting location for all clients in the downtown area, including the majority of cruise ship passengers. Clients staying at major hotels in the Mendenhall Valley may be picked up directly from their hotel. Clients with their own transportation need to contact our office to arrange a meeting location.
  • 490 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801, USA The “C” Sign, located near the cruise ship docks directly between Mt. Roberts Tramway and the green Taku Smokeries building, is our centralized downtown meeting location for all clients in the downtown area, including the majority of cruise ship passengers.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
6h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A maximum of 6 people per booking
  • All passenger shoe sizes advised at time of booking
  • All passenger rain gear sizes advised at time of booking
  • Our kayaks can accommodate a maximum torso (waist-chest) diameter of 55 inches (140cm). Maximum weight limit is 600lbs (272kg) for double kayaks. People taller than 6’2″ (188cm) find operating the rudder challenging, as the pedals only adjust to a certain maximum distance; however, people as tall as 6’8″ have been able to paddle our kayaks.
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • PLEASE NOTE, we cannot guarantee whale or wildlife sightings. This is Wild Alaska!
  • All Clients will be outfitted in double and must know how to swim. Clients should be able to confidently paddle for up to 2 hours.
  • Participants must inform ABAK of all dietary issues or restrictions. ABAK can accommodate some dietary restrictions, but do not advise this tour for anyone with severe food allergies. Menu includes dairy, fish, shellfish, gluten, and nuts.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Due to the inherent risks involved in this type of tour, pregnant guests are not permitted to participate.
  • This trip operates in all weather conditions (barring unsafe conditions, to be determined by ABAK) – please stress to your clients the importance of dressing appropriately.
  • RELEASE OF LIABILITY/ASSUMPTION OF RISK FORM: Every participant on the trip must sign a Release of Liability/Assumption of Risk form at the start of the trip.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    490 S Franklin St
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Goldbelt Mount Roberts Tramway
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Goldbelt Mount Roberts Tramway
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
8 reviews
Excellent
5
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Justin H
Tampa, FL19 contributions
We had an amazing time with Miles, Arie, Chelsea and Captain Wade on our kayaking adventure in Juneau! From the time that Miles picked us up at the cruise ship to the time we were kayaking in the water with wildlife, everyone was so friendly and full of information about Alaska. I’m hard of hearing, and Miles was especially accommodating and made sure that I heard him when he spoke. My husband and I are from Florida and were just amazed at the views and wildlife that we saw. We even saw a black bear walking on the side of the road on our way to the dock.

It was still early in the season, so we only saw one whale and didn’t get any good photos of it. We didn’t have any whales close to the kayaks when we were out kayaking, but we did have numerous harbor seals and curious sea lions close by and even had bald eagles flying overhead and on the island that we took off from.

Overall, we would absolutely recommend ABAK for this fun excursion! Our only thought was that it should be named “Paddle with Wildlife! Kayak Adventure” since paddling with whales isn’t guaranteed. We know you can’t ever guarantee what wildlife will do, so we were very understanding about this. Thanks for an amazing experience Miles, Arie, Chelsea and Captain Wade! 😃🐾🐻🦅👬
Written 21 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for your review and feedback! It is great to hear the staff adapted and helped everyone have a fantastic experience. Even included a bear sighting! That is a special day! The environment we visit is home to the largest concentration of humpback whale feeding grounds in Alaska. So while we never guarantee wildlife on any our tours, we are paddling within the summer home and natural environment of these whales. You get a chance to see, learn, and appreciate the full scope of the difficult but beautiful ecosystem these beloved whales call home. That includes many smaller animal friends, plants, and of course seeing how humans interact with this environment too. Our hope is the tour is not only about seeing whales, but appreciating their full environment and valuing their place in the world. Thank you again for joining us and we are so happy you had this complete experience of the Alaska marine environment! - Caitlin
Written 26 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

forego
Cold Spring, NY55 contributions
Couples
We did the tour with Arya our guide and Captain Wade and both were terrific hosts. We first stopped several times to catch views of the humpback whales and then beached with a whale about 50 yards off shore. We proceeded to jump onto the two person kayaks and padded out and observe from a safe but close enough view. Paddling in open water was fun and a nice workout. We had beautiful weather and we saw a bald eagle on the opposite shore. My only wish was that we had more time on kayaks but all in all it was great fun. Plus they give a great snack package. And for those who fear sea sickness, which I’m no stranger to, the boat ride was fine. Granted weather conditions were nice but it was a great day overall with two fun hosts.
Written 17 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Great to hear it! Thank you for sharing your experience and so cool to hear about your up close whale encounter. Everyday is different out there but sounds like it was the perfect day for it!
Written 21 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

golfgolfgolfdad
Bettendorf, United States14 contributions
We did enjoy this excursion but we never actually "Paddled with Whales". Unfortunately we caught an unusually windy day and the water was very rough so we couldn't paddle out where the whales normally are. But we still had a good time with an informative guide. We did get some close up views of humpback whales from the boat. The kayaking was fun, almost a surreal experience being miles from any sort of civilization (or probably other people for that matter). Just an FYI for future paddlers, they do provide rain gear including boots, which I never saw mentioned on their website. We had packed additional rain gear which turned out to be unnecessary. They also provided a food bag and water bottle which was plenty of nourishment for our approximately 4 hours on the water.
Written 3 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Awww bummer! We are sorry that the weather and wind didn't cooperate with us on that particular day. That can absolutely happen and can affect the exact plan for the day. But we adapt, roll with it, and make the best of it! In Alaska, that is all we can do sometimes. So glad you still had a great day out there and we appreciate you joining us! For all clients - we can never provide any guarantees that the whales will be in a safe paddling zone. We visit the prime feeding ground within the State Marine Park and actively seek out the whales. But weather, wind, and wildlife locations can all affect our ability to paddle near the whales. This is an eco-adventure tour that we hope to provide an intimate and close up look at wildlife and their environment. But be ready for anything Alaska could throw at us! :)
Written 7 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christy
1 contribution
Couples
Loved how intimate the tour was. There were 12 people total, divided in to 2 groups of 6 for most of the day. The tour guides were phenomenal and we saw some amazing things! Alaska is stunning. However, overall I was disappointed with this tour. The price was too expensive for the experience we got in my opinion. I expected to primarily be kayaking…and we only kayaked for 45 minutes. If I wanted to pay for a boat tour, I would have paid less than half the price for another tour 😬
Written 14 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. We appreciate and value all feedback we receive, as it gives us the ability to make adjustments and improve our operations. We are sorry to hear the kayaking portion did not meet your expectations. Total kayaking time is dependent marine conditions, wildlife location, and paddling ability of the whole group. We are happy to hear that the guides were great and you were able to see amazing things. We hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your time in Juneau.
Written 21 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grumbly
Tampa53 contributions
Solo
Unsure what to write as it is possible our adventure simply had the luck of the Irish, as it was amazing.

Above and Beyond Alaska is an excellent, organized, high-quality company with skilled guides. Extremely responsive and friendly to my many questions. Had done two tours with them this trip, the other a bear excursion to Admiralty Island (which was fine, though not nearly as memorable).

This specific tour (5 guests) was guided by Kris, a personable and knowledgeable gal. Bused to a boat, there is then a fairly lengthy trip to where booted off. The ride offered gorgeous views, manned by a cordial captain. Saw plenty of humpback whales, and a couple of sea lions.

The whales did not breach. Also, boats not allowed to get within 100 yards, though the whales could come closer (I tried to entice one with peanut butter). Doubt any got within 300 yards. I believe Kris mentioned guests get closer to whales while in the boat as opposed to kayaking, which was a bit of a bummer.

Then we were dropped off for kayaking. Good thing Kris knew where we were as pretty secluded. (Swear I saw Bigfoot.)

We get in two person kayaks (suited and layered). Not for the feint of heart as when away from land the currents/wakes had some size.

As we are trolling along we see whales in the distance. Far, but still cool.

Then...dun Dun DUN!!!

Our kayaks a good distance from lan, at one point we were seeing a lot of whales, and they were coming closer and closer. Kris (fear in her voice???) ordered us to bunch our kayaks for safety and stability, a humpback headed our way, apparently in search of peanut butter. It easily got within 60’ .(Got one of those memorable trip videos, the whale fluking after it passed.

After a fair amount of time gathering ourselves, Kris said to head in.

Then...DUN DUN DUN...

Two massive whales appeared right in front of us, easily within 10-20’, from my view appearing to almost knock one kayak over.

Unknown how much Kris tipped the whales for this performance, but it was well worth it.

After this adrenaline rush, we paddled a looooong distance to land.

I don’t want to attempt to convey all will have this experience, as I sense this was very unique.

For our tiny lil group, what a memory.

If book this trip, I suggest bring some peanut butter as b
Written 19 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review! Glad to hear you had such a memorable trip with Kris. Wildlife can be very unpredictable and sounds like a great day on the water!
Written 24 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marie B
3 contributions
Not only did we get lucky with a very clear weather but the whales and sea lions were there to greet us! The guide was great and the landscape amazing (even without the whales it would at be worth it!). The snack was good, just remember it is a snack, not a lunch.
Just do it!
Written 19 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review! So glad to hear you had such a great time and thank you for making us a part of your Alaskan vacation! Come back and see us again.
Written 23 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

amycenters
San Diego, CA105 contributions
We went whale watching and then kayaked near them with Auri. It was SO FUN! There were SO MANY WHALE PODS OUT - it was crazy. Auri (and our boat driver - I unfortunately for his name) were great; very friendly, informative, and helpful. The trip was really well-organized (with a much appreciated snack bag) and we would highly recommend this experience to anyone who wants to have a magnificient, memorable day outside of Juneau.
Written 13 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wow; what a truly amazing experience!! Thank you for taking the time to share this. I will pass this along to Auri and Wade (the captain). Thank you for letting us be a part of your Alaskan vacation and come back to see us again!
Written 15 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gilaanma
Grignasco, Italy439 contributions
the tour " paddle with whales" was less exciting than expected , and too expensive for what it offres .
we should have paddled for 2 hours but was not the case . we really paddled very little , moving very little , despite having 4 adults .
we than had stop for lunch on the island for 1 hour . a small excursion to the island was also planned . the stop was 15 minutes . no excursion .
the lunch consisted of snack and bars . very very poor .
to finish , on the way back , we waited more than 30 minutes for the driver because obviously we had arrived too early .
Written 5 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so sorry to hear about your experience! That is the exact opposite of our goal for every customer. We are reviewing this situation as a management team and brainstorming solutions to ensure it does not occur again. I have emailed you directly to gain additional feedback and to discuss reimbursement options. Thank you for sharing about your experience and providing us the opportunity to learn from it and correct it for all future clients. We greatly value you choosing to join us for your vacation and hope you will work with us to find a solution. All the best regards to you and your family!
Written 6 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Above & Beyond Alaska
mekd2015
mekd2015
00
A Kayaking Trip Beyond Measure & Expectation!
We were a small group of five...all family. Never expected this excursion/adventure to be so intimate, fun, informa
redraidertravels
redraidertravels
00
Incredible view of Mendenhall Glacier
Mendenhall Glacier is incredible. It was sad how much the glacier has retreated just this summer. We were not able
O8862WEjuliev
O8862WEjuliev
00
Canoe and Glacier Juneau
The guides were personable, professional and knowledgeable! This trip was so beautiful and fun!! Loved it!
GlobeTrotting769951
GlobeTrotting769951
00
Once in a life-time, transformative experience!
We love this company! We had a once in a lifetime experience bear watching with Brooke. We sighted several bears
Chuck L
Chuck L
00
Breathtaking!
This excursion was the best part of our cruise to Alaska! What an adventure! The team at ABAK are the best, they
lexmiller
lexmiller
00
Fun adventure!
We loved this excursion, even though the weather was not very cooperative, intermittent rain, windy, cold! We book
Stephanie W
Stephanie W
00
A glacially good time!
Get up close and personal with a glacier with Don by your side! The trip is filled with Don’s informative info, lau
RPrice95
RPrice95
00
Stunning Glacier Views
I can not recommend Above and Beyond Alaska enough for any Juneau based tours. My 72-year old dad and I ventured to
Marcy F
Marcy F
00
Great way to see the Mendenhall Glacier!
Amazing visit to the Mendenhall Glacier! Our guides, Ben and Dane were very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. We went
Karlasue2179
Karlasue2179
00
Excellent Adventure
What a great time! We saw lots of whales from our boat and had a great time paddling down the coastline. Brooke was
mbergcos
mbergcos
00
Fantastastic Trip
We had a great trip starting with light rain while paddling to the glacier and clearing skies for our return. Our g
PatJ213
PatJ213
00
Exersion Level for this Trek NOT clearly stated in tripadvisor info.
My wife and I signed up for this tour through trip advisor, were picked up at 10am and taken to the facility to get
acut
acut
00
Totally awesome way to see a glacier
This is a fantastic tour! Our 2 guides, Abbey and Hailey took great care of us, offered tons of information about t
DarrinM103
DarrinM103
00
2nd time even better
Colt and Libby were both informative, energetic, friendly, and we felt safe with their guidance. The equipment was
Andres Z
Andres Z
00
Amazing experience, breathtaking tour
Grant was great, he was professional, helpful, friendly and went above and beyond. We couldn’t have asked for a bet
Frequently Asked Questions about Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure

Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure price starts from AU$647.98. Discover and book Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure on Tripadvisor

Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure on Tripadvisor

Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure is hosted by Above & Beyond Alaska. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Above & Beyond Alaska on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Paddle with Whales! Kayak Adventure on Tripadvisor