Tours and Tickets

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch provided by Gray Line Tours

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch
4
Book in advance
from
AU$95.16
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Swap the city for some paradise islands on a boat tour
Duration:
12h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
40
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    12h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    40
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Escape the crowds on land and get the best views of Rio de Janeiro from the water during a cruise to Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande. You’ll access parts of the archipelago that are usually off-limits and enjoy regular stops to swim and snorkel among diverse marine life.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Portuguese, English, Spanish
Highlights
  • A great way for families and first-time visitors to escape the city
  • Access parts of the archipelago that are only reachable by boat
  • Hassle-free hotel transfers mean you don't have to worry about finding a meeting point
What to expect
  • Following pickup at your Rio hotel, board your comfortable, climate-controlled vehicle for the approximately ride to Angra dos Reis. When you arrive in the picturesque town on the water, featuring architecture from the 1500s, board the schooner and set sail. Find a spot on the boat to relax and watch the idyllic tropical scenery glide by, including Angra dos Reis' almost 300 scattered islands. During your cruise, make several stops where you can choose to swim, snorkel, or stay on the boat. Stop at the Ilha Cataguases (Cataguases Island), a gorgeous spot with white sand beaches and clear, blue-green water perfect for water activities. Continue sailing to Lagoa Azul (the Blue Lagoon), Praia de Freguesia de Santana (Freguesia de Santana Beach) on Ilha Grande and the pier on Piedade Island. During the day of exploring, enjoy a buffet lunch of steak, fish, chicken, rice and beans onboard your schooner. After the around Angra dos Reis is finished, return to land and board your vehicle for transportation back to Rio and drop-off at your hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
Portuguese, English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • A great way for families and first-time visitors to escape the city
  • Access parts of the archipelago that are only reachable by boat
  • Hassle-free hotel transfers mean you don't have to worry about finding a meeting point
What to expect
  • Following pickup at your Rio hotel, board your comfortable, climate-controlled vehicle for the approximately ride to Angra dos Reis. When you arrive in the picturesque town on the water, featuring architecture from the 1500s, board the schooner and set sail. Find a spot on the boat to relax and watch the idyllic tropical scenery glide by, including Angra dos Reis' almost 300 scattered islands. During your cruise, make several stops where you can choose to swim, snorkel, or stay on the boat. Stop at the Ilha Cataguases (Cataguases Island), a gorgeous spot with white sand beaches and clear, blue-green water perfect for water activities. Continue sailing to Lagoa Azul (the Blue Lagoon), Praia de Freguesia de Santana (Freguesia de Santana Beach) on Ilha Grande and the pier on Piedade Island. During the day of exploring, enjoy a buffet lunch of steak, fish, chicken, rice and beans onboard your schooner. After the around Angra dos Reis is finished, return to land and board your vehicle for transportation back to Rio and drop-off at your hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2484_01
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • 4.5 - hour schooner cruise
  • Buffet lunch - Vegetarian options available
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Professional Guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Beverages
Duration
12h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Roundtrip Transfer to Most Hotels in São Conrado, Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana. Please stay at the hotel lobby 10 minutes before pick up time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The specific departure time for this tour will be determined upon reconfirmation.
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • All tour takes place in the boat, not in the city of Angra dos Reis.
  • The Tour itinerary is subject to change due to maritime conditions
  • The boat ride takes about 4.5 hours.
  • Wear light clothing and swimwear. Do not forget to bring a towel and sunscreen.
  • Diving mask and Snorkel available for rent - Approximated cost: 20,00 BRL
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Transfer from Rio's south zone to Angra dos Reis takes around 2:30h (102 miles)
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Inclusions
  • 4.5 - hour schooner cruise
  • Buffet lunch - Vegetarian options available
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Professional Guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Beverages
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Roundtrip Transfer to Most Hotels in São Conrado, Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana. Please stay at the hotel lobby 10 minutes before pick up time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
12h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The specific departure time for this tour will be determined upon reconfirmation.
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • All tour takes place in the boat, not in the city of Angra dos Reis.
  • The Tour itinerary is subject to change due to maritime conditions
  • The boat ride takes about 4.5 hours.
  • Wear light clothing and swimwear. Do not forget to bring a towel and sunscreen.
  • Diving mask and Snorkel available for rent - Approximated cost: 20,00 BRL
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Transfer from Rio's south zone to Angra dos Reis takes around 2:30h (102 miles)
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 26 Jun. 2020
A note from Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch
Additional measures might be added to our list of procedures as we receive guidance from the local health and safety authorities and as more information becomes available. And some of these restrictions might be lifted at some point in the future if we are authorized to do so by local authorities
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Popular mentions

4.0
25 reviews
Excellent
13
Very good
6
Average
5
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Matt N
New York23 contributions
It was a pretty fun day, just very long. The boat was great and the bar was cheap with the exchange rate from USD.
Written 13 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMaltaGL
Dear MattN308, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had a fun day with us on the tour! We look forward to seeing you again in future visits. Thank you.
Written 14 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Iangaslines
4 contributions
Sep. 2019 • Couples
We had a great day but the journey to the boat was really long and the islands we went to were lovely but the sea had so much rubbish in it I was shocked !! I wanted to see ilhe grande but we didn’t only a quick swim !! Overall I would say dissatisfied!! I wouldn’t go again
Written 18 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear langaslines, Thank you for your review! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the tour. This tour is one of the favorites to those that decide to explore the nearby gems close to Rio. It is not common for rubish to appear around Angra dos Reis, it might have been due to some odd movement of the tides. In this tour you get to visit Ilha Grande, but to be able to fully explore the Island you have to allow more time and maybe stay at least one night. Thank you. Pedro Malta on behalf of DIogo M.
Written 19 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joanne S
Leeds, UK2 contributions
Jul. 2019 • Family
This trip was excellent - although it was a long bus ride to get there Tanya the guide made it very entertaining and the time passed quickly. The boat trip was great with stops for beach, swimming and snorkelling and there were lots of colourful fish. The lunch was great in a very beautiful location. All in all a lovely day and we would recommend this trip.
Written 14 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Joanne S, Thank you for your review! We are glad you had such a great time with us during your tour and that it was such a lovely day! We hope to see you again in future visits. Thank you. Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 19 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Julia
7 contributions
May 2019 • Solo
The trip was Perfect! Water was clear and warm with many fishes in a beautiful landscape. People were all Friendly and helpful. Food was good with fresh Fish and salads. I had a couple of mango juices on the boat, served ice cold and made of fresh foods. Music was nice, we had also a music trio on board, singing and smiling all the time. Thank you also for that. Transfer was fast and comfortable. Next time again for sure! Best regards from Germany
Written 1 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear BirteJulia, Thank you for your review! We are glad you had such a great time with us! We hope to see you again on our Angra dos Reis tour, the next time you visit from Germany or on any other of our other great tours! Thank you, Best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 17 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SarahCour93
Edmonton, Canada19 contributions
Mar. 2019
We got on the boat with about 80 people (it was a bit cramped) but there was options to order snacks and drinks. The boat also had live music playing the whole time we were on the water. The first area we stopped at we were able to get off the boat and snorkel, when we jumped into the water, we were immediately surrounded by hundreds of beautiful tropical fish. The second area we stopped at was a little beach. The beach itself and water we swam in were very clean and refreshing after being in the sun. The last stop was on an island where we were offered our lunch buffet (Main dish choices were fish and meat (beef)) The fish tasted amazing and they had a lot of pasta options, rice and meat sauce. Food was amazing and filling. The beach was small but very unique, lots of little properties right along the water and tons of seashells.
Written 1 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear SarahCour93, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy you had such a great time on our tour. We hope to see you again on future visits. Thank you, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 15 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ryan
5 contributions
Mar. 2019 • Couples
This trip was such a good time whether you want to relax with family or get drunk and experience a full on booze cruise. you stop to swim, then stop at 3 islands where an included lunch is provided on the last island which was delicious (as well as non-included food and drinks served on board). only downer was the 3+ hour bus ride, but it was worth it as the cruise itself was 5-6 hours. they also accommodated to picking us up at our hotel even tho it wasn't listed under the pickup options. fun trip!
Written 22 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Ryguy_80! Thank you for your review! We are happy you had such a great time with us on your cruise! We hope to see you in future travels soon. Thank you, best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of DIogo M.
Written 4 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PraneshLuckan
Johannesburg, South Africa149 contributions
Oct. 2018 • Friends
First off I must admit I cannot remember who exactly the tour company was that took our tour so my apologies to Gray Line tours if it was not them. However my comments are on the tour to Angra dos Reis from Rio and should therefore still be applicable if you are reading this.
When looking for activities I saw the boat cruise and island tour and thought wow that's something we've got to do. No where did I read that 6 of the 11 hours of the tour would be spent on a bus. Angra dos Reis is a 300 odd km drive from Rio which took more than 3 hours each way on a bus with terrible suspension that not only made us feel every bump on the road but also made a loud squeaking sound with each bump or sideways movement. The boat trip itself was not too bad, the weather on the day we went was not the best so we did not swim at the first stop and the second stop was on a beach that required a dismount into head high water which meant many of the tour party were forced to stay on board the boat. Food on board the boat was terrific but came at additional cost. The buffet included in the price of the day trip was nothing to write home about (Canto das Canoas) possibly because the seafood on the boat itself was so good.
Written 8 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear PraneshLuckan! Thank you for your review! We had to hire a third party bus on that day so we apologize for the quality of it and we will review it to make sure this does not happen. It does state that Angra dos Reis is around 2:30 hours away from Rio, but we apologize if that wasn't made it clear when you were booking. Normally guests sleep during that time, because spending the day out in the sun can be quite tiring. We are glad you had good food. It's just too bad that the weather wasn't at its best on the day of your visit. Perhaps next time? We hope to see you again in a future visit! Thank you, Best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 15 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kevin Y
Azeitao, Portugal51 contributions
Punctual pick up, excellent boat and Eli as host/guide was amazing. He ensured everything went well . The boat trip was amazing with beautiful views with great opportunities to swim. Ensure you order food for the boat as you eat about 16.00. A full day out and well worth the trip.
Written 17 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Kevin Y, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a great time with us and Eli. We hope to see you again in the near future on one of your visits. Thanks, best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 29 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jacqueline j
Brooklyn, NY15 contributions
Apr. 2018 • Solo
I decided to do this trip to get out of Rio central and see a different side of Brazil. It was worth it. A very long day, be prepared. Bring snacks, sandwiches,water, juice etc as the buffet is served rather late (4 pm on my trip). My only dislike was too much time diving and way little time at the beaches. Would still recommend.
Written 4 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Cheryl B, Thank you for your review! Angra dos Reis is not too far away from Rio. 2.5 hours away more or less. It is a nearby gem and it is well worth the drive. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks, best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 20 April 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Florian K
Lima, Peru22 contributions
Mar. 2018 • Couples
Good service. It will be great if the pick up could be also in Barra Tijuca. The bus and the boat were great, and stuff helpful. It will boost a lot of the guide can talk a bit more of the excursion. I always loved when they tell me more about the place we are visiting, what we are seeing and the history,
Written 2 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Florian K, Thank you for your review! We will take all your commentaries in consideration and report this to the guides. Thank you so much. We hope to see you soon in the near future. Best regards, Pedro Malta on behalf of Diogo M.
Written 20 April 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Gray Line Tours
tobie373
tobie373
00
Best guide!
Our guide Henri made this tour. So knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. He loves what he does and where he li
falgunimp
falgunimp
00
Awesome experience!
Favorite part was seeing the falls! Our guide Erica was great and full of energy we loved her and the jeep tour tea
GaryP272
GaryP272
00
Excellent tour of the Bay
Excellent boat tour of Guanabara Bay in a 16’ speed boat carrying 8 clients plus 3 crew. There was plenty of room
Heliflyr729
Heliflyr729
00
Great trip
My wife and I booked a tour to Christ the Redeemer, Sugarloaf Mtn, half day from Windsor Miramar. It turned out tha
Poojakaimal
Poojakaimal
00
Luis Wanderlei is the best tour guide
Luis Wanderlei was my tour guide and he was exceptional. Had full knowledge on the places we visited. A great commu
563janiquej
563janiquej
00
Best excursion ever!
This was the best experience ever! Louis was a awesome tour guide he was the best ever! I would recommend him if yo
ozgurbasmaci
ozgurbasmaci
00
Very good
It was a great tour for Rio de Jenario and special thanks to our guide Luis, he is a very kind and good man.
Michelle M
Michelle M
00
Not a Jeep Ride
We loved the jeep and our tour guide/driver was great. The only downside is that due to COVID, the jeeps can't go i
millit92
millit92
00
Awesome hike
Our jeep tour hike with Carlos was spectacular. They picked us up at our hotel on time and away we went. It was thr
millit92
millit92
00
An amazing full day in Rio!
We booked this tour through our Sheraton hotel, and we are so glad that we did. The Gray line tours picked us up on
Charles_PembrkPines
Charles_PembrkPines
00
Great way to know Rio in an afternoon.
My son and I were in Rio for a short 3 day visit and we decided to do the Gray Line Tour 1/2 day. The tour guide L
richj65
richj65
00
Amazing views
I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Rio de Janeiro. This was not my first helicopter tour but because the
Lingriffin1
Lingriffin1
00
Luis is amazing!
Luis was amazing! Very friendly and knowledgeable. We had such a good tour with him at the jardim botanica! He is a
Roam445153
Roam445153
00
Thank you Marco and Wanderlei!
We traveled to Brazil on a Wim during these unfortunate times and everything was planned last minute. Our hotel set
Tourist V
Tourist V
00
Best Tour Guide Ever!
We were the first tourist Gus had since the borders closed and he was absolutely amazing! Gus was attentive, accom
Frequently Asked Questions about Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch will start at 7:00 AM. Discover and book Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch on Tripadvisor

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch price starts from AU$94.80. Discover and book Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch on Tripadvisor

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch on Tripadvisor

Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch is hosted by Gray Line Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Gray Line Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande Day Trip with Schooner Cruise and Lunch on Tripadvisor