Tours and Tickets

City Tour Montevideo provided by Transhotel

Reserve Now & Pay Later

City Tour Montevideo

Save
Share
View all photos (18)
Recommended by 82% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 29.36
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Important Information
Duration
3h
Inclusions
  • Pick up and drop off from hotels located in Downtown, Pocitos, Punta Carretas, Buceo and Carrasco.
  • 3 hour guided tour with an expert tour guide (English, Spanish and Portuguese available)
  • Stops for pictures (Independence Square, Legislative Palace, “La Carreta”Monument, sign with the word Montevideo)
  • Transportation in van or bus depending on the number of passengers
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
12Reviews
6Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
James N wrote a review Mar. 2020
Winston Salem, North Carolina18 contributions2 helpful votes
Our guide was never short of information and details. Fun trip and lots of history learned. We found this tour was great to start with as it set the rest of our tours up for a full picture of the region.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TranshotelUY, Director of Sales at City Tour Montevideo
Responded 20 Mar. 2020
Thanks for your positive review, we appreciate it!
Read more
Ruth G wrote a review Feb. 2020
Columbia, Maryland1,250 contribution305 helpful votes
The guide we had on this tour was the best we had on any stop on our cruise. She was articulate and had a lot of information about the city and its people. The bus was large and comfortable and had a toilet that we could use during the tour. The downside of a large bus was that
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TranshotelUY, Director of Sales at City Tour Montevideo
Responded 11 Feb. 2020
Thanks for your nice comments about your experience in Montevideo, we really appreciate your review!
Read more
MartinJLaws wrote a review Feb. 2020
Gillingham, United Kingdom353 contributions65 helpful votes
+2
We picked up the tour bus from the cruise terminal and I was reasonably priced compared with the hop on hop off bus. We saw the main attractions with a well informed guide. Overall a good trip for those with half a day to spare
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TranshotelUY, Director of Sales at City Tour Montevideo
Responded 11 Feb. 2020
Thank you for your positive review.
Read more
Tom Graczyk wrote a review Dec. 2019
Branford, Connecticut1 contribution
I made reservation one month in advance taking South America cruise. We showed up in the hotel close to the cruise terminal 10 min before pick up time. We waited 30 min. Meantime I asked the front desk in Don Boutique Hotel to call tel number in the reservation. Nobody pick up
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TranshotelUY, Director of Sales at City Tour Montevideo
Responded 30 Dec. 2019
I am very sorry to know that you had a bad experience with us, but I want to point out some things to be taken into consideration: 1- When we received the booking we informed to you that we offer a specific tour around the city for cruise passengers, it departs and returns to the Port of Montevideo and it is the way to avoid this kind of problems. Based on our experience, it is not the best option to choose a tour that goes through the hotels, when a passenger is not staying there. That is why our company developed a specific product for cruise passengers. 2- The tour went twice to Don Boutique hotel, the first at 8:35 am (you were not there) and the second 9:00 am (the person in the hotel's front desek said that you had left already) 3- After 9 am we contacted you by WhatsApp and e-mail and we received your answer after 2 hours. Anyway I want to apologize on behalf of Transhotel and I am very sorry that you consider this situation as a bad experience. In addition to the quality of the service that we want to give our passengers, we care that people leave Uruguay with a good impression of the country in general. If you come to Montevideo in the future, we will gladly offer you a free city tour in compensation Best regards, Sales department
Read more
mariatx1948 wrote a review Nov. 2019
Texas22 contributions4 helpful votes
This tour didn't really show all the worthwhile sites of the city and felt rushed. Also the fact that they were pushing certain items for sale, which took quite some time, didn't feel right. Should not be part of a city tour.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TranshotelUY, Director of Sales at City Tour Montevideo
Responded 11 Feb. 2020
Thanks for your comments, passengers feedback help us to improve our service. Could you please inform us who and which items were offered for sale? Of course that should not be part of the tour.
Read more
Read 1 more review on Viator
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Transhotel
Flygodess
00
Don't book tour and winery together
The winery was excellent and we really enjoyed the wines and the food. However the tour of the City was boring and
Read more
heatherterjung
00
This was a great tour and much cheaper than through the cruise ship.
We went to the Pizzorno winery and the tour, wine tasting and snacks were all excellent. We had an extensive city
Read more
annasP7463IU
00
great tour
the tour guide ivonna was on-time. She provided a lot of information about City and Country. She also has a great p
Read more
Pegcove
00
Dont book tour and winery if on cruise
Do not book the city tour and winery tour if on a cruise as you will likely not have enough time to do both. We ha
Read more
199raeb
00
Winery tour a must
The winery tour was fantastic. Very enlightening. And the people were lovely. Beautiful wines were enjoyed with
Read more
cindyjacox
00
Great tour of a beautiful city!
We received thorough instructions for meeting our tour, which was right on time. Our guide, Yvonna, was very inform
Read more
00Matt_B
00
Great overview of Montevideo
This was a really nice bus tour through the three major areas of Montevideo: Old Town, newer commercial center and
Read more
kevinsmom22
00
No! Just Say No!!!!
We had not booked a tour with our cruise. A private company guy approached us but one member of our party thought h
Read more
enatal
00
Excellent Service!
We were picked up outside the cruise pier. They waited for us and we started the tour. The tour gave us a quick but
Read more
inluvwithAK
00
Don't bother
We were on a highlights tour of Montevideo. First of all, when you have to find places to go while you are on a to
Read more
Jim K
00
A disorganized mess
Today we took this tour. From the start, things were confused regarding who was on what tour. It turns out abo
Read more
goehringw
00
Skip It
Tour of the city on a big bus best suited for traveling on the highway, Difficult to see anything. The guide was
Read more
Emily M
00
Perfect day trip
My friends and I were in Buenos Aires and decided to make a day trip to Montevideo via ferry. Since we essentially
Read more
marina g
00
Not worth the effort
That was the worst city bus tour we have been on, and we have been on quite a few! The English recording was disjoi
Read more
David M
00
A Great Day!
Pick up on time, very good guide (Rose), saw all key sights of Montevideo and the wine tasting session out of town
Read more
Key Details
  • Transhotel
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English, Portuguese, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255
Frequently Asked Questions about City Tour Montevideo