The historical part of the city, Old Tbilisi, covers suburbs which untill 1936 were called “Tiflis” including the suburbs: Abanotubani – Kharpukhi (old Seidabad), Kala, Isan-Avlabari, Sololaki, Mtatsminda, Vere, Ortachala, Chugureti, Didube and Nadzaladevi. Most sights are concentrated in Old Tbilisi, and therefore, the main tourist attraction center. Since 2007, Old Tbilisi is a candidate to be included on the UNESCO World Heritage list.
Metekhi is the historic district on a high cliff overlooking on the banks of the Kura River. This area is particularly sacred for Georgians, because here was tortured for Christianity saint of Tbilisi - St. Abo Tbileli. Here were also tortured one hundred thousand people for faith, there is no other fact in the history of torturing so many people in one day for religion.
Narikhala is one of the most beautiful district of Old Tbilisi where are built fortresses of different era. The exact date and time of the prison building is unknown. However, its main prison already existed in the seventh century, and was called envy fortress. Archaeologists find remains of the city's ancient walls even today, throughout the prison complex.
Abanotubani is the place where, according to legend, was established Tbilisi. There's lots of sulphuric medical baths, but colorful, still stands out for its beauty and Asian elegance. District is distinguished by its multi-ethnic influences. The architecture here is unique and the site is paradise for painters with its variety of colors and beautiful landscapes.
Monastery of Jvari (Cross)– Georgian monastery complex of 6th century, which is built near the merge of rivers Kura and Aragvi. It is built on the place where st.Nino put out the cross as a symbol of the victory of Christianity to Paganism. Jvari - the first cross-shaped architectural structure building in the world.
Svetitskholeli is a masterpiece of Georgian architecture. The first temple, which was erected after the adoption of Christianity. At first it was made of wood, in the 5th century stone church was erected on the site of the old one , which ruins are preserved. Finally, in the 11th century was built a cross-shaped Temple in the name of the Twelve Apostles Church. Catholicos of Kartli Melqisedek built a new temple on the place of old one. He invited Arsakidze as architecture . Construction began in 1010 and ended in 1029. Many holy things are kept in Svetitzkhoveli ,especially foot of saint Andria and of course priceless relics of Christianity - Christ's robe.
Pompey Bridge - "Bridge of the Magi" BC. In 65 BC restored bridge based on the agreement between head of Kartli Artag and Pompey Gneus. In modern times its possible to see only at certain times of the year, it may be the time when the river goes down, the rest of the time he is covered with water.