Tours and Tickets

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv provided by Rent a Guide Israel Tours

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv
4
Book in advance
from
AU$176.99
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Traveling to Masada and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv without a guide means missing insight on both destinations and the surrounding region. This tour provides the full lowdown and experience, with commentary on passing sights including the Qumran Caves, a guided tour of Masada’s ruins, and time to relax at the Dead Sea. Upgrade to tour by minibus in a smaller group, if you wish.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 11h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Experience Masada and the Dead Sea in a day by coach from Tel Aviv
  • Explore Masada’s mountaintop ruins and learn their history from a guide
  • Visit the Dead Sea to enjoy its salt waters and therapeutic mud
  • Includes entry fees and an upgrade option for a smaller-group minibus tour
What to expect
  • Book your preferred tour option and depart your Tel Aviv hotel by air-conditioned vehicle destined for Masada, where an ancient ruined fortress lies on a mountain plateau. En route, visit a Dead Sea mineral cosmetics shop and pass the Qumran Caves, where the Dead Sea Scrolls were discovered. At Masada, ride a cable car up the slopes to explore the Herodian and Roman ruins. See the remnants of Herod’s fortress-palace and an age-old synagogue, and hear about the Jewish zealots who committed mass suicide here to escape besieging Romans in AD 74. Next, drive to the Dead Sea, located at the Earth’s lowest point. Enjoy time to float in the salt waters and bathe in the mineral-rich mud, believed by many to have healing properties. Finally, return to Tel Aviv, where your tour concludes at your hotel. Please note: The tour does not include a visit to the Qumran Caves.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 11h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Experience Masada and the Dead Sea in a day by coach from Tel Aviv
  • Explore Masada’s mountaintop ruins and learn their history from a guide
  • Visit the Dead Sea to enjoy its salt waters and therapeutic mud
  • Includes entry fees and an upgrade option for a smaller-group minibus tour
What to expect
  • Book your preferred tour option and depart your Tel Aviv hotel by air-conditioned vehicle destined for Masada, where an ancient ruined fortress lies on a mountain plateau. En route, visit a Dead Sea mineral cosmetics shop and pass the Qumran Caves, where the Dead Sea Scrolls were discovered. At Masada, ride a cable car up the slopes to explore the Herodian and Roman ruins. See the remnants of Herod’s fortress-palace and an age-old synagogue, and hear about the Jewish zealots who committed mass suicide here to escape besieging Romans in AD 74. Next, drive to the Dead Sea, located at the Earth’s lowest point. Enjoy time to float in the salt waters and bathe in the mineral-rich mud, believed by many to have healing properties. Finally, return to Tel Aviv, where your tour concludes at your hotel. Please note: The tour does not include a visit to the Qumran Caves.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 9547P5
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Bilingual, professional guide
  • Entry/Admission - Dead Sea
  • Entry/Admission - Masada National Park
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
Duration
11h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Service animals are allowed only if the person with a disability have a companion with him
  • Disabled visitors that use wheelchair- must have a companion to escort them
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travellers
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Bilingual, professional guide
  • Entry/Admission - Dead Sea
  • Entry/Admission - Masada National Park
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
11h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Service animals are allowed only if the person with a disability have a companion with him
  • Disabled visitors that use wheelchair- must have a companion to escort them
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks provided for travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Dead Sea
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Masada National Park
    Stop: 70 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.0
54 reviews
Excellent
28
Very good
11
Average
4
Poor
4
Terrible
7

M T
Austin, TX4 contributions
Wonderful tour
Jan. 2020 • Friends
We had a great experience with our tour guide and the way the tour was set up. The tour was punctual and gave us ample time to enjoy our time in Masada and in the Dead Sea. By the way, use shoes for the Dead Sea. Our guide was knowledgeable and pleasant, and the price was very reasonable.
Absolutely recommend it!
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chris99_13
Henley-on-Thames, UK20 contributions
Disasterous
We booked a small group tour with Rent a Guide through our hotel for pick up at 7.20 am. When we were still not picked up at 7.50 the hotel reception called the tour operator and was told there was a problem with the tour that we had booked but didn’t elaborate on what the issues were. We were persuaded to take an alternative small group tour to Masada and the Dead Sea with a taxi taking us to meet the bus at a central starting point. The bus was already quite full the only available seats being the rear seats. These are quite small to accommodate 4 adults but fortunately there were only two of us. The driver was presumably now late and drove like a maniac towards Jerusalem. On reaching Jerusalem two more passengers boarded and joined us on the rear seats. We were all adults of average build but could not fit easily. As there was a combined driver/guide the front guide seat was unoccupied. One of the passengers asked if he could sit there because the rear seats were impractical but was refused apparently for insurance reasons. The driver announced that it is mandatory in Israel to wear seat belts but it was not possible for the two centre seated passengers to use them due to lack of space. No insurance issues mentioned with this. We continued to drive at breakneck speed to the point that passengers were nervously making humorous comments. The bus rattled and bounced with us hanging on in the rear seats. First stop was the obligatory factory outlet opportunity to buy Dead Sea cosmetics with vouchers handed out by our driver/guide for extra discounts. Next stop was Masada which I have to give credit to our driver was well organised with getting us on the cable car and around the site. Leaving Masada next stop was Ein Gedi Sea and Spa. As we were only transferred to this tour at the last minute we were unprepared for this hand had no swimming apparel, towel or suitable footwear. We had lunch (not included) which was canteen like but OK. The “spa” has definitely seen better days, was quite crowded and lacked cleanliness. There was a pool that you could sit around as well as taking a tractor train to the Dead Sea. The pool area was very run down and the area dirty and unkempt. The driver drove somewhat less manically on our return to Tel Aviv. I don’t particularly want to comment more on the driver/guide but would say that his attitude lacked charm. I would not recommend this tour particularly if you are unlucky enough to have to sit in the rear seats of the crowded bus.
Written 16 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gwen J
Oakland Gardens, NY12 contributions
Do not even want to give it one circle.
Nov. 2019
Booking this tour with my sister was the only mistake we made on our trip. It was a quick decision and a pick up from the hotel and cheap. We certainly got what we paid for from beginning to end. We were told that we would be picked up from the hotel. We were NOT told that we would have multiple stops including Jerusalem. The tour guide also had to call cabs for groups and have us wait. We booked the smaller group tour thinking that we would get a smaller group experience but that was a HUGE mistake. First..the van was unbelievably uncomfortable. We recognize that standards in other countries regarding vehicles are different so I am willing to make this one of the smaller issues. But that with multiple stops and waits was ridiculous. By the end my sister and I got out the the van and said we would find our way back to the hotel! The worst and most misleading issue was the language. The brochure misleads you to believe that you will have the guide in only your language. Our guide spoke English AND French on this tour. This means he had to explain in English and then in French. The French group refused to follow any of the guides rules for staying together. The guide was young and inexperienced (I do not feel comfortable giving his name because of this, and I do feel the company gave him more than he could handle), and did not know how to set limits on them. We were constantly waiting for them and chasing them down. He should have left them in Masada when they did not comply. The guide was unable to keep the group together. By the end he really did not know what to do or how to direct us. The whole thing was a mess from start to finish. We would have paid more for a better tour guide and an experience that was entirely in English.
Written 14 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry to hear the tour did not meet your expectations and left you with such a bad impression. Considering the fact you booked a daily group tour and not a private one , collecting from a single hotel was a wrong assumption to begin with as multiple stops are part of any group tour . Other participants are collected from their hotels the same way you were from yours. The fact that the daily tours "are conducted in two languages" and "operated bilingually" is stated very clearly and repeatedly in our brochure. Respecting the fact you do not wish to inform the guide's name, it is difficult to reply on the comments related to him; Leaving tourists behind especially in deserted areas as Massada is not a common solution for any guide obviously. As most of your dissatisfaction seems to be related to the group tour operational side, we believe a private tour might have been a better option to meet your expectations , whether the pick-up , the English only guide ; Naturally price would be higher than the cheap rate of the daily tour , but more suitable to your preferences.
Written 20 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Suvena
Mumbai, India33 contributions
Unorganised, too big and is a monopoly.
Oct. 2019 • Family
We booked 4 trips with them while in Israel and barring the first day in Jerusalem when the trip started on time all other days the trips start with a delay of about 45 mins to one hour.

Tour1 : The Jerusalem and Bethlehem tour was great and our guide Sharon could speak good English, very good tour.

Tour2: Masada and Dead sea tour, pick up from Jerusalem and drop at Tel Aviv. The bus came from Tel Aviv only. So while our hotel pick up happened on time, he dropped us at a meeting point where there was no news of our bus. Calling up the call center doesn't help as they are not very conversant in english and tell that the person will come. So we waited for an hour. Problem is that then the time at Dead sea was reduced. Guide Yosef was good and funny.

Our drop location was supposed to be our hotel as per the pass, however with 5 bags we were dropped a Km away. Really upset with that.

So two stars to this trip

Tour 3: Old Jaffa and City tour Tel Aviv

Nothing much in this tour and can be avoided really speaking. You can explore on your own and do more fun activities.
BTW the offices remain shut on Thursday post 4 pm and there is no way to contact them if there is any emergency. The bus also wasn't that clean in the back.

Tour 4: Sea Of Gailelee we skipped.

Overall too commercialised, would rather avoid. Too big now with monopoly types.
Written 3 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

EricSkopec
Carmona, Philippines168 contributions
Both the Dead Sea and Masada are must see sites
Oct. 2019
We booked three tours with Rent a Guide and it appears that the company is primarily a transport service with guides operating as independent contractors. The buses were clean, modern, and supremely comfortable. Several even had charging facility for cel phones and cameras.
Our guide for this excursion was competent and efficient, regularly checking to make sure none of her charges got separated. Her commentary added little to my knowledge of Masada or the Dead Sea, but I have probably read more than most visitors.
Overall, I was satisfied with this tour but thought of it primarily as transportation.
Written 31 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

COSellenw
Philadelphia, United States5 contributions
Wonderful day trip with Tour Guide Michael!
Sep. 2019 • Solo
Traveling solo, I asked my travel agent to book me a day trip to Masada & the Dead Sea. He sent me the confirmation which told me when to be ready for pick up. Rent a Guide was on time, at my hotel, and from the minute we got on the coach with Michael, he was a wealth of information. Michael also took care of the group’s needs, anticipating every question to make our long day enjoyable, entertaining, educational, and efficient. I felt like we really hit the jackpot with Michael—he was the perfect guide you want for a trip like this. I would definitely request him again and highly recommend this company and Michael!
Written 11 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rick Bloom
2 contributions
Amazing tour of two historic locations - Masada and the Dead Sea
Aug. 2019
Ideally, August is not the month to go - but it was the only chance we had to visit Israel. What made this tour great was the spectacular guide we had, he gave us the history and the insight into all the details at Masada and the Dead Sea. He was very knowlegeable and made sure we stayed hydrated!! Michael was our guide so ask for him if you can. This tour took all day but the two attactions are near each other so it's the only way to go. The cable car got us up and down at Masada in 2 minutes flat. We swam in the Dead sea (floated is more accurate) and the spa had a swimming pool as well and lockers, showers etc. Very nice - we also had lunch there.
Written 29 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Raf S
10 contributions
Good tour
Jul. 2019 • Couples
We did enjoy our tour. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The tour gives plenty of opportunities for restroom needs. For lunch we stopped at a local place.
The tour is very long. Pick up time was 7:15 for us and we didn’t get back to TLV until 7pm.
July is very hot so I would not recommend this tour if you are not in good health.

Masada is an incredible place and it will not disappoint. The Dead Sea was way too hot for us. I found the water to be kind of disgusting. The floating experience is a must but after that any tiny cut on your skin will start burning.

Bus had a good A/C and the freeway can be very busy on the way back to TLV.

I would take this tour again.
Written 21 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

C M
6 contributions
Could be better...
Jun. 2019 • Solo
Too much time lost in pick-ups for a speed visit to Massada and Ein Gedi. Both places a lot of mosquitos bitting us. The Dead Sea at Ein Gedi is carelessly preserved...
Food at Ein Gedi was though excellent.
Written 6 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GoPlaces423080
SAINT PETERSBURG5 contributions
A special day
Great small van adventure with Sylvia as guide and Moshe as driver. Everything we expected and more. Sylvia knows her stuff!! Learned a lot. Would follow her anywhere!!
Written 22 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 46
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Rent a Guide Israel Tours
Z2846OWolivierb
Z2846OWolivierb
00
A wonderful guide to visit Jerusalem
I had the most wonderful experience visiting Jerusalem with Israel, who was a great guide and helped me make the mo
CHSG
CHSG
00
so la la
- no free water at the busses - cars should be more clean - No WiFi on board - Too much stops at gift shops / sh
bryton34
bryton34
00
Guide is the best tourism company in Israel
Very disorganized and unprofessional. The guide talked mostly about how good he is, how well trained, what a great
191reubenw
191reubenw
00
July 2019 option missing below (before COVID, sanitation and health questions N/A)
In July 2020, we went on a 2 day + tour of the North starting in Tel Aviv and ending in Jerusalem. Our guide's name
MarthaGsipsip
MarthaGsipsip
00
"Memorable Israel Tour with Saeed"
We were in Israel for 7 days. Days 2 through 6 we were very fortunate to have Saeed Yassin as our tour guide and I
Ymm01
Ymm01
00
Microbiology Technician
Our recent visit to Israel was a tremendous experience.We were blessed with a great tour guide Meni tzabari who was
Repolanco
Repolanco
00
Circuit Israel and Jordania Tour
Our first day trip to Masada and Dead Sea it was great Out Tour guide Noure had great knowledge, but the only thin
982513
982513
00
Tour northern Israel with Meni
We spent three days touring northern Israel ending in Jerusalem. Meni was our tour guide. This was the final th
blueo261
blueo261
00
Very knowledgeable and courteous guides
Biblical Highlights of the Galilee – Guide was Mr. Levi who was great. Jerusalem Old & New, Full-Day Tour from Tel
ranceg2020
ranceg2020
00
Holy Land Tour Shalom Journeys and Rent-a-Guide
This was a fantastic trip for myself and my daughter. We decided for her graduation from college and in preparation
DarylAngiesMom
DarylAngiesMom
00
Best Tour Ever Imaginable
Our guide, Meni Tzabari, was the most patient, compassionate, gracious, interesting, honest, trustworthy, funny, lo
Dancer9876
Dancer9876
00
The best tour guide of Israel - don't miss it with Meni
Wow, what a wonderful week in Israel , touring around to the most beautiful sites you can possibly see. Meni Tzaba
davidgB3149KL
davidgB3149KL
00
The Best Israel Tour Ever with our incredible tour guide, Meni Tzabari
Learning from our tour guide, Meni Tzabari, was truly the most enjoyable aspect of our trip. His knowledge of agric
frankbB1646LC
frankbB1646LC
00
February Tour of Jerusalem, the North, the Negev and Eilat
Just the breadth and depth of the tour would have exceeded my very high expectations of my first Heritage Tour at 7
Pizza1979
Pizza1979
00
Beware
I found the trip is good value for money however, I went with my 6 month old. I had no help putting the pushchair i
Frequently Asked Questions about Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv will start at 7:20 AM. Discover and book Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv on Tripadvisor

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv price starts from AU$170.35. Discover and book Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv on Tripadvisor

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv on Tripadvisor

Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv is hosted by Rent a Guide Israel Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Rent a Guide Israel Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Full-Day Masada and Dead Sea from Tel Aviv on Tripadvisor