Tours and Tickets

InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington provided by Interislander

InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington

InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington
4
Book in advance
from
AU$70.37
per adult
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
An easy way to travel between the South and North Islands of New Zealand
Duration:
3h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    3h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    20
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
The Interislander Ferry is more than just a convenient way of traveling across the Cook Strait from Picton to Wellington: it's a memorably scenic trip in its own right. Cruise through the beautiful Queen Charlotte Sound in the Marlborough Sounds, where you might spot dolphins. Three hours later, arrive in Wellington refreshed and ready to see the capital.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Make the most of a travel day with this scenic option
  • Disembark in the heart of Wellington, New Zealand's small capital
  • Admire the natural beauty of the Marlborough Sounds and Cook Strait
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Make the most of a travel day with this scenic option
  • Disembark in the heart of Wellington, New Zealand's small capital
  • Admire the natural beauty of the Marlborough Sounds and Cook Strait
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3308FERRYP
Important information
Inclusions
  • One way InterIslander ferry trip from Picton to Wellington
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Food and beverages
  • Carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear $15 per item
  • Kennels for pets are provided at a cost of $15
Duration
3h 30m
Departure details
  • Auckland Street, Picton 7281, New Zealand
  • Wellington Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand Interislander Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington
Additional information
  • Apart from designated areas, smoking is not permitted inside the ship.
  • The InterIslander fleet has 3 vessels: The Kaitaki (carrying up to 1600 passengers), The Aratere (carrying up to 350 passengers) and the Kaiarahi (carrying up to 550 passengers).
  • From Picton, some InterIslander ferry sailing's connect with the Coastal Pacific train service to Kaikoura and Christchurch.
  • The InterIslander ferry sailing timetable is subject to change, without notice.
  • Cafes and a food court
  • Fast-food takeaway bar
  • Shop for travel needs, souvenirs, magazines and confectionery
  • Movie theater (on select ships)
  • Video games parlor
  • Lounge and tavern bar
  • Observation deck
  • Children's play area and nursery
  • Please note, during off-peak sailing's, some facilities are only open for a limited time
  • Surcharge applies to additional services including extra luggage, large sporting equipment, traveling with pets. The option of carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear (for example, canoes or surfboards), is an additional cost of $15 per item. If you are traveling with dogs, kennels are provided at a cost of $15, ensuring your pet's comfort and safety, and your peace of mind. There are a limited number of kennels available.
  • The luggage allowance is two (2) items of baggage per person. Additional baggage items may be carried, subject to availability and on the payment of an additional charge. Larger baggage, including backpacks, must be checked in at the Picton terminal. Baggage can then be collected from the carousels at the port of arrival. InterIslander will not accept individual baggage items which exceed either 32 kilograms in weight, or 200 linear centimeters (height and length and width) in dimension. For safety reasons, there are no exceptions to the weight restriction. However, the restriction in dimension is relaxed for sporting equipment.
  • Infants aged 1 year and under travel free of charge.
  • Children aged 2 to 14 years inclusive qualify for the child rate.
  • Youths aged 18 years and under are not permitted to travel in Plus Lounge.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Inclusions
  • One way InterIslander ferry trip from Picton to Wellington
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Food and beverages
  • Carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear $15 per item
  • Kennels for pets are provided at a cost of $15
Departure details
  • Auckland Street, Picton 7281, New Zealand
  • Wellington Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand Interislander Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington
Duration
3h 30m
Return details
  • Wellington Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand Interislander Ferry Terminal, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington
Additional information
  • Apart from designated areas, smoking is not permitted inside the ship.
  • The InterIslander fleet has 3 vessels: The Kaitaki (carrying up to 1600 passengers), The Aratere (carrying up to 350 passengers) and the Kaiarahi (carrying up to 550 passengers).
  • From Picton, some InterIslander ferry sailing's connect with the Coastal Pacific train service to Kaikoura and Christchurch.
  • The InterIslander ferry sailing timetable is subject to change, without notice.
  • Cafes and a food court
  • Fast-food takeaway bar
  • Shop for travel needs, souvenirs, magazines and confectionery
  • Movie theater (on select ships)
  • Video games parlor
  • Lounge and tavern bar
  • Observation deck
  • Children's play area and nursery
  • Please note, during off-peak sailing's, some facilities are only open for a limited time
  • Surcharge applies to additional services including extra luggage, large sporting equipment, traveling with pets. The option of carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear (for example, canoes or surfboards), is an additional cost of $15 per item. If you are traveling with dogs, kennels are provided at a cost of $15, ensuring your pet's comfort and safety, and your peace of mind. There are a limited number of kennels available.
  • The luggage allowance is two (2) items of baggage per person. Additional baggage items may be carried, subject to availability and on the payment of an additional charge. Larger baggage, including backpacks, must be checked in at the Picton terminal. Baggage can then be collected from the carousels at the port of arrival. InterIslander will not accept individual baggage items which exceed either 32 kilograms in weight, or 200 linear centimeters (height and length and width) in dimension. For safety reasons, there are no exceptions to the weight restriction. However, the restriction in dimension is relaxed for sporting equipment.
  • Infants aged 1 year and under travel free of charge.
  • Children aged 2 to 14 years inclusive qualify for the child rate.
  • Youths aged 18 years and under are not permitted to travel in Plus Lounge.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 26 Jul. 2020
A note from InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington
The safety and wellbeing of our passengers and staff is always a top priority. Aligning with expert advice, we have increased the focus on hygiene aboard our ferries. Our ships are cleaned during and after every sailing with disinfectant with a focus on high touch points.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
99 reviews
Excellent
59
Very good
23
Average
4
Poor
7
Terrible
6

Kiwi on tour
3 contributions
Jan. 2021
This was a lovely cruise though beautiful scenery. Crew were friendly and helpful. Onboard facilitates were excellent The food and beverage range were as good as any superior Main St café and well-priced. Highly recommended.
Written 1 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_GJNZ
Kia Ora John, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are so pleased you had a lovely sailing with us and enjoyed the onboard facilities we have to offer to make it a great journey for our passengers. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Written 9 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David E
Leicester, UK600 contributions
Feb. 2020
A lovely relaxing and civilised way to travel between the South and North Island, with wonderful scenery as a bonus. Compared to the hassle of flying, taking the ferry is so much more civilised. The scenery is pleasant throughout the crossing, but wonderful for the first 45 minutes whilst still in the Queen Charlotte Sound. We booked the ‘Plus Lounge’ on the Aratere and whilst there seemed to be many excellent places to relax elsewhere on the ship, the lounge was very comfortable, and the food and drink included in the price.
Written 8 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

riggersrock
Port Ludlow, WA121 contributions
Nov. 2019
Nice little cafe in the terminal while waiting for the ferry. Loading the vehicle was a breeze, crew knows what they are doing. We were in the lounge which was full but not overly crowded. The food served buffet style was good and had a nice variety. First lunch then a little later dessert.
Day was cloudy so the views could have been better but what was seen was pretty cool.
Written 1 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nov. 2021
Our trip to and from Picton was cancelled several times and we were left to fend for ourselves. We were booked on the 8.15am from Wellington but had to sit around until ferry finally left at 2pm. Our trip back to Wellington was also cancelled and rescheduled several times. We had booked to travel on the 10am sailing but finally left Picton at 10pm arriving into wellington at 1.30am with another 2hours to get home at 3am!
The staff on the ferry were great but the organisation beyond that was something out of Faulty Towers, There doesn't appear to be a back up plan if something goes wrong and we only had cancellations but no information as to what has happened.
This is an expensive way to travel and a partial refund should be made for the added expense and stress this lack of service has caused. This is not a one off - it's being happening more often with little consideration for passengers.
Written 9 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Morgan
2 contributions
Jul. 2021 • Couples
We just did a trip to the South Island and we’ve just returned using this big ship as my source of transport. Now let me tell you. I have never been fond of this ship and my experiences in the last 2 weeks have confirmed why. We were due to depart Wellington at 3:15pm, this then got pushed to 4pm, then 5pm then 6pm oh and then finally 7pm, we arrived in Picton at 10:30pm and we’re supposed to drive to Christchurch but had to pay for another motel in Picton and stay and waste our air bnb booking (no refund). Then upon our return, same thing again, ferry was supposed to be at 2:15pm, then it became 3:15pm, then we didn’t actually leave until 4:30pm. Smooth sailing however we get to Wellington harbour and now we have to stay in the harbour for 30 minutes due to another boat being at the dock. It’s just been issue after issue on this ferry, it’s so frustrating when you book a family holiday and there’s constantly issues and delays like this, not just one way, but both. So disappointed in the way the Interislander handles this too, we got a punnet of hot chips as compensation. We don’t want hot chips, we want to be on time so our future plans fit in and it doesn’t cost us even more
Money. Never sailing on this ferry again. Fly and hire a car instead, will probably cost you less with the amount of delays you get on this thing.
Written 2 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten_GJNZ
Kia Ora Morgan, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent sailings – we do appreciate the time it takes to write them. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you as a result of your sailings being delayed. I can’t see what dates you’ve travelled so unable to give you an exact reason for your delayed sailing, but we do apologise for this. Delays are not a normal occurrence for us but sometimes they can occur and we do our best to communicate with passengers regarding these delays. Depending on our timetable if we do have a delayed sailing it may take some time for us to get back on schedule. I hope the rest of your family holiday was a more positive experience. Best Wishes, Kirsten | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Written 11 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Simon D
Auckland, New Zealand645 contributions
Mar. 2022
Walk on passengers leaving from Picton to Wellington.
The not so good stuff firstly - sailing was delayed - no real updates aside form saying they were delayed and sitting on the top deck (it was a beautiful day) the announcements were hard to hear. Fortunately a young staff member emptying the rubbish bins was able to give a best guess on the delay not being too much longer (I think we departed about an hour late?).
Masks were mandatory on board both inside and outside.
The good stuff - a beautiful day, although the wind did funnel down the sounds at one point sending us in out of the cold, and the Cook Strait was very foggy meaning we saw little on the trip over. The ship was clean and tidy, coffee was ok and overall the seating comfortable enough. They also run a bus from the terminal to Wellington train station as the dock isn't in the CBD.
Written 11 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amanda Zinsli
Auckland, New Zealand11 contributions
Jan. 2022 • Couples
This was our second time on the Interislander and keen to try Bluebridge next time. Avoid the 2:30 am sail as much as you can. Staff are unfriendly. Food options extremely limited especially after waiting 5 hours in your car to board the ferry. The price to the QP lounge has gone up with 50% in the last 2 weeks for less options, the door to the lounge which by the way cost $30pp is not shutting and constantly creaking as well as staff in the eatery being very loud and banging doors laughing and talking loudly to each other did not allow for any sleep. The toilets were reasonably clean however the door to one of the 2 toilets couldnt shut exposing you to who ever walks in the door. Hubby says the mens toilet was not clean. Sad to say it is not the way I wanted to end my holiday having to drive back to Auckland feeling annoyed and tired. Please pick a better time to travel if you can. This was a nightmare
Written 5 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sav
1 contribution
Jan. 2021 • Couples
On the first trip over, the boat was overcrowded. I am pregnant and got very sick, couldn't even sit down. There were even arguements about floor space that had been claimed.
The return journey was better in comparison, however we had prepaid meal vouchers for a hot cooked breakfast, which wasn't available less than an hour into the sailing. We had to substitute with overpriced cabinet food. We were told at first that we could get $20 worth of food per voucher and then that was changed to $15. Either way, we didn't get our money's worth.
The scenery was beautiful and the toilets were very clean.
However, it felt very much like making money is more important to the company than the wellbeing of the passengers.
Written 4 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten_GJNZ
Kia Ora Savannah, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent Interislander journey! We are disappointed to hear of your experiences with us and for this we do apologize. We are aware of some issues with seating on one of our ships and this is something we are looking into. Our crew do their best in monitoring this – please do speak to our crew if you are unable to find a seat. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t receive the cooked breakfast and you were given a $15 food voucher instead. Please email feedback@interislander.co.nz if you would like to discuss this further, we will investigate this and put this right. Thanks again for the feedback and all the best, Kirsten | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Written 27 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

pd7
Harlow, UK576 contributions
Dec. 2019
Getting on board took ages as we were parked in a featureless car park with little or no facilities for over an hour before we inched our way on board. It is really just a glorified car ferry and fairly expensive to boot. Getting off in Wellington was quicker once the exodus began but again there was quite a wait for mooring to finish. A tedious way to cross from island to island but needs must when you have a car, etc. Hence the high price charged - a monopoly can get away with that!
Written 16 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stephen
43 contributions
Feb. 2020
We went to checkout the procedure the night before & the lady on duty was extremely helpful & friendly, giving us a lot of useful advice & the check in procedure was very straightforward.

We had bought the Premier Plus service, which gave us access to the Premier Lounge, free food & drink & Wi-Fi. Well worth it.

All the staff were very helpful & friendly & we had a fun crossing.
Written 3 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 89
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Interislander
Guide813458
Guide813458
00
Keystone Cops
The ferry crossing is always good, but the mask situation was like the keystone cops. For no reason anyone around m
evaw600
evaw600
00
Aratere is the best
On board the Aratere at sunrise is the best place to be. Travel on the ships bow and a smaller passenger capacity m
Sparky1234567890
Sparky1234567890
00
Really late
Delayed by an hour they told us, 2.5hours late will take bluebridge next time and would be nice if they keeper us m
Jane A
Jane A
00
Great experience
Havn't been on the Interislander in 12years. Our experience on the Kai taki was very enjoyable. Look forward to doi
GrayMcGowan
GrayMcGowan
00
Great trip - again
The Kaitaki is THE vessel on which to travel between the islands. Our journey felt safe, despite 4m seas near Welli
donaldtJ370YB
donaldtJ370YB
00
Unlafull and discriminatory
April 05 2022 What a sad day for NZ, Interisland ferry (state owned by kiwi rail) chooses to keep discriminatory va
Sprytely
Sprytely
00
Yes! Travel with the interislander, ship Aratere
Was very nice sailing, the crew are very nice and very good at helping with questions and getting on to the ships w
AnnetteRM2015
AnnetteRM2015
00
Great experience
Great staff, and the whole process was easy. We had to change bookings and the staff on the phone were helpful and
madelenef2022
madelenef2022
00
Interislander Experience
I paid extra to book the Plus Lounge and it was well worth the extra fee. The service was excellent and the staff a
abbywP4951LZ
abbywP4951LZ
00
Great Trip
I had a very enjoyable trip on the Aratere ship. There was an abundance of seating and some entertainment options,
Kim191321
Kim191321
00
Wonderful sailing
Such a great smooth sailing, loved the boat, was so easy to board and exit in my car. Very helpful and experienced
lyndony2022
lyndony2022
00
EPIC
Very comfortable, great views, wonderful staff, food was very nice as in pick and reasonably priced. Would definite
arranr260
arranr260
00
Queen Charlotte lounge
The interislander is a great ship however, we boarded promptly and went up stairs to level 7, at which point we sp
AmandaGraceFoodLover
AmandaGraceFoodLover
00
Ferry trip
Great experience and comfortable, good range of food. Liked I could take me car with me and relax while viewing the
Ikarz
Ikarz
00
Great journey south
Great coffee, watching the magic show for the kids, was actually very funny. Fabulous scenery along the way. Despi
Frequently Asked Questions about InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington


InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington price starts from AU$70.81. Discover and book InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington on Tripadvisor

InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington on Tripadvisor

InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington is hosted by Interislander. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Interislander on Tripadvisor. Discover and book InterIslander Ferry - Picton to Wellington on Tripadvisor