Tours and Tickets

Fremantle Hop-On Hop-Off Tram Tour provided by Fremantle Tram Tours

Fremantle Hop-On Hop-Off Tram Tour

Fremantle Hop-On Hop-Off Tram Tour
4
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
See Fremantle in style on board a vintage-style hop-on hop-off tram, and choose from three tour options. Enjoy the tram tour, add a scenic Swan River lunch cruise, or combine the hop-on hop-off tram tour with a guided tour of the World Heritage-listed Fremantle Prison.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • With a hop-on hop-off sightseeing tour by retro tram, you can explore Fremantle—a historical port city just south of Perth, across the Swan River—at your own pace. Enjoy fun and easy transportation around the city, and hop of when you wish to visit the attractions that interest you most, from heritage buildings to the boat harbor to Victoria Quay to the Fremantle Prison. Enjoy the boutique shops and galleries, lively café scene or waterfront restaurants. (See the Itinerary for a list of stops.) When booking, upgrade to one of two additional options to enhance your Fremantle sightseeing tour with a little more history or riverfront scenery. On a Swan River lunch cruise, enjoy views of Perth from the water while feasting on a buffet lunch of seafood, hot dishes and a glass of wine or beer. Or, select admission to the Fremantle Prison, part of the Australian Convict Sites UNESCO World Heritage site. Explore the prison on either the ‘Doing Time’ or ‘Great Escapes’ tour to learn about Western Australia’s convict history. See what life was like behind bars at the prison, which was in use from the 1850s to 1990s, including prisoner artwork, the chapel and cells. Plus, hear about escape attempts over the years.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • With a hop-on hop-off sightseeing tour by retro tram, you can explore Fremantle—a historical port city just south of Perth, across the Swan River—at your own pace. Enjoy fun and easy transportation around the city, and hop of when you wish to visit the attractions that interest you most, from heritage buildings to the boat harbor to Victoria Quay to the Fremantle Prison. Enjoy the boutique shops and galleries, lively café scene or waterfront restaurants. (See the Itinerary for a list of stops.) When booking, upgrade to one of two additional options to enhance your Fremantle sightseeing tour with a little more history or riverfront scenery. On a Swan River lunch cruise, enjoy views of Perth from the water while feasting on a buffet lunch of seafood, hot dishes and a glass of wine or beer. Or, select admission to the Fremantle Prison, part of the Australian Convict Sites UNESCO World Heritage site. Explore the prison on either the ‘Doing Time’ or ‘Great Escapes’ tour to learn about Western Australia’s convict history. See what life was like behind bars at the prison, which was in use from the 1850s to 1990s, including prisoner artwork, the chapel and cells. Plus, hear about escape attempts over the years.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 6155FREMANTLE
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Buffet lunch (if option selected)
  • Hop-on hop-off tour
  • River cruise (if option selected)
  • Glass of beer, wine or soft drink (included with lunch option only)
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entrance tickets into attractions (unless advised)
Duration
9m
Departure details
  • Location Name: Fremantle Town Hall, Kings Square/ Adelaide St, Fremantle OR Board at any of the following stops: Victoria Quay Fremantle Train Station Fremantle Prison Esplanade Hotel Fishing Boat Harbour Location Address: For the most up to date Fremantle tram timetable and map, please visit: http://www.fremantletrams.com/en/map_and_times (http://www.fremantletrams.com/en/map_and_times) Directions: From Fremantle Train Station: Head south on Market St toward Short St turn left at High St Turn left onto Adelaide St. The Town Hall is located on the right Return Location: Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Buffet lunch (if option selected)
  • Hop-on hop-off tour
  • River cruise (if option selected)
  • Glass of beer, wine or soft drink (included with lunch option only)
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entrance tickets into attractions (unless advised)
Departure details
  • Location Name: Fremantle Town Hall, Kings Square/ Adelaide St, Fremantle OR Board at any of the following stops: Victoria Quay Fremantle Train Station Fremantle Prison Esplanade Hotel Fishing Boat Harbour Location Address: For the most up to date Fremantle tram timetable and map, please visit: http://www.fremantletrams.com/en/map_and_times (http://www.fremantletrams.com/en/map_and_times) Directions: From Fremantle Train Station: Head south on Market St toward Short St turn left at High St Turn left onto Adelaide St. The Town Hall is located on the right Return Location: Returns to original departure point
Duration
9m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 12 Jan. 2021
A note from Fremantle Hop-On Hop-Off Tram Tour
Our business is approved and operates to an Australian COVID safety plan. Our staff have undertaken appropriate training. Safety precautions are all in line with current state guidelines.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised

4.0
37 reviews
Excellent
20
Very good
8
Average
4
Poor
1
Terrible
4

Marie N
15 contributions
great tour
Feb. 2020
What an informative tour this was, a great way to see the high lights of Fredo when you haven't got a huge amount of time . Our guild James was very knowledgeable and great fun I thought it was well worth the $30 and would recommend it. Thanks for a great experience James
Written 26 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Victoria 47832
Birmingham, UK80 contributions
You must so this tram tour if you are in Fremantle
We really enjoyed the tram tour of Fremantle - Phil our driver had so much knowledge and was also amusing and he really brought this beautiful town to light with all the facts he gave to us - it is a lovely town and thanks to Phil’s commentary we really feel we know the town so much better - it was a lovely day in Fremantle - If you haven’t been there you really must go - we loved it and you should definitely take the tram tour
Written 11 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lynn W
Langho, UK32 contributions
Very informative
Jan. 2020 • Couples
My partner and I did the tram tour whilst visiting our daughter in Perth
This in an excellent way of seeing the sights of Fremantle, our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining
Well worth the money
Written 7 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Aussie059
Adelaide173 contributions
Not what we expected
Oct. 2019 • Couples
The attraction for us was the live commentary which we got. The route has bus stops numbered from 1 to 8. We assumed these would be visited in numerical order but no. After joining the tour at the Town Hall stop 1, we dropped people off for lunch at stop 8. the narration was good but catered to those who had been on for a while. A little overpriced at $30 per adult.
Written 7 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sally
South Australia, Australia185 contributions
Spontaneous decision worth every penny
Thank you James for your wonderful service. We got off our cruise to see the tram (actually a bus) and had a chat to James about where to have lunch and discussed the tour. He kindly informed us where was open and took us to the harbour,informing us of the times he would be back. We had a great lunch and he picked us up,just as he said. We all thoroughly enjoyed his entertaining commentary and the drive around Freemantle. Well worth doing.
Written 5 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SuzyBlairMiller
Surprise, AZ124 contributions
Great Tour
Did the tour today and it was fantastic. James was our driver and did a super job. He was very informative and helpful to all as different riders asked about where to hop on and hop off to accommodate their interests.
We booked it with the Captain Cook boat from Perth thru the visitors center and we were not disappointed.
Written 28 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

D1286YZkarend
Latrobe, Australia4 contributions
Not worth doing😡
Jul. 2019 • Family
Was a total waste of money, left stop 10 minutes late, raced though with not much commentary, then stopped at fishing bay for 1.5 hrs to be told any tours were longer than that to do, so couldn’t catch it when we wanted to do anyway, catch the free buses, better service and lot more frequent! We were charged $65 for two stops😡
Written 6 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gcn8
Sydney, Australia240 contributions
excellent way to see Fremantle
May 2019 • Couples
Excellent and unique way to view the highlights of Fremantle. Our driver/guide not only has a great knowledge of the city but a fantastic sense of humour. You'll pass most of the highlights of the city and as its hop on hop off you can spend time at key attractions if you want. Definitely recommend.
Written 21 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jppetty
Merimbula, Australia256 contributions
Very enjoyable
Apr. 2019 • Couples
With only a short time in Freemantle it was a great way to visit all that the city has to offer.We were then able to return to the sights that we wanted to explore further.
Written 6 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ben T
Greater Adelaide, Australia48 contributions
Gladly took our money for a 5min trip
Jan. 2019 • Family
I booked this with the return Perth-Freo cruise and was encouraged to by their staff after explaining we wanted to see the markets then had a lunch arrangement at North Freo to attend (that we knew was outside the route). The tram - well actually its a bus - picked us up at the Freo wharf and drove 5mins to the prison site where it stopped for 15mins we were encouraged to get off and walk to the markets. So we actually paid $60 per 3 of us for a 5min drive. Complete rip off! We could've walked the distance to the market easily, or even caught a taxi it would've been so much cheaper. The staff should've been more honest and said it wasn't worthwhile. Or the route could've changed to allow more sights prior to the first stop (which they were 15min early for, hence the wait). With the cruise we paid $180 for the day out and felt we were overcharged. Very disappointed. Do not recommend.
Written 23 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Amy Thanks for your review and sorry that things didn't appear to go you planned. We have made some enquiries to try and establish where it went wrong. From what we can see you booked the tour through an agent and not direct from us? Your boat arrived in Fremantle at 11:15 and the tram tour takes 90 minutes plus you planned to see the markets before heading out of Fremantle for a lunch. It would seem that you never really had time to fit in the tour. Your phrasing of your conversation suggests the tram driver guide gave you little option. His recollection is that as you had realised you booked a tour there was no time, for he merely assisted you with making sure you still saw the markets and made it to lunch which was your priority? Whilst we endeavour to help all our visitors fit as much into their time as possible our staff and agents cannot be responsible for the intricacies of your day beyond that you have booked with us. Only you can know all your plans! More than happy to leave your tickets open so you can come back and complete your tour with us. Had you called at the time instead of coming to this forum we could have arranged this already.
Written 29 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 37
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Fremantle Tram Tours
V6936ICroberts
V6936ICroberts
00
Great tour except for driver we got
First point . Not a tram a bus. One guy is so loud and rude and full of himself, he ruined our time in Fremantle. I
MaggiemaryHorsham
MaggiemaryHorsham
00
Very enjoyable
Our driver was Rohan and he was informative, entertaining, friendly and obliging. This tour is well worth doing to
Wales_Solo_traveller
Wales_Solo_traveller
00
A tram tour that isn’t a tram
It’s not actually a tram, it’s a coach or similar disguised as a tram. But this does not detract from the experienc
Andrew G
Andrew G
00
Ghostly Tour
It was a few years ago but this was a great night good food and all that I went with totally enjoyed it if not for
Garry M
Garry M
00
Very Good.
Good way to see the area. Very informative learning the area and the history etc and knowing what places to spend m
IrinaTundra
IrinaTundra
00
Ghost Tour with dinner
Took part in the Fremantle Tram Tours night ghost tour including dinner in June 2019. Tram was very comfortable and
whytefish
whytefish
00
Good Ghostly Tram Tour
The Ghostly Tour of Fremantle was an enjoyable way to spend our Friday night. The Round House, The Arts Centre (ext
geoffs110
geoffs110
00
Getting away
Fremantle team tours just a great way to get around & see all the sights we met many people from all over the world
Peta N
Peta N
00
Fun night out with the girls.
12 of us caught the tram and were taken on a ghost tour to the Fremantle round house, Fremantle Cemetery, Fremantle
J07sc0tland
J07sc0tland
00
Excellent tour
Usual hop on hop off idea but we were lucky to get a really good driver/guide(Rowan) who did his best to make sure
Ralph P
Ralph P
00
Nice way to get around
Getting on the tram is easy it stops at all major locations and is very cheap, you can hop and off when you want, t
barb1958
barb1958
00
Very Good and Worthwhile Tour
We hopped on this quaint old bus at the Ferry terminal and was introduced to Fremantle by the very pleasant driver
maggieyye
maggieyye
00
Great tour and excellent driver
It is a great way to see Fremantle and the driver I had was super friendly and informative. Highly recommend if you
kathdbb
kathdbb
00
Hop on hop off
Great way to introduce yourself to Freo. Takes you to all the tourist hot spots, saves lots of walking which mean
Patsy C
Patsy C
00
Fremantle Tram tours
We had a fantastic tour with John, he was super informative and provided us with an exceptional insight to the hist