Tours and Tickets

Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld provided by Cruise Whitsundays

Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld
4.5
Book in advance
from
AU$279.00
per adult
Tour snapshot
Incredible views of the Great Barrier Reef and the Whitsunday Islands 
Duration:
10h
Group size:
300
Ticket type:
Mobile
  • Duration:
    10h
  • Group size:
    300
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
About
The Reefworld pontoon, off the coast of Australia’s Whitsunday Islands, provides spectacular viewing opportunities along the Great Barrier Reef. On this tour, enjoy swimming and snorkeling amid colorful corals, spot marine life from the underwater observatory, and tuck into a delicious buffet lunch. Optional activities include scuba diving excursions, semi-submersible boat tours, and helicopter flights.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Stellar viewing ops: snorkeling, submarine, underwater observatory
  • Family-friendly tour: optional activities suitable for all ages and abilities
  • Includes lunch and round-trip transport from Airlie Beach/Hamilton Island
What to expect
  • Make your own way to the port at either Airlie Beach or Hamilton Island. Traveling aboard a high-speed catamaran, set sail across the Coral Sea and enjoy dramatic views of the Whitsunday Islands and the UNESCO World Heritage–listed Great Barrier Reef along the way. Arrive at the Reefworld pontoon, anchored along the Hardy Reef, where you’ll have four hours to spend at your leisure. Dive in to swim and snorkel, cruise around the coral gardens on a semi-submersible submarine, or spot tropical fish and marine life from the underwater observatory. Morning and afternoon tea, and a delicious buffet lunch, are also included. For an even more memorable experience, sign up for one of the many optional activities, such as a guided snorkeling or scuba diving excursion, a thrilling helicopter flight over the reef, or even a relaxing massage. After a day discovering the reef, cruise back to Airlie Beach or Hamilton Island, where your tour ends.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Highlights
  • Stellar viewing ops: snorkeling, submarine, underwater observatory
  • Family-friendly tour: optional activities suitable for all ages and abilities
  • Includes lunch and round-trip transport from Airlie Beach/Hamilton Island
What to expect
  • Make your own way to the port at either Airlie Beach or Hamilton Island. Traveling aboard a high-speed catamaran, set sail across the Coral Sea and enjoy dramatic views of the Whitsunday Islands and the UNESCO World Heritage–listed Great Barrier Reef along the way. Arrive at the Reefworld pontoon, anchored along the Hardy Reef, where you’ll have four hours to spend at your leisure. Dive in to swim and snorkel, cruise around the coral gardens on a semi-submersible submarine, or spot tropical fish and marine life from the underwater observatory. Morning and afternoon tea, and a delicious buffet lunch, are also included. For an even more memorable experience, sign up for one of the many optional activities, such as a guided snorkeling or scuba diving excursion, a thrilling helicopter flight over the reef, or even a relaxing massage. After a day discovering the reef, cruise back to Airlie Beach or Hamilton Island, where your tour ends.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3987REEFWORLD
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Up to 4 hours at the Outer Barrier Reef
  • Semi-submersible coral viewing with reef appreciation talk
  • Underwater viewing chamber
  • Buffet lunch, plus morning and afternoon tea/coffee
  • Use of snorkeling equipment
  • Environmental Management Charge (Reef tax)
Exclusions
  • Guided snorkel tours with Reef Interpreters (payable direct)
  • Introductory or certified dives (payable direct)
  • Scenic Helicopter Flights over world-famous Heart Reef (payable direct)
  • Photography, video or DVD of daily activities (payable direct)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
10h
Departure details
  • Airlie Beach QLD 4802, Australia 24 The Cove Road, Airlie Beach (Port of Airlie) QLD 4802
  • Hamilton Island, Whitsundays QLD, Australia Hamilton Island Marina
  • Daydream Island, Whitsundays QLD 4802, Australia Daydream Island Marina
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • All diving activities permit adults aged 16 years and over.
  • Nearest airports: Fly into Proserpine airport also known as Whitsunday Coast Airport (40 miles from Airlie Beach) or fly into Hamilton Island Airport
  • Please bring swimsuit, towel, protective clothing from the sun including a hat and sunblock, light jacket or sweater during the cooler months, money or credit card for optional purchases, your camera and sense of fun!
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 300 travellers
Inclusions
  • Up to 4 hours at the Outer Barrier Reef
  • Semi-submersible coral viewing with reef appreciation talk
  • Underwater viewing chamber
  • Buffet lunch, plus morning and afternoon tea/coffee
  • Use of snorkeling equipment
  • Environmental Management Charge (Reef tax)
Exclusions
  • Guided snorkel tours with Reef Interpreters (payable direct)
  • Introductory or certified dives (payable direct)
  • Scenic Helicopter Flights over world-famous Heart Reef (payable direct)
  • Photography, video or DVD of daily activities (payable direct)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Airlie Beach QLD 4802, Australia 24 The Cove Road, Airlie Beach (Port of Airlie) QLD 4802
  • Hamilton Island, Whitsundays QLD, Australia Hamilton Island Marina
  • Daydream Island, Whitsundays QLD 4802, Australia Daydream Island Marina
Duration
10h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • All diving activities permit adults aged 16 years and over.
  • Nearest airports: Fly into Proserpine airport also known as Whitsunday Coast Airport (40 miles from Airlie Beach) or fly into Hamilton Island Airport
  • Please bring swimsuit, towel, protective clothing from the sun including a hat and sunblock, light jacket or sweater during the cooler months, money or credit card for optional purchases, your camera and sense of fun!
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 300 travellers
Popular mentions

4.5
283 reviews
Excellent
181
Very good
50
Average
18
Poor
19
Terrible
15

Danielle M
2 contributions
Jan. 2022 • Friends
Most amazing day out on the reef, massive thank you to the awesome staff! Our guided scuba was once in a life time, Boing was great at taking us through everything, Chai set up the most amazing morning and afternoon tea platters for us and Olivia is fantastic! Glass bottom semi sub was also so informative! All the staff made us feel like such superstars, we were taken care of so well! Cannot thank all the team enough for a wonderful trip! Such a must do!
Written 19 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dakhina M
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
Dec. 2021 • Family
We took two trips with the company, a full day and a half day tour. The full day tour was excellent although the stop at Hamilton island did make the ride very long..a lot of fellow passengers were talking about it. As the experience of snorkeling and other water related activities was excellent, the long ride didn't matter much.
Written 6 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brendan C
15 contributions
We did the Great Barrier Reef tour which was an amazing experience. However Cruise Whitsundays has extremely poor service. They do not answer their phones the morning of tours and sometimes do not open their phone lines at all until after 9am (tours depart at 7-8am) making it difficult to find the place or confirm if the tour is on. We had another tour with Cruise Whitsundays, which was cancelled the same morning without providing any notice to us. We had a shuttle bus booked and it never came, so we had to get a taxi to the port. When we got there the front desk advised that the tour was cancelled however we had not received any email or phone call. We were also out of pocket for a taxi that never got refunded due to them not communicating the cancellation to us. I strongly advise to use other companies for the Great Barrier Reef and Whitehaven beach tours.
Written 5 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I am sincerely sorry for the challenges you had reaching our Reservations team. Unfortunately we had a significant amount of our agents out with Covid or as close contacts. Between 7 - 8:30 daily all available staff were assisting with check in to ensure boats could get away on time. Alerts were placed on our website to advise of these shortages and we are sorry you did not see it. A significant amount of tours have also been impacted by staff shortages and whilst we have endeavored to call guests prior to departure if a staff are testing positive the morning of the departure this limits our planning options.
Written 11 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Doogs182
Caloundra, Australia12 contributions
Dec. 2021
As a family of 5 we recently spent the day on reef world and the be honest it was pretty average. It is over crowded on the boat to get there and which in turn spills into the water with lots and lots of people.

The reef its self was average as well with not much life and or colours to the coral.

For the price you pay for this I would suggest looking at a smaller tour company who will take you to other areas of the reef that are in better condition.

With saying this if this is your first trip to the reef and you have younger children who may not be confident snorkeling then this may be OK for you.
Written 4 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sdgfd
1 contribution
Dec. 2021 • Friends
I had the best experience doing scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef.
My instructor Antonella gave me the best time. She made me feel safe and I could really enjoy the experience.

Thank you so much!!!!!
Written 9 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for your feedback! We feel honored to take people out and show them around the Great Barrier Reef, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Written 16 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Christie-lee Stemp
5 contributions
Nov. 2021 • Friends
We had an amazing day snorkelling & scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef 🙌

The staff were so kind, friendly, accommodating & even went out of their way to get 'instagram worthy photos' as they called it, for us 😊

We saw some beautiful fish, being in that crystal blue water is awesome & just to know you are on the great barrier reef is amazing!

The food was delicious.

We loved that they used the trip out there to go through the safety procedures etc, wasting no time when we arrived.

We got a couple of the professional photos aswel which were amazing!

A definite must do 😁
Written 27 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much Christieleestemp. A trip out to the Great Barrier Reef is such a memorable experience, we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you out with us again soon. 🐢😊
Written 29 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Makayla
1 contribution
Nov. 2021 • Couples
It was my very first time snorkelling and I must say this trip blew my expectations out of the water. It is a jam packed day of delightful information, exciting snorkelling and tasty food. I highly recommend adding on the snorkelling safari as you are paired up with one of their crew who take you on an immersive snorkelling adventure. We were lucky enough to see a turtle feeding on a jellyfish right next to us! Regardless, the included snorkelling experience was also truly amazing and has made me want to stay in the Whitsundays forever !!!!! Untill we meet again <3
Written 7 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
🥰🥰 awww thanks so much for the review itsmimickey! We love hearing stories like this!
Written 22 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Wrob
Sunshine Coast, Australia10 contributions
Sep. 2021
Was amazing, Took our young kids out there for a family experience.
Eldest kid got to snorkel with us and youngest (5) got a bit overwhelmed but loved his time out there, he got to see everything from the underwater viewing deck.
Even though it was a bit windy we were good once out in the water, stinger suits for us and the kids worked a treat.
The lunch buffet they put on was also fantastic and was a great way to finish of the day.
Written 29 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jalir
Brisbane23 contributions
The reef was beautiful. Boat was nice and the staff professional. If you have children (my child is a size 12) be aware there are no wetsuits for them even though the website says wetsuits provided. It was problematic as my kid was so cold we couldn't snorkel for long. If vegetarian set expectations low. Advised them of our dietary requirements prior and they had a token bowl of plain, cubed tofu. Felt a bit ripped as the carnivours had prawns, meatballs and chicken. They did have plain rice and a bit of salad. Missed out on the underwater submarine trip, too many people trying to get on, disappointing. I didn't think this was worth the money.
Written 26 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jarro F
1 contribution
Aug. 2021 • Family
We took our 4 young kids on the day trip to reef world. The staff and food were really great and helpful. Underwater submarine was a fun experience for everyone.

The big disappointment, and what I wish I’d known beforehand, especially given it was a very expensive family activity, THERE ARE NO WETSUITS FOR CHILDREN UNDER 10, only thin stinger suits (which was extremely frustrating since I specifically checked this beforehand). 2 out of 4 of my kids, therefore, only snorkelled for 10 mins and then were so freezing they wanted to get out. 1 of my kids, wouldn’t get in at all because he was shivering all over. We also found the shameless advertising of upgraded activities - snorkel safaris, photos, scuba, merchandise, food, etc, very tiring on the 3 hour boat ride.

I would suggest this is NOT a suitable trip for families with young kids under 10. There are lots of places to snorkel closer to the mainland, safer, less freezing that my kids have really enjoyed for a fraction of the price.
Written 7 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrof2021, I am sincerely sorry that you were disappointed that there were not wetsuits available for use for children under 10. Unfortunately as we do not have a high demand for wetsuits due to the warm water temperatures year round (23.5 degrees in summer) we do not keep a large range on the pontoon. I do hope that the children were able to visit the underwater viewing chamber and utilise the semi-submarine as alternative ways to see the reef.
Written 16 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 268
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Cruise Whitsundays
KMEI
KMEI
00
Fantastic day out on a great boat with awesome staff.
I did this tour 10 years ago and loved it, so I had high hopes for this trip. I wasn’t disappointed. The staff wer
BillDeidre
BillDeidre
00
Whitehaven magic
This was very relaxing. Had 2 hours at Whitehaven Beach. Staff were excellent. Felt like Covid was well handled ver
milaynah
milaynah
00
Cruise to Whitehaven Beach
My group and I took the morning half-day cruise to Whitehaven Beach and were fortunate enough to spend 2 whole hour
Dakhinam
Dakhinam
00
A ferry service rather than a Cruise
This half-day tour was a problem from the start. The tour itself was a 4hr one but we were taken to two stops like
Daniel H
Daniel H
00
More like a ferry service than a cruise
This is a total rip off. It should not be called a tour as it’s pretty much just a ferry service from one island to
M9589BQkatea
M9589BQkatea
00
Not worth the money!
Disappointed. This is not a “half day” at all. This cruise is the ferry for half of the islands and instead of trav
227ashleighg
227ashleighg
00
Awful
Booked a half day tour and on the day the weather was torrential rain and thunderstorms - this company would not gi
Nick-Australia
Nick-Australia
00
Excellent Value
Awesome crew and great company- a well oiled machine. Camira is a Big Bang for buck day out. 100% recommend for all
sharinik2021
sharinik2021
00
Brilliant customer service
My daughter lost her laptop onboard the 10.35 ferry from Airlie Beach to Hamilton Island on 27/12/21. I want to tha
LovedFiji
LovedFiji
00
Amazing overnight Reefsleep experience
The Reefsleep experience was absolutely wonderful. From 3pm when the boat left with the day trippers until it retur
MarshallsGetaway
MarshallsGetaway
00
Magical experience on the Great Barrier Reef
To celebrate my 50th Birthday we went with friends to the Great Barrier Reef and spent the night in the Reef Suites
TheGreatWhiteG
TheGreatWhiteG
00
A Perfect Way To Spend A Day
Staff were extremely friendly, knew exactly what to do when and where and with the Whitsunday Islands as their offi
Julie G
Julie G
00
A Bucket List Experience
This trip was amazing, once all the day guests left we had the place to ourselves, with a maximum of 28 people stay
A8801SBguyd
A8801SBguyd
00
Enjoying whitsundays
Want to thank the captain and crew for looking after us so well being a cancer suffer they made me day with them s
DaveJJenk
DaveJJenk
00
Super afternoon cruise
A brilliant cruise from Airlie beach to Whitehaven beach. We went on the afternoon cruise leaving 11.35am on the fe
Frequently Asked Questions about Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld price starts from AU$283.27. Discover and book Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld on Tripadvisor

Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld on Tripadvisor

Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld is hosted by Cruise Whitsundays. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Cruise Whitsundays on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld on Tripadvisor