Tours and Tickets

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown provided by RealNZ

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown
5
Book in advance
from
AU$211.90
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
93% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Be struck by the silence of Doubtful Sound
Duration:
12h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
135
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    12h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    135
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Tucked away in UNESCO-listed Fiordland, the remote reaches of Doubtful Sound offer travelers a serene alternative to the more popular Milford. Relax on this journey that includes a boat trip across Lake Manapouri, a vehicle crossing over Wilmot Pass, and a catamaran cruise through the stunning fiord. Getting there is made simple with pickup from Queenstown hotels.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, Japanese, English, Chinese, French, Spanish
Highlights
  • Cruise the remote fiord among soaring peaks
  • Dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, and penguins are common
  • Includes Queenstown transport by coach plus Lake Manapouri ferry
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, Japanese, English, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Cruise the remote fiord among soaring peaks
  • Dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, and penguins are common
  • Includes Queenstown transport by coach plus Lake Manapouri ferry
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2264RJ301
Important information
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Duration
12h
Departure details
  • 88 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand Please arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled departure.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Please wear comfortable shoes, waterproof jacket and warm clothing
  • Please note: During survey the Patea Explorer will be substituted with another vessel from the Real Journeys fleet
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 135 travellers
Inclusions
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • 88 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand Please arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled departure.
Duration
12h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Please wear comfortable shoes, waterproof jacket and warm clothing
  • Please note: During survey the Patea Explorer will be substituted with another vessel from the Real Journeys fleet
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 135 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    88 Beach Street
    88 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
    Please arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled departure.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
  • 1
    Doubtful Sound
    Stop: 3 hours
    See details
    Pass by
    Lake Wakatipu
    Queenstown
  • 2
    Manapouri
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Te Anau
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
44 reviews
Excellent
39
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

jdg5000
Christchurch20 contributions
Mar. 2022
We did the 2 night cruise on 16 and 17 March and I highly recommend this over the one day trip. It was a fantastic trip, and we had time to explore every arm of the fjord. There was plenty of time to kayak and swim, without having to rush as I think would have been the case with a 1 night trip. Professional yet still friendly crew that all worked really well together as a team. The food was also fantastic, so thanks to the chef. This is not a luxury cruise but everything on the boat was sparkling clean and very well maintained. My only disappointment was the window in the cabin was tiny and so high up you couldn't see out it, so the cabin was very dark. The cabins with the larger windows are the same price and are the ones shown on the website, so this is what I was expecting. However we spent very little time in the cabin so it wasn't a deal breaker, just a bit misleading.
Written 20 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We welcome all reviews and feedback so thank you very much for taking the time to post this. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful trip, exploring Doubtful Sound on our 2-night experience. 1-night just isn't enough! As for your cabin, we're sorry it did not meet your standard. We'll be sure to look into our promotion/advertising of the rooms to ensure future guests don't feel the same disappointment. Thank you again.
Written 31 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

T R
Asheville, NC66 contributions
We selected the day cruise on Doubtful Sound and it offered a lot. Starts with 45 lake cruise, then 45 min bus to the Sound (really it’s a fjord). The lake is the source of water for a huge hydroelectric plant with water discharging into the Sound. The bus trip uses the 20km road built to construct the underground ducts and power plant - fascinating story and means to get first glimpses of the Sound. The multi hour Sound cruise opened many spectacular views of the steep, rock mountains forming the main sound and its arms. Reminiscent of Norwegian fjords. Got a little taste of the Tasman Sea and seals. BTW Milford Sound was less accessible because rock slides limited travel to multi hour bus caravans. Glad we went to Doubtful Sound.
Written 21 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora. Thank you for your 5 star review - it certainly sounds like the story and scenery of the area made an impression on you. As you say, the views are spectacular and it's great you were able to see some of the native wildlife as well during your cruise. We hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit Fiordland again at some stage in the future. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.
Written 19 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lee H
7 contributions
Jan. 2020
This is an experience not to be missed in one of the most remote places on earth. Real Journeys runs a top-notch operation. We were two American couples who had been told that the overnight trip to Doubtful Sound with Real Journeys was a bit expensive but worth it. And that advice was true. The company picked us up in Queensland and took us by bus, boat, bus and ultimately an overnight ship into Doubtful Sound. The trip was absolutely magical. It rained the first day which brought out hundreds of waterfalls down the vertical mountains. They have a naturalist on board who provides narrative throughout the trip. She even stood beneath a waterfall to collect water for the chef. Guests have an option to kayak or go out on a small boat, either of which got you close to the sheer vertical cliffs and all the greenery. The chef provides a buffet of gourmet foods, from salmon and lamb to vegetarian dishes. Alcohol is available for purchase. The rooms are clean, comfortable and provide everything a guest needs in a small but efficient space. Doubtful Sound is one of the most remote places we’ve ever visited and feels like you’ve gone back in time thousands of years. This is an unforgettable experience made perfect by this amazing tour company and its young, eager and knowledgable staff. Go!
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora. It's great to hear you rate your experience on Doubtful Sound so highly. We love sharing this amazing part of 'our backyard' and it's fantastic you had an unforgettable visit. Thank you for your 5 star review and we hope the rest of your holiday is just as enjoyable. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

andrewomahony23
Stockton Heath, UK132 contributions
Really enjoyed our Doubtful Sound trip with Deano our bus driver. It was a long journey but the trip was broken up by a morning coffee stop on the way to Mannapouri followed by the cruise across the lake before the bus journey to Deep Cove (with several stops for great photo opportunities). The Sound itself was beautiful and there was a point where the captain asked everyone to be silent to appreciate the area. Unfortunately one persons near us decided to take noisy photos which spoiled it to an extent but overall the trip was wonderful. Having done Milford as well )see other review) I would do Doubtful until the Milford Road is fully repaired
Written 26 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jeff
Baton Rouge, LA102 contributions
Amazing views of Glacial Fjords, Majestic mountains, opaline waters and swirling cloud formations. We normally choose small group tours, but the only way to see Doubtless is large group. That said, Real Journeys did a great job of coordinating a large crowd across 4 busses, 2 boats,and 12 hours. The breathtaking scenery and comprehensive history lessons on board the boats make this a must see excursion. Wear layers, bring big spray and pre-order lunch when you book the tour.
Written 15 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora. Amazing views - we certainly agree! Thank you for your 5 star review - it's great to hear that you found the excursion informative and that our hard working, experienced staff did a great job of playing host for the day. We hope the rest of your visit was just as memorable and that you travel with us again soon. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.
Written 16 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Corvus49
Tynemouth, UK6 contributions
A spectacular journey by coach, boat, coach and boat ( in that order) and then return. Superb organisation of the event from the early morning taxi pick-up at the hotel right through to the end. Brian, our driver, was friendly, helpful, informative and amusing; drivers and guides in other parts of the journey also performed to a high standard. Except by sea, there's no way to Doubtful Sound except by this route. It's a must.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora. Thank you for your 5 star review of your Doubtful Sound experience. It's great to hear you were well looked after by our team. Your positive comments are appreciated and have been passed on to Brian. We hope you have the chance to experience other parts of the region with us during your holiday. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.
Written 8 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John K
1 contribution
Mar. 2020
Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to this natural wonder filled with beautiful sights. Our bus driver, Brian, was extremely knowledgeable about the fjord, forest, sights and development of the power project. Disappointing that we did not get to see any dolphins or seals but we did get to see penguins. Very well organized. Appreciated that tour company did not try to sell souvenirs or photos. A very long day (13 hrs) but well worth it. Lunch box food was good and plentiful. Also, at 6'9", I found coaches comfortable!
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora and thank you for your 5 star review. Although luck wasn't on your side in terms of dolphins and seals, it's great to hear you did see some of our precious wildlife during your visit. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday around our region. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.
Written 12 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Debbie S
Malmö, Sweden6 contributions
Feb. 2020
We really enjoyed the whole journey to Doubtful sound from Queenstown. We were picked up by taxi at our hotel. The bus trip to Manapouri was great, we had Brian as our driver, he gave a very interesting and enthusiastic commentary. Then on a ferry to the power station, then a bus to Deep Cove, then on the boat for a trip up Doubtful sound to the sea and back. The whole experience was enjoyable. The commentary on the cruise was very informative. The staff were friendly and helpful. Even though it was a cloudy day the views were amazing, it was a long day from Queenstown, we were so glad we went.
Written 5 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora. Doubtful Sound is an amazing place to visit no matter the weather so it's great to hear you enjoyed the views on a cloudy day and we hope the rest of your visit to Fiordland was just as memorable. Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.
Written 8 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dan
13 contributions
Jan. 2020
It's a long day trip from Queenstown. They paid for a taxi to pick us up at our airbnb. Doubtful Sound is long and gorgeous. Mountains with waterfalls abound on either side.. Dramatic cloudscapes. We were told fog is possible but we didn't have any. Powerful, unforgettable. Rain & wind likely. Don't buy the expensive prepaid lunch. It's meh and they sell sandwiches onboard. Or pre-pack your own. Knowledgable affable guide.
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstamiewexler
Thanks for your feedback. Doubtful Sound is stunning - we agree! Sorry you didn't like the lunch, please do send over your feedback. It is such a long day to go without eating, but good tips asking customers to bring their own or buy something on board. However because we are operating in quite a remote location it is important to pre-order, especially so we can avoid waste. Thanks again for visiting our little corner of the world.
Written 5 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

314lynne
Penistone, UK4 contributions
We did this tour yesterday. It was amazing. We were blessed with lovely weather so that helped. The day is so well organised and we had a lovely driver (Lloyd) who looked after us and gave a helpful commentary. Picnic lunch was great. Fabulous tour highly recommended.
Written 16 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 42
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: RealNZ
Muppsy007
Muppsy007
00
Long day. Average reward.
I'll preface by saying I've done Milford Sound cruise twice, so wanted to do Doubtful this time. This reference poi
styleprincess
styleprincess
00
Overnight in Doubtful Sound...unforgettable.
A must do. Bucket list material. Over night on Doubtful Sound with REALNZ is surreal and unforgettable. Our two tee
Katiemb173
Katiemb173
00
The best day out!
Is there anything Tony can’t do? Firefighter turned chief barista/social justice warrior/coach-driver comedian/envi
Racheltwizelfoodie
Racheltwizelfoodie
00
Awesome family day in stunning surrounds
What a day, we were recommended this tour by Sue who was so helpful and even remembered us on our return. Having do
nzp0ppy
nzp0ppy
00
Shame about the moaning staff
We were using Realnz or real journeys across lake manapouri. We got on at west arm with other passengers. there w
Limier
Limier
00
Don’t be doubtful!
We had a wonderful day out, starting with the cruise across Lake Manapouri, and the skipper’s repertoire of facts a
Pigalina
Pigalina
00
Great way to spend a [birth]day!
Spent my 40th birthday on the tour, what a fantastic way to do so! The crew are all very friendly and the boat ri
barneygirl33
barneygirl33
00
Great but rushed
It was a great experience but I did feel very rushed at the end as we were second to last group off and had to go b
E5090MQmatthewj
E5090MQmatthewj
00
Well worth the trip!
Glow worm cave tour was awesome! Have been to waitomo before too but glow worm wise this is 1000 times more spectac
KiwiRobMcN
KiwiRobMcN
00
Real NZ makes glow worm cave visit super enjoyable
Very professional & friendly crew - super organised and knowledgeable. Glow Worm cave was awesome- well worth a vi
michelle m
michelle m
00
Great trip
Amazing trio we had a fantastic time. The caves are unreal. We enjoyed every moment of the trip. A must do
Madpan123
Madpan123
00
Great tour
Super amazing tour and really unique experience. Lovely boat ride and you get to see loads of glow worms.
Jutta H
Jutta H
00
2 nights cruise at Doubtful Sounf
We did the 2 nights cruise with RealNZ and it was the highlight of our trip. The landscape was just stunning , so
brunolisa13
brunolisa13
00
Amazing!!!!
Awesome tour with great guide Heath who really knew his stuff. Excellent and informative. Just an amazing experienc
mlj001122
mlj001122
00
Breathtaking scenery - superbly organised trip
A superb day out, every aspect of the day is fantastic - the two different boat cruises with varied landscape, view
Frequently Asked Questions about Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown will start at 6:55 AM. Discover and book Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown price starts from AU$207.12. Discover and book Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown is hosted by RealNZ. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact RealNZ on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor