Tours and Tickets
Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise

By Mitre Peak Cruises
Recommended by 96% of travellers
96% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
Milford Sound is one of New Zealand's most beautiful and well-known sights, and you can enjoy seeing it for yourself on this cruise. The mountains that rise out of the sound, the waterfalls, and other natural features are impressive whatever the weather conditions. On this cruise, go all the way out to the sea, and get the chance to look for wildlife like seals, dolphins, and penguins.
from
AU$139.78
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 65 per group
Duration: 2h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: German, Chinese, Japanese, English, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Get a more intimate, up-close perspective on this smaller cruise boat
  • Receive free tea/coffee on board
  • Children under three ride for free
  • Take great photos from the boat's viewing deck

  • Free tea and coffee on board
  • Free for children under 3
  • Smaller boats makes for a more ‘up close’ tour
What's not included
  • Food and drinks, unless specified


Start:
  • Mitre Peak Cruises, Visitor Centre 1 Milford Sound Highway, 94, Milford Sound 9679, New Zealand
    Departure Point: Milford Sound Visitor Centre
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 29858P2

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Check in is 30 minutes before departure time
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Subject to favourable weather conditions. If cancelled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Milford Sound Scenic Cruise?
    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise price starts from AU$140.17. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor
    What is the Milford Sound Scenic Cruise cancellation policy?
    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Milford Sound Scenic Cruise?
    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise is hosted by Mitre Peak Cruises. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Mitre Peak Cruises on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor
    How much time do I need for Milford Sound Scenic Cruise?
    On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 29858P2

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Mitre Peak Cruises
      1,421
      New Zealand
    • Reidco
      0 contributions
      Excellent staff both at check in and boat crew
      Your staff at check in were outstanding. We missed our scheduled boat and they were extremely helpful in getting us on the next available one.
      Written 22 January 2024
    • Theemmaedgar
      0 contributions
      Milford sound
      Amazing day! Fantsstaix scenery and very well organised. We were lucky with the weather which really helped! The flight back to Queenstown was unforgettable! Would highly recommend.
      Written 21 January 2024
    • Voyage360273
      0 contributions
      Magnificent Scenery, comfortable journey and fantastic knowledgeable guide
      I would highly recommend this tour which was done in a comfortable minivan rather than a full coach. This meant we were more comfortable, had better access to sites and a faster trip. Our guide James was very knowledgeable, funny, courteous and a great driver.
      Written 12 January 2024
    • Mark B
      0 contributions
      Amazing Milford Sound boat trip
      Friendly and very informative staff and team. Check in, information and experiences were all easy and very positive. Thanks to Callum, skipper and his team.
      Written 23 December 2023
    • chengdayang
      0 contributions
      Never forget views of this fiord
      The cruise was just perfect. The crew took us through Milford Sound in great detail, with filled 2 hours. In addition to spectacular views of inlet of the sea, we also enjoyed fantastic waterfalls and observed some sea animals.
      Written 13 December 2023
    • Carol S
      0 contributions
      Excellent Experience!
      It's a must do when in Milford Sound. The crew was first class in every way, with interesting narration, along with pointing out sea life throughout the cruise.
      Written 1 December 2023
    • Michal1500
      0 contributions
      Beautiful views, but not sure if worth the price.
      Out of the available operators, we appreciated Mitre having a relatively smaller group, though the boat did get crowded when all passengers flocked to the same area. The boat was basic, but solid and clean. Although staff and service was at a good standard, you could barely hear the commentary during the trip. Basic tea and coffee included. Overall however, considering the vistas of the Fiordland, probably 70-80% of the experience is the drive there and the view from the port, and 20-30% is the cruise itself. Milford Sound is surely worth a visit, but take a cruise only if you’re not on a budget. Note: Regardless of the tour, expect (and prepare for) hordes of angry sandflies at the approach and the dock, but not during the cruise itself.
      Written 30 November 2023
    • prashantp790
      0 contributions
      Breathtaking Milford sound
      Cruise experience was great. The guide was very thorough in explaining all the important facts of the trip including points of interest. Also took us below a breathtaking waterfall and gave us a close up experience with sea lions and a penguin.
      Written 30 November 2023
    • Navigator00335194987
      0 contributions
      Best scenic way to experience Milford Sound; the fjords, wildlife, and the waterfalls.
      Liam, our scenic flight guide was brilliant and the cruise was enjoyable. Highly recommend this trip. Well worth the money.
      Written 25 November 2023
    • Venture731917
      0 contributions
      Great trip on uncrowded boat, highly recommended
      Great trip, good commentary, had rained overnight so waterfalls were at their best and the sun started to peep through.
      Written 23 November 2023
    • Maps62501782796
      0 contributions
      An enrichening experience.
      Mitre Peak Cruises is the only operator where you will hear about the Māori place names in Milford Sound. Thank you Olivia for providing such a rich knowledge of the amazing landscapes in the Sounds, we came away wiser and with a better appreciation of its beauty.
      Written 19 November 2023
    • suzannejN3139SZ
      0 contributions
      Great cruise!
      Great cruise! Unfortunately the weather wasn’t with us for the first part of the cruise but then the sun came out on the return journey. Spectacular scenery and very informative narrative! Highly recommend
      Written 17 November 2023
    • jeanluc202038
      0 contributions
      The one tour to choose
      Great tour Smaller boats get you closer to the falls or seals or penguins or even crayfish fishermen Boat is very comfortable This is a big difference with the huge catamarans operated by competitors
      Written 16 November 2023
    • PerthHolidays
      0 contributions
      Fantastic small boat cruise
      Fantastic small boat which meant less people and able to get closer to waterfalls and wildlife. Very competent crew. Highly recommend this trip.
      Written 16 November 2023
    • tregdraagaa
      0 contributions
      Mitre Peak Cruises routinely at Milford Sound
      The Mitre Cruise boasts a cruise with lunch, and in the booking process the lunch disappears but price remains the same. 156NZD per person is straightout hilarious. .. and yes spells "tourist trap"... alas, once you are here a cruise is a must. With this background, the sailing is dazzling as nature is not fake and as we were here on a sunny day, a lot can be forgiven. As the captain is not the only staff on board, I think it should already have been relayed back that it's practically impossible to hear and understand most of the onboard storytelling. It should and could have been adjusted a long time ago to a level where this is not a problem. Wonder how many poor guests, rich too!!, have suffered over time. Considering that many travel at length and across the planet to be here, i find this "detail" to be outright disrespectful - at the very least unprofessional - hence only 3 stars for the cruise.
      Written 10 November 2023
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    5.0
    963 reviews
    Excellent
    849
    Very good
    81
    Average
    15
    Poor
    9
    Terrible
    9

    Alan S
    Tauranga, New Zealand3 contributions
    The cruise itself deserves a five star rating. Boat captain and crew are top notch, very friendly, very knowledgeable and happy to please. They knew what to do, where to go and kept us well informed at all times

    But, the after sales service is sadly lacking. We were promised by Mitre Peak Cruises that a shuttle service would be available between the car park and the cruise terminal in both directions. We got the promised service to take us to the terminal. But when our cruise returned to the terminal, not only was the terminal closed with no amenities available, there was no return shuttle service to be found! We were among a dozen or so happy cruise passengers who soon became very unhappy when it became apparent there was no return shuttle. Nobody told us it wasn't available, we had to work it out ourselves after a long wait and then trudge (in the pouring rain I might add) all the way back to the car park, cold and VERY wet (that's a 15-20 minute walk at the best of times). Not much fun for a couple in their sixties let me tell you. And it was quite embarrassing for us Kiwis to have to explain to the foreign tourists that this is not typical for New Zealand

    We have since discovered that this is not an isolated incident and that passengers from previous late cruises have also met a similar fate. Yet knowing this, Mitre Peak Cruises choose to sell us something they could not deliver. Yes we were lied to

    We took this up with the cruise company. They have accepted zero responsibility for this sad situation, placing all of the blame on the shuttle company. However the shuttle company doesn't provide any service after 5:30pm yet Mitre Peak Cruises sells cruises which do not return to the closed terminal until 6:30pm. They knew full well that no shuttle service was ever going to be available at that time yet still sold their package which supposedly included a return shuttle service

    I strongly recommend that anyone considering a Milford Sound cruise consider a provider that can deliver on their promise. Our experience was that Mitre Peak Cruises can't do that and will push the blame elsewhere when called to task
    Written 10 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello Alan, Many thanks for the feedback. You have been dealing with this matter privately with our Base Manager and hopefully, your experience can be resolved. If you wish to discuss this further then please contact us via email on info@mitrepeak.com and we will do our very best to clear this situation that you had on the day. Many thanks from the Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 20 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Babs
    Auckland Central, New Zealand12 contributions
    Apr 2021
    Tania our tour guide on the bus was so friendly, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and entertaining. She made the 3-4 hour journey to Milford feel so manageable with lots of stops and interesting facts. The van was comfortable and spacious and the glass ceiling made all the difference. It also had charging ports and for the areas with phone service there was working wifi. The boat was perfect for viewing the sound with plenty of open and covered viewing areas. I could not have chosen a rainier day (100% and thunderstorms) and it was still worth every penny.
    Written 12 April 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Babs, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I have just spoken with Tania and passed on the lovely feedback! She was thrilled. Comfort is key when it comes to such a lengthy drive and altitude certainly know how to do that. It looks as though you picked a fantastic day to cruise in Milford Sound, judging by those photos the waterfalls must have been magical with the heavy rainfall you had. We hope to welcome you back into Milford Sound again soon. Kind Regards, The Mitre Peak Cruises team
    Written 22 April 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jo P
    1 contribution
    Dec 2020 • Family
    This trip is a must do. Being driven in the comfortable Mercedes bus meant I could take in all the amazing scenery without any stress. Andy our driver is a credit to NZ, safe driver, very informative and a lovely guy.
    The bus trip was as much of a highlight as the boat trip.
    If traveling with children only advice would be to pack enough food as it's very expensive to buy at the cafe stops for hungry teens.
    Fantastic day out, would highly recommend.
    Written 9 December 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Jo What an awesome recommendation, thank you! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed every leg of your trip. Many thanks, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 25 January 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    RocketSquid
    Los Angeles, California72 contributions
    Nov 2019
    We booked a Milford Sound coach+cruise tour through Mitre Peak in Nov 2019 (Fjordland Tours provided the coach and driver/guide, while the cruise was operated by Mitre Peak). We loved the small group size and that the stops were flexible. Having a knowledgeable guide providing info and tips about all the different areas was invaluable! He took us to places that we would have never known about if we had just driven ourselves. The cruise was enjoyable, with an informative skipper and crew. They have smaller boats that can get closer to the falls. We were lucky enough to see some rare crested penguins nesting on a small beach during our cruise. So special! Highly recommend this tour with this outfitter.
    Written 21 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful recommendation. Our team really appreciates it and is happy to hear you enjoyed our coach-cruise-coach package! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our guides and drivers. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of you time in New Zealand. Kind regards, Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 18 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jax
    Opotiki, New Zealand581 contributions
    Our Mitre Peak cruise was fantastic & I was very happy that I booked with them rather than some of the larger boats/cruises. We had an epic trip down to Milford with Altitude Tours & was equally satisfied with our Sound cruise. The small boat enabled us to get much closer to the waterfalls and animal life than would have been possible on a larger vessel. The boat itself was extremely comfortable for the amount of passengers and had good viewing deck options. The very front of the boat was my favourite & even enjoyed a bit of a “Kate & Leo” I’m on top of the world moment. The captain was very knowledgeable and informative of the different features & wildlife of the Sound. The tea & coffee was great (even had Dilmah) and felt the cruise length of 2 hours was perfect. We were lucky to have a lovely sunny day so will have to return another time on a waterfall day. Very Happy!
    Written 1 November 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Jax, Our smaller boats really do ensure that we are able to provide a super memorable and personalised experience, with nature being the main focus. Altitude Tours in which we work in partnership with are a great company who focus on a personal coach experience just as much as we like to create a personal aspect to our cruises. It is awesome to hear how happy you are with your experience with Mitre Peak Cruises. Many thanks, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 25 January 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Shivraj P
    2 contributions
    Dec 2020 • Couples
    I had booked online through their website, it was easy and offered good deal. Their boat is smaller compared to other company cruise to minimize the people on board for better viewing and experience. I couldn't make it on the day of booking, called them arranged for next day (usually they charge fees for change but did something extraordinary being the 31st eve, thank you so much for that).
    The drive from Queenstown is 4hrs without halt, so plan it properly as you cannot resist stopping on the way with all those scenic spots. After arriving at the reception, it was very quick process and the reception girl was very friendly. Then we were greeted by Captain (Phillip) and cabin crew (Jazmin), the captain was entertaining and informative n Jazmin was friendly and took couple shots for us.
    Now onto the main part, the milford cruising experience. It was 2hrs spot on journey as mentioned with information and stops for pics of beautiful waterfalls and sea lions. We had the best experience to spot dolphin pod, 3-4 of them even followed our boat. Thank you Mitre peak for amazing experience.
    Written 1 January 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Shivraj We are so glad that you had such an awesome experience with us and that you think the trip was good value for money. We do pride ourselves on our smaller, more intimate experience we offer around Milford Sound so it is super cool to hear how much you enjoyed it. There are indeed plenty of beautiful spots to stop at along the famous Milford Road so that is a great tip for our future guests – thank you! I will pass your words onto our awesome crew too; I know they’ll appreciate it as they try to create such a memorable and special day for every one of our guests. Stoked that you got to spot some of our local dolphins and seals too, that is always a treat! Many thanks The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 10 February 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    bobbyswiss02
    Jersey, UK18 contributions
    We were on the 11AM trip and the weather was not great - low hanging cloud. Despite this the boat was able to get up very close to the different stops and the captain was very knowledgeable. On our way back the weather changed and the clouds lifted and the sights on the sound were amazing.
    Written 23 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, Thank you very much for your review! Our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your cruise around the spectacular Milford Sound! A huge perk of having a smaller vessel is that it allows us to get nice and close to the mountains and towering waterfalls. We are glad you enjoyed this and can't wait to take you on more adventures in the future. Kind regards, Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 18 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    jazz & wicker
    Christchurch, New Zealand24 contributions
    June 2020
    We booked the coach-cruise-coach option leaving from Queenstown. The coach portion of the tour was run by Alpine Tours and was fantastic; our driver was very knowledgeable about the different areas we passed through. Our first stop was in Te Anau, and we made several more stops in Fiordland National Park at points of interests (Mirror Lake and Lake Eglinton for example).

    Sandflies are definitely a thing in Fiordland + Milford Sound, so would recommend wearing long socks that cover ankles, and long sleeve jumpers/shirts to cover wrists.

    The cruise was brilliant. It was a smaller boat and got us close to the waterfalls. Tea and coffee were provided and were pretty good also. There was seating inside and outside, but the views from the outside viewing decks were definitely the best. The skipper provided highly informative commentary and pointed out points of interest which was very much appreciated.

    We would highly recommend this company for anyone considering a trip to Milford Sound.
    Written 26 June 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia ora. Thank you so much for finding the time to write such a great review. Altitude Tours that runs our coach tour from Queenstown will be happy to hear you had a wonderful trip into Milford Sound. Indeed we try to get you closer to the surrounding nature so how lovely that the cruise met your expectations. Many thanks from the Mitre Peak Cruises Team.
    Written 16 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Chris H
    Paraparaumu, New Zealand24 contributions
    Mar 2021
    Fantastic cruise on a smaller boat than most of the fleet so felt as though there was plenty of space with fewer people. Captain was great - just enough commentary without being over the top. We combined it with flights from/to Queenstown with Milford Sound Flights and would highly recommend.
    Written 31 March 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Chris H, We take pride in being one of the smaller boats in Milford Sound. It allows us to get up closer with nature and deliver a more personal experience. We are stoked to hear that you flew in as it gives you a completely different perspective of the Fjord. Thanks for stopping by and leaving an awesome review. Kind Regards, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team.
    Written 22 April 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Andreea B
    Auckland, New Zealand8 contributions
    Nov 2020 • Couples
    I'm glad we didn't decide to just drive from Queenstown! It was much nicer being able to loose yourself in the scenery and not spend 8h driving between mountains and heavy rain. Roland was an amazing guide and he shared a ton of interesting facts about the places we visited - all while driving flawlessly on one of the most difficult roads I've experienced in New Zealand. We stopped plenty of time for pictures, coffee breaks, bathroom breaks - which is very important considering the road trip takes about 4h. The cruise was beyond spectacular! The views, the crew and the smooth sailing surpassed all our expectations!
    Written 1 December 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kia Ora Andreea We are so glad that you enjoyed both our cruise and the trip with Altitude. We will be sure to pass your kind words on to Roland. It is always a pleasure to share the beauty of Milford Sound with our customers and we are delighted to hear you loved it. Many thanks, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
    Written 25 January 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 936
    *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise provided by Mitre Peak Cruises