We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 30.43
Date
2 travellers
Overview
Highlights
    What to Expect
    This tour is specifically designed for cruise ship passengers with a desire for a short local tour, allowing free time to enjoy optional activities in Akaroa, shopping, wine and food.

    On your arrival into Akaroa, please report to the Akaroa French Connection kiosk to receive your boarding pass.  Then simply board your tour coach and prepare for a journey of a lifetime.  Sit back, relax, and experience the magical wonders of Akaroa.

    Your coach captain will provide an informative commentary of the local history of Akaroa as you depart and travel through Takamatua, Robinson’s Bay, Davauchelles and Barry’s Bay.  Travel up the hill to the Hill Top Tavern and cast your eyes over the picturesque views of Akaroa.

    Travel the renowned Summit Road around to Pigeon Bay Road with photo stops en-route as required (at least two).
    • 11.30am depart Akaroa Wharf
    • 1st stop – Barry’s Bay Cheese Factory – Approximately 20 minutes - enjoy a selection of traditional hand crafted cheeses from this award winning privately owned business.
    • 2nd stop – Hill Top Tavern – Approximately 20-30 minutes – an opportunity to purchase refreshments and snap photos of the panoramic views.
    • 1:30pm – Arrival at Akaroa Wharf – free time to enjoy local refreshments and activities before boarding your cruise ship.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Traveler pickup is offered
    Coach will be parked at the entrance to the Akaroa Main Wharf, Coach will be well sign written and your driver will be wearing a uniform with the appropriate logo. Please report to the Akaroa French Connection stand at the entrance to the wharf to obtain your boarding pass.
    https://goo.gl/maps/RS895CioMx82

    Return point: Returns to original departure point



    Ports
    Akaroa Wharf, 79 Beach Rd Akaroa 7520 New Zealand
    Departure Time
    11:30 AM
    Duration
    2h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Driver/guide
    • Live commentary on board
    • Port pickup and drop-off
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    • Lunch
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    30Reviews2Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 7
    • 2
    • 1
    • 2
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Graeme our driver was drinking beer at the lunch stop on top of a hill. We found him rude and unhelpful. After lunch we tried to sit in the bus 5 minutes early. Graeme shooed away my wife rudely with his hand gestures. It's cheaper and easier to get your tours in the port rather
    Read more
    Response from Citylinechch, Sales & Marketing at Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off
    Responded 1 week ago
    Hi there, I can assure you that Graeme was not drinking beer as we have very strict policies. Graeme has been driving with us for four years and this is not something he would do. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy Graeme, we generally have very good feedback about him but we understand people have different preferences. It can be cheaper to book directly with us, even if it is before you arrive. Some people that sell our tickets on behalf will charge a booking fee that we do not charge. The price is our standard price if booking through our website directly. I hope you enjoyed the rest of the time in Akaroa.
    Read more
    Pros..... Views were nice, Bus was great, The price was reasonable. Cons.....The bus was late, The driver had very little information, The restaurant stop and cheese factory stops were very poor, uninteresting and over priced.
    Read more
    Response from Citylinechch, Sales & Marketing at Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off
    Responded 1 week ago
    Hi there, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the trip. We generally have good feedback regarding our stops so I am sorry that you did not enjoy these and we hope you had a great day in Akaroa
    Read more
    I can not fault this tour worth every penny Coach was Luxery Driver gave great commentary. Views amazing
    Read more
    This tour was worth doing just to get a view from the volcanic rim. Scenery was stunning. The commentary could have been a little more informative. The stop at the cheese factory on tbe wau back was probably not worth it judging by most people's reactions.
    Read more
    Response from Citylinechch, Sales & Marketing at Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off
    Responded 8 Dec. 2019
    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate all feedback and will take this into consideration.
    Read more
    We booked this trip directly with the company at the wharf in Akaroa! They fitted us in straight away on the first bus which was excellent! The tour took us around some fantastic scenic areas up in the hills around Akaroa with a few great photo stops along the way. We stopped at
    Read more
    Previous
    About the operator
    By: Akaroa French Connection
    76 reviews
    rennyanne
    sydney
    2660
    Reckless driver
    We pre booked a return ticket from Akaroa to Christchurch. The bus was meant to leave at 9.30, but didn’t leave
    Read more
    763pranils
    Hampton Park, Australia
    5011
    Not worth it
    Graeme our driver was drinking beer at the lunch stop on top of a hill. We found him rude and unhelpful. After
    Read more
    dcuste
    San Diego, California
    89
    Disappointed
    Pros..... Views were nice, Bus was great, The price was reasonable. Cons.....The bus was late, The driver had
    Read more
    J8103KYsandrab
    Horsham, United Kingdom
    94
    Best Tour Ever
    I can not fault this tour worth every penny Coach was Luxery Driver gave great commentary. Views amazing
    Read more
    plumbob76
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    213
    Excellent
    I used the Akaroa French Connection daily shuttle several times in December while section-walking the Little River
    Read more
    677MarkH
    Auckland Central, New Zealand
    6151
    Excellent bus tour
    We arrived in Akaroa on a cruise ship and picked up a last minute bus tour to Christchurch for $70 NZ per person
    Read more
    Inspiration598678
    90
    Recommend this trip but not this tour company - not enough time in christchurch and higher priced than similar tours
    Recommend this trip but not this tour company - not enough time in Christchurch to do things that are listed and
    Read more
    dimityp2015
    3814
    Akaroa to Christchurch by bus. Scenic heaven
    After scouring the sites for the best value and most inclusive day tour from the habour of Akaroa to Christchurch,
    Read more
    zz6688
    10
    Too rush in Christchurch
    Driver is very knowledgeable of the area and very detailed information provided. But the tour left us almost no
    Read more
    Inspiration598678
    90
    Raining hard and driver was very safe.
    We booked this excursion thinking we would get photostops and pretty views along the way - but were told by locals
    Read more
    annetteh161
    Sydney, Australia
    33
    Excellent Service
    John was an excellent driver and gave a good commentary. Helpful company as we were able to pick up bus at
    Read more
    Rosemary T
    Albany, Australia
    82
    Beautiful scenery
    This tour was worth doing just to get a view from the volcanic rim. Scenery was stunning. The commentary could
    Read more
    379janew
    Hertford, England, United Kingdom
    51
    Good way to get Akaroa with time to do a boat trip and have lunch and a good look around the village
    A good and concise commentary, with a courteous driver who had to cope some issues with no show passengers and
    Read more
    728jerryt
    Austin, Texas
    20850
    Basically a ride into Christchurch city.
    While waiting for the bus be sure to visit the wool shop down the side road. A good deal on Australian wool and
    Read more
    MATTFTRAVELS24
    193
    Departing Christchurch and back again later in the day
    I did the full way/return ticket tour with French Connection. The bus ride was quite pleasant and the seats were
    Read more
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Reserve Now & Pay Later
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255