Tours and Tickets
Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire
4
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire

By Rottnest Express
About
Explore Rottnest Island on a full-day tour from Perth or Fremantle that takes care of all the details, including a high-speed ferry and bike rental to explore the car-free island. From Fremantle, start with a 25-minute high-speed ferry to Rottnest Island; departing from Perth includes a 1-hour cruise along Swan River to Fremantle, where the river meets the Indian Ocean. Upgrade to add lunch or snorkeling.
from
AU$114.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 400 per group
Duration: 8h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Explore car-free Rottnest Island by bike with optional snorkel tour or lunch
  • Depart from Perth by boat and high-speed ferry or Fremantle by high-speed ferry
  • Bike rental and helmet arranged ahead of time
  • No surprises with admission fee to Rottnest Island included

  • Same day return ferry to Rottnest Island from Perth or Fremantle (selected at time of booking)
  • Bicycle hire, helmet and security lock
  • Lunch (if option selected)
  • Snorkel Hire (If option selected)
  • Round-trip Swan River cruise (if booked to depart from Perth)
  • Entry/Admission - The Basin
What's not included
  • Hotel drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Guide

Depart from Fremantle via high-speed ferry, or depart from Perth for a 1-hour scenic cruise along the Swan River to Fremantle, followed by the high-speed ferry. Either way, enjoy the view from the water. Cross the Indian Ocean to Rottnest, where you receive your rental bike and safety equipment. With all the details arranged ahead of time, your job is to relax and enjoy the island. Bike the car-free island independently, exploring some of its 20 bays and 63 secluded beaches. Head for Bathurst or Wadjemup lighthouses, Pilot Boathouse, Rottnest Island Museum, or Lomas Cottage. As you ride, keep a lookout for seals at Cathedral Rocks or the island's native quokkas. If you upgraded to include food, stop at Karma Rottnest for lunch. If you upgraded to include snorkeling, enjoy the underwater view. You return either to Barrack Street Jetty in Perth or Shed B in Victoria Quay Fremantle.

Start:Multiple meeting point options.
  • Option 1
    Rottnest Express Barrack Street Jetty Terminal, 2 Barrack St, Perth WA 6000, Australia
    Ferry departs Barrack Street at 8:45am. We recommend arriving 30 minutes before departure.
  • Option 2
    Rottnest Express B Shed Terminal, B Shed, Victoria Quay, 26 Peter Hughes Dr, Fremantle WA 6160, Australia
    Ferry departs B Shed at 9:30am. We recommend arriving 30 minutes before departure.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5297ER

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Children aged between 4-12 years old must be accompanied by an adult
    • Children under 4 years old travel free. Child seats and trailers are available
    • Bike helmets must be worn while cycling on the island; failure to do so could result in a fine.
    • Infant seats are available on request however have limited availability
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 400 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire?
    Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire price starts from AU$115.96. Discover and book Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire on Tripadvisor
    What is the Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire cancellation policy?
    Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire?
    Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire is hosted by Rottnest Express. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Rottnest Express on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5297ER

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You’ll have 2 starting options
      See departure details
    • 1
      Swan River
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
      Pass by
      Rottnest Express
      Rottnest Island Visitor Centre
      Salmon Bay
    • 2
      The Basin
      Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Rottnest Express
      2,336
      Australia
      Joined in May 2009
    • rissa40
      0 contributions
      Beware of Rottnest Express Ferry, terrible!
      Unfortunately my husband and I travelled return from barrack st Perth to rottnest with our 2 kids. Whilst we arrived early to board there was no chance of getting 4 seats together and we were sat at the rear of the ferry. It was extremely warm and the air conditioning clearly didn't work, we couldn't purchase cold drinks and it was just awful. The return trip was even worse. No seating for any of us unless we were happy for the kids to sit separately. This was not an option because most people on board were intoxicated and falling over. We decided to get off at Fremantle and uber back to the city. As a tourist operator you should be ashamed and embarrassed of the terrible service. Whatever you do choose a different operator. Rotto was beautiful so worth the trip just not with Rottnest Express. Beware!!
      Written 20 February 2024
    • Adventure14780724062
      0 contributions
      Rotnest Express day trip
      Went on the premium package which was excellent and good value. Crew were all helpful, polite and professional. Informative cruise down the Swan river with snacks and soft drinks on the way out and alcoholic drinks on return. Ideal weekday trip so the island was not too crowded. Enjoyed the Beaches and snorkelling before a Hydration break in the hotel before return to Perth. I would recommend this Ferry package anytime.
      Written 16 February 2024
    • Exploration766037
      0 contributions
      Hot, but fun
      Bus ac didn’t work that well. Felt sick after tour. Frankie’s had great food. Very friendly servers. The tour guide was excellent
      Written 15 February 2024
    • Z8081SJiang
      0 contributions
      Great day out on Rottnest Island
      We booked to go to Rottnest Island not knowing what to expect. We were very impressed by the whole ferry & tour bus experience, our tour guide Jess was excellent giving us a really good history of the island. We opted for the lunch in our package which was very good and we would recommend as there are few eating places at the settlement, we walked oof the bus to our reserved table, had a main, a drink and dessert worth the extra cost.
      Written 14 February 2024
    • JoanneM2798
      0 contributions
      Thrill ride for the win!
      We experienced the 45 minute thrill ride. What an amazing experience. Jess & Jody were amazing guides/skipper, they were friendly, funny and knew exactly how to make the ride more thrilling. Do yourself a favour and experience this for yourself and sit at the front! Cheers ladies for a great arvo!
      Written 13 February 2024
    • nurang202
      0 contributions
      Good tour
      İt was a well organized tour. We liked as a family. We had a guest who traveled from other country and he loved it. Thank you.
      Written 12 February 2024
    • L8316IQbobh
      0 contributions
      Get on at Perth
      The trip was enhanced markedly by the Swan River guided tour before collecting passengers from Fremantle. Knowledgeable commentary on a comfortable vessel. We caught the express return trip which included complimentary drinks and light snacks.
      Written 12 February 2024
    • karenvangraan
      0 contributions
      The ferry left with my kids on!!
      I was booked on the 8.30am ferry to Rottnest. Our family arrived early and boarded the ferry just after 8am. The water was choppy and I felt sick, so I told the crew I needed to get off for 15min seeing as we had plenty of time. They told me no worries, they would remember me and told me to go and sit on a bench. Well, about 7min later they removed the boarding ramps. I ran up and said I needed to get back on, my kids were on there!! It was about 8.15am. They said absolutely not, the ferry was leaving and I had to get on the next ferry leaving in 20 minutes. My kids were screaming because they didn’t have their mum, as I watched the ferry pull away. You couldn’t make this stuff up!! What a heartless and reckless company.
      Written 9 February 2024
    • karenrN4863CH
      0 contributions
      First visit to Rottnest Island
      The crew on the boat were helpful which made the tour much easier. The tour guide on the accompanying bus tour of the island was knowledgeable and did a great job narrating the tour.
      Written 6 February 2024
    • Malcolm M
      0 contributions
      A fabulous day out with the quokkas!
      Very efficient booking system and a great day out. Boat fast and mostly smooth journey. Coach tour, led by Malcolm, was enjoyable but a little rushed - an extra half an hour would have made a great difference. Rottnest Island is out of this world. Loads of clean toilets and places to eat, highly recommended.
      Written 1 February 2024
    • sarahlO211TP
      0 contributions
      Rottness Express Adventure Eco Tour
      Highly recommend the adventure eco tour! My kids were expecting an eco tour to be "slow and boring" .... But before we were even halfway through they were raving about how much fun it was! They love an adrenaline rush and so chose the front seats in the boat for the most excitement. Hubby sat further back and said it was a comfortable experience from there. Along with the thrilling boat ride we saw fur seals, sea lions and several pods of dolphins. This tour was the highlight of our day. Many thanks to skipper Jodie and tour guide Sophie for an amazing outing.
      Written 30 January 2024
    • stevetL4714GG
      0 contributions
      1st Place to Rottnest Express
      Booked our day trip with Rottnest Express before we left the UK. On the day of the trip everything went like clockwork. Staff were helpful and friendly, the boat crossing was fantastic and the island itself was truly wonderful, never realised it had so much history. The bus tour was awesome and the guide, who's name Escapes me, really knew his stuff and was comical with it. Saw loads of the little furry fellas, there were several running around the shopping area, but the guides request you do not feed them as its proved to shorten their life span, besides there's plenty of them to be seen during the tour. Also the beaches are fantastic
      Written 26 January 2024
    • margaretmW4560QD
      0 contributions
      Excellant
      Pleasant, informative journey on boat over. Island tour interesting and engaging. Enjoyed seeing the quakkas and their habitate.
      Written 24 January 2024
    • 95rachf
      0 contributions
      Excellent trip!
      Fantastic day trip from start to finish! Easy to redeem tickets at the jetty, excellent commentary on the ferry as well as on the bus from Liz and plenty of free time to explore on your own. The quokkas were very cute too!
      Written 23 January 2024
    • JacquelineC759
      0 contributions
      Beautiful Rottnest…..a lovely day out.
      Haven’t been to Rottnest since 1982. It’s a bit more commercialised but still very enjoyable. Plenty of places to get some food and drink. The bus tour is a good way to see the island and once the tour is finished you still have some time to spend on the beach. I loved seeing the Quokkas again but found it a bit annoying that people constantly pestered them even though we were told not to feed them or touch/pick them up. Cyclists were a bit annoying in and around the area where you get the food and drink they would cycle into you as if they had right of way. Yes I know they do on the main roads but in an area that was so busy should be monitored. Overall a lovely day and we even seen the Osprey and lots of lovely views. Well organised getting on and off the ferry too.
      Written 21 January 2024
    See all 2 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.0
    175 reviews
    Excellent
    94
    Very good
    48
    Average
    17
    Poor
    7
    Terrible
    9

    Resort80112
    1 contribution
    Oct 2022 • Family
    Rottnest was great but I was charged the wrong amount via this site when I booked. They have the child age listed as 3-11 but when I picked up the ticket, the child age is actually 4-12. I contacted this site to ask for a refund in the price difference, and I provided proof of the child age on the ticket but they have not processed my refund or replied to me. Save your money and book directly at the ferry counter.
    Written 4 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, Firstly we are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience booking with one of our agents, this is not what we want to hear! We pride ourselves in offering unfortgettable experiences and ferry travel to Rottnest Island and always want our customers to be left with the best customer service experience possible. If you could please reach out to us directly at marketing@rottnestexpress.com.au we will do our best to rectify this experience and arrange a refund for you. Kind regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 6 October 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    David S
    Sydney, Australia246 contributions
    Sept 2023 • Couples
    Ferry over was good with stop at Freemantle, nice commentary, fairly calm but seats very close together in covered area, felt a bit cramped, crew friendly. Rental bikes were very poor, if you are over 50 suggest bus option not bikes. Island fairly flat. Amazed how many people on the island either staying or visiting. Was told some days 4000 bikes. Food options good and reasonable. Plenty of places for picnic or to get away from others. Saw a few quokkas - mainly around food outlets. Return of bikes was poorly organized, not sure of procedure, many just dropped off bikes at jetty and walked away, crew seemed unconcerned. Trip back was long with 2 stops - took 2 hrs. My overall opinion 50/50. I would prob recommend to combine a trip to Freemantle and Rottness Isl together.
    Written 20 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi David, Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. Kind Regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 30 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Barbara V
    Geelong, Australia15 contributions
    Apr 2022
    We spent a beautiful day on Rottnest Island exploring the island on bikes. I loved the idea of being independent and riding where we chose, stopping where we wanted and not waiting for a bus. Our trip started in Perth with a boat ride to Freemantle where additional passengers got on for the tip across to Rottnest Island. We had such a good day exploring the area and our close encounters with the local quokkas. We saw quite a few during our bike ride. They are very cute and quite inquisitive. Just sit still and they come and check you out. When we stopped for an ice-cream there was one moving round between the people checking out for crumbs and any interesting things to eat. We didn’t feed them but they seem to find crumbs that kept them interested. The weather was perfect 28 degrees and sunny Perfect! The ferry trip was comfortable and beautiful in the evening as we returned to Perth. The night lights were magical. The only disappointing part were the quality and state of the bikes. Very poor. The first one I was given had a faulty seat. I was given another but the gears were in need of attention. Only 2 gears worked. If possible I would recommend to bring your own or try one of the island based bike hire places.
    Written 1 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, Thank you for your review and feedback! It sounds like you had the most amazing day over on the island and we can't wait to see you again soon. We sincerely apologise that your hire bike was not up to scratch and caused a few issues, all we can do is encourage you to do exactly as you did and ask for a replacement which are available on the ferry. Our bikes are replaced and repaired regularly to ensure that they are in the best working condition possible despite their regular use and wear and tear. We hope that you still managed to get in a lovely bike ride anyways! Kind regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 12 May 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Bill J
    6 contributions
    Mar 2023
    There are two ferry companies blue is Sealink and red is The Rotness express. both leave from the same quay spot at Fremantle wharf Shed B.(Walking distance from the railway station) Both have ticket offices opposite each other on the grass. There is terminal car parking but it always seemed quite busy and full.The time tables differ slightly but Red runs an hourly service which is easier to cope with. We went on spec bought our tickets for a later ferry as the early one was full but played the standby game. 5 mins before departure if the boat isn't full they take standbys for the next ferry . We did it both ways and were successful both times on a busy friday. Wander off the pier and walk 600 metres diagonally to the left to Pedal and Flipper and hire a bike. Join a small queue and pay. Have a great day. You need water there is none once you have left the settlement of Thompson Bay and it gets very hot. The two litre rule should apply. Quokkas are cute they can be found in the main street. Shops have anti Quocca swing gates! The island has some lovely beaches. A packed lunch helps to make the day. Beware of snakes if you go off the tarmac and board walks. Rocks on beaches can hide them as well. They are little and venomous. It is unlikely you will do the whole island on a hire bike in a day but its a lovely and tiring day out.
    Written 10 March 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, Thank you for your glowing 5-star review and valuable feedback on your trip to Rottnest Island. We appreciate you choosing to travel with Rottnest Express and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 18 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Eduardo C
    1 contribution
    Sept 2023 • Family
    The Rottnest Express seems to be one of a small handful of operating ferries between Perth/Fremantle and Rottnest Island. We took the ferry from Perth and it started with a slower boat ride (because of the speed rules while on the Swan River) and good commentary of some of the buildings, homes, etc., that we were passing. Following a short stop in Fremantle to pick up additional passengers, we were off to Rottnest. The one-way trip took about an hour. There was some decent wind during the trip so the waters were a bit rough. We were fine, but there were people who definitely got seasick. I'd suggest motion sickness medicine if you're susceptible.

    Upon arrival, they unload a handful of bicycles and you can take a helmet from a bin they have there - and no, they're not santized/washed after every use as we saw the employees just throw the ones we used all day back into the same bin. Either way, the bikes are functional and we didn't have any problems.

    Overall, I would definitely recommend some form of transportación to get the most of the island - whether that be a bike, tour bus, or segway. Walking it is not conductive and you'll only find yourself walking a few hundred yards in either direction outside of the small main area. With a bike, you can see much more of it and with a tour bus, even more.

    There are a handful of dining options, but all are pretty basic. Good food, but don't expect a lot of options outside burgers, sandwiches, some pizza, and baked goods.

    The Quokkas are everywhere around the central part of the island as I'm sure people feed them scraps so they've unfortunately learned that's where to be. Plenty of options there to get your selfie.

    I give this five stars because what you see is what you get. Essentially a ferry ride with some basic commentary, a safe ride to/from, and a functioning bike to get around the island. Worth it all.
    Written 9 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, Thank you for your glowing 5-star review and valuable feedback - we are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time on the island and saw everything there was to see! We appreciate you providing such a comprehensive review of your day and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 27 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Nicola B
    4 contributions
    I have been planning this trip to Rottnest for 4 yrs. My was so excited, however, once we got off the ferry you are just given a cycle , no information or contact if something goes wrong etc. we planned our cycle ride so we could cycle the whole island, we stopped 20 min from the port for a cuppa at a lovely friendly cafe. We locked the bikes up but when we went back the rusty lock had seazed so the key wouldn’t open the lock, this left the bike unusable, we had no phone number no instructions and were just stuck there. Eventually we asked the lovely lady who owned the shop if she could phone someone, she phoned a different bike company on the island who bikes have an emergency phone number painted on their bikes, they put her in touch with. Our company, who promised they send someone out with another bike within 30 min. We sat in the heat waiting, after 2 hrs it became clear nobody was coming. We had to go back to the helpful lady In the shop and get her to phone again, tbe company told us they sent someone who said nobody was there ( we had not left the bikes once) and they cut the lock off, well clearly they cut Someone else’s lock off!!!!!! They still offered us no solution. In the end the Lady in the shop felt so sorry for us she brought her buggy round put our bikes in the back and took us to the other bike place where they let us leave our useless bike and gave us another for free. This whole experience left us with just 90 min to explore the island and get the bikes back and on the ferry. When we took the loaned bike back we then had to carry the broken bike back to the ferry, as obviously with a broken lock the bike was unrideable, when we handed the bike in we told them we were furious as it had ruined our day, the guy just shrugged and took the bike. Disappointed is an understatement .
    Written 27 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Nicola, Thank you for reaching out to us with your valuable feedback, firstly we'd like to apologise for this experience - it is certainly not what we like to hear! In order to get to the bottom of this matter further we'd love for you to reach out to feedback@rottnestexpress.com.au so we can raise this with the correct team and see where it all went wrong, as well as arrange some form of compensation for this inconvenience! Kind Regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 30 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    ebony C
    Perth, Australia43 contributions
    Apr 2019 • Friends
    Rottnest never Disappoints, this time we traveled by private boat, got a mourning in Thompson’s Bay, not too expensive. Walked into the townsite and checked out the museum, something we hadn’t done before. Went and had lunch on the verandas seafood restaurant which was delightful overlooking the ocean. Purchased tickets for the bus tour, another first, loved it covered so much ground from lighthouse lookouts to the seal colonies.

    Previous trips we hired bikes and cycled the island, always stopping at the basin for a swim. So many coves & beaches to explore, one of my favourite places to visit in Perth, a must for tourists including the quokka selfie.

    Although we didn’t frequent the bakery this time (still full from lunch) this is another must, usually lots of quokkas hanging around there and general store.

    Until our next visit ❤️ You Rotto
    Written 6 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Lozziewestaussie, Thank you for your review. Rottnest Island is a popular holiday spot for locals. We are definitely very proud of our own island paradise, so close and accessible, either by private boat or ferry service. Thank you for visiting the island, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Lydia
    Written 14 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Laura B
    1 contribution
    Aug 2020 • Solo
    I booked a ticket for ferry pass with bike hire. I was told to collect my bike from the Jetty. I was not told to collect it from the actual ferry upon docking. By the time i wandered about looking for where to collect it and walked down to the bike hire shack the ferry left with my bike still on board. An almost two hour wait for the ferry to return and a Rottnest Express customer service rep who repeatedly talked over me when I was asking for help made for a really unpleasant experience. Do yourself a favour and hire from the bike shack instead. Friendly staff, just as cheap and a lot easier to deal with.
    Written 7 August 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi X4650SYlaurab, We're sorry to hear of the mixup when you were trying to collect your hire bikes. Our hire bikes are required to be carried on the ferry with you to Rottnest Island which is why it is listed on our website to "Collect your bike as soon as you disembark the ferry and ride away!" As the ferry departs Rottnest to return to the mainland an hour after arrival, it is necessary to collect your hire equipment soon as you arrive so the staff onboard make announcements over the PA system advising all guests to collect any equipment upon arrival, regardless of whether it's hire or personal equipment, and it is included on your email confirmation "Upon arrival to Rottnest Island, present your voucher to the Rottnest Express staff on the jetty to collect your hire bike. It is compulsory under Western Australian law to wear a bike helmet so be sure to grab your helmet before leaving the jetty." We do hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your day on Rottnest Island. Thanks, Michelle
    Written 8 August 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Kimbal S
    Friday Harbor, WA5 contributions
    Mar 2023 • Couples
    A trip to Rottnest (Rotti) is definitely worth the effort for those who prize nature. There are several ferry companies offering daily service to-from the island. Accommodations are available for those wanting a multi-day experience. We chose the ferry & bike day package that departs Perth at 0845 and returns at 1730. Rottnest Express is very professional and friendly. The bikes they provide are sturdy but basic and you have to do your own setup to make them rideable. A better option might be to book a nice bike with one of the on-island vendors, which also offer a limited number of eBikes. The roads and trails are well marked and there are many scenic beaches and views available. The quokka are found in a few marked areas along the roads mostly limited to shady vegetation during the day. Good food, drinks, ice cream, etc are found at the village. There is limited water and shade outside the village, so come prepared if you plan to bike the roads.
    Written 13 March 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Kimbals, thank you for your for review and feedback on your experience with us at Rottnest Express. We appreciate you choosing to travel with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 18 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Kok Siong K
    2 contributions
    We booked tickets and bikes for 2 adults and 2 children. Ferry time was listed as 930am, but we were told to take the 10am ferry upon arrival. When we reached Rottnest at 1045am, we realised that 4 adults bikes have been booked and there are no spare children bikes! So, we had to hire the children bikes on the island itself. It was almost noon when we sorted out the bikes. Half a day gone because of the bike issues.
    Written 10 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, Firstly we would like to apologise that you were disappointed with your experience with us and would like to see what we can do to rectify this experience. Are you able to send us an email to feedback@rottnestexpress.com.au with your booking details and reference number so we can look into what went wrong with this one. Looking forward to helping turn this experience around for you and your family! Kind regards, The Rottnest Express Sales Team
    Written 27 September 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 158
    *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

    Experience Rottnest with Ferry & Bike Hire provided by Rottnest Express