Tours and Tickets
Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise
3.5

Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise

By Melbourne River Cruises
About
from
AU$38.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 15 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Tea and Coffee
  • Live commentary on board
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities


Start:
  • Melbourne River Cruises, Berth 2, Southbank Promenade, Southbank VIC 3006, Australia
    Berth No 2, Southgate Arts and Leisure Precinct Landing.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 3013SIGHTA

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Cruise duration times are approximate and subject to change, often due to tides and river traffic
    • Cruise direction and timetable subject to tidal conditions and river closures
    • The boat is completely enclosed and windowed so that passengers won't be subject to the elements
    • Restroom available on board
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise?
    How much is Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise?
    Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise price starts from AU$39.00. Discover and book Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise on Tripadvisor
    What is the Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise cancellation policy?
    Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise?
    Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise is hosted by Melbourne River Cruises. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Melbourne River Cruises on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 3013SIGHTA

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Melbourne River Cruises
      1,403
      Australia
      Joined in December 2008
    • 298olivia
      0 contributions
      Great night out
      If you are thinking of doing river cruise, this is the one Staff were so lovely, food was amazing, drinks were good. Time went so quick- my partner and I really enjoyed it
      Written 24 February 2024
    • 593MarkL
      0 contributions
      Perfect River Boat Cruise
      Simply the perfect river cruise, constant pouring of wine accompanies a great 4 course meal that is well prepared. The crew are excellent, so attentive and friendly
      Written 24 February 2024
    • BernieG692
      0 contributions
      Good but not special
      Very interesting but nothing special. Took in most of the major sites observable from the river and some of the city scape scenes are exceptional but just not that gripping.
      Written 21 February 2024
    • Nomad802341
      0 contributions
      Short tour
      The tour was supposed to be two hours long but took only one hour. The narration was underwhelming. All in all, meh, okay way to spend an hour.
      Written 21 February 2024
    • 579marysem
      0 contributions
      Pleasantly surprised
      We dud not know what to expect but then we were pleasantly surprised.... From the friendly and super helpful crew, followed by great food and good wine to the best views ever.!! The views were really breathtaking. We loved how it was perfectly timed to stop outside crown to watch the fire display. Lived in Melbourne over 50 years but to see our city this way was just beautiful. Highly recommend
      Written 19 February 2024
    • brendasT8861RU
      0 contributions
      Delightful dinner cruise with great food, service, and views
      The food was wonderful, the drinks were free-flowing, the service was fabulous, and the views, especially after sunset of the city lights on the water, were stunning.
      Written 19 February 2024
    • michaelbQ3674ZT
      0 contributions
      Excellent dining experience……
      My wife and I enjoyed the 3 hour Melbourne dinner cruise last night. Weather was excellent as was the food and beverage offering. Lovely 4 course meal finished off wish coffee. Free flowing drinks through the evening was most enjoyable. A really great experience. Staff were excellent, and attentive. Would highly recommend.
      Written 18 February 2024
    • jasonsB2347FW
      0 contributions
      Valentines river cruise
      We went on the valentines river cruise and when I booked it I was thinking it was a little high in priced but being what day it was it was expected. But to say we got value for money is an understatement the food was absolutely amazing ever dish mouth watering. The alcohol was flowing and you never had an empty glass and the service was also first class. If I was asked would I recommend this absolutely I would. Thank you for making our night a memorable one.
      Written 17 February 2024
    • agaagnieszka1
      0 contributions
      Strongly recommend
      The most customer friendly service I’ve ever met. We change date of the cruise few times, without any problems. Wonderful cruise, great staff.
      Written 16 February 2024
    • ajsiromani
      0 contributions
      Good Trip
      We did the entire two hour cruise. Good cruise to see Melbourne from the Yarra River. Commentary was excellent and add on explanations by the Captain very useful.
      Written 15 February 2024
    • 850fionac
      0 contributions
      Fantastic
      Fabulous experience. Food was amazing and the city skyline views at night were out of this world. Quite a moving experience also as I never thought I’d see this view in real life. Onboard staff were great - chatty and friendly. Highly recommend.
      Written 15 February 2024
    • Nicki F
      0 contributions
      Screaming Children
      The trip was informative, but I am afraid there was screaming children, and you could not hear what was being said. I liked Williamstown, it was very cute. Found a nice place for coffee, though Australians do not make it hot enough. While waiting for the ferry, I had a nice wine overlooking the Harbour. It is not the businesses fault about the screaming children but maybe their could be a little play area to amuse them.
      Written 15 February 2024
    • 606priyan
      0 contributions
      Lovely day, amazing views and super assistance
      Booking process was smooth. Enjoyed the amazing views of Yarra River. Cruise Commentary was wonderful. Overall was a wonderful day beautiful views and took some amazing photos. Crew were super helpful and provided information for our next journey. Thanks 😀
      Written 15 February 2024
    • ianmW7519KN
      0 contributions
      Relaxing cruise
      We chose to do the highlights cruise showing both sides of the city up to Herring Island and down the port. It was a relaxing way to view the city
      Written 13 February 2024
    • michaelbrianh2019
      0 contributions
      Fabulous evening
      We had a fantastic evening last night on the dinner cruise. Food was amazing and all inclusive drinks fabulous. We were well looked after. Service was excellent, highly recommend
      Written 10 February 2024
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    3.5
    44 reviews
    Excellent
    16
    Very good
    9
    Average
    3
    Poor
    9
    Terrible
    7

    HardyWhite
    Banstead, UK16 contributions
    The trip was overpriced, the captain’s commentary was lacklustre and to top it all he requested that we (the only 2 remaining passengers on the boat) disembark with everyone else at a stop earlier than where we got on citing a failed engine. 10 mins later we watched the boat chug past us with no sign of any problem. Not impressed 🤬
    Written 23 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Sir or Madam, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that this situation had occurred to you. We always aim to deliver an exceptional level of service to our customer and we are gutted in missing your marks. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are striving to resolve the problem so this does not happen again. If there is any further issue or enquiry, please send us an email at info@melbcruises.com.au or simply contact our office at (03) 8610 2600. Thank you.
    Written 12 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Dani
    4 contributions
    Jan 2023
    We did the 1 hour cruise. It was very noisy - lots of people talking while the captain was commentating. We got on at the second stop so the seats were limited (all window seats were taken). The inside of the boat needs a renovation. There was no coffee or tea on board like mentioned by the ticket seller. This cruise was very under whelming. I wouldn't recommend it or do it again.
    Written 8 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologise that our service did not meet your expectations. We are looking into the issue and hope to resolve it promptly. Please do not allow this isolated incident stop you from giving us another chance. We really want to make things right. Feel free to reach out to us at 03 8610 2600. Thank you.
    Written 9 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    col852
    5 contributions
    July 2022
    After paying for a one hour cruise we were told on board that we couldn't go upstream or downstream due to various issues and we would just be circling around a small part of the river. There was no commentary whatsoever. The cruise only ran for 40 minutes. Total rip-off.
    Written 19 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment with us, and I would like to personally assist you with making things right. We truly value you feedback. If your open to discuss your experience further, please send us an email at info@melbcruises.com.au or simply contact our office at 03 8610 2600.
    Written 20 July 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    sharon
    Geelong, Australia1 contribution
    Firstly, the up river cruise we booked and paid for wasn’t running so we had to do the down river cruise. The audio on the boat was very hard to hear. The guide even apologised for the bad audio and told everyone to be quiet otherwise no one would hear him. He was quite cynical about the information he was ‘instructed’ to tell us. Which wasn’t much at all.
    I was so embarrassed for any international or interstate tourists that thought they were going to enjoy an informative tour of the river. What a disappointment. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone. I hope there are better tour operators on the Yarra.
    Written 9 March 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on board. We often face unpredictable factors when providing experiences on the river, and we are sorry this impacted the cruise you had booked. Thank you for sharing your concerns with the commentary and audio. We always look to improve our services, and feedback such as yours will be considered as we move forward. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please contact us by email at info@melbcruises.com.au or simply contact our office at 03 8610 2600. Thank you.
    Written 9 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Michael H
    Washington, DC104 contributions
    Dec 2023 • Couples
    The tour operators were very disorganized - all the boats were departing late and it was clear the operators didn't know when the boat for my tour would be back to start the tour. Once we left, we discovered that there is a recorded narrative providing information - no live tour guide. This could have been OK, but the recording broke shortly after we left, so we saw the sites of Docklands with no information.
    Written 27 December 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we're truly sorry for the disorganization and inconvenience you faced during your tour. We understand the importance of timely departures and providing insightful commentary. Your feedback is crucial in helping us improve our operations and ensure a better experience for all our guests. We sincerely appreciate your understanding and hope for the chance to make it right for you in the future.
    Written 2 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Paul P
    Melbourne, Australia232 contributions
    Sept 2023 • Family
    Being from Melbourne people wonder why I do a tourist tour in my city, well, Melbourne changes but is a wonderful city and the river is fantastic. This tour is a great way to see how vibrant it is. It is comfortable and the view from the boat is excellent. Friendly crew add to the experience and the commentary was great and I leant a few things I didn't know. Luckily Melbourne turned on one of it great days so all in all this was a great tour. For visitors you can see all the places to eat along the Yarra and maybe think about buying a unit at Yarra's Edge id you have a few spare millions.
    Written 2 October 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for taking your time and leaving us with such a descriptive review! We're thrilled to hear you had an excellent time on our cruise. Thank you for the recommendation and we can't wait to have you on board cruising with us again soon!
    Written 9 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Mghh
    2 contributions
    Dec 2022 • Family
    The ticket man was very very rude to customers, not only me but my friends too. He was yelling and screaming to my friends just because we were asking if we can reschedule the cruise to later time. My kids were very upset and said they think Melbourne people are so rude. We had to explain to them that not everyone is like that man.
    Never come back again and we will not recommend to anyone.
    Written 26 December 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience on our cruise. We understand that this booking was for 3 families and 1 of the family arrived 10 mins late. Unfortunately, once the boat leaves the dock it can't come back. We usually ask you to arrive 15 mins early and in the busy Christmas period/school holidays 20 mins prior. We hope the rest of the family enjoyed the cruise and had a good time. Please arrive a bit early next time. We are happy to rebook you to any other for no extra cost. Thank you.
    Written 29 December 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Angela
    Dandenong, Australia36 contributions
    Nov 2022
    We didn’t get to go. The water came over the bank & flooded the path. Couldn’t get on the boat. They yelled to follow the boat in the pouring rain. We were exhausted by the time we reached the boat, not good for 4 elderly ladies. In future, we will not pay ahead, we will chance it and book on day. Too expensive to give money away.
    Written 22 November 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, We are terribly sorry to learn that we have let you down. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will definitely address your review with all our staff. Please send us an email at info@melbcruises.com.au or simply contact our office at 03 8610 2600, and allow us the opportunity to make things right. Please do not let this isolated incident stop you from giving us another chance. We will take all necessary steps at providing you with the 5-star experience we aim to deliver. We look forward to hearing from you.
    Written 24 November 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jan M
    1 contribution
    Jan 2023
    Boat quite dirty, skipper surly when I asked a question, The tour itself quite informative, wouldn’t do it again though. Also, why is it in US dollars, I nearly had a fit when I saw the amount changed on my account?
    Second tour downstream was better. Boat larger and cleaner, skipper nicer but commentary a bit hard to understand as it was muffled. The young blonde lady deckhand who served the coffee was excellent. She was friendly towards myself and grandson. 5 stars for her!
    Written 24 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience on our cruise. We always aim to deliver an exceptional level of service to our customer and we regret that we missed your marks. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We really hope to resolve the problem, please let us the the booking site you used and send us an email at info@melbcruises.com.au or simply contact our office at 03 8610 2600. Thank you.
    Written 30 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Dianna H
    Geelong, Australia4 contributions
    Mar 2023
    Really poor cruise! 5 minutes of commentary given for the entire 1 hour cruise. The captain and crew member just chatted between themselves for the entire cruise and ignored customers. We booked a cruise to learn more about Melbourne. There was NOTHING about the history of Melbourne, or any of the bridges and buildings. The 5 minutes of commentary given was about the development of the Docklands and that was it! There was also a change in the cruise we actually booked due to Moomba. This was fine, but we weren't even told about the change! Really poor. Don't waste your money.
    Written 12 March 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, Thank you for making us aware of your on board experience. We are disappointed to hear that your cruise was not enjoyable, and would like you to know that your experience does not meet the standard we always aim to provide. The commentary you received does not meet an acceptable level of service and we will be pursuing this issue. We truly hope to provide a resolution to your concerns; please contact our office by email at info@melbcruises.com.au or phone at 03 8610 2600 so we may compensate for your poor experience. Thank you.
    Written 13 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 40

    Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise provided by Melbourne River Cruises