Tours and Tickets

2 Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise provided by Get Wet Surf School

2 Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise

2 Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise
4.5
Book in advance
from
AU$69.75
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
About
Catch a wave at one of the most famous surf spots in the world with this beginner's surfing lesson at Australia's Surfers Paradise. No need to hone your skills ahead of time or lug a huge board on the plane; this surfing lesson comes with everything included. Enjoy the sea air, sand, and warm waves with a small group, which ensures your safety, comfort, and plenty of attention from your instructor.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Chinese, English, Chinese
Highlights
  • All equipment included for a successful lesson
  • Freshwater showers on-site to rinse off after the lesson
  • Free all-day parking or round-trip transport from select Surfers Paradise hotels
  • Small groups ensure safety, comfort, and plenty of instructor attention
What to expect
  • Choose from morning or afternoon lessons when booking; multiple lesson times ensure you can fit this into your vacation schedule. Opt for included transport from your Surfers Paradise hotel or drive your own car to the beach, which features free parking all day.  Meet your small group and instructor at the Spit, a stretch of beach free from high-rise hotels and known for its small, easily rideable waves. Get set up with everything you'll need for a successful lesson. Get some dry land instruction and surfing theory before hitting the water. The instructor will tailor the lesson to your group's abilities; even those who aren't strong swimmers can take a lesson. Walk away with commemorative photos or a USB drive of images from the lesson (own expense).
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
Chinese, English, Chinese
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • All equipment included for a successful lesson
  • Freshwater showers on-site to rinse off after the lesson
  • Free all-day parking or round-trip transport from select Surfers Paradise hotels
  • Small groups ensure safety, comfort, and plenty of instructor attention
What to expect
  • Choose from morning or afternoon lessons when booking; multiple lesson times ensure you can fit this into your vacation schedule. Opt for included transport from your Surfers Paradise hotel or drive your own car to the beach, which features free parking all day.  Meet your small group and instructor at the Spit, a stretch of beach free from high-rise hotels and known for its small, easily rideable waves. Get set up with everything you'll need for a successful lesson. Get some dry land instruction and surfing theory before hitting the water. The instructor will tailor the lesson to your group's abilities; even those who aren't strong swimmers can take a lesson. Walk away with commemorative photos or a USB drive of images from the lesson (own expense).
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 9637P1
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only) PARTICIPANTS ONLY
  • Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points FOR PARTICIPANTS ONLY
  • All equipment for use during lesson
  • Fresh water outdoor showers available and basic change rooms
  • Free all day parking
Exclusions
  • Commemorative photos on USB drive
  • We are unable to offer shuttle service for childrn requiring a child safety seat
  • Shuttle for spectators as seats are limited to participants
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • If you do not have your own transport we offer a shuttle service from several convenient locations: Surfers Paradise: 10 Beach Road Surfers paradise, in front of the Brooklyn Depot Restaurant ( 30 min prior to lesson time) Main beach: Helen Park, located on the corner of Tedder Ave and the Gold Coast highway, across from the Main beach tram station ( 15 min prior to lesson time) Seaworld bus stop: on Seaworld Drive, perfect for people coming by Surf Side bus from Helensvale train via Southport on the 704 bus or from Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise on the 705 bus. Please contact us on 1800438938 at the time of your booking to let us know if you require the shuttle. Shuttle is complimentary and available for participants only. Due to Covid we are restricted in the number of passengers we are allowed to shuttle so we are not able to guarantee the service. If you have your own transport parking is free all day at The Spit beach
  • Seaworld Drive, Seaworld Dr, Main Beach QLD 4217, Australia Our head office, The Surf Shack, is located behind the Seaway Café in Doug Jennings Park, Seaworld Drive, Main Beach. To find us, just walk down the right side between the café and the amenities block and come in the back gate.
Additional information
  • IF YOUR HOTEL IS NOT ON THE LIST & YOU REQUIRE TRANSPORT, PLEASE CONTACT US IMMEDIATELY WHEN BOOKING ON 1800 438 938. BY SELECTING "MY HOTEL IS NOT LISTED" WE WILL ASSUME YOU ARE MEETING US AT THE BEACH.
  • Please provide your own swimwear
  • Please refrain from bringing any valuables to the beach
  • Minimum age for group lesson is 12 years old ( Childrens only lessons available contact supplier)
  • Please ensure that the phone number you provide us with, is the one that we can contact you on, on the day of the surf lesson
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only) PARTICIPANTS ONLY
  • Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points FOR PARTICIPANTS ONLY
  • All equipment for use during lesson
  • Fresh water outdoor showers available and basic change rooms
  • Free all day parking
Exclusions
  • Commemorative photos on USB drive
  • We are unable to offer shuttle service for childrn requiring a child safety seat
  • Shuttle for spectators as seats are limited to participants
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • If you do not have your own transport we offer a shuttle service from several convenient locations: Surfers Paradise: 10 Beach Road Surfers paradise, in front of the Brooklyn Depot Restaurant ( 30 min prior to lesson time) Main beach: Helen Park, located on the corner of Tedder Ave and the Gold Coast highway, across from the Main beach tram station ( 15 min prior to lesson time) Seaworld bus stop: on Seaworld Drive, perfect for people coming by Surf Side bus from Helensvale train via Southport on the 704 bus or from Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise on the 705 bus. Please contact us on 1800438938 at the time of your booking to let us know if you require the shuttle. Shuttle is complimentary and available for participants only. Due to Covid we are restricted in the number of passengers we are allowed to shuttle so we are not able to guarantee the service. If you have your own transport parking is free all day at The Spit beach
  • Seaworld Drive, Seaworld Dr, Main Beach QLD 4217, Australia Our head office, The Surf Shack, is located behind the Seaway Café in Doug Jennings Park, Seaworld Drive, Main Beach. To find us, just walk down the right side between the café and the amenities block and come in the back gate.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • IF YOUR HOTEL IS NOT ON THE LIST & YOU REQUIRE TRANSPORT, PLEASE CONTACT US IMMEDIATELY WHEN BOOKING ON 1800 438 938. BY SELECTING "MY HOTEL IS NOT LISTED" WE WILL ASSUME YOU ARE MEETING US AT THE BEACH.
  • Please provide your own swimwear
  • Please refrain from bringing any valuables to the beach
  • Minimum age for group lesson is 12 years old ( Childrens only lessons available contact supplier)
  • Please ensure that the phone number you provide us with, is the one that we can contact you on, on the day of the surf lesson
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Popular mentions

4.5
35 reviews
Excellent
30
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Aya K
1 contribution
Never had so much fun sucking so badly at something!
Oct. 2021 • Solo
I did 3 beginner lessons and had a ball! Was sure that an unathletic, uncoordinated, old bag inching through middle age would not be able to get anywhere on a board. And it sure looked that way on day 1. But the coaches instructed in such a way that I managed to go from face planting every time to catching waves and standing long enough to feel like a hero. Definitely better than being at work for sure
Written 6 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SAUL OVIDIO M
1 contribution
Super surfing lessons
Jun. 2021
ALL, definitely ALL was amazing. Sam, our instructor, was kind, supportive and very professional. Thanks to him we learn very fast and we had such an amazing experience. Fully motivated to go back for more lessons. VERY recommended.
Written 13 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Linh Pham
2 contributions
BEST TIME EVER !!
May 2021 • Solo
AMAZING PEOPLE, massive thanks to the team for making me feel so welcome and being awesome teachers. So excited to come again soon !!
Written 28 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Samantha G
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
Amazing !
Feb. 2021 • Family
Instructors were very helpful and informative. Had an excellent experience with my two 13 year olds and my husband
Written 28 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri J
Thank you so much for the awesome review :) Hope to see you guys again soon!
Written 10 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Traveller101
1 contribution
Best lesson ever
Feb. 2021 • Friends
Best surf school we’ve been to yet. The instructors took the time to provide great feedback and help us get more confident. They also took videos of us while we were surfing that we could watch back in the water to see what we could improve on. It was a great 2-hours that flew by. Would definitely recommend.
Written 23 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri J
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so glad you had such a great time :)
Written 24 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashtrip
1 contribution
Loved it and would recommend it!
I had decided to do this with my daughter as a fun activity.

Jason was AMAZING, I have very little balancing skill and he was helpful and somehow with his incredible training powers managed to get me to stand on a board. I would add a photo but I was far from glamorous in my form.

My daughter was much better then I was, he had her laughing and getting on the board with confidence and she walked away loving this.

They suggest that you take water, I too would recommend it, it is more physical then I expected but can be done at your own pace.

The team overall were truely wonderful.
Written 24 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri J
Hi there! Wow, thank you so much for the awesome review. Jason is such a lovely instructor and it's so good to hear you had such a good time with him learning to surf! We hope to see you again in the future :) - Emma from GW
Written 9 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Simon Savige
4 contributions
Excellent
Great instructors
I took my daughter who was 10, she was a little worried however the staff where fantastic and made her feel very safe.
Great holiday activity to get the heart rate up instead of devices.
We will be back
Written 3 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for the lovely review Simon, we really appreciate anyone who takes the time from their holidays to review us :-) We are thrilled that your daughter enjoyed her lesson and that she felt safe with us, we look forward to seeing you guys again :-)
Written 10 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

XU WEI
3 contributions
Extremely bad
Jan. 2021 • Friends
The reason why I rate it 1 star is because I cannot rate 0 star on TripAdvisor, (I rated same on google). I enrolled a 2 hours beginner session this afternoon however I had the worst surfing experience. Firstly, half of the students got stung by jelly fish, but no warning at all from any instructors. The continued the surfing session after the incident happened. Although they provided ice bags afterwards but it really ruined the whole session for the people who got stung. I didn’t expect compensation as this is not controlled by them but their attitude is really bad. Jason, the instructor especially showed him poor attitude to the people who got stung by the jelly fish. As we all went back to their office for a rest. When he went back, the only thing that he focused on is that he requested us to take the boards back to their office, and he even think the stung by Jelly fish is nothing. I can understand that you guys may think it would happen a lot and nothing, but please be reminded that we are all new to the surfing and to the sea. It’s the first time for most of us to be stung by Jelly fish and it does really hurt. Besides the incident today, their teaching quality is also not good for fresh new beginners. It’s highly possible that you won’t learn much from their session. I had a surfing session in New Zealand last year and it was so much better then them. I won’t recommend this school to anyone. Just don’t waste money on them.
Written 2 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri J
Dear Dear Wei, I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience due to the blue bottles. As I mentioned in the other 1 star reviews that you have peppered us with, unfortunately we have absolutely no control over when the blue bottles come in. There was no sign of them in the 2 previous morning lessons and they washed in during your lesson without warning, then there was no sign of them at all the following day either. Had we known they were there we would have insisted that all participants wear the stinger suits that we provide ( free of charge). All I can say is that it was really bad luck that they washed in during your lesson and that you were stung and such a shame you were not there in the morning lesson or any other day when there was no sign of any. Our beach is usually protected from the blue bottles unlike the open beaches, we maybe see blue bottles 2 or 3 times a year and only for a couple of hours. I apologize to you also that you thought that the instructor was not sympathetic to your stings however he along with 4 others in the lesson were also stung and continued to surf and enjoy their lesson and carry their boards back to the office. We appreciate that the sting can seem quite bad, but like a green ant bite they are not harmful. Growing up in Australia most people, like our instructor Jason, are exposed to a blue bottle stings as a child so they just take it in their stride as they know they are not harmful and the pain subsides, but we also appreciate that if you have not experienced it before it can seem as though it is harmful however, it is not our policy to call an ambulance for a blue bottle sting, our emergency services are busy enough treating seriously injured people, so I think our staff and other participants may have though you might be overreacting just a little ( Thank you for providing the photos I can also see from these that the sting was mild). Our instructors are stung several times each summer so they know that are not dangerous and they are trained as first responders in how to treat them - simply applying ice for a short time is all that's required. I am glad that you had a great experience surfing in New Zealand last year and also very pleased that there were no blue bottles on the beach during that lesson. As far as our teaching quality I'm sure you can see by our other reviews that the majority of our participants are more than happy with their experience. Kind regards
Written 3 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David K
1 contribution
Full score
Dec. 2020 • Friends
The instructor was so helpful, n he does make sure u have fun while trying to stand up, very friendly, highly recommended
Written 6 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri J
Hi David! Thanks so much for your awesome review. So glad to hear you had a good time with one of our coaches :) We have an awesome group of coaches and staff here at Get Wet. We hope to see you again soon! - Emma from GW
Written 7 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ella
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
Great Experience
Aug. 2020
Had an absolute blast surfing with Get Wet! Had never been on a board before, and they built me up with so much confidence, I didn't want to get off! Really convenient pick-up and drop off, great atmosphere with the friendly staff, and they snapped some amazing pics for me. Only regret is that I didn't go sooner! Thanks again
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri J
Hi Ella, Thank you so much for this lovely review,we are thrilled that you had a great experience. We really enjoyed getting you out for the first time in the surf and we hop you keep on going, you were awesome :-)
Written 16 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 35
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Get Wet Surf School
sashakelly2021
sashakelly2021
00
Amazing experience
Highly recommend, they made us feel like so comfortable, teaching was knowledgeable and we felt like pros by the en
julesw752
julesw752
00
Guaranteed Good Time
If you would like to learn to surf, then look no further then Get Wet Surf School at The Spit. They have tailored
Yachen Z
Yachen Z
00
Surfing at the Spit Dog Beach
Sam is a great coach! The Spit Dog Beach is a lovely place to surf!! The surf school provides shuttle bus, which is
ryanmG7005YQ
ryanmG7005YQ
00
Awesome Lesson!
Absolutely awesome lesson today! The coaches are friendly and were able to give me heaps of help and tips to contin
Sherpa25607563671
Sherpa25607563671
00
The secret of their success is the excellent staff.
The twins further developed the skills they learnt 18 months ago (pre COVID-19) ably assisted by the excellent staf
lee l
lee l
00
Kids surfing
Excellent and great fun!!! Coach was awesome and very patient with the young kids, once they took it they now
skystevec
skystevec
00
Great fun
Was full of great coaches an full fun. Coach knows allot an gave me so much advice. All the feed back was insightfu
dazV4693UZ
dazV4693UZ
00
Awesome surfing experience
Awesome experience. Super friendly environment and made to feel at east straight away. Our instructor Jasons teachi
Giuliafromaustralia
Giuliafromaustralia
00
I was surfing in less than 2 hours
Fantastic 2hours. We were only 2 students and basically had a private lesson with the instructor. He taught us a ve
liam3899
liam3899
00
A great start for anyone looking at learning to surf.
I attended the beginner surf lesson at The Spit (Main Beach) on Saturday and was standing up and catching waves wit
Wanderingozfamily
Wanderingozfamily
00
Great experience
Our two boys loved it and want to go back. The teachers kept an eye out for the boys and one isn’t a very good swim
Donnibabe
Donnibabe
00
First time surfing
These guys are great! Super professional. Teach you the surfing technique, and get you in the water! They will teac
PhilHine
PhilHine
00
Great set up
Our 2 teenage boys had a private 2 hour lesson and loved it. Great set up and supervision from start to finish. Wil
amytG9214AV
amytG9214AV
00
Awesome
Awesome lesson! Instructors were great at explaining the basics and helping us catch a wave! So much fun !!
Chuluman87
Chuluman87
00
School Holidays!!!
My boys 7 and 8yrs old had a blast. This is their first time and absolutely loved it. Blake was their instructor an
Frequently Asked Questions about 2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise

2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise price starts from AU$71.61. Discover and book 2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise on Tripadvisor

2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book 2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise on Tripadvisor

2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise is hosted by Get Wet Surf School. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Get Wet Surf School on Tripadvisor. Discover and book 2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book 2-Hour Beginners Surf Lesson at Surfers Paradise on Tripadvisor