We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alice Springs

3-Day 4WD Tour from Alice Springs: Kings Canyon, Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta

Select Date and Travellers
USD 599.36
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 30 days in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Discover the natural beauty and cultural significance of UNESCO-recognized landmarks in Australia’s Red Centre on a 3-day tour from Alice Springs. Travel by 4-wheel-drive to Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta (the Olgas), and Watarrka (Kings Canyon), stopping at stunning locations for hikes, sunrise views, and Aboriginal history. Your guide sets up rustic camping accommodations each evening on this tour, which is suitable for active people who enjoy the outdoors.
  • Watch the spectacular colors of sunset and sunrise at Uluru and Kata Tjuta
  • Take guided hikes at Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Watarrka (Kings Canyon)
  • Experience the Outback on rugged walks and rustic camping under the stars
  • Learn about indigenous culture, history, and lore from an Aboriginal guide
What to Expect
Get an early start each day to make the most of your time and to cover the long distances in Australia’s vast Red Centre. From Alice Springs, journey to Uluru–Kata Tjuta National Park, stopping at the Mount Ebenezer Roadhouse and Atila (Mount Connor) on the way. Upon arrival at Uluru, take a walk with an Aboriginal guide to see unusual Mutitjulu Waterhole, then visit the park’s Cultural Centre before witnessing the famous changing colors of Uluru at sunset. The next day, walk to a lookout near camp for an incredible view of the sunrise over Uluru and Kata Tjuta, then take a guided walk through Kata Tjuta’s Valley of the Winds. Next, head to Kings Creek Cattle Station to camp overnight in the Outback. On the final day, rise early to explore Watarrka (Kings Canyon) and incredible rock formations with names like the Amphitheatre, Lost City, and Garden of Eden. Return via a dirt track to Alice Springs with hotel drop-off in the evening.  This active tour includes an experienced guide, use of camping gear, most meals, and 4WD transport. Participants pitch in to help prepare meals at the campsite.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Outback Pioneer Hotel and selected Alice Springs Hotels


Uluru (Ayers Rock) Airport
Departure Time
6am Alice Springs (hotel pickups commence prior to this time)
1pm Outback Pioneer Hotel
1:30pm Uluru (Ayers Rock) Airport
3 days
Return Details
Returns to original Alice Springs at approximately 5:30pm on Day 3
  • Transport by an air-conditioned 4WD vehicle
  • 2-nights camping accommodation
  • Meals as per itinerary (B=breakfast, L=lunch, D=dinner)
  • Professional guide and campsite host
  • Guided Aboriginal walk
  • Dot painting workshop
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • All camping equipment including linen, sleeping bag, towel, permanent tent, beds and mattress or optional swag)
  • Water refill (please bring your own water bottle)
  • Gratuities
  • Camel ride
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • National Park entrance fees
  • Water bottle
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 5 years
  • A maximum of 20 people per tour
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • All camping equipment provided including linen and pillows, swags and tents
  • Please restrict luggage to 22 lbs (10kg)
  • Itinerary may change due to cultural reasons, seasonal changes, operational logistics and accessibility
  • Please bring torch, wide brimmed hat, sunscreen and insect repellent, Water bottle (1.5 liters), walking shoes/boots, toiletries,swimsuit, extra towel, camera and comfortable clothing for 3 days
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel at least 30 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 14 and 29 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel between 8 and 13 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 75 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 7 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were picked up (Early) at our Alice hotel by Phil and Ralph, Phil being the Guide/Driver/Cook/ Master of Information and Ralph being the Bus/Truck (4WD). Mixed group in ages and type, from young (read Uni age) singles and couples through 30 somethings, some with parents and
Read more
We booked the 2 night, 3 day Goanna Dreaming 4WD tour. It was our favourite part of our trip to Australia !! It was expensive, yes, but totally worth it! Our guide Rhett was amazing and so knowledgable and fun! We saw Uluru (at sunset and sunrise) and Kata Tjuta with an
Read more
Company offers 2 programs where one is more expensive and recommended by the company to people over 40. Eventually in our tour both young backpackers and over 40 got the same itinarary. Sorry but the company was dishonest.
Read more
Response from StaceyH_Feedback, . at 3-Day 4WD Tour from Alice Springs: Kings Canyon, Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta
Responded 3 weeks ago
I'm sorry that you felt our pricing structure was dishonest. We do offer two different tour styles, our budget option recommended for those aged between 18-40 year and our open age classic style tour. There are a number of differences between our tour styles including upgrade to purpose built 4WD vehicle, Fixed tent accommodation, meals including the endless star dining experience and activities such as the Maraku indigenous experience and travel via the remote Giles Track. On occasion it is necessary to combine tours, for eg. when low numbers are threatening a departure. When this occurs we always upgrade passengers to the higher standard product and complete the itinerary in full so the presence of those upgraded passengers is of no detriment to anyone on board. It is not uncommon for there to be a variance in the rates paid by passengers traveling on the same tour, for example we offer early bird and multi tour rates and group discounts to name a few. This is in no way intended to be dishonest and is quite common across the industry, most notably in hotels and on airlines. Again I am sorry that you felt this was dishonest, we do have this information freely available in our terms and conditions which are on our website and shared at the time of booking
Read more
Summary: We booked the 3 night - 4 day Galah tour but you can easily just book the 2 night - 3 day and it's basically the same. The only thing that we received extra for $150 per person is a night in a dorm of a hostel (worth $30). I usually never complain on the internet about
Read more
Response from StaceyH_Feedback, . at 3-Day 4WD Tour from Alice Springs: Kings Canyon, Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta
Responded 10 Oct. 2019
Dear Janneke, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your tour experience and that we were not able to alleviate your concerns in our correspondence. It might help to clarify some points about our Galah Dreaming Safari. This tour is designed to accommodate passengers who wish to complete their touring experience at Yulara rather than Alice Springs. In addition to the full 3 day itinerary which includes Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Watarrka the 4 day passengers are accommodated in Alice Springs on the third night allowing time for unguided exploration before returning to Ayers Rock Airport the following morning. This information is clearly listed on our website and other marketing materials and I apologise that you did not feel fully informed prior to travelling with us. I note that you were indeed erroneously accommodated in a dorm even though you had requested a private room, this was our mistake and was reflected in your tour cost. I apologise that this occurred and that a private room could not be arranged one the issue was identified. Once again I apologise that you feel you have been treated unfairly however your tour was provided as advertised. I hope that despite these issues you enjoyed the remarkable sights of the Red Centre and the remainder of your travels in Australia
Read more
The tour, especially the hot spots like Ayers Rock, the Olagas and Kings Canyon, was great. If you want to see the most popular places in the red center, it is in general a good option in comparison with a simple outback camping tour managed by yourself. The camp sites are ok,
Read more
Response from StaceyH_Feedback, . at 3-Day 4WD Tour from Alice Springs: Kings Canyon, Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta
Responded 17 Oct. 2019
Thank you for sharing your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the sights on your tour but I'm sorry that some aspects fell short of your expectations It might help to clarify that as per our terms and conditions we are occasionally required to combine tours to ensure that all departures reach the minimum requirements to go ahead. On these occasions passengers will always be upgraded to the higher standard tour and all itinerised activities will go ahead as planned so the presence of upgraded passengers will be of no detriment to those who booked this product. It is very common in this day and age for passengers to travel on a variety of rates, most notably on airlines and in hotels but also on tours such as ours. We are completely transparent about this with all passengers directed to our terms and conditions at the time of booking. Regarding your guide there are occasions on which they are not expected or permitted to give commentary, eg. in the cultural centre and at sunset/sunrise viewings. However I will review your groups feedback and should there appear to be a consistent level of concern regarding the information provided on your tour I will refer this to our operations team to address with the guide. Thank you again for your review and I again apologise that you did not feel fully informed regarding our operating terms and conditions.
Read more
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 30 days in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255